• ri Alban

• OBE

• henrysmithsgloves

13 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

I got steamboats on that in the Rosewell Tavern when I was 17 or 18, the thought of the stuff gives me the dry boak so it does🤢

Vanilla flavour vodka for me. Got wasted on it and ever since can't even look at the bottle. 

5 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

Unicum

Trust me. It's this.

:sick:

The immediate downing of the absinthe chasers to get the taste out the mouth on that stag do still makes me shudder.

Worthing Jambo
2 hours ago, Tazio said:

I remember an ex having a Fernet Branca when we were out for a meal as her guts were feeling a bit sensitive. Worked a treat for her. However she failed to mention that while it helped her feel better it basically gave her the most evil flatulence all night which she was completely aware would happen. 

Last Fernet I had was with coke and ice. Better than I expected but I do like to offer a Fernet shot to unsuspecting visitors🤭

Haven’t noticed the farts increasing but I do tend to be a bit gaseous anyway if I’ve ventured on to Fernet🤣

10 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Estrella, Cave and Rioja.

When did you last have a pint of Estrella Damm, ri?

Or, a good bottle of Rioja?

ps. What is this ‘Cave’ you talk of?

6 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Whisky

Sambuca 

Any fruit tea

See when I wrote ‘Herbal tea’?  I meant to write fruit tea!  

Absolutely awful stuff.

And the smell!  :boak:  

39 minutes ago, Morgan said:

When did you last have a pint of Estrella Damm, ri?

Or, a good bottle of Rioja?

ps. What is this ‘Cave’ you talk of?

Nick Cave Talks Religion, Fashion & Songwriting in Bigsound Keynote ...

4 hours ago, Byyy The Light said:

Campari.

Howfin.

Sacrilege. Can't beat a good Negroni.

26 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Ah!  so Ri drinks David Caves?

I suppose that explains a lot.

:Shanks:

21 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

Old Fashioned pisses all over a Negroni. Next...

😄

22 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

Agreed.  :thumb:

A Negroni is a great drink.

Wee Mikey
On 17/01/2024 at 09:20, JudyJudyJudy said:

Buckfast 

whisky 

Pernod 

advocat

craft ales 

Your stand-out on that list has to be Advocaat.

Buckie is brill, Whisky is wonderful, Pernod is perfect, and craft ales are ... well ... crafty ...

... But ... Advocaat ... Advocaat?

Imagine going into the Dragon's Den and trying to convince them that your new concoction was worthy of investment.

You'd be chased with, "I'm out" ringing in your ears.

Funnily enough, I spotted it just prior to Christmas in the Co-Op and am guessing that it still has a festive market. Heaven only knows why.

A quick JKB straw poll:-

Does anyone know anyone who buys this beverage, let alone buy it themselves?

For me, it belongs in the dim and distant '70s along with Blue Nun, Mateus Rosé, and Liebfraumilch.

I still like a prawn cocktail starter, though. Lol.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advocaat

The very thought ... 👇

Advocaat /ˈædvəkɑː/ or advocatenborrel is a traditional Dutch alcoholic beverage made from eggs, sugar, and brandy.[1] The rich and creamy drink has a smooth, custard-like consistency. The typical alcohol content is generally between 14% and 20% ABV. Its contents may be a blend of egg yolks, aromatic spirits, sugar or honey, brandy, vanilla, and sometimes cream (or condensed milk).

Spellczech

Bound to be just about anything you've barfed after drinking.  I remember doing pub golf and I was in a team with 4 women - men had to drink a pint or half and a shot/mixer. I drank 4 beers but this was competitive with fast walking between bars...Girls suggested I switch to half and Advocaat & lemonade...Disaster. Never been so ill.

Edited by Spellczech

superjack
4 hours ago, ericthepen said:

Raki 

We went to Turkey for our honeymoon and I took a liking to Raki. However, it's thebonly drink I know that, when I'm pished on it, my special friend just doesn't want to stand up, even the next morning. Not a good honeymoon drink.

After a recent bad cough I'd like to offert his as the only possible answer to the thread. It must be close to what I imagine Bile tastes like.

Tried it once, immediately made the other half (who doesn't have a cough but bought this for me) try it. Then binned it.

image.png.4ec24eee378ff15c1bab7572f9c40d7c.png

Edited by hughesie27

Pans Jambo

Tennent's Lager.

