Vargas …..Main striker !

Posted
3 hours ago, AGoodLaugh said:

For all Shankland's woes, Vargas has been worse imo. Doesn't run past players, doesn't beat players in the air, poor composure when finishing, passes not finding their man, pointless flicks and short passes instead of trying to drive forward with purpose. 

Another who looks like he's forgotten how to play football. 

Can finish one chip supper in 20.

• Replies 207

• Ricardo Quaresma

• mr fox

• Absolute Scenes

• spirt of 98

Posted
2 hours ago, feej said:

He's not good enough to play that role. 

At the moment he doesn't have the required game intelligence or ball retention qualities to be effective.

I would have to agree, largely

But circumstances aren't normal and he can still be useful there, plus carries the threat of a breakaway 1-1 with the 'keepr that Gino had

We don't have much better options than him and Dhanda / Spittal behind him

Posted

Vargas’ first shot at goal last night helped set the tone for my expectation. It was so tame and powder puff that it reminded me of a shout I heard years ago in the old main stand “for **** sake man, I hit my bairns harder than that!”

Posted
2 hours ago, Cruyff said:

Sick of Vargas, takes the wrong option and makes the wrong decision 9 times out of 10. 

Aye, he did the same last year until he got a rest

Also been needing to rest, like Shankland, for a while

Posted

A guy that cannae finish as main striker. Sounds awesome. 

Posted

He weighs about 50Kilo's and gets bullied by every centre half in the league. Does he actually get passed anyone? I keep hearing about this pace but to be honest, most defenders seem to be able to nullify it easily enough. He cant finish often enough, his positioning is poor and he spends more time on his arse than on his feet. What is he for exactly?

Posted

Vargas needs binned imo.

I didn’t see it last season  and I don’t see it this season. His all round game is average at best and his finishing is pretty woeful.

Posted
2 hours ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Vargas is tired, it's that simple. Never got a break in the summer, has travelled for international games, starting every week for us. Bad squad management has meant he's relied upon when he shouldn't be.

He's not shite, he showed that last season. The last few weeks as well he was good against St Mirren, he was a complete pain in the arse and key to our pressing against St Omonia and last night he played a huge part in our goal and also nearly set Spittal up for another.

He's a young laddie who's learning and is visibly needing a break. For that reason though, I'd not be adding any further burden upon him.

as things stand he would be a clear starter for me, he's clearly not ready to take on the mantle of main striker though. As you say he may well need a break, no obvious candidates on the bench that are close to being a fair swap though.

Posted
2 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

The player we need is a Stephen Humphrys 

Has a further year option with barnsley, presumably that's their option, not his

If he was to lamp someone and get moved out (🤔) he could then theoretically sign for us :rofl:

Posted
2 hours ago, gwd1957 said:

He got a chance at Celtic put himself about almost scored loads of energy then dropped out the squad ,something not right at Hearts ?

Him, Taylor & Salazar 'Analytics' signings?

If so and admittedly wild, brainstorming speculation, then why, indeed, would he and Salazar be left out

I'm baffled, hence the brainstorming bit, which is probably about as unlikely as MD & AS being bad players; I don't think they are, Salazar's certainly a very good player

Posted
2 hours ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Vargas is tired, it's that simple. Never got a break in the summer, has travelled for international games, starting every week for us. Bad squad management has meant he's relied upon when he shouldn't be.

He's not shite, he showed that last season. The last few weeks as well he was good against St Mirren, he was a complete pain in the arse and key to our pressing against St Omonia and last night he played a huge part in our goal and also nearly set Spittal up for another.

He's a young laddie who's learning and is visibly needing a break. For that reason though, I'd not be adding any further burden upon him.

A proper post, thankfully

Posted
1 hour ago, AndyNic said:

Vargas is number one. His arms, are number one. His legs, are number one. His eyes, are number one. His muscles, are number one. Vargas, is number one.

Jack Black Smiling GIF

Posted
27 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

I would have to agree, largely

But circumstances aren't normal and he can still be useful there, plus carries the threat of a breakaway 1-1 with the 'keepr that Gino had

We don't have much better options than him and Dhanda / Spittal behind him

He does provide the pace up top as you say, his finishing isn't the best whichn is a worry.

It's criminal that we have such few options in the striking department, wtf was Naismith thinking about, how he expected Shanks to play every game is beyond me.

Posted
1 minute ago, feej said:

He does provide the pace up top as you say, his finishing isn't the best whichn is a worry.

It's criminal that we have such few options in the striking department, wtf was Naismith thinking about, how he expected Shanks to play every game is beyond me.

