Christmas Dinner

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I nearly canceled xmas, not gonna lie. I'd rather get a chinese and chill. 

But a wee burdy told me that i should think of other people, even though the other people are selfish. 

Roll with it and enjoy the company  it is only one day. 

• Replies 137

• Cade

• Greedy Jambo

• Dawnrazor

21 minutes ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

Roll with it and enjoy the company  it is only one day. 

I know, but i don't enjoy the company. 

I'll just have to take one for the team. 

But a wee burdy told me that i should think of other people, even though the other people are selfish. 

I’m with you on this one, Greedy.

All people are selfish.

Who granted you such powers? 

3 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Gotta spend it with the right people, IMO.  But not always possible for everyone, I know.

Cairneyhill Jambo
13 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

So, not a fan of cranberry sauce on my turkey ( any fruit on meat is bad ) but love bread sauce.  

Agreed. Xmas Dinner should only consist of turkey, roast potatoes, pigs and blankets, and loads of bread sauce. Nae need for anything else. Honey roast parsnips, sprouts and the rest can gtf. 

10 minutes ago, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

Agreed. Xmas Dinner should only consist of turkey, roast potatoes, pigs and blankets, and loads of bread sauce. Nae need for anything else. Honey roast parsnips, sprouts and the rest can gtf. 

Balls to that. I’ll have a bit of everything. 😀 Prefer chipolatas to pigs in blankets. But I have both.
The one thing that pisses me right off is that since i’m the cook, mines is always cold by the time I sit down 😡

26 minutes ago, westbow said:

Balls to that. I’ll have a bit of everything. 😀 Prefer chipolatas to pigs in blankets. But I have both.
The one thing that pisses me right off is that since i’m the cook, mines is always cold by the time I sit down 😡

I’m always the cook too but on the plus side, tunes and bevvy in the kitchen whilst cooking is excellent 🍺👍

6 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

I’m always the cook too but on the plus side, tunes and bevvy in the kitchen whilst cooking is excellent 🍺👍

You got that right, being half cut trying to do the roast potatoes brings its own rewards in terms of thrills and spills. Always sets off the smoke alarms.

Edited by westbow
Typo

On 13/12/2023 at 16:34, Dawnrazor said:

Hopefully Prawn Cocktail to start, either a roast of our own grass fed Luing cattle, failing that, something I can go and kill, venison, pheasant or duck, all the trimmings (extra sprouts for me.

Cherry trifle for pud'.

Merry Christmas, Ho,Fekn,Ho :smiliz23::smiliz46:

On 13/12/2023 at 20:31, Dawnrazor said:

I can highly recommend a 3 bird roast made with Gamebirds, they can be smaller if there's only a couple of you and s much tastier. I do mine with pheasant/partridge/woodcock or pigeon, or, for a few more people, goose/duck/pheasant.

https://www.donaldrussell.com/three-bird-game-roast.html

Ok, I take the above back. What time is ok for my arrival😋

On 13/12/2023 at 20:25, Cade said:

Aye those are the usual ones but not doing entire birds this year as it's not very many people to cater for.
I'll just buy a pre-made one from whichever supermarket is doing them this year. For some reason not every shop does one every year.
https://groceries.aldi.co.uk/en-GB/p-specially-selected-turkey-chicken-and-duck-three-bird-roast-12kg/4088600318516

It's a Nigella recipe, from her "Kitchen" book.

A bit like a cheesecake. 
Oreo biscuit base, then a filling of melted marshmallows, cream, creme de menthe and creme de cacao liqueurs.
Don't panic if the filling seems very, very liquid when you pour it in, it WILL set in the fridge after a few hours.
https://www.tasteatlas.com/grasshopper-pie/recipe/marshmallow-grasshopper-pie
img_0011_out.png

That looks laaverly 😋

On 14/12/2023 at 07:23, PTBCAL said:

Homemade butternut coconut and chilli soup 

A chocolate cake I will also make.

i am spending it on my own this year and absolutely delighted. 

Recipe for that soup please.

For ours it will be…

Starter… homemade soup, possibly butternut coconut and chilli soup🤞

Main… Slow cooked Beef Shin with Red Wine and Bonemarrow sauce, Gammon Shank with Treacle Glaze and all the usual trimmings 

Dessert… Key Lime Pie with Double Cream, Homemade Chocolate Molten Cakes and my favourite Cheeseboard below…

IMG_6531.jpeg

Edited by luckyBatistuta

Always have ours on Christmas Eve.  Last year Thai this year Indian, all delivered. Leaves a no hassle Christmas Day.