You're just kidding yourself on. Its the old firm of lagers! Big seller but a complete embarrassment for the country!

10 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Only pulling your leg bud. :D

Christ, aye, I know that!  :thumb:

5 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Buckie is brill, Whisky is wonderful, Pernod is perfect, and craft ales are ... well ... crafty ...

Imagine going into the Dragon's Den and trying to convince them that your new concoction was worthy of investment.

Funnily enough, I spotted it just prior to Christmas in the Co-Op and am guessing that it still has a festive market. Heaven only knows why.

For me, it belongs in the dim and distant '70s along with Blue Nun, Mateus Rosé, and Liebfraumilch.

The very thought ... 👇

Advocaat /ˈædvəkɑː/ or advocatenborrel is a traditional Dutch alcoholic beverage made from eggs, sugar, and brandy.[1] The rich and creamy drink has a smooth, custard-like consistency. The typical alcohol content is generally between 14% and 20% ABV. Its contents may be a blend of egg yolks, aromatic spirits, sugar or honey, brandy, vanilla, and sometimes cream (or condensed milk).

Reminded me of this 😂😂

IMG_7034.gif

Dawnrazor
6 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

The very thought ... 👇

I love an Advocat, it's guilty pleasure of mine 😪

Wee Mikey
14 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I love an Advocat, it's guilty pleasure of mine 😪

There's a Dick Advocaat joke to be made but I'll leave that 'un for those less under the influence than I am right now. 😝

9 hours ago, OBE said:

🤢

kronenbourg-1664-premium-american-lager-beer-single-bottle_3.webp

A Kronenbourg is a term for a woman who looks 16 from the back and 64 from the front 

:wattie:

Percival King

Got to be the drink you take the day before a colonoscopy. And you need to have several glasses of it. I'd drink any of the other suggestions on here (I think) before having the pre-colonoscopy drink - surely they don't require you to have a toilet and a bucket nearby when consuming.

17 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

A Kronenbourg is a term for a woman who looks 16 from the back and 64 from the front 

:wattie:

School days just keep on coming...👍

1 hour ago, Percival King said:

Got to be the drink you take the day before a colonoscopy. And you need to have several glasses of it. I'd drink any of the other suggestions on here (I think) before having the pre-colonoscopy drink - surely they don't require you to have a toilet and a bucket nearby when consuming.

Moviprep.

****in horrendous stuff.

Very effective though 😄

Honestly, Pernod, Bacardi and the terribly awful whisky.

:nojustno: 

20 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

After a recent bad cough I'd like to offert his as the only possible answer to the thread. It must be close to what I imagine Bile tastes like.

Tried it once, immediately made the other half (who doesn't have a cough but bought this for me) try it. Then binned it.

image.png.4ec24eee378ff15c1bab7572f9c40d7c.png

The best thing about having a winter cold is the excuse to take chesty cough Benylin, although it's never been the same since they took the codeine out. :(

17 hours ago, Morgan said:

Christ, aye, I know that!  :thumb:

Do you have the keg?

On 17/01/2024 at 16:05, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

On 17/01/2024 at 16:33, Morgan said:

Ah!  so Ri drinks David Caves?

I suppose that explains a lot.

:Shanks:

Aw naw, they're on to me. 

Cava. Blinking phone.

10 hours ago, Morgan said:

Honestly, Pernod, Bacardi and the terribly awful whisky.

:nojustno: 

Disappointed in you Morgan, thought you were a serious drinker.

7 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Do you have the keg?

Thankfully though, I get to drink it 'live' on a regular basis as we go to Barcelona every four weeks for a few nights.

6 hours ago, Craig_ said:

Disappointed in you Morgan, thought you were a serious drinker.

I used to be, Craig.  Sadly, no longer.

Even then, I've always hated whisky.

There is one very peaty malt that I could perhaps drink a couple of, although I can't recall its name right now.

1 minute ago, scottishguy said:

Coffee of any sort, smells horrible with a taste to match.

But coffee provides essential energy 

4 minutes ago, scottishguy said:

Coffee of any sort, smells horrible with a taste to match.

:notsure:

On 18/01/2024 at 02:19, Section Q said:

Milky, tea.....!

oi leave me out of it

Edited by milky_26

On 19/01/2024 at 15:26, Morgan said:

Thankfully though, I get to drink it 'live' on a regular basis as we go to Barcelona every four weeks for a few nights.

Magic! Ice cold?