You’re at Greggs/baker and you treat yourself with………?

Angel eyes

• Replies 145

• Greedy Jambo

• luckyBatistuta

• been here before

• Unknown user

I've never ate a mince pie from there. They look absolutely horrendous.

To be honest theres not much there i'd eat. I did like their Mexican Bandit baguettes though.

Goodfellow & Steven are much bettter, for a chain.

Edited by Pap

I'd treat myself to an about turn and walk out the door. Greggs stuff is horrendous, cheap and nasty. I'd rather find a good local baker, probably pay a bit more, but get something freshly made that morning with loads of flavour. I have a soft spot for good mince and onion bridies. Wish they sold them at Tynecastle.

1 hour ago, Pap said:

I did like their Mexican Bandit baguettes though.

I'd forgotten the name of then but same. That wee bit chilli jam they had was great stuff. 

Placid Casual
1 hour ago, Pap said:

Much better. Bit gutted when the shop at Morningside closed. Their morning rolls are great too.

Placid Casual
27 minutes ago, benny said:

A stroll to the Piemaker in South Bridge Street.

Greggs stuff is the pits especially the sausage rolls.

Another great shout 🥧

Placid Casual
4 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Thread about Greggs now crawling with pie hipsters. 

Pie Hipsters. Good name for a band.

Go on then, Chicken Bake for me.

Edited by Placid Casual

Their tandoori chicken baguettes are good, the Mexican chicken wrap too. 

cheese and onion pasties are the dugs. Don’t go very often though. 

crunchy frog
58 minutes ago, whodanny said:

I'd treat myself to an about turn and walk out the door. Greggs stuff is horrendous, cheap and nasty. I'd rather find a good local baker, probably pay a bit more, but get something freshly made that morning with loads of flavour. I have a soft spot for good mince and onion bridies. Wish they sold them at Tynecastle.

Agree about the bridies. Becoming more difficult to find outside the perth/angus/dundee area i find.  My local aldi used to sell them but not any more. They were great 😥

22 minutes ago, Placid Casual said:

Much better. Bit gutted when the shop at Morningside closed. Their morning rolls are great too.

Yip. Used to go to this branch ever other day for their well fired rolls. Usually had to order in advance as well.

But all their rolls are excellent. The rolls out Greggs are awful. 

Dennis Reynolds

Sausage roll, sausage bean and cheese melt and a fudge doughnut.

I wont pretend that I'm better than a Greggs. I'm scum :thumbsup:

1 hour ago, whodanny said:

This. Greggs is dug food. 

Dick Dastardly

A chicken bake. Tastes pretty bland but I'm sure its half filled with crack. I got severe cravings for them during lockdown

Used to love the steak and cheese roll. Don’t think they do them anymore.

The food snobs will love this thread :rofl:

Edited by iantjambo

Rancid savouries for rancid people. Rather eat my own shite.

Decent bakers at Parkhead next to the Silver Wing, Malones (if thats what its still called or pies/bridies from a butchers.

I'm not a massive fan of pastry things, but i'll grab a couple of sausage rolls if i'm out doing deliveries near one. 

8 hours ago, been here before said:

Rancid savouries for rancid people. Rather eat my own shite.

Decent bakers at Parkhead next to the Silver Wing, Malones (if thats what its still called or pies/bridies from a butchers.

You've probably eaten someone's shite if you frequent establishments in Parkhead.

33 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Harry Gow’s ‘Dream Ring’.

If you’ve had one, you’ll know.

Aye nae bad!

They put steak bakes up by 20p to 1.90. Absolutely ridiculous. No need whatsoever. Boycotted. Pish anyway

ArcticJambo

Most lunchtimes it was a cheee n onion pastie and a fruit slice, though occasionally I'd mix it up with a Dresden Bun, which I don't think they call em that no more, as it offends ze germans.  Those were the days, when it was filled with curds of cheese and oniony bits, now it's just nuclear hot pale yellow pus! Still get one once in a while, mind.

20 hours ago, Herbert. said:

If your around fife look out for fisher and Donaldson. They are superb the fudge doughnuts are amazing.

The Hopetoun Farm Shop sells Fisher & DOnaldson cakes.   

th?id=OIP.gFB4TDRigp0iDYw9O2Ks3AHaE3&pid=Api&P=0

15 hours ago, kawasakijambo said:

Steak bake from Carricknowe bakers.

Is that the one opposite Union Park? Only been in a few times, decent though.

kawasakijambo
17 hours ago, been here before said:

Is that the one opposite Union Park? Only been in a few times, decent though.

Yes, father and son run business, both season ticket holders at Tyncastle.

Steak Bake and a Pink Jammie.

They changed the Jam in the pink Jammie about 15 years ago though at one point and it's not as good as it was.

Used to like their Tune Crunch sandwiches too but I think they only do them in gum slicing rock hard baguettes now.

Edited by hughesie27

On 02/04/2023 at 10:25, Pap said:

I've never ate a mince pie from there. They look absolutely horrendous.

To be honest theres not much there i'd eat. I did like their Mexican Bandit baguettes though.

Fortunately for Greggs they do call it a Scotch pie.

Any outlet calling something a mince pie when it's all the crap of the day in a Scotch pie should be shut down.

Dick Dastardly
On 02/04/2023 at 11:54, Meathook said:

Pie on a buttered roll and a fudge doughnut.

A bridie on a roll is an excellent alternative 

Cheese and onion pasty and a sausage roll for me. Once a fortnight, roughly.

I don't have a sweet tooth anymore.

A Good to Go bag with 2 Hot chicken baguettes, Cheese and Ham toastie and 2 Fudge doughnuts. all for only £2.59. 

Edited by Geeky Boy