How pointlessly racist is Top Gear.

Dr. Bapswent

Apart from the fact its not as funny as it used to be, its now so obviously scripted.

Its Brits vs Germany nonsense is so tiresome.

Nonsense, racist nazi esque references.

But tonights effort, in front of three Germans, they arrive in spitfires....I mean jeez.

They cant let it go. Its like 1966.

Towels on sunbeds etc.

The obsession is tiresome and frankly embarrassing and more than bordering on accepted rascim.

jackjambo22

Apart from the fact its not as funny as it used to be, its now so obviously scripted.

_________

Just more noticeable ;)

And I suppose the Germans never rip the pish out the Brits? People go on like it's a British only trait when it comes to poking fun at other nationalities.

Dr. Bapswent
And I suppose the Germans never rip the pish out the Brits? People go on like it's a British only trait when it comes to poking fun at other nationalities.

It was a thread about Top Gear.

Whether the germans do it or not, does not matter.

It was a thread about Top Gear.

Whether the germans do it or not, does not matter.

I'm sure you could always write to Terry Wogan with your concerns. That's assuming they still do POV, though. Might still be in luck.

Clarksons offerings in the tabloids were the same. 'Kraut', 'Frogs', 'Who won the bloody war anyway?'

The mans a grade A bell-end.

I'm sure you could always write to Terry Wogan with your concerns. That's assuming they still do POV, though. Might still be in luck.

netwogan.jpg

And I suppose the Germans never rip the pish out the Brits?

Do they?

I, like many others 'I suppose', honestly don't know.

Do they?

Sorry, mate, this thread is for discussing Top Gear only.

But tonights effort, in front of three Germans, they arrive in spitfires....I mean jeez.

Towels on sunbeds etc.

The obsession is tiresome and frankly embarrassing and more than bordering on accepted rascim.

Had a chat along these lines while out at the boozer the other night.

I still watch Top Gear and think that some of the stuff they do is still funny. However, there's more to dislike about the show than enjoy.

1. The endless sucking up to Clarkson. Yes it's scripted, and quite badly, but those other two are doing themselves no favours by allowing Clarkson to be such a megalomaniac at their expense. It's not like he's got any more talent than either of them.

2. There's nothing informative about 'normal' cars any more. It's either supercar tests; cross-europe challenges (usually in supercars) or fooling about in other cars most are unlikely to buy (e.g ?10 supercars). They made the Ford Mondeo their C.O.T.Y. for 2007 but I don't remember seeing them try it out.

3. Wouldn't have been top of my list but the disdain for other nationalities is grating. I'm no lily-livered, hand-wringing leftie and will happily subject people of other nationalities to scrutiny by stereotype. But sometimes not all the bloody time.

Now that 5th Gear (is that what it's called?) has started aping Top Gear in every respect, I think that there's a place in the schedules for another show that features (get this) CARS rather than overbearing, self-satisfied, smug, arrogant, unfunny presenters who happen to be into cars.

Sorry, mate, this thread is for discussing Top Gear only.

As posts dodging the question posed to you go mate, that's up there with the best of them.

If I had a hat, I'd doff it in your direction. :rolleyes:;)

Last week when they had the feature on the Rolls-Royce/Merc, Clarkson possibly had the worst shoes on I've ever seen. Plus they were bright green

He appears to me as an old bugger that is trying to cling on to youth and resulting as coming over as a sad sad man

Whats the frequency Kenneth?

As posts dodging the question posed to you go mate, that's up there with the best of them.

If I had a hat, I'd doff it in your direction. :rolleyes:;)

You weren't the one that had your nuts rapped from the good Dr himself. They're still smarting ffs.

Clarksons offerings in the tabloids were the same. 'Kraut', 'Frogs', 'Who won the bloody war anyway?'

100% agree.

Heres Rixxy
Are they ****.

They're nails.

