Gary Lineker

The Hogfather

4 hours ago, Riccarton3 said:

Any comparison with Nazis is unhelpful, anyway ---though it's very useful in every way to understand Nazi ways and means-- It'd be a case of, never done this, never done that. Best just look at them in isolation without any distractions that actually dilute any sense of danger (Like, Nazis? Come on! ) 

It’s very helpful. Folk want to pretend that the Nazis got in power and got to work on the Final Solution from the off. The point was they started doing things like demonizing immigrants and Jews and gay and trans people, and no one stopped them, so they kept pushing their luck. 

That’s the point. You don’t wait for the boxcars and camps to fight back.

• Replies 1.5k

• Unknown user

• periodictabledancer

• JudyJudyJudy

• Dawnrazor

17 minutes ago, Led Tasso said:

It’s very helpful. Folk want to pretend that the Nazis got in power and got to work on the Final Solution from the off. The point was they started doing things like demonizing immigrants and Jews and gay and trans people, and no one stopped them, so they kept pushing their luck. 

1698076404_correctamundo2.jpg.8b33e0283aa5acb3016d083c1275a83b.jpg

periodictabledancer

Now there's a concerted fight abck against the deliberate misrepresentation of GLs words in the right wing media .

This is from Mick Dennis , who is a BBC colleague of GLs -

periodictabledancer

If you don't follow Darren Jones on twitter, you should. 

This guy eats tories forb reakfast on every committe meeting I've seen.

Here's a good example of how he uses tories own words against them - 

31 minutes ago, Led Tasso said:

My point exactly.  They're obviously not employing reporters and proper journalists any more.  Read Braverman's speech, highly inflammatory, 100 million on their way and billions with their final destination, the UK. 

I MEAN LOOK WHAT HAPPENED WHEN THE ANGLO SAXONS "INVADED!!!". Mammy, Daddy, and they're still here. 

One final point (don't watch MOTD) but anyone who knows about the collapse of the Weimar Republic in early 1930's, knows incendiary language was used by the National Socialists and it paved the way to power. 

Meanwhile proving Hegel right, the more the little englanders know about history the less they learn from it.  36 MPs from the UKIP Light party write to the Beeb demanding editorial changes, sackng the presenter, interfering in editorial control, just like the Nazis did in the 1930s.  Oh, the irony. 

Now of course the real agenda rears it ugly head with Gestapo-like horn rimmed glasses, "Scrap the licence fee.  I've got an Old Estonian wants to make like a kind of Daily Mail on steroids, £9.99 a month. Kids double, h but with a free Drag Queen channel for the under 5s." 

22 minutes ago, colinmaroon said:

My point exactly.  They're obviously not employing reporters and proper journalists any more.  Read Braverman's speech, highly inflammatory, 100 million on their way and billions with their final destination, the UK. 

I MEAN LOOK WHAT HAPPENED WHEN THE ANGLO SAXONS "INVADED!!!". Mammy, Daddy, and they're still here. 

One final point (don't watch MOTD) but anyone who knows about the collapse of the Weimar Republic in early 1930's, knows incendiary language was used by the National Socialists and it paved the way to power. 

Meanwhile proving Hegel right, the more the little englanders know about history the less they learn from it.  36 MPs from the UKIP Light party write to the Beeb demanding editorial changes, sackng the presenter, interfering in editorial control, just like the Nazis did in the 1930s.  Oh, the irony. 

Now of course the real agenda rears it ugly head with Gestapo-like horn rimmed glasses, "Scrap the licence fee.  I've got an Old Estonian wants to make like a kind of Daily Mail on steroids, £9.99 a month. Kids double, h but with a free Drag Queen channel for the under 5s." 

We have to worry about Estonians now??

34 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Now there's a concerted fight abck against the deliberate misrepresentation of GLs words in the right wing media .

This is from Mick Dennis , who is a BBC colleague of GLs -

Excellent but the gallop towards a Tory totalitarian state, began with Boris trying to prorogue parliament and whipping up the little englanders in the Daily Dulux, through banning strikes, cutting benefits by getting people in wheelchairs driving Ubers.  Human rights. You're not allowed to lean against a wall, yards from the infant death camps, which were closed, say nothing to anybody just think quietly into your head praying and wondering what you'll buy at the shops on the way home, then shopped by some woks shitebag for nothing, aggressively interrogated and arrested by 5 police vehicles full of cops, just round the corner from a burglary in progress. 

Welcome to the end of the Weimar Republic in the early 1930's in Deutschland (where the Saxons came from). 

3 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

Indeed but where I disagreed with Lineker's comment was that the rise of the Nazis was backed up with a private army in the SS. To infer that the present UK government were on a similar path was misguided - the idea of the people who elected Liz Truss as a leader having any kind of smarts to usurp power in some way is actually hilarious. However, that's the problem with Twitter because 280 characters doesn't lead to logic or nuance and Lineker never said or inferred Tory = Nazi anyway. Others did.

