NaturalOrder74 Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 He’s missed some amount of chances last season / start of this season. I’m buzzing he’s starting to show us some form though id much rather see shanks start to hit form again and have the two of them going well Quote
vegas-voss Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 Great coming off the bench today.Game stretched and defenders knackered it allowed him to show his pace on more than one occasion and a nice finish after Beni's run put him through.Reckon he might start up front and Shankland sits it out against the Germans. Quote
Hearts1975 Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 F...... hell He is a young player. At an age where he will either improve or regress He is going to be inconsistent, and we have seen that since he arrived He has good traits and he has not so good traits If we had the version of Vargas that some demand on here, we simply wouldn't have him at all Yes, he can be frustrating with his finishing at times but Let's see how NC gets on with him and his overall development In the meantime he did well today and scored a very good goal - a goal that won us the game Quote
escobri Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 Nice composure for his goal today, nearly made me forget about his chance at Aberdeen 🤣 Quote
zeke1874 Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 Huge responsibility to be main striker for us...no sure if vargas is upto that yet. But he defo gives us another option with his pace. Lost count of the times a good pass is played thru but shanks can't outpace a defender. Either way vargas has a 4 year deal and shanks is presumably offski so maybe time for Critchley to work onbthe future... Quote
One five Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 Vergas should and is not good enough for Heart of Midlothian , like many in the passed unfortunately. Quote
OmiyaHearts Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 Defo better off the bench when the opposition gets tired. Showed composure for the goal today and we've not seen enough of that from him, so hopefully a corner turned. Quote
Gordon_1874 Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 4 minutes ago, One five said: Vergas should and is not good enough for Heart of Midlothian , like many in the passed unfortunately. Disagree, plenty of potential he is only 22. Only reason he's at us is because he's not the finished article, we've seen glimpses of what he can do. With good coaching he can make us a few quid down the line IMO. Quote
One five Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 10 minutes ago, Gordon_1874 said: Disagree, plenty of potential he is only 22. Only reason he's at us is because he's not the finished article, we've seen glimpses of what he can do. With good coaching he can make us a few quid down the line IMO. Ok we will see Quote
Newton51 Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 Would shankland score that chance on current form? I’m not so sure Quote
boag1874 Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 1 hour ago, Hearts1975 said: F...... hell He is a young player. At an age where he will either improve or regress He is going to be inconsistent, and we have seen that since he arrived He has good traits and he has not so good traits If we had the version of Vargas that some demand on here, we simply wouldn't have him at all Yes, he can be frustrating with his finishing at times but Let's see how NC gets on with him and his overall development In the meantime he did well today and scored a very good goal - a goal that won us the game Well said, some so called “supporters” really need to get a grip of themselves Quote
tcjambo Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 39 minutes ago, One five said: Vergas should and is not good enough for Heart of Midlothian , like many in the passed unfortunately. Nonsense Quote
Deodato Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 On 31/10/2024 at 10:22, MR INCREDIBLE said: Is it time for a real shake up ! Drop Shankland and play Vargas through the middle. Shankland does not win any high balls anyway and this would force us to keep the ball in the deck and look to use Vargas’s pace to run in behind ! Also Vargas would probably stay up front and wouldn’t keep wandering into midfield! Shankland doesn't even jump for high balls. His feet are firmly on the ground. Defenders find that too easy. Quote
One five Posted November 2, 2024 Posted November 2, 2024 3 minutes ago, tcjambo said: Nonsense Ok let us see Quote
RS86 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 19 minutes ago, Deodato said: Shankland doesn't even jump for high balls. His feet are firmly on the ground. Defenders find that too easy. He challenged for plenty of Gordon's kicks and our defenders aimless punts today. He's off scoring form, but lets not pretend he doesn't still try. Quote
WheatfieldWarrior Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 Thought he did alright today. got the goal we needed and had other chances to score. Only on 40 mins. Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 Here he is strolling about up town last night with Salazar thinking he’s made it. Quote
GinRummy Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 15 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: Here he is strolling about up town last night with Salazar thinking he’s made it. Cheek eh. Young player goes out with friend after scoring winning goal. 22 years old. Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 minute ago, GinRummy said: Cheek eh. Young player goes out with friend after scoring winning goal. 22 years old. He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. Quote
GinRummy Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 24 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. Who says he’s not trying to improve his game? Quote