More than Naismith's fault, he towed the line and was skelped & telt, politely, of course

He was happy with FM and he was happy with boyce, or he was given a great opportunity at a good Club and accepted the situation, saying the right thing?

LarrysRightFoot
Posted

I think we should give Forrest a go at partnering Shanks (did they play together at Ayr?)

Posted

Vargas had a very respectable return last season, without even considering he moved to the other side of the world and his age.

Wilson scored a very important goal for us on Sunday, and he's had far fewer opportunities than Vargas, but I don't think anyone can conclude at this point that Wilson is the better option.

Vargas scored a great goal against St Mirren, involved in the build up and providing the finish.  His composure to pick out Spittal yesterday resulted in our goal.  I'm certainly not writing him off like far too many on here are.

I don't think he should replace Shankland though.  But I would love for us to have another option.  I think we're past the point of being comfortable that Shankland will come good and the goals will start flowing soon.  We perhaps over relied upon his goals last season, but we are still paying him decent money, and have been willing to pay him much more, so the club and fans should rightly be able to rely on him to do more than he has this season.  I don't think I've set unreasonable expectations, and I'm relatively calm in the stands. Shankland has frustrated me more than any other player in our team this year.  Our internationally capped No. 9 should be giving us more.

Posted
3 hours ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Spot on sensible post 

will never work on here good try though 😳👍

Posted

I think Vargas needs a run on bench to reset more than he needs more responsibility at the moment. I don't think he lost all his talent over the summer.

If a drastic change was made, I'm almost to the point I'd rather put Forrest up top. He'll run hard, he's direct, he's not scared to take a shot. And without Shankland being obvious fulcrum of the attack, maybe they could scheme up some rotations with Forrest, Spittal, Dhanda to confuse a back line.

I can't see Boyce again and I am not ready to throw out a 17-year old and tell him to save us. 

Posted
4 hours ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Is it time for a real shake up !

Drop Shankland and play Vargas through the middle.

Shankland does not win any high balls anyway and this would force us to keep the ball in the deck and look to use Vargas’s pace to run in behind !

Also Vargas would probably stay up front and wouldn’t keep wandering into midfield!

Is this the levels we are striving for VARGAS! AS A MAIN STRIKER.  He is not good enough and may never be good enough once he matures.

Wd need to be aiming for a much higher standard than Vargas. 

I know we don't have many options but this is something that should have been sorted in the summer.  We need to sort this in January which will be diffucult, who wants to join a team fighting against relegation?!

Posted

A truly dire player for us.

Posted

As weak, frothy and colourless as a 10-pint beer piss.

Posted

Vargas, Dhanda, Forrest and Oda are all lightweight and I'm not sure if any of them has beaten a single man all season.

Posted
4 hours ago, Italian Lambretta said:

Just get rid of him he’s utter shite

Harsh but fair!

Unfortunately he will be going nowhere, another bang average player that was given a ludicrous contract.

Posted

I'm pretty sure that Critchley is very well aware of this, especially after last night - but we continue to be bullied and harassed by teams with a fraction of our talent. At both ends of the pitch we are weak, slow and lightweight. Vargas is relatively useful against teams that want to play a bit of football. Against hammer throwing Scottish teams, literally three quarters of our league, he's a complete waste of space. 

I can't watch another game of us pass a ball about beautifully for 60 minutes only to concede scrappy goals against whatever journeyman clogger we're up against that week. It's soul destroying. 

So no, not Vargas. Kevin Kyle 2024 would be a better bet.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

More than Naismith's fault, he towed the line and was skelped & telt, politely, of course

He was happy with FM and he was happy with boyce, or he was given a great opportunity at a good Club and accepted the situation, saying the right thing?

Ah OK, I thought we were offered a striker and turned down the chance to take him (or was that just chat on here?)

Posted
6 minutes ago, feej said:

Ah OK, I thought we were offered a striker and turned down the chance to take him (or was that just chat on here?)

It was on here, someone did allude to where it came from

Maybe it was true; if so, who said no? SN, or the purse-strings?

Posted

Him, Taylor & Salazar 'Analytics' signings?

If so and admittedly wild, brainstorming speculation, then why, indeed, would he and Salazar be left out

I'm baffled, hence the brainstorming bit, which is probably about as unlikely as MD & AS being bad players; I don't think they are, Salazar's certainly a very good player

If you look at quite a lot of Brightons analytics signings then they aren't always day one starters and even at times put out on loan to develop first before being brought into their first team squad. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Ribble said:

If you look at quite a lot of Brightons analytics signings then they aren't always day one starters and even at times put out on loan to develop first before being brought into their first team squad. 

