Scotland Euro Friendlies

Mikey1874

1 hour ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Patterson had barely played for the Rangers first team.  Iirc just the odd cup game but Tavernier played all the league games.  Hickey had much more first team experience.  As you say there were other factors but overall we wuz robbed and Rangers won a watch.  They must still be laughing about it now!

When Hickey left he had 33 first team appearances for Hearts, Patterson had 27 for Rangers when he left (albeit a lot of his were cup matches). Also got to remember that Hickey would've been on a very modest contract, his first senior one (I think), when we sold him, whereas Patterson had signed an extension with Rangers after he'd broken into the first team, so I assume he'd have been on a significantly higher wage - not to mention having an extra year than Hickey did at the time of departure. 

But I certainly won't dispute that Rangers still got a lot more than they probably should have at the time! 

• Replies 1.5k

• Luckies1874

• Hearts007

• tian447

Jambo in Bathgate
18 minutes ago, Laurie said:

When Hickey left he had 33 first team appearances for Hearts, Patterson had 27 for Rangers when he left (albeit a lot of his were cup matches). Also got to remember that Hickey would've been on a very modest contract, his first senior one (I think), when we sold him, whereas Patterson had signed an extension with Rangers after he'd broken into the first team, so I assume he'd have been on a significantly higher wage - not to mention having an extra year than Hickey did at the time of departure. 

But I certainly won't dispute that Rangers still got a lot more than they probably should have at the time! 

Thing is Rangers could afford to pay big wages and get youngster to sign contract. Unfortunately we weren’t in that position and Hickey went to club for big wage. It worked out for him but could have gone the other way. We had to sell or lose any decent fee. 

busbyfth
On 28/03/2024 at 04:17, gregzy2k7 said:

Clarke has done an amazing job imo,

You can only piss with the 🐓 you have got,

The fact is Scotland are good in midfield and with the wingbacks, but they lack good defenders and a good enough front line (Shanks aside) so will not progress much further until that is rectified imo.

At least they qualifying for tournaments now,

I don't expect us to get out the group tbh, it's not impossible but Scotland are just lacking in certain areas of the park.

Ironically though it was the through passes from the midfield which let us down as their accuracy was awful - one of those nights (as the eagles might sing) 

1 hour ago, busbyfth said:

Ironically though it was the through passes from the midfield which let us down as their accuracy was awful - one of those nights (as the eagles might sing) 

Midfield had an off night and found it difficult against a team with pretty much everyone behind the ball and defending very well (could be similar in reverse when we play Germany).   Think they’ll do better with more space in the Euros and with McGregor back, we’re a better team with him in it.  We actually looked a far better team for about 70 minutes against the Netherlands than we did against Northern Ireland. 

Not all doom and gloom, at least we’ve got the Euros to look forward to,  I’d rather be in our position than watching on from afar like Wales and N Ireland will be and like we usually are!  Our defence does look like an accident waiting to happen though. 

14 hours ago, JDK2020 said:

GSTK is the anthem of the UK comprising all 4 constituent parts. 

My God, sir, I think you’ve got it.  :clap: 

I retract my ‘stupid’ comment, the one I aimed at you, and would like to replace it with ‘slightly slow’.

I hope you’re ok with that?

In fact, I don’t.  I couldn’t care less.

Have a great day.  

JDK2020
3 hours ago, Morgan said:

My God, sir, I think you’ve got it.  :clap: 

I retract my ‘stupid’ comment, the one I aimed at you, and would like to replace it with ‘slightly slow’.

I hope you’re ok with that?

In fact, I don’t.  I couldn’t care less.

Have a great day.  

🤩Just how childish are you going to be about this? It's reached obsession levels.

Why do you imagine GSTK was played pre-match?

And if their anthem is NOT GSTK, pray tell, what is it?

Oh, BTW...

National anthem of Northern Ireland - Wikipedia

• God Save the King, the national and royal anthem of the United Kingdom, is played as the anthem of Northern Ireland at association football.

Oh, and I AM having a great day thanks.

Edited by JDK2020

2 minutes ago, JDK2020 said:

🤩Just how childish are you going to be about this? It's reached obsession levels.

Oh, BTW...

• God Save the King, the national and royal anthem of the United Kingdom, is played as the anthem of Northern Ireland at association football.

It's not their national anthem.  It's played because they dinnae have an official one. 

All UK nations would default to GSTK if they never had yin either. 

Edited by May98

JDK2020
1 minute ago, May98 said:

It's not their national anthem.  It's played because they dinnae have an official one. 

Lol, it's spreading....

1 minute ago, JDK2020 said:

Lol, it's spreading....

Have no idea what you are on about to be honest. 

JDK2020
24 minutes ago, May98 said:

Have no idea what you are on about to be honest. 

Sorry, I meant the spreading of the erroneous belief on here of what is the anthem of NI. 

Seaside Dave

Being from northern Ireland I can confirm the national anthem is god save the king. 

JDK2020
50 minutes ago, Seaside Dave said:

Being from northern Ireland I can confirm the national anthem is god save the king. 

Thank you kind sir.

Now, Messrs Fozzy and Morgan, please let this be the end of this ridiculous nonsense of yours.

You may now stop making utter tools of yourselves for no good reason.

Edited by JDK2020

1 hour ago, JDK2020 said:

Oh, BTW...

It’s great to hear that your day has gone swimmingly.  👍

1 hour ago, May98 said:

This, in my opinion, is the correct answer.

Apologies to Seaside Dave.

5 minutes ago, JDK2020 said:

Thank you kind sir.

Now, Messrs Fozzy and Morgan, please let this be the end of this ridiculous nonsense of yours.

You may now stop making utter tools of yourselves for no good reason.

No surrender!

Seaside Dave
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

It’s great to hear that your day has gone swimmingly.  👍

This, in my opinion, is the correct answer.

Apologies to Seaside Dave.

😂😂😂 You wee rascal ❤️

1 hour ago, JDK2020 said:

Dearie me! 😃

:thumb:

4 hours ago, JDK2020 said:

Oh, BTW...

'This page was last edited on 26 March 2024, at 21:25'

Just ahead of your 'claim', eh?

How convenient :lol:

JDK2020
11 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

'This page was last edited on 26 March 2024, at 21:25'

Just ahead of your 'claim', eh?

How convenient :lol:

What you talking about?

1 minute ago, JDK2020 said: