You’re at Greggs/baker and you treat yourself with………?

Angel eyes

• Replies 145

• Greedy Jambo

• luckyBatistuta

• been here before

• Unknown user

7 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Could I have a vanilla slice, please? 

You can have two since you asked so nicely. 

Last time I was in Edinburgh I went to Greggs in Stockbridge and bought a variety of goods - pizza, steak bake, pie, etc.

I was expecting better to be honest.  I didn't hate it, but I wouldn't go out my way to get any of them again.

Having said that, I haven't had a yumyum (are they still called that?) for about 25 years, so maybe I'd get one of them.

Edited by Sydney

Just now, Sydney said:

Last time I was in Edinburgh I went to Gregg's in Stockbridge and bought a variety of goods - pizza, steak bake, pie, etc.

I was expecting better to be honest.  I didn't hate it, but I wouldn't go out my way to get any of them again.

Having said that, I haven't had a yumyum (are they still called that?) for about 25 years, so maybe I'd get one of them.

Honestly, Syd, if you can’t get a good yumyum in Stockbridge, then just give up.

Everything in Stockaree (and to a lesser degree, Morningside) is top notch.  👍

21 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Empire biscuits in Lidl are tremendous, twice the size too. 

I always them as German biscuits. Why the change?

14 minutes ago, Pap said:

No change here, always been an Empire biscuit to me. 

7 hours ago, Pap said:

First World War. Unpatriotic to call them German Biscuits so Empire biscuits they became.

A wee bit like the Saxe-Coburg-Gothas.

Threedoorsdown

Greggs has massively went down in quality in recent years.

The sausage rolls taste anaemic 

westbow
3 hours ago, been here before said:

First World War. Unpatriotic to call them German Biscuits so Empire biscuits they became.

Battenberg cake didn’t suffer the same fate strangely.

westbow

Battenberg was changed to Mountbatten in 1917 according to Wikipedia. But not the cake. 

wentworth jambo
14 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

r/Stillgame - Am no wantin' an empire biscuit am wantin' a snowball!

Am no wantin' an empire biscuit am wantin' a snowball!

2 vegan sausage rolls* (better than the meat ones, nae gristle)

Bag of sweet chilli crisps

2 yum yums.

:greggy: :greggs_logo:

*Another bonus to the vegan sausage rolls is that each time someone buys one, Piers Morgan sheds a tear.

Maple Leaf
2 hours ago, Cade said:

2 vegan sausage rolls* (better than the meat ones, nae gristle)

Bag of sweet chilli crisps

2 yum yums.

:greggy: :greggs_logo:

*Another bonus to the vegan sausage rolls is that each time someone buys one, Piers Morgan sheds a tear.

My nephew was in Greggs last week and I asked him to buy me a sausage roll.  He handed me one and I ate it.  When I'd finished he asked me if I enjoyed it, which I did.  He then told me it was vegan.  It was delicious and I'd certainly buy it again.

17 hours ago, Pap said:

16 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

No change here, always been an Empire biscuit to me. 

9 hours ago, been here before said:

They've always been Belgian biscuits to me. 

Just now, Morgan said:

Stick_hand_grenade_throw_clip.gif

18 minutes ago, Morgan said:

You not thinking of a Belgian bun?

1002028.thumb.png.b7419c501ca1967d584c5c3af4ba9186.png

I never get any cake with icing from them since they gave up using non-stick slips to stop the topping sticking to the paper bag. 😡

Has anyone tried their Mexican Chicken Flat Bread yet, nah?

lol

I love how people like to just absolutely foam at the mouth at things, while not willing to try anything. 

P.s anyone that says that Baines sausage rolls are better than Greggs is just kidding themselves on. 

Went in to that Mor bakers on Princes Street today. I bought a Haggis sausage roll(£1.80) and a Peppered Steak Cornish Pasty (£4.95)

Both were decent, but nothing special. The pasty certainly isn’t worth a whopping £4.95. I certainly won’t go out of my way to use them again.

I don’t mind a good Greggs. But I also treat myself to the stupidly expensive pork and pancetta sausage roll from Cafe Nero occasionally as a wee treat. 

42 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I don’t mind a good Greggs. But I also treat myself to the stupidly expensive pork and pancetta sausage roll from Cafe Nero occasionally as a wee treat. 

I stopped on the A90 just up from Barnton Post Office for a scran, there was a queue outside the door for bains, so I decided to go into Cafe Nero, honestly, as soon i stepped in the door, i knew i had made a mistake, absolute nob heads sitting in the dark. 

I had a look at the sandwiches, all about 300 quid each, and ended up getting a meal deal from tesco. 

Lovecraft
10 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Went in to that Mor bakers on Princes Street today. I bought a Haggis sausage roll(£1.80) and a Peppered Steak Cornish Pasty (£4.95)

Both were decent, but nothing special. The pasty certainly isn’t worth a whopping £4.95. I certainly won’t go out of my way to use them again.

For £5 it better be the best pastry known to man.

We were up fishing at Arbroath the other week and stopped at this place called Pie Bobs.

Sweet holy mother of pastry gods.

https://www.piebobs.co.uk/

154748289912977102_1065964596802127_6080

Not the cheapest, but easily the best bakers I have even been in.  Their bridies were the size of plates.

24 hour too.

Jim_Duncan

Bald Baker at Oxgangs is good if you’re ever doing a bit of poverty tourism round that way. 

Could do with ratings out of 10 just to guage the quality, service and value for money 

Went into Greggs for a cuppa tea tastes pretty below average really-6

service usually a solid 7

cost £1:20-7

ArcticJambo
17 hours ago, been here before said:

You not thinking of a Belgian bun?

1002028.thumb.png.b7419c501ca1967d584c5c3af4ba9186.png

It might be called a Belgian Bun these days but it's a Dresden Bun to me! And wtfs with the cherry?  Greggs Dresden Buns were the dugs. And will also always be a German biscuit coz thats' what my granny called them.

For value for money pastries its all about the Lidl.  Gerries ken their bakery sweets.

:sweeet:

Edited by ArcticJambo

ArcticJambo
15 hours ago, Elljay said:

I never get any cake with icing from them since they gave up using non-stick slips to stop the topping sticking to the paper bag. 😡

The icing is usually so hard you dont need the 'slips'.

ArcticJambo
11 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I stopped on the A90 just up from Barnton Post Office for a scran, there was a queue outside the door for bains, so I decided to go into Cafe Nero, honestly, as soon i stepped in the door, i knew i had made a mistake, absolute nob heads sitting in the dark. 

I had a look at the sandwiches, all about 300 quid each, and ended up getting a meal deal from tesco. 

ArcticJambo
1 hour ago, Lovecraft said:

For £5 it better be the best pastry known to man.

We were up fishing at Arbroath the other week and stopped at this place called Pie Bobs.

Sweet holy mother of pastry gods.

https://www.piebobs.co.uk/

154748289912977102_1065964596802127_6080

Not the cheapest, but easily the best bakers I have even been in.  Their bridies were the size of plates.

24 hour too.

I've passed that so many times and always wondered. Probably wont bother now as you've posted a pic. Can't stand thick pastry like that. That's the real appeal of the guid old mince pie, it crumples on you the minute you lift it up, and then scaulds yer hand as the grease burns yer soft bit between thumb and index finger.

Was at Camelon Jnrs game once :lol: and bought pies for me, son and daughter. Hers hit the crumbly terracing before she even got a bite. Soon as I lifted it off the other two and handed it to her it disintegrated. Refused to take another, knew better.  Nice view of the canal, mind!

Edited by ArcticJambo

3 hours ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Bald Baker at Oxgangs is good if you’re ever doing a bit of poverty tourism round that way. 

All types of crazy pies too, haggis curry, szuechan etc. Got my boys the two biggest cream filled cookies I’ve ever seen from there. Covid lockdown didn’t half change his life for the better.

3 hours ago, Jim_Duncan said:

On 18/04/2024 at 22:50, luckyBatistuta said:

They are, but Bayne's are even better, and their Macaroni pies are immense.

Greggs is shite.

Just now, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

They are, but Bayne's are even better, and their Macaroni pies are immense.

Greggs is shite.

Can’t believe you just posted this now. Just took my last bite of a Lidl empire biscuit. Watching the sheep v tic and at full time went through to make a coffee. Mrs lB had only gone and bought me one😋

Disagree though

Just now, luckyBatistuta said:

Can’t believe you just posted this now. Just took my last bite of a Lidl empire biscuit. Watching the sheep v tic and at full time went through to make a coffee. Mrs lB had only gone and bought me one😋

Disagree though

:lol: Spooky. Bayne's ones are like home made, they're that good. If they're out, then i get the Lidl ones, and they are excellent.

Bayne's vanilla (or custard) slices are brilliant, too. And it will soon be the time of year for strawberry tarts, again. 🤩

Lidl's chocolate brownies are excellent. Massive chunks of chocolate in them.

Jim_Duncan
2 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

I’d be too. 

2 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

I’d be too. 

Handy for The Goodies, mind.

Jim_Duncan
3 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Handy for The Goodies, mind.

Pop that on the ESPC listing?

10 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Pop that on the ESPC listing?

Only a conceited, stuck-up, wank wouldn't.

On 18/04/2024 at 21:38, I P Knightley said:

Could I have a vanilla slice, please? 

Yes….yes….yes….

IMG_6112.jpeg

heartgarfunkel
On 02/04/2023 at 10:39, PortyJambo said:

Hardly ever go to Greggs but, if I do, then it has to be a cheese and onion pasty and a yum-yum 🤤

If any of you are ever in Longtown, just over the border, wee bit north of Carlisle, possibly going down to pay homage to Danny Grainger, don't miss the individual steak pie and sausage roll from Kirkup butchers.

Trust me.