:mad:

Christ, I've got a box full of cars in my garage then :P

The whole show's just pointless these days

It's all so set up, Clarkson's a buffoon with a perm, Richard Hammond's stylist wants sacking (he dresses like a 15 year old public school boy surfer wannabe) and the other one has tramps hair.

If I wanted to watch middle aged men masturbating, I'd join the Tory Party

heartgarfunkel

I think Jewemy is suffering from Victoria Cross envy. His late faither-in-law won that gong in spectacular fashion at Arnhem, then settled down to a quiet life for the rest of his days. Why on earth he owns a German motor I've no idea.

TBH, I'd rather spend time socialising with all the Germans I've met on Hearts and other trips, than the Top Gear types. I've found them polite, considerate, love a bevvy and a good laugh. My next door neighbour is an 89 yr old ex German POW who married a local lass and settled in Scotland, and a top geezer to boot. If his old boozing mates (mostly KOSB) who fought against his side in WW2 could accept him just after the war, WTF is a permed Tory ponce still banging on about?

Do they?

Yes, they do. In particular, they laugh their head off at our ludicrous obsessions with the war, and 1966 - and they certainly have a point too!

Do they?

They don't rip it out of the Brits, they aim for the Scottish!

I worked there for several years and if they want to show someone as being mean (on the telly), it's a kilt wearing Scotsman with a purse!

:mad:

Towels on sunbeds etc.

agreed. cringy xenophobia masked as "humour".

If I wanted to watch middle aged men masturbating, I'd join the Tory Party

If you give them a biscuit they might let you.

Watched it last night with my missus, who is a German. She didn't find it racist. It's a case off "Huh, are you still going on about the war? Maybe it's because your cars are so sh*t you've got nothing else to go on?"

Their subtitling for the German wasn't 100% accurate either.

The Vulture

At least the German govt hasn't sold their car industry down the river.

Ok, there maybe car plants in the UK, but I would believe most of them are foreign owned.

Would the German's every consider selling BMW or Mercedes ? I don't think so.

Only seen the last 5 minutes and i thought what is the old erse going on about.

His 'humour' days are long gone.

A car is a lump of metal, why a whole programme about it. My lump of metal goes faster than yours . People who think that must be lacking in other departments ;)

Still think its brilliant and enjoyed last nights show, and i'm not even really into cars. I take it for what its meant to be, light hearted.

If you don't like, don't watch. Simple really...

Towels on sunbeds etc.

Although I agree withe the whole anti German nonsense from the English is pathetic

Take Top Gear for what it is - a bit of fun, and a superb show to boot

I like Top Gear and I think the 3 presenters work well together.

Sorry to go against the trend....

P.S Sabine Schmitz, I definitely would...

If you don't like it then don't watch!! Top Gear is for petrol heads that want to see how quick the newest lambo or ferrari is, does anyone actually think that a show that compared the new corsa v the new fiesta would have been going for half as long as top gear has? The humour on top gear I personally find funny but that is just my taste, if I went to a show at the fringe and thought the comedian was a jumped up tory loving tosser that wasn't funny then I wouldn't rush back to the box office and get a ticket for every other night he was on so why do people who hate Clarkson so much still watch the show!!

Towels on sunbeds etc.

i thought it was rather funny actually, quite enjoyed it, clarkson said any complaints said them to some addres then the postcode was WE1 thewar (or suhing like that) was the funniest so far. GO ON THE BRITS HAHA another one over the germans lets hope next time it's at football eh.;)

Top Gear can be pretty good and pretty entertaining. I'm not really into cars but the show really isn't good because it's about cars.

Clarkson comes across as a bit of ****, but I'm unsure of wether that's actually him or just a charchater. I think James May is quite good, and Hammond's...alright.

The xenophobic element can get a bit tiresome and the humour is pretty murder, but it can be entertaining is what I'm trying to say.

Dr. Bapswent
Although I agree withe the whole anti German nonsense from the English is pathetic

Take Top Gear for what it is - a bit of fun, and a superb show to boot

I do take it for what it is.