16 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

the idea of the people who elected Liz Truss as a leader having any kind of smarts to usurp power in some way is actually hilarious.

Don't think it takes genius, Trump almost pulled it off with a band of yahoos dressed like cartoon characters.

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

We have to worry about Estonians now??

The curse of autocorrect. It's East Lothians you've got to worry about. They're on your doorstep. Watching and waiting.

It's been a few days since a link has been posted by one of it's followers so I couldn't resist and the Daily Mail has gone into meltdown. 

2 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

It's been a few days since a link has been posted by one of it's followers so I couldn't resist and the Daily Mail has gone into meltdown. 

It's a twin pronged attack.

The Nazi and the Express carrying almost identical headlines.

Double down it is then.

Mind you their hard of thinking readers will be emboldened today as the Junta transitioned their absolutely not fascistic in the slightest migration bill through parliament last night. 

Given the tacit approval over the last few years by the majority of the populace, I don't find it particularly surprising that this  government (or others) thinks it can act in an authoritarian fashion. The why's may have changed but we've already seen that if they whip up enough fear people will kowtow to their instruction. Hopefully this is a step to putting that cat back into the bag.

10 hours ago, Led Tasso said:

I just have the image of two clever folk locked up as enemies of the state still  arguing over who the bad guys remind them of. 

Just saying that getting caught up too much  in comparisons allows people to focus on winning an argument while the wheels keep turning. Energy needs to be more about action than words because these ***** are not going to relate to empathy.

Edited by Riccarton3

1 hour ago, RobboM said:

image.png.3976e6303e70599d3f10a0d364bca627.png

If watching football on TV with commentary and no analysis was so brilliant, these folk would always be watching with the sound off...and not just MotD.

Folk will make up any old dog crap....

The reason why Lineker spoke out.  Hope more like him start having the balls to call out this non elected  utter draconian fascist Tory regime .

335603073_232831905801824_2530301145567363025_n.jpg

Nobody has been robbed of a voice.  We all have a right and a duty to speak out against reprehensible policies.  This mob of charlatans can control the narrative to an extent through the Daily Mail, Express etc but they can't stop others calling them out.  That's what Gary Lineker did.  Even if the BBC were taking their orders from Tory Central they can't stop him airing his views.  He doesn't need to agree to any BBC contract which restricts him from doing that. Worst case scenario, he finds alternative employment. 

2 hours ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

Nobody has been robbed of a voice.  We all have a right and a duty to speak out against reprehensible policies.  This mob of charlatans can control the narrative to an extent through the Daily Mail, Express etc but they can't stop others calling them out.  That's what Gary Lineker did.  Even if the BBC were taking their orders from Tory Central they can't stop him airing his views.  He doesn't need to agree to any BBC contract which restricts him from doing that. Worst case scenario, he finds alternative employment. 

To my knowledge Lineker isn't an actual BBC employee as such. He's described as a freelancer.

6 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

To my knowledge Lineker isn't an actual BBC employee as such. He's described as a freelancer.

Clumsy use of wording and straying off the point. Does it help if I say takes his services elsewhere? 

4 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

Clumsy use of wording and straying off the point. Does it help if I say takes his services elsewhere? 

My comment is referring to his status as a freelancer, and any right they may have to be given any say in the personal social media and opinions of a freelancer. I get the BBC desire to be seen as politically neutral, and that is a necessity given everyone pays for it in a type of tax.

Now many probably don't pay for it, I dunno but I do know many used to not pay for it. But I would be willing to bet Gary Lineker payed his licence fee so he's just like all the rest of us in that aspect, and entitled to his opinion on government policy.

Yes the BBC have to be neutral, but he didn't say it on the BBC, if he had said it on match of the day yeah, big problem. He said it on a personal social media account and everybody knows he's not speaking for the BBC.

Or does he have to start including that in his tweeting? Despite the fact everybody knows it already.

Meanwhile here's the actual BBC telling its 'journalists' what to say as per the government line. 

Shocked.

Edited by The Mighty Thor

24 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

My comment is referring to his status as a freelancer, and any right they may have to be given any say in the personal social media and opinions of a freelancer. I get the BBC desire to be seen as politically neutral, and that is a necessity given everyone pays for it in a type of tax.

Now many probably don't pay for it, I dunno but I do know many used to not pay for it. But I would be willing to bet Gary Lineker payed his licence fee so he's just like all the rest of us in that aspect, and entitled to his opinion on government policy.

Yes the BBC have to be neutral, but he didn't say it on the BBC, if he had said it on match of the day yeah, big problem. He said it on a personal social media account and everybody knows he's not speaking for the BBC.

