TITP TV Coverage

Regular John

Decided to watch this for a while instead of listening to my extensive and if I may say excellent music collection.

The thing that annoyed me most was not the pesh poor acts on display but the presenter with the dark hair alongaside Edith Bowman - offensively bad.

Where do the BBC find these jokers?

• Replies 113

He wasn't as bad as that bald gay that used to be on it. I used to hate him!

The lineup is infintely better than Glastonbury. I could barely watch an act, here we have the Stereophonics rocking out on BBCi. Sweet.

A few too many coupled with a chance to meet a good friend, his better half and wonderful mother tomorrow perhaps, but Bittersweet was a wonderful end to the night and is a song which really resonates in the current climate.

Enjoying a bit more of the 'Phonics now. I don't really like T that much but the TV coverage at least is slashing on Glasto.

Quite gutted I'm not there. Babyshambles not playing swung it for me.

Although, I was so close to buying day tickets for saturday for ?80.

Babyshambles being there would have been great. You might have been able to see a good band not surrounded by neds at the same time... shame.

No chance. Pete Doherty attracts neds like he does needles.

It's a bloody shame.

Pete Docherty is a piece of Hobo trash

I'm not going to bite. I'll be posting all night in defence.

No chance. Pete Doherty attracts neds like he does needles.

It's a bloody shame.

Oh aye.

I meant you could have went to see another band, ned-free, while that shambles were on.

heart & soul

Just turned on to catch the intro to the Chems set.....then BAM!!! Just as it's about to kick the ferkin program finishes.

However, Family Guy is a superb substitute.

"two girls, one cup" ha ha ha ha ha

Patrick Bateman

Oh god, who is this cockney cretin?

"Look at my hair, its so smooth....LOVE ME!!!"

Oh aye.

I meant you could have went to see another band, ned-free, while that shambles were on.

Don't you start as well. If they were playing, I'd be there. :)

Walter Kidd
I'm not going to bite. I'll be posting all night in defence.

If it wasn't for Lord Mick Jones and Peter Perrett he would be up there with Sigue Sigue Sputnik.

Just turned on to catch the intro to the Chems set.....then BAM!!! Just as it's about to kick the ferkin program finishes.

However, Family Guy is a superb substitute.

"two girls, one cup" ha ha ha ha ha

Damn, missed the clip as my TV gave me instructions I knew were wrong but followed them anyway. Text button my anus.

"When did Reese Witherspoon get here?!"

The Verve looked superb as always. It was great to see the classic line up and I hope they release a quality album to tour.

It is funny to see a band that is (now) revered because of their weakest album.

As for the actual shows, the presenters are all annoying, what happened to the dude Dougie?

Oh, and Babyshambles are an awful band that came from the barely acceptable Libertines.

The Verve looked superb as always. It was great to see the classic line up and I hope they release a quality album to tour.

It is funny to see a band that is (now) revered because of their weakest album.

As for the actual shows, the presenters are all annoying, what happened to the dude Dougie?

Oh, and Babyshambles are an awful band that came from the barely acceptable Libertines.

Go and see them live and tell me you don't enjoy yourself.

I dare you. :)

EDIT: I mean live live by the way, not at a festival. Barrowlands or something.

I saw them at Corn Exchange and hated it.

Have to say the saturday line up is pretty gash. the only thing i`d really go to see is prob the raconteurs.

and the feckin Fratellis 2nd top on the main stage bill, what a load of pish. I`m all for having Scottish stuff on show at a scottish festival, but they are ?$%".

so much so in fact i`m not even gonna bother goin today, got a weekend pass when they went on sale ages ago, wish i`d just saved my cash now and waited to see the line up. Ho-Hum at least i`ll get Seasick Steve and the Aphex Twin tomorrow.

and i agree, babyshambles and the libertines are both poor poor bands whose main claim to fame is the "get out of jail free" card Docherty seems to carry.

I saw them at Corn Exchange and hated it.

Corn Exchange is a horrific venue.

Regular John

If anyones looking forward to watching RATM tonight, the BBC in their wisdom have decided they're showing Kaiser Chiefs and the Fratellis instead.

Awesome.

If anyones looking forward to watching RATM tonight, the BBC in their wisdom have decided they're showing Kaiser Chiefs and the Fratellis instead.

Awesome.

Are you kidding?:eek:

Patrick Bateman

Awesome.

They said last night RATM wouldn't let them film, much like Green Day a couple of years back.

True socialism there "Yeah, we ain't gonna let those capitalist pigs show us on public television,... why don't you buy the DVD... it'll have Che Guevara on the front, VIVA LA REVOLUTION!!!"

Awesome.

The BBC don't have a clue when it comes to reporting on music.

When they showed very brief highlights on the o2 gig, they spent more time interviewing than filming the gig.

I look forward to Ruby and Chelsea Dagger. :sad:

No thanks.

Just out of interest, if the Corn Exchange and the Barrowlands is not live what does qualify as live?