jager man Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said: He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. He should be sitting in the hoose reading kickback. 😛 Quote
allystrachan Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said: He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. Settle. The team will have a recovery day planned the day after so he’s allowed out. Not like he’s doing shooting practice on a Saturday night in his house. Unless he’s out steaming or on the gear. Plus, he did deliver the goods vs StJohnstone. Quote
RudiSkacelsLeftPeg Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said: He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. You think he should be going out a jog on a Saturday night or playing cuppy down saughton park? Quote
kila Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said: He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. You keeping tabs on his whereabouts and all his social media posts? Bit weird Quote
Sarah O Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 2 hours ago, spirt of 98 said: Here he is strolling about up town last night with Salazar thinking he’s made it. Hope someone launched a Chinese at him. Quote
Diehardjambo1 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 There’s definitely something there with Vargas. He’s young and still raw, remember most strikers don’t normally reach there prime until mid to late 20’s. I’m sure he will get much better and still not too long in the Scottish game either. Give the lad a break and just support the team FFS. As for the lone striker shot…….eh it’s a naw from me. 😂 Quote
Absolute Scenes Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 (edited) 9 hours ago, One five said: Vergas should and is not good enough for Heart of Midlothian , like many in the passed unfortunately. Okay but what about Vargas? Edited November 3, 2024 by Absolute Scenes Quote
Absolute Scenes Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 2 hours ago, spirt of 98 said: Here he is strolling about up town last night with Salazar thinking he’s made it. Is that right aye, amazing what you can take from an Instagram story. Imagine going out at nighttime with a mate, outrageous. Quote
Skacelsid Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 He was able to show his pace to good effect late on when we were hanging on a bit and was the out ball. But he is not a hold up loan striker type. But well done yesterday, stretched StJ and gave them a different problem to deal with when he came on. Good strikers goal. (well done Beni). He really was critical to us getting over line. Would like to see a big athletic, mobile partner for him. Quote
One five Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, Absolute Scenes said: Okay but what about Vargas? Oops 🙄 Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 4 hours ago, Absolute Scenes said: Is that right aye, amazing what you can take from an Instagram story. Imagine going out at nighttime with a mate, outrageous. It’s just typical of him. Always on social media win, lose or draw big smiles in designer gear. He everything that is wrong with our football club. Cutting about thinking he’s in a boy band should concentrate on his football. Bit if you want us to be like Hibs you defend him. Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 4 hours ago, RudiSkacelsLeftPeg said: You think he should be going out a jog on a Saturday night or playing cuppy down saughton park? No but just think he can post mages swaggering about Edinburgh when his game is on fire. m Roy Keane would boot his baws. Quote
chrystaf Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 14 hours ago, escobri said: Nice composure for his goal today, nearly made me forget about his chance at Aberdeen 🤣 I think the difference was that he didn't have time to think. It was a natural and skillful reaction. It's the one-on-one situations where he panics. But he's not alone in that. Quote
DixieNormous Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 On 31/10/2024 at 10:22, MR INCREDIBLE said: Is it time for a real shake up ! Drop Shankland and play Vargas through the middle. Shankland does not win any high balls anyway and this would force us to keep the ball in the deck and look to use Vargas’s pace to run in behind ! Also Vargas would probably stay up front and wouldn’t keep wandering into midfield! I did 8 peroni last night followed by a bottle of vodka - currently on bottle number 9 as a wakener - your on fentanyl mate Quote
Head The Brick Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 7 hours ago, spirt of 98 said: Here he is strolling about up town last night with Salazar thinking he’s made it. 6 hours ago, spirt of 98 said: He should be concentrating on improving his game. He’s a well paid footballer who’s not delivering the goods. He’s always on social media win loose or draw giving it the big yin. He can feck off. Total shite. 5 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: It’s just typical of him. Always on social media win, lose or draw big smiles in designer gear. He everything that is wrong with our football club. Cutting about thinking he’s in a boy band should concentrate on his football. Bit if you want us to be like Hibs you defend him. 4 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: No but just think he can post mages swaggering about Edinburgh when his game is on fire. m Roy Keane would boot his baws. ffs, its important that the players have a life away from the club. He's no slipped your Mrs a boaby on one of his nights out has he. You seem to have a very low opinion of him. Quote