Or does he have to start including that in his tweeting? Despite the fact everybody knows it already.

It's irrelevant to the point I was making. Nobody can silence Lineker. He is entitled to express his views.  If his contract with the BBC were to prohibit him from doing that he could take his services elsewhere -  his choice. 

As it happens, the BBC have made an arse of it and there is now an opportunity to shine a light on their dodgy relationship with UKG or more pertinently the conservatives. 

Meanwhile Gary can go back to using his social media platform and continue to be a self righteous twat. If that helps to expose this corrupt shower of charlatans for what they are I'm all for it. 

5 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

It's irrelevant to the point I was making. Nobody can silence Lineker. He is entitled to express his views.  If his contract with the BBC were to prohibit him from doing that he could take his services elsewhere -  his choice. 

As it happens, the BBC have made an arse of it and there is now an opportunity to shine a light on their dodgy relationship with UKG or more pertinently the conservatives. 

Meanwhile Gary can go back to using his social media platform and continue to be a self righteous twat. If that helps to expose this corrupt shower of charlatans for what they are I'm all for it. 

I think Lineker is just a nice guy. Such a nice guy I think he played an entire career at elite level and was never once red carded or even booked. How nice would you need to be to play where he played, at the tough end, and never be carded?

Edited by JFK-1

2 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

I think Lineker is just a nice guy. Such a nice guy I think he played an entire career at elite level and was never once red carded or even booked. How nice would you need to be to play where he played, at the tough end, and never be carded?

He may well be and I 100% agree with his stance on Braverman but it's as irrelevant as his tax affairs are to this debate. Peter Reid was an animal on the park and would have kicked his own granny but when interviewed on Sunday he shared Gary's views on this horrendous policy. 

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Meanwhile here's the actual BBC telling its 'journalists' what to say as per the government line. 

Shocked.

Absolute scandal, this.

I've said it before. The corruption of this government is the type of thing that should kick off some civil disobedience.

6 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Absolute scandal, this.

I've said it before. The corruption of this government is the type of thing that should kick off some civil disobedience.

People are too busy sitting about in pish stained joggies moaning on jkb to actually do anything about it. 

This Jonathan Gullis seems like a proper odd guy. Only ever hear of him when he’s making an a*** of himself, or slagging off his own constituents.

Hope he gets made an example of here, the absolute danger.

16 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

This Jonathan Gullis seems like a proper odd guy. Only ever hear of him when he’s making an a*** of himself, or slagging off his own constituents.

Gullis is a fecking idiot, genuinely thick.

You could go into almost every workplace up and down the country and immediately find more competent and empathetic individuals that would be better MPs than this lot. Absolutely damning that this is the calibre of person that represents people in parliament.

18 minutes ago, Dazo said:

People are too busy sitting about in pish stained joggies moaning on jkb to actually do anything about it. 

Admttedly, I'm not the rabble rouser I once was either, Dazo.

More inclined to let others do the kicking off and join in once the party is in full swing.

32 minutes ago, Costanza said:

Gullis is a fecking idiot, genuinely thick.

You could go into almost every workplace up and down the country and immediately find more competent and empathetic individuals that would be better MPs than this lot. Absolutely damning that this is the calibre of person that represents people in parliament.

Thankfully he’ll lose his seat at the next election.

I can’t remember such a crop of talentless twats, as the one we’re blighted with at the minute.

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

You got a camera on me?

Japan Jambo
On 14/03/2023 at 00:33, colinmaroon said:

Just checked the time of your post - alcohol induced per chance? 😁

1 hour ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Admttedly, I'm not the rabble rouser I once was either, Dazo.

More inclined to let others do the kicking off and join in once the party is in full swing.

The best way Dirk. 

32 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You got a camera on me?

Only first thing Thor. 

4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Shocked.

Seems to me the BBC's high heid yins credibility is shot. Now, it's really just an uncomfortable watch of 'reviewing guidelines' when the pressure being applied oozes into public consciousness through the profile of the case. Otherwise, there will be any number of tugging the lead instances we don't know about but BBC let pass as a necessary evil to function.

Edited by Riccarton3

3 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

The only time you ever hear of him is when he's making an arse of himself?

I've never come across him when he's not making an arse of himself; its what he does.

I can't link to the Channel 4 video in which he made this defamatory allegation but early on in it he says he's proud that they (the Tories) are upsetting all the right people. That's right - an MP whose primary concern is not improving the life of his constituents or the population at large; it's all about trolling people he's identified as "lefty twitterati tofu-eating, guardian reading" inhabitants of North Islington.

Unbelievably, he's only 32 years old.

