*** Official Dundee v Heart of Midlothian Match Thread (merged) ***

Scott Leitch

Fitzroy Pointon
3 minutes ago, Clark Griswold said:

why are we so incapable of performing away from home for the most part - is it a mentality thing?

Not as good as we think we are? Actually look weaker this season than we did under Neilson. 

• Replies 1.6k

• pettigrewsstylist

• Dusk_Till_Dawn

• Clark Griswold

• jr ewing

Just now, Ray Gin said:

Remember the guaranteed attacking, swashbuckling football we'd get under Naismith? 

Guid yin. Utter dross again.

The other team is the issue with that, they try and stop you.

No idea why this surprises folk!

Just now, paleredfox said:

The blame squarely lies with the formation, tactics and personnel that the management “team” play.

There seems to be an odd foible to play players out of position, combined with not getting the best out of certain players (or even a decent standard).

I was all for Naismith getting the gig, but not this mish-mash “team” and the resulting tactics, formation and players.

Why were you all for Naismith getting the gig? Wtf has he ever done that justifies him getting the gig?

As much of a charlatan as anyone else

Just now, hmfc1984 said:

So many pretenders in our club who are several levels out of their depth. 

This hasn't got the makings of a successful season about it. 

Starts at the very top and works down. Change is needed but it won't. Never mind the Hotel will be open soon. Absolute shitshow. 

1 minute ago, RedStarRiot said:

Shite, same as last season. 

Zander Clarke is hopeless. 

You’ll probably get pelters but I agree. Makes saves he should. Shocking at crosses and anything either side of him. 

The only thing that’s got better in Scottish football over the last thirty years is the pitches!!

The players, coaches, managers, tactics, playing style, the boredom, clubs pecking order have not evolved in the slightest!

1 minute ago, James1874f said:

Said the same today pointless resting players we are never winning thursdayb

We’d be as well not turning up.

I love getting away with Hearts, but maybe going out Thursday will be a blessing in disguise…

Aberdeen been absolutely horrendous today too by all accounts.

Our squads can’t seem to cope with two games in a week. That says a lot about our squads and management teams.

Just now, Salad Fingers said:

Not as good as we think we are? Actually look weaker this season than we did under Neilson. 

You aren't going ti go away from home ti any team in the top 2 divisions and control a game of football with Sibbick and Denholm on the middle. 

Frustrating thing is, if we don't give away a goal we draw or win, Scottish football is built on a solid defence and not making a mistake. 

We made a mistake and gave away a goal.

Just now, Arthur Morgan said:

Remember, most people on here wanted Naismith. I certainly didn't.

But but but he shouts a lot!!!

SomethingAboutObua

Any team that attempts to defend more than attack and we're lost about what to do. Do the team realise half the opponents in the league will be playing for draws against us all season? 

Some folk will attack me for this but I don’t care. It’s not happening lads. 3 domestic games in and truly unconvincing stuff. Huge question marks from me. 

buzzbomb1958
Just now, Boris5115 said:

Starts at the very top and works down. Change is needed but it won't. Never mind the Hotel will be open soon. Absolute shitshow. 

Doesn’t help when you have no management in place only a couple of chancers

alicante jambo
1 minute ago, AC Mallin_51 said:

4 points from St Johnstone, killie and Dundee is simply not good enough 

I agree  fecking terrible. 

Just now, JamboJoker98 said:

68% of posession and fewer shots on goal than Dundee. Same old.

It looks like we could play for several hours and not score, very frustrating!

Awful, no drive, no identity (part from crab passing), had always thought Grant offered something but he doesn't, Sibbick isn't a CM, Oda and Tagawa look like they've been drained of pace and attacking intent, and I'd be concerned that we are that pish that Shanks bails this week if an offer comes in.

15 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

Yeah mate, nothing really does change does it. Been the same, not for months, but YEARS. I'm just bored of it all really.

Feel the exact same. Same old pish year after year. Someone in the club high up is terrified of making change and getting someone in who will get rid of dead wood.

best in the land
1 minute ago, Arthur Morgan said:

Remember, most people on here wanted Naismith. I certainly didn't.

Me either. As has been said it's the cheap option.

Management appointments have been poor by in the budge era.

Any managers recently out of a job who could, er, do a job? 

A former player maybe? 

They all have their eye on a trip to Greece.

None of them intending to get injured or burst a gut.

Funny feeling it will still be the same long after we are out of Europe.

Race to get a manager who knows what he is doing before the wee team does.

Dr Ian Malcolm

We're a poorer team than we were under Neilson. Smashing a dreadful Ross County has blinded a fair few to the fact that Naismith didn't do much different at all during his seven games in charge last season. 

Board panicked, took the easy option and this is where we are; a weaker squad that's powderpuff in attack unless Shankland  manages to produce a finish from next to nothing.

Captain Sausage

Shambles. 

This sits on McAvoy/Naismith and their consistently shite team lines. 

This sits on Savage and his utter failure in the transfer market since last summer. 

This sits on Budge/McKinley and their piss poor leadership and failure to pull the trigger on Neilson early enough. 

Unacceptable from all involved. 

Hungry hippo
1 minute ago, Valois No1 said:

Some folk will attack me for this but I don’t care. It’s not happening lads. 3 domestic games in and truly unconvincing stuff. Huge question marks from me. 

Same point as most other posts on this thread so not exactly controversial.