Aye; hopefully it'll all work out and we won't need to know any of the nuts 'n' bolts 👍

Posted

Vargas couldn’t hit a cows arse with a shovel

Posted
4 minutes ago, Ribble said:

Would take the Argentine lad on loan at Leicester 

Posted

Vargas epitomises everything that is wrong with our recruitment. I don't really like Michael Stewart, but he has a point when he says we could have recruited someone equal or better than Vargas from this country. Apart from pace he brings very little to the party and even when he gets into decent areas 99% of the time he makes a mess of it. 

Posted
1 hour ago, LarrysRightFoot said:

I think we should give Forrest a go at partnering Shanks (did they play together at Ayr?)

Its been tried a few times, might work better if Forrest is playing on the last defender not behind Shankland, worth a try. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

It was on here, someone did allude to where it came from

Maybe it was true; if so, who said no? SN, or the purse-strings?

I'll have to pass on that one but if it was the boards decision then that's quite worrying if we've maxed the transfer budget.

Posted
4 minutes ago, PapaShango said:

Vargas epitomises everything that is wrong with our recruitment. I don't really like Michael Stewart, but he has a point when he says we could have recruited someone equal or better than Vargas from this country. Apart from pace he brings very little to the party and even when he gets into decent areas 99% of the time he makes a mess of it. 

I think it was all about getting these guys, improving them a selling them on, we need a coaching team to do that. 
We need to get used to it though as its what we are signing up to with Bloom.

Posted
5 minutes ago, feej said:

I'll have to pass on that one but if it was the boards decision then that's quite worrying if we've maxed the transfer budget.

Aye, hopefully we'll get the facts some time, then we can shuffle along 👍

Posted
6 hours ago, vegas-voss said:

Vargas is running on empty he is a ball of energy but the gas tank is close to hitting empty and last night he wasnt playing main striker we were playing 4231 and him and Forrest kept swapping wings.He played a big part in our goal last night though.

agreed. He always tries hard and for me has some really decent moments. He’s not a natural finisher (and maybe won’t be) but does offer something. Like Forrest he doesn’t give less than 100%. I still have faith in him personally. Never a natural striker but where to play him and in what system is up for debate. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

He weighs about 50Kilo's and gets bullied by every centre half in the league. Does he actually get passed anyone? I keep hearing about this pace but to be honest, most defenders seem to be able to nullify it easily enough. He cant finish often enough, his positioning is poor and he spends more time on his arse than on his feet. What is he for exactly?

Indeed, but sadly he's not the only player who gets bullied.

Posted

Aye, hopefully we'll get the facts some time, then we can shuffle along 👍

Indeed 

HHGH

Posted
On 31/10/2024 at 12:07, AndyNic said:

Vargas is number one. His arms, are number one. His legs, are number one. His eyes, are number one. His muscles, are number one. Vargas, is number one.

Jack Black Smiling GIF

Vargas is number one.

:greggy:

SomethingAboutObua
Posted

Vargas has made his career in Costa Rica as a centre forward, let's just try him and get Shankland out the squad. We need to try anything other than hoping a shot shy Shankland suddenly starts hammering goals in

Posted

Never in a million years 

Do people just judge nowadays on one ezample

If you think Vargas is better than shanks you need help.

Shanks is going through a barren spell not played well today but his link play has been good this season it’s just not happening but will come back.

All strikers have this everyone 

Posted
On 31/10/2024 at 16:48, 1971fozzy said:

agreed. He always tries hard and for me has some really decent moments. He’s not a natural finisher (and maybe won’t be) but does offer something. Like Forrest he doesn’t give less than 100%. I still have faith in him personally. Never a natural striker but where to play him and in what system is up for debate. 

He isn’t good enough for us I ain’t judging him cause he scores 

He is genuinely crap 

Posted
1 minute ago, mr fox said:

He isn’t good enough for us I ain’t judging him cause he scores 

He is genuinely crap 

He has just scored 🤷🏻‍♂️ no idea what your actually trying to say here 

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

He has just scored 🤷🏻‍♂️ no idea what your actually trying to say here 

He isn’t good enough for us 

People saying he should play instead of shanks …. He isn’t in his league as a player 

Edited by mr fox
Posted
1 minute ago, mr fox said:

People saying he should play instead of shanks …. My arse 

Vargas is our top scorer :rofl:

Posted
1 minute ago, AndyNic said:

Vargas is our top scorer :rofl:

That’s the issue 

Posted
7 minutes ago, mr fox said:

People saying he should play instead of shanks …. He isn’t in his league as a player 

Aye ok

Posted

Brilliant win 🇱🇻🇱🇻🇱🇻🇱🇻 thank god for that. Special mention to Kent and Rowles who were brilliant 2nd half