26 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Always have ours on Christmas Eve.  Last year Thai this year Indian, all delivered. Leaves a no hassle Christmas Day.

Turkey and sprout Masala?

:sweeet: 

4 minutes ago, Clark Griswold said:

GUYS SERIOUS QUESTION.... YORKIES ON A CHRISTMAS DINNER PLATE... YES OR NO... GO!

Its a yes from me

There's gravy involved...so it has to be a unequivocal YES!

55 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

So what you're saying is that you don't have one. 

53 minutes ago, Clark Griswold said:

GUYS SERIOUS QUESTION.... YORKIES ON A CHRISTMAS DINNER PLATE... YES OR NO... GO!

Its a yes from me

Yes!

I’ve not had a Yorkshire pudding for years, but would definitely have them with a Christmas dinner.

2 hours ago, Clark Griswold said:

Its a yes from me

100% yes.

Whether we're having turkey or beef, yorkies always make an appearance.

9 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

After Eights seemed to have changed, not as good for me, the mint bit in the middle seems to be firmer🤔

And your point is, caller?

:biggrin2:

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

And your point is, caller?

:biggrin2:

The minty bit in the middle of an After Eight Mint isn't as soft making them less enjoyable.

5 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

The minty bit in the middle of an After Eight Mint isn't as soft making them less enjoyable.

On a discussion about Yorkshire puddings?

:cornette_dog:

😉

Just now, Morgan said:

On a discussion about Yorkshire puddings?

:cornette_dog:

😉

Morgan, I've had a ****in shite day mate, shite, and to find After Eights, part of every Christmas dinner, are now shite, has me teetering on the ****in edge🤬

15 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Morgan, I've had a ****in shite day mate, shite, and to find After Eights, part of every Christmas dinner, are now shite, has me teetering on the ****in edge🤬

Sorry, Dawn.  

Just pulling your leg!

ps. Sorry you've had a shite day.  :thumb:

3 hours ago, Clark Griswold said:

Its a yes from me

The dug or the chocolate bar?

9 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

So what you're saying is that you don't have one. 

Christmas Eve is a bigger deal than Christmas Day in many European countries.  Just saying.

On 20/12/2023 at 23:50, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

Parsnip, carrots and sprouts are essential. Way too bland without.

Went to M&S and Costco on Tuesday to get our stuff.

Frozen Prawns and some hot cayenne pepper for the sauce (homemade). She doesn't like prawns so it will be a fancy duck pate and small crusty rolls for her.

Turkey Joint with stuffing and a seville orange glazed Ham

Normal accompaniments minus Sprouts.

M&S do these chocolate pine cones that are incredible for dessert.

For breakfast it's bake at home croissants with philidelphia and smoked salmon with a bucks fizz.

We also have some mini steak pies, a jar of fake caviar and cream cheese to have for lunch.

SmartSelect_20231222_083248_Chrome Beta.jpg

the sub goalie
4 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Went to M&S and Costco on Tuesday to get our stuff.

Frozen Prawns and some hot cayenne pepper for the sauce (homemade). She doesn't like prawns so it will be a fancy duck pate and small crusty rolls for her.

Turkey Joint with stuffing and a seville orange glazed Ham

Normal accompaniments minus Sprouts.

M&S do these chocolate pine cones that are incredible for dessert.

For breakfast it's bake at home croissants with philidelphia and smoked salmon with a bucks fizz.

We also have some mini steak pies, a jar of fake caviar and cream cheese to have for lunch.

SmartSelect_20231222_083248_Chrome Beta.jpg

I’ve got they chocolate acorns in my fridge, they’re the bomb. Noticed they also have mini salted caramel chocolate acorns in their chocolate aisle, will be trying them.

That thing you do
On 14/12/2023 at 06:59, highlandjambo3 said:

What’s your address and, how long is the flight over?

Always welcome anyone from here if coming to Mexico City to stay with us. Genuinely. 

periodictabledancer
20 hours ago, Cade said:

100% yes.

Whether we're having turkey or beef, yorkies always make an appearance.

This. My lad makes his own , superb stuff. 

The bread sauce idea can get in the bin & stay there. 

I'll make my own sausage & onion stuffing with a caramelised onion glaze.