They said last night RATM wouldn't let them film, much like Green Day a couple of years back.

True socialism there "Yeah, we ain't gonna let those capitalist pigs show us on public television,... why don't you buy the DVD... it'll have Che Guevara on the front, VIVA LA REVOLUTION!!!"

Wonder if they'll have washed their Adidas tracksuits?

**** U I WONT DO WHAT U TELL ME

Saw more tonight.

The Raconteurs, without being a favourite of mine, are a tight band. Great drummer. I am a little peed off at RATM, but I saw some more Verve tonight, hence the change of signature!

The Raconteurs, without being a favourite of mine, are a tight band. Great drummer.

Thought the same - although it would not be hard to stand out in the crap that's been on the TITP coverage the night. Sterophonics sounded ok as well - Like the first album stuff - Dakota is a great track - shame they had so much dross in between.

I can only agree with you, more bands than Glastonbury, yet a smaller amount of bands covered by the telly! :(

Saw more tonight.

The Raconteurs, without being a favourite of mine, are a tight band. Great drummer. I am a little peed off at RATM, but I saw some more Verve tonight, hence the change of signature!

ive never really gave the Racontours much time, but after seeing them on tv at T and Glasto i'll definitely be giving their album a listen at sum point

I Brown is a joke live.You would think he should know by now just to stick to the studio.

I also wish they would give the Scotland is the most awesome place to play pish a rest as well.

Sterophonics are gash as well.:)

Cannot think of any tv coverage ever where i have watched so many crap bands.

I Brown is a joke live.You would think he should know by now just to stick to the studio.

I also wish they would give the Scotland is the most awesome place to play pish a rest as well.

Sterophonics are gash as well.:)

Cannot think of any tv coverage ever where i have watched so many crap bands.

Benny,

Brother, did you see The Verve at all?

Benny,

Brother, did you see The Verve at all?

Working last night so missed it.Saw them on tv last week.One of the great comebacks of all time.

Just tuned in tonight.Racontours and some group with Rev in their name the only 2 i have liked.

Working last night so missed it.Saw them on tv last week.One of the great comebacks of all time.

Just tuned in tonight.Racontours and some group with Rev in their name the only 2 i have liked.

Raconteurs (as stated above) are not favourites of me, but I think you would like them. Well tuned band that play "as a team". The Verve are a favourite of mine and they have had on/off problems with a guitarist (Nick McCabe) that is a genius but not necessarily easy to work with. When they play well, they are the best band going, by a country distance. Press your red button and you will hear their WEAKEST (for some bizarre reason, their biggest public sucess) album tracks.

McCabe was superb last week.So was the mad one though.Agree with the lp quote as well.

Honestly, in my, erm, 14 years of going to see live bands, I honestly have not seen better than the Verve.

When I say that, I refer to the Verve of 95.

DemonCleaner

they always show the same bands on these festival highlights shows and it always seems a tad dull. And how many times do you think they will utter the word 'amazing' when describing a band?could be a good drinking game i guess.

I picked mine up at the site for ?50, as did one of my mates and another mate arrived 15 mins after us and got his for ?30. :rolleyes:

DemonCleaner

Awsome - kings of leon on three seperate channels at the same time. thought they (radio1/bbc) were all about the 'in new music we trust'

andy1874hmfc

Awesome.

RATM are probably saving the footage for a DVD

Footage is fecking murder.

I can guarantee you, all Scottish acts will get superb reviews in the Scottish Tabloids tomorrow.

Indeed. Having to endure Amy MacDonald doing her best Bonnie Tyler impersonation at the moment!

The Brian Jonestown Massacre have had their slot moved to 9.30 tonight, chances of seeing it?

:sad:

Have to agree.

I watched the first 40mins of TITP coverage on Fri night and it was dire.

A succession of bland indie bands who all sound the same and look the same. There was one bunch of Scandinavians with a blondey chick as their lead singer singing about her boyfriend that was so bad I was stunned that they had a record deal in the first place.

I've been trawling iPlayer trying to find a clip of Rage playing, seems they haven't got anything. I was suspecting, as has been suggested, that Rage have not allowed TV coverage for whatever reason.

Anyway, what a set by RATM. The only reason I went to T, I was in the thick of it down at the front and I'm in considerable pain for it. But what an incredible atmosphere and a terrific set. Feck the TV.

Patrick Bateman

Am I right in understanding how great Scottish crowds are? I mean who cares about influences, future work or, shock horror, showing some music, its all about how great Scottish crowds are. A parochial embarrassment.

Patrick Bateman

A succession of bland indie bands who all sound the same and look the same. There was one bunch of Scandinavians with a blondey chick as their lead singer singing about her boyfriend that was so bad I was stunned that they had a record deal in the first place.

Glad you spotted it too, I thought it was some sort of mistake on my part. I've seen far better bands in pubs :sad:

Did you see the singer from Glasvagas singing Geraldine(think that was the name of the song).It was like a weegie ripping the **** out of the Proclaimers.Funniest thing i have heard in a while.:)