brawlad74 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 Can see how he divides support as he is frustrating and has squandered stick on chances. However there's a player there and well worth persevering with. Reckon he'll go past his 9 goals last season and crikey we need that, but he has to learn to be more clinical. Don't see him as our main striker tho should be making most of his 2nd striker chances. Quote
Absolute Scenes Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 55 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: It’s just typical of him. Always on social media win, lose or draw big smiles in designer gear. He everything that is wrong with our football club. Cutting about thinking he’s in a boy band should concentrate on his football. Bit if you want us to be like Hibs you defend him. Oh good grief he smiles too much now 😂😂😂😂 Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 2 hours ago, Head The Brick said: ffs, its important that the players have a life away from the club. He's no slipped your Mrs a boaby on one of his nights out has he. You seem to have a very low opinion of him. Cause he is pish! Quote
RustyRightPeg Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 2 hours ago, spirt of 98 said: It’s just typical of him. Always on social media win, lose or draw big smiles in designer gear. He everything that is wrong with our football club. Cutting about thinking he’s in a boy band should concentrate on his football. Bit if you want us to be like Hibs you defend him. Correct he should be dressing in supermarket clothing and walking around with his face tripping him like you do. How does it go for you? Are you thriving or are you considerably miserable day to day? Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 Just now, RustyRightPeg said: Correct he should be dressing in supermarket clothing and walking around with his face tripping him like you do. How does it go for you? Are you thriving or are you considerably miserable day to day? Can tell you are a wee *****. Quote
pettigrewsstylist Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 He is a decent impact sub in tight games. If he keeps scoring he gets starts. Simple. Quote
jamboinglasgow Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 4 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: Can tell you are a wee *****. Your the one who is annoyed by a player going out after scoring a winning goal because he smiles. I dont think you have the credibility to attack another poster. Quote
RustyRightPeg Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 38 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: Can tell you are a wee *****. Aye a wee *****. Should he stay in his house? What’s your point here? Quote
gorgieshuffle Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 😂 boy scores the winner and gets slated. Wild Quote
Ari Gold Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 3 hours ago, spirt of 98 said: It’s just typical of him. Always on social media win, lose or draw big smiles in designer gear. He everything that is wrong with our football club. Cutting about thinking he’s in a boy band should concentrate on his football. Bit if you want us to be like Hibs you defend him. 😂😂😂 Man earns decent money and spends it. Man socialises with friends after work. Man living half way across the world from his family at 22 using social media to stay in touch with them. Hope the club release him for these serious crimes. Hope you've never went out to the pub after having a bad week at work. Quote
spirt of 98 Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 10 minutes ago, Ari Gold said: 😂😂😂 Man earns decent money and spends it. Man socialises with friends after work. Man living half way across the world from his family at 22 using social media to stay in touch with them. Hope the club release him for these serious crimes. Hope you've never went out to the pub after having a bad week at work. See if he was as good as George Best he could run about Princes St, in his Luis Vuitton shoes, pumping Miss World and posting it on social media with a big cheddar on his puss. However he’s missing sitters, picking up his wages and not giving a flying feck while the clubs sitting at the bottom of the league. Not a guy I want in our team. Total Hobo behaviour next he will be getting one of they Riordan hair cuts. Quote
Jack Torrance Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 49 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said: See if he was as good as George Best he could run about Princes St, in his Luis Vuitton shoes, pumping Miss World and posting it on social media with a big cheddar on his puss. However he’s missing sitters, picking up his wages and not giving a flying feck while the clubs sitting at the bottom of the league. Not a guy I want in our team. Total Hobo behaviour next he will be getting one of they Riordan hair cuts. What the **** is a spirt? Quote
Uncle Buck Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said: See if he was as good as George Best he could run about Princes St, in his Luis Vuitton shoes, pumping Miss World and posting it on social media with a big cheddar on his puss. However he’s missing sitters, picking up his wages and not giving a flying feck while the clubs sitting at the bottom of the league. Not a guy I want in our team. Total Hobo behaviour next he will be getting one of they Riordan hair cuts. Sounds like Vargas has a life. You, on the other hand, do not. Quote
GinRummy Posted November 3, 2024 Posted November 3, 2024 1 hour ago, spirt of 98 said: See if he was as good as George Best he could run about Princes St, in his Luis Vuitton shoes, pumping Miss World and posting it on social media with a big cheddar on his puss. However he’s missing sitters, picking up his wages and not giving a flying feck while the clubs sitting at the bottom of the league. Not a guy I want in our team. Total Hobo behaviour next he will be getting one of they Riordan hair cuts. You still at this 😂 Quote