Hibbys you loathed but turned out to be sound in real life

gordon simpson

12 hours ago, CostaJambo said:

Quite a coincidence, Donald Park owned that hotel too at some point, mid/late eighties I think.

Now you have mentioned it, I think they both owned it together.  It was Evans that kicked us out though.

Edited by Paolo

• Replies 175

• Sir PH

• been here before

• gordon simpson

Mixu, hated him for them as player and manager, but he used to come into the accountants I used to work with and his banter was brilliant, took a slagging well and dished it out too, top bloke! 

46 minutes ago, Sir PH said:

Robbo was a Rangers fan as a kid.

No he wasn't. 

Read his book and don't talk shite. 

3 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

No he wasn't. 

He must have been lying when he stated twice in his Shoot Q&A that he supports Rangers. 

As ever, though. I'm sure you know better.

ShortmanRossco
11 hours ago, biffy said:

Had an afternoon in the pub with Ian Murray, was a really sound guy. 

Was it a different Ian Murray?

4 hours ago, jimbojambo said:

I agree with Stanton and O'Rourke being really decent guys but the two that I met almost by accident at a Scotland 1974 that were  sound were Cormack and Blackley. We had made a beeline for Sandy Jardine who disappointingly shut down our Jambo talk with I'm a Rangers man. We then hooked up with Cormack who was a Jambo through his Dad and desperate to sign for Hearts but we hesitated and they jumped in. Blackley was really funny and talk about all the players of the day. Schaedler used to come on the charity walks from the Scottie and was a nice bloke and hid his demons too well from us all. Living in Abbeyhill I met a few over the years and can't think of one who was an idiot off the park. Used to hear of Eric Stevenson visiting local hosteleries pre match but it was a different time when players were paid the same as everyone else and it was a sport not a business as it is now. 

Eric Stevenson stayed three doors down from us in a council house in Bonnyrigg with his wife and kids ( might only have been one but my memory of the late 60s is fading a bit ).  Footballers didn't get paid a lot then.  

I remember the excitement when Peter Marinello visited the street - he was wearing a long brown leather coat iirc. I certainly didn't imagine he would play for Hearts one day. 😄

8 hours ago, Sir PH said:

Darren was a Rangers fan as a kid. His dad, Adam, was a Hearts fan. 

2 hours ago, Sir PH said:

Bit of a theme 

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Bit of a theme 

Yip. Although hardly earth shattering. Two Scottish kids support Scottish team. 

the posh bit
28 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Eric Stevenson stayed three doors down from us in a council house in Bonnyrigg with his wife and kids ( might only have been one but my memory of the late 60s is fading a bit ).  Footballers didn't get paid a lot then.  

I remember the excitement when Peter Marinello visited the street - he was wearing a long brown leather coat iirc. I certainly didn't imagine he would play for Hearts one day. 😄

His laddies were absolute states as well, particularly Gary (Geegsy). 

42 minutes ago, Sir PH said:

Yip. Although hardly earth shattering. Two Scottish kids support Scottish team. 

Your near encyclopedic knowledge of what players do or did support Rangers is quite a gift.

1 hour ago, the posh bit said:

His laddies were absolute states as well, particularly Gary (Geegsy). 

Eric eventually  had the Waverley Hotel and his shop in Poltonhall. Grew up a Hearts supporter I believe. 

Debut 4
12 hours ago, Gorgiewave said:

Not exactly the question, but I met Martin Boyle's mother on a bus to Pittodrie. A nicer woman you couldn't imagine. Proud of her son but not in a boastful way. He's an Aberdeen fan.

I thought of her when he missed the penalty on 27 December 2023.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-striker-boyle-grew-up-in-hearts-household-1514557#:~:text=But his family are Hearts,the derby three weeks ago.

got maroon blood in him 😁

39 minutes ago, been here before said:

Your near encyclopedic knowledge of what players do or did support Rangers is quite a gift.