Very worthwhile contribution from Michael Rosen on the specifics of similarities between the Government's language towards migrants and the language used in 1930s Germany, ie specifically the point that Lineker was making

10 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Very worthwhile contribution from Michael Rosen on the specifics of similarities between the Government's language towards migrants and the language used in 1930s Germany, ie specifically the point that Lineker was making

I doubt GL or Cruella gave this level of thought to their comments.  I didn't and i really hope Cruella didn't but it is chilling to read all the same. The UKG and their media pals really need to think this through. 

24 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I doubt GL or Cruella gave this level of thought to their comments.  I didn't and i really hope Cruella didn't but it is chilling to read all the same. The UKG and their media pals really need to think this through. 

Yes, I doubt too on the specifics. But you can either deal with migration as a policy issue or you can fabricate a culture war and create a target out of migrants. All the above IS a deliberate element of that chosen path and rightly called out.

1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

The only time you ever hear of him is when he's making an arse of himself?

I've never come across him when he's not making an arse of himself; its what he does.

I can't link to the Channel 4 video in which he made this defamatory allegation but early on in it he says he's proud that they (the Tories) are upsetting all the right people. That's right - an MP whose primary concern is not improving the life of his constituents or the population at large; it's all about trolling people he's identified as "lefty twitterati tofu-eating, guardian reading" inhabitants of North Islington.

Unbelievably, he's only 32 years old.

32! Christ. Hate really does age people eh.

Seems like your typical dead eyed tory psychopath to me.

Trying to work out whether he’s more dangerous as a politician, or back as a teacher…

periodictabledancer
1 hour ago, RobboM said:

That's a superb piece by Rosen and drives home just how fanatical the tory party has become.

periodictabledancer
6 hours ago, Shooter McGavin said:

All part of his charm offensive to save his brass neck amongst the oatcake muching working class of Stoke. Fabricating insults in the desperate hope the gullible plebs will fall for this cutlure wars crap. A failed MP failing a failed city. 

Did Lineker make his professional debut at Tynecastle I remember him scoring late on possibly the winner in a preseason friendly early 80s 

periodictabledancer

Lineker now calling out Gullis on twitter after Gullis deliberately lied in saying GL had used the "N" word. 

"This is outrageous and dangerously provocative."This is outrageous and dangerously provocative.This is outrageous and dangerously provocative.This is outrageous and dangerously provocative."This is outrageous and dangerously provocative.

On 11/03/2023 at 22:52, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

And this is true hyperbole.

Well well well, didn't I turn out to be closer than you would have believed ;)

Downing Street controlling the BBC headlines in return for scoops and access, funny that.

1 hour ago, The Maroon Pound said:

Did Lineker make his professional debut at Tynecastle I remember him scoring late on possibly the winner in a preseason friendly early 80s 

I know that Leicester City played a pre-season friendly at Easter Road some time in the early '80s. I think that may have coincided with Lineker coming through the ranks.

Edit: I could be completely wrong with that.

A quick check on a site called tokyofox.net records all their matches v Scottish sides and there's no match at Easter Rd in the '80s. There is, however, this wee snippet:

Hearts vs Leicester City (2-3), 13th August 1983 – Robert Jones opened the scoring early doors for the visitors but a brace from John Robertson turned things around and the Jam Tarts led at the break. Two late goals from a certain Gary Lineker though turned the match on its head.

Imagine that; Lineker coming to Tynie to learn how Robbo did it.

Edited by I P Knightley

25 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

I know that Leicester City played a pre-season friendly at Easter Road some time in the early '80s. I think that may have coincided with Lineker coming through the ranks.

Edit: I could be completely wrong with that.

A quick check on a site called tokyofox.net records all their matches v Scottish sides and there's no match at Easter Rd in the '80s. There is, however, this wee snippet:

Hearts vs Leicester City (2-3), 13th August 1983 – Robert Jones opened the scoring early doors for the visitors but a brace from John Robertson turned things around and the Jam Tarts led at the break. Two late goals from a certain Gary Lineker though turned the match on its head.

Imagine that; Lineker coming to Tynie to learn how Robbo did it.

From Wiki

image.png

7 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

Just checked the time of your post - alcohol induced per chance? 😁

Just historically accurate with a dash of ironic hyperbole. 

PS Gullis, Neanderthal Tory MP, accused Lineker of saying all the Tory red wall voters were Nazis. 

Not only an inflammatory comment (the first to use the word Nazi, again ironic) but a downright lie.  NB. Not made under the protection from a charge of slander by being said in Parliament. 

That's how thick this plank is.  Detestable brown shirt rabble trouser. 

3 minutes ago, colinmaroon said:

That's how thick this plank is.  Detestable brown shirt rabble trouser. 

No self-respecting gentleman about town ever pairs his brown shirt with a rabble trouser. Always, but always, the plum corduroys. :D