I would also take it for what it is each week if it didnt feel the need to call Merc and BMWs ZE GERMAN CARS!

It not neccessary and adds nothing. Only serves to make a point about the English psyche and its failings.

Dr. Bapswent
If you don't like it then don't watch!! Top Gear is for petrol heads that want to see how quick the newest lambo or ferrari is, does anyone actually think that a show that compared the new corsa v the new fiesta would have been going for half as long as top gear has? The humour on top gear I personally find funny but that is just my taste, if I went to a show at the fringe and thought the comedian was a jumped up tory loving tosser that wasn't funny then I wouldn't rush back to the box office and get a ticket for every other night he was on so why do people who hate Clarkson so much still watch the show!!

Top Gear is for petrol heads....only?

If thats what you are implying, then you have no idea what you are on about.

Top Gear is for petrol heads....only?

If thats what you are implying, then you have no idea what you are on about.

More meant that the car part of the show is aimed more at petrol heads due to the choice of cars rather than being a 'which car' type programme showing the new 1.2 diesel corsa etc ! Fully aware a huge number of non-petrol heads watch the show for the entertainment side!

i think they're pretty funny personally

middle aged men, telling the worst jokes imaginable outside of the xmas cracker factory, childish & puerile

whats not to like?

they don't pretend to be newsnight, so they get away with the pish taking and talking balls

i never saw the show you're referring to, so i can't comment if it was a bit much with the xenophobia

They admit that they (Jeremy, hamster and whats his puss) are a bunch of knobs so get away with slagging other folk off.

Not hard to get, unless your easily offended.

They admit that they (Jeremy, hamster and whats his puss) are a bunch of knobs so get away with slagging other folk off.

Not hard to get, unless your easily offended.

I'd agree with that, and I do enjoy the show and their refreshing lack of PCness which is rife on the BBC. Just get a bit tired of all the anti-german, constantly refering to the war stuff (I'm speaking generally here, not necessarily top gear) that seems to be fair game.

North Berwick Jambo

Oh dear here we go again... **** the pc brigade!

I for one really enjoyed last nights show with ze germans, its only a bit of lighthearted banter & if you dont like it dont watch it.. ;)

Oh & it was great to see Jay K taking the top spot from the cod piece..

it's not often I get equated with the PC brigade, I shall treasure this moment. :)

like I say, I enjoyed the show. I'm speaking more generally about the attitude, especially prevelant in England, that only sees Germany as an old war opponent. It doesn't offend me in the slightest, I just think it's a bit silly.

I think you might find their anti-german humour is meant to be ironic. Perhaps it's a wee bit too deep for some people? :rolleyes:

However, agree with the "if ye dinnae like it, dinnae watch it" sentiment!

I think you might find their anti-german humour is meant to be ironic. Perhaps it's a wee bit too deep for some people? :rolleyes:

Top Gear is now 'deep'? :wacko:

However, agree with the "if ye dinnae like it, dinnae watch it" sentiment!

maybe so, but it is symptomatic of a prevalent attitude that is far from ironic.

If Ze Germans that they were competing against last night were offended by the arrival by spitfire etc, then they hid it well.

And if they never got offended, then why are some people on here getting their G in a twist?

Dr. Bapswent
If Ze Germans that they were competing against last night were offended by the arrival by spitfire etc, then they hid it well.

And if they never got offended, then why are some people on here getting their G in a twist?

Aye, good one.

Ive got a mate who's black eh...and aw ay us call him a a n*****, he doesnae mind it, so were no being rascist eh!

DUH.....

Era Macaroons

Its just watching boys with their toys

sometimes its entertaining

more often its pompous self indulgent mince

Aye, good one.

Ive got a mate who's black eh...and aw ay us call him a a n*****, he doesnae mind it, so were no being rascist eh!

DUH.....

Is that what i said?