Not really. It's quite well known that Darren Jackson supported Rangers as a kid, and I provided the Q&A where Robbo said he also supported them. Strange thing for you to get your knickers in a twist about.

No Idle Talk
3 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

No he wasn't. 

th?id=OIP.yWTIgmlnwDBL2X-HWkziAwHaJ3%26p

He says he did on this profile. 🤷‍♂️

2 minutes ago, No Idle Talk said:

Aye, but he's lying and I'm "talking shite", apparently. 

Just now, been here before said:

Calm down hun, Im admiring your Rangers supporters knowledge.

Stephen Kingsley, Naismith, Shankland, Darren Jackson, Dougie Imrie, Billy Reid, Zander Clark, Andy Halliday...

Just a few of the players you've told us all about over the last couple of months.

Impressive.

You're talking nonsense about Stephen Kingsley. He was a Celtic fan. It's flattering that you're keeping note of my posts, though.

15 minutes ago, No Idle Talk said:

In his book he says he went to rangers games with his brother who was a rangers fan and he never really supported any team as he always played football on a Saturday,  he also mentioned an English time who I forget.

As I said read his book, it's interesting. 

2 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

In his book he says he went to rangers games with his brother who was a rangers fan and he never really supported any team as he always played football on a Saturday,  he also mentioned an English time who I forget.

So it's down there in print, his own words, but I'm "talking shite"? 

Roxy Hearts
20 hours ago, gordon simpson said:

I have 2 

first is Jimmy O'rourke who I was friends with , and his 3 brothers who were all great guys and hibs daft 

second was George Stewart who I lived beside when he was at Dundee and then signed for hibs a great guy

Played golf with John(Bomber) O'Rourke at Torphin. Good guy.

19 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Jason Cummins 

Keith wright ( I know him and his wife ) 

Scott Brown 

Keith Wright fae Greendykes. Good guy. Knew him as a kid. Brother Gary a good player and his Dad was the drummer at Craigmillar Hearts Club.

20 hours ago, gordon simpson said:

I have 2 

first is Jimmy O'rourke who I was friends with , and his 3 brothers who were all great guys and hibs daft 

second was George Stewart who I lived beside when he was at Dundee and then signed for hibs a great guy

Aye jimmy, knew him when he had the corrie inn, seemed a decent guy , always there for a chat.

I forgot about Laurie Rielly. Obviously never saw him play or met him but always came over as a real gent when interviewed.

His book is quite good too as I recall.

cosanostra
4 hours ago, Sir PH said:

He really wasn't. Source - Robbo in person told me and he said the same on here.

4 hours ago, pablo said:

Really? Thought he liked Liverpool. But he idolised his father, who was PHM

Correct. As before, he told me in person that he never really supported any one team but he admired Liverpool the most. He also pretty much said the same thing on here.

4 hours ago, Sir PH said:

Was possibly more to do with Chris playing for them.

images-1.jpeg

Not buying that at all - sorry.

Bungalow Bill
35 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

At a Q&A event 1-2 years ago at Tynecastle, Robbo said he was a Liverpool fan. That was the first I’d heard that. 

14 minutes ago, been here before said:

Ken.

Its a shame theres not a simple to use search funtion that takes seconds to bring the posts up.

Maybe the admin could look into that.

Have they added an "alert" button.

Every time rangers are mentioned sir PH is on the thread like a drunk tucking into a kebab.

Just now, Bazzas right boot said:

Have they added an "alert" button.

Every time rangers are mentioned sir PH is on the thread like a drunk tucking into a kebab.

And you and the other obsessives are on to it straight away. Weird. 

1 minute ago, cosanostra said:

He really wasn't. Source - Robbo in person told me and he said the same on here.

Correct. As before, he told me in person that he never really supported any one team but he admired Liverpool the most. He also pretty much said the same thing on here.

Not buying that at all - sorry.

Correct,  it's all in his book.

He also certainly wasn't a Hearts fan and was very close to signing for hibs.

Had his dad not died he'd probably have went down south.

