Scotland's biggest clubs poll. Apparently we are 4th.

colinmorewasgash

David McCaig

Surely the size of a club is dictated by fan base/potential fan base.

If the question is who are Scotland's most successful club then obviously the criteria change to trophies won and historic league positions and points etc...

For example if we look at the last decade it could be argued that based on trophies alone Inverness are more successful than Hearts, however it would be quite a stretch to argue that Inverness with crowds of 2,000 were a bigger team than a club with crowds of 20,000.

Aberdeen seen to drag this argument up weekly about being bigger than us but other than their 80s purple patch have nothing to back it up. They are the football equivalent of this guy.

Jay4.jpg

Never understood the "bigger" debate. 

Is there an official measurement?

It's an utterly pointless, meaningless argument.

Chillidigits

Who cares about this poll anyway. The more important question is which clubs do the best pies ?

Pans Jambo
16 hours ago, Sir PH said:

Why do so many people spell Forest "Forrest" when discussing Nottingham Forest?

Sorry about that :cornette:

Off subject slightly, but there's a survey in the EEN about  ticket prices, and we are one of the cheapest in the top two leagues for the price of the cheapest adult ticket, well ahead of many Championship clubs too. How'sthat for value.

Anyone noticed, Sheep and Hubs have identical records, and shite ones too :kirklol:

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Sorry about that :cornette:

No apology needed. Just curious why so many people can't spell it properly. 

Celebrating a 3-3 draw at home against fellow struggling team like some great result in your online inhouse media , a day or so after a supposed poll has you as the 3rd biggest club .

Sheep continue being big 😆 

These polls are nonsense. I did the BBC poll and I put Hearts as the biggest club in Scotland. Obviously we are not (yet!!).

Maiden Gorgie

You have to ask who takes part in these polls.

Normally fans who want to big up a busted flush to make them seem relevant.

Enter: Aberdeen FC

quite happy with our standing, the whole of Scottish fitba knows where we are and are worried.

I like it

6 hours ago, Sir PH said:

Having Forrest in our team won't help. A bit like this "poll", not worth worrying about

4 minutes ago, WDJ87 said:

Having Forrest in our team won't help. A bit like this "poll", not worth worrying about

No worrying here. More of a mild annoyance.😁

7 hours ago, Sir PH said:

Forrest is an obsolete variant spelling for forest. I've seen it, and the occupation forester, spelled many times that way in old documents. Perhaps some folk are just more in touch with their roots. ;)

8 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

Off subject slightly, but there's a survey in the EEN about  ticket prices, and we are one of the cheapest in the top two leagues for the price of the cheapest adult ticket, well ahead of many Championship clubs too. How'sthat for value.

Think Bayern might be better value at £104 for cheapest ST.

23 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Forrest is an obsolete variant spelling for forest. I've seen it, and the occupation forester, spelled many times that way in old documents. Perhaps some folk are just more in touch with their roots. ;)

Aye, but it's still wrong.😁

gregzy2k7

3rd in the league though.

:yas::clyay::locke::sweeet::sadrobbo:

The Sheep's only crumb of comfort is a bbc poll lol 😆 🤣 😂 

On 13/02/2024 at 22:25, martoon said:

1=: Celtic

:Rangers

3: Heart of Midlothian 

4: Hibernian

5: Aberdeen

6=: Dundee

Dundee utd

8: Motherwell 

No idea below that.

Kilmarnock surely in 6th?

3 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

Dundee United are a bigger club than Kilmarnock. 

rudeskaboyuk

St Johnstone won the cup double.  Surely they must be 3rd biggest 

Both Hearts and Aberdeen have every right at the moment to claim they are the largest of the two clubs for different reasons. I am more interested in the future and where we are going - concentrate on that and this question takes care of itself 

More people follow Aberdeen on Social Media, than ourselves, thats something we should be pressing harder, or are we just an ageing support?

10 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

Possibly, tc.

It's all pretty subjective.

I think Dundee were regarded as Scotland's clear 6th club until the late 70's. 

Perhaps not now though.

As others have pointed out, Dunfermline and Falkirk's averages have been impressive considering the absence of top flight football.

Who knows, eh? 😊

On 14/02/2024 at 11:29, boag1874 said:

Killie

St Mirren

Falkirk

Dunfermline

Raith

Are all reasonably well supported. Certainly better supported than St Johnstone who are 10th in the poll

There are Junior teams in Ayrshire that have a bigger support than St Johnstone.

3 hours ago, Yoda said:

There are Junior teams in Ayrshire that have a bigger support than St Johnstone.

There's not. 

No Idle Talk
6 hours ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

More people follow Aberdeen on Social Media, than ourselves, thats something we should be pressing harder, or are we just an ageing support?

We are just a bunch of auld codgers who wear cardigans and play bools.

According to some Lochend natives anyway. 🤨😂