Tommy Preston, Alex Cropley and Jackie McNamara were all really good guys who I've met.

Paul Kane is a total knob in real life too.

I know Jason Cummings, but I wouldn't class him as Hibs and obviously I think the lad is a good egg

2 minutes ago, Bungalow Bill said:

At a Q&A event 1-2 years ago at Tynecastle, Robbo said he was a Liverpool fan. That was the first I’d heard that. 

Yeah, sounds about right, he mentions it in his book, I forgot the English team, Iirc I think he mentions because a lot of Scots played for them.

Could be guessing tho.

I had Liverpool or Leeds in my head.

3 minutes ago, Sir PH said:

And you and the other obsessives are on to it straight away. Weird. 

Aye, that's the weird part.

Yeah, sounds about right, he mentions it in his book, I forgot the English team, Iirc I think he mentions because a lot of Scots played for them.

Could be guessing tho.

I had Liverpool or Leeds in my head.

Does he mention it in his book?

cosanostra

Correct,  it's all in his book.

He also certainly wasn't a Hearts fan and was very close to signing for hibs.

Had his dad not died he'd probably have went down south.

The year he told me that was 1996 in my dad's pub a couple of weeks before Euro 96. He had just gone out of contract at Hearts and hadn't signed a new deal and had been heavily linked with Hibs.

Being a daft 18yr old, I said him "surely you wouldn't sign for them". He said football was his job and he would absolutely sign for them if Hearts didn't give him the deal he wanted. He signed a 2yr deal with us again before the start of the next season.

This was a long time ago and I partied a lot in my 20s so my memory might not be exactly spot on. 🤣

He also said he wouldn't mind if England won Euro96. 😲 Being honest, I can't even remember if it was before Euro 96 or France 98 but I'm sure the rest is spot on.

He was pretty much the only hero I ever had as a kid. That was the one and only time I got to meet him. 

thegreatsd
5 hours ago, Perth to Paisley said:

Through  a friend I met Bobby Smith and Willie Murray at an Average White Band concert in the Usher Hall. [Early 80's?]

Both were really nice guys.

Saw Bobby a couple of times later (after he went to Leicester) and he was a genuinely nice guy.

Passed too soon.

Bobby Smith was a great guy. When I was at primary school he moved into our village in Edgehead. He used to come and have a kick about with us up at the park. Top bloke. Like you say he passed away too soon.  

Deevers

I quite liked Jimmy O’Rourke an out and out Hibbee, but also a real football guy. Had some cracking discussions with him.  George Stewart was ok too when he was the joint owner at the Chesser Inn. Helped that the other owner Willie Allan was a big Jambo. Some great crack there.

Lived next to Wardie where Hibs used to train most days and got to know a lot of them when I was a kid as me and pals used to go over and watch them train I always had my Hearts top on which they had banter with me about ,I'd say Keith Houchen John Burridge Tommy McIntyre Keith Wright Mickey Weir were the best for a chat and laugh but most of them were brand new to be fair Alex Miller was the manager and he was sound he used to let us use the goals when the players were jogging or stretching etc 👍

Arse 'Friends' Dyslexic?

Craig Paterson.

Lives a few doors down from my parental home. 

Had a hip replacement a few years back and would stop and chat to my mum when doing his recovery walks.

1 hour ago, cosanostra said:

The year he told me that was 1996 in my dad's pub a couple of weeks before Euro 96. He had just gone out of contract at Hearts and hadn't signed a new deal and had been heavily linked with Hibs.

Being a daft 18yr old, I said him "surely you wouldn't sign for them". He said football was his job and he would absolutely sign for them if Hearts didn't give him the deal he wanted. He signed a 2yr deal with us again before the start of the next season.

This was a long time ago and I partied a lot in my 20s so my memory might not be exactly spot on. 🤣

He also said he wouldn't mind if England won Euro96. 😲 Being honest, I can't even remember if it was before Euro 96 or France 98 but I'm sure the rest is spot on.

He was pretty much the only hero I ever had as a kid. That was the one and only time I got to meet him. 

Yip, his book gives that feeling as well, a Hearts legend but 100% would have went to the club that suited him

Whisper it, but if Bosman was around back then he would have been away from us very early 

N Lincs Jambo
1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Tommy Preston, Alex Cropley and Jackie McNamara were all really good guys who I've met.

Paul Kane is a total knob in real life too.

I know Jason Cummings, but I wouldn't class him as Hibs and obviously I think the lad is a good egg

Came across Tommy Preston at the golf club a few times when I was a kid. He would always come over and have a natter with my mum and dad. Seemed really decent then my dad later on told me he had played for Hibs. Didn't realise that he'd been a seriously good player for them. Did he not get a couple of goals when they beat Barcelona in the old Fairs Cup?

Not a player for them but their old club secretary Cecil Graham who I also met at the golf club was sound as a pound as well. Always had time for a chat even though he knew I was Hearts daft.

Bindy Badgy

I never had strong opinions on him either way but, I met Guillaume Beuzelin at a mutual friend's birthday party. He seemed nice enough.

gordiegords

spoke to yogi hughes at a petrol station about a year old, helluva nice fella.

Met Yogi a few times and he is a total gent. Bumped into Scott Brown a couple of times in pubs in Edinburgh and he is always up for a laugh and takes the banter. My brother who is a rangers fan played golf with him and said the same.

gar jambo
6 hours ago, Sir PH said:

He must have been lying when he stated twice in his Shoot Q&A that he supports Rangers. 

As ever, though. I'm sure you know better.

Mabae he watched his brother Chris play for them but never Rangers! But never a fan 

Rogue Daddy
22 hours ago, XB52 said:

Pat Stanton. Hated him after he scored a late equaliser back in the 70s but he later ran my works local and was really sound.

Totally agree… don’t remember his playing days so much, but worked beside him for a wee while. Absolute gent. Just loved talking about football - any team! Good guy!

22 hours ago, Finlay James said:

I used to live next to Nick Colgan and socialised with him and his wife a fair bit.  Really good lad and his wife was fit.  He was very good mates with Antti Niemi and had huge respect for him.

I once met Mickey Weir in biddy mulligans and he was a good lad and happy to chat.

Ive met John Collins several times, he is the pricks prick.

Derek Riordan tried to pick a fight with me in a bar next to the omni centre when he saw my Hearts tattoo.  He wasn’t so game when I asked him outside 😅

I have had the pleasure of witnessing him being decked on two separate occasions. Once on Lothian Road and the other in Edward's (now known as Shandwick's). The bouncers then lobbed him out if the boozer. 😄 

3 hours ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Came across Tommy Preston at the golf club a few times when I was a kid. He would always come over and have a natter with my mum and dad. Seemed really decent then my dad later on told me he had played for Hibs. Didn't realise that he'd been a seriously good player for them. Did he not get a couple of goals when they beat Barcelona in the old Fairs Cup?

Not a player for them but their old club secretary Cecil Graham who I also met at the golf club was sound as a pound as well. Always had time for a chat even though he knew I was Hearts daft.

Tommy was a Hearts fan as a laddie 

N Lincs Jambo
2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Tommy was a Hearts fan as a laddie 

Didn’t know that. Cheers 

Beave1874

Does Michael O'Neill count?? Met him after todays game and he is a gentleman, nice wee bit banter. I believe he attends a lot of our home games. 

Warby72

Suppose I should also give a mention to Grant Stott, he was my mentor for my first week at Gillespie's in 1984 saved me from a kicking and recovered my schoolbag. 

Jamhammer
On 29/03/2024 at 16:05, No Idle Talk said:

Never knew any. Met Paul Kane and Mickey Weir at an Emlyn Hughes soccer day at Meadowbank Stadium when I was wee. Paul Kane was a knob.

Was flying out of Edinburgh a couple of weeks ago

Saw Graeme Souness, who looked like he could still play 

Then saw Kane who looked like Jabba the Hutt