Gnanduillet

8 hours ago, Nelly Terraces said:

What a lot of laughable cod psychology bullshit. Coming off the bench in nearly every game he actually plays doesn't seem to have much of an effect on Divock Origi at Liverpool mate. 

Plus when Halliday started v Aberdeen in the 1st game at Tynie this season he was utterly woeful. You know why, he's fecking shite, that's why. Can't tackle, cross, or pass. Hopeless. 

Cheers!

I did say “ I think” and “in my opinion”.

To be fair Origi coming off the bench and playing well doesn’t disprove my theory. It only suggests that particular player is comfortable coming off the bench and appears to want to fight for a first team place. 

You would have to ask every single player wether they are happy or not coming on as a substitute. That’s not going to happen. If somehow you could the some would be happy and some not. There could be any number of reasons for that.

I didn’t say I was correct I merely suggested why I thought those 2 have been poor when coming on? Gnandos body language and apparent lack of desire to win balls back suggests I am correct?

Halliday when coming on appears to have the desire but hasn’t managed to find his rhythm and hasn’t influenced games yet. 1 goal off the bench?

Anyway as I said it was purely an opinion. Only the players themselves know.

• Replies 893

• BackOfTheNet

• pointon

• jr ewing

Get this guy to ****.

During half time he couldn't even be arsed to play in the warmup pass about and just sat on his knees doing occasional stretches.

And even after that effort, Robbie still brings him on :laugh:

Edited by kila

husref musemic

watched him at half time pretending to warm up. it's worth watching - i thought it was hilarious.

This guy couldn't be any less interested... moreso than the  likes of glen wheelan, tzolis, damour, martin.

An absolute charlatan

5 minutes ago, stevie.nolan.5 said:

That was an embarrassment, he come on the pitch at half time rubbing his eyes like he’d just woke up. 

you sure he woke up? wouldn't put money on it.

On 06/12/2021 at 22:43, the Hearts way said:

He's simply not a good enough footballer or certainly a striker 🤔.  Straight in on goal with only the Goalkeeper to beat 🤔.  Rounds the Goalkeeper and hits the side netting.

Sorry for language but

"a big streak of pish is he" 

That's being polite about him ?utter💩💩💩💩one of the worst in a long line of so called strikers...

I hope to never see him in a Hearts top ever again. Henderson back in January please.

He's starting to infuriate me tbh.

Pre game in the groups our sports scientist is rapidly closing the ball down trying to win it whilst he's standing out of the circle doing nothing.

He's the only player that requires the sports scientist to assist him with the touchline warm up. What the hell does he do to merit being selected before McEneff or Walker? Being tall?

If I were them I'd be embarrassed to see him selected in front of me. He's like a wee bairn that's not interested who needs supervision.

If he's not free to leave in January there's something wrong.

And he's shite.

The warm up thing is peculiar. But I’m not sure why people are jumping to the conclusion that he’s not giving a crap father than asking why the warm up is the way it is.

When he was warming up I saw his right leg heavily strapped before he lifted his sock up. There’s got to be a reason why the fitness coach goes out with him during his warm up and why the same fitness coach takes part on the keep ball drills while Gnanduillet collects the stray balls. Neilson doesn’t carry non-triers, if there’s one thing consistent with him is that he’s not afraid to put players out in the cold if he doesn’t like their attitude. So for me it’s more Neilson’s actions that make me think there’s something more to it. Because it is odd and peculiar how he warms up.

39 minutes ago, BackOfTheNet said:

The warm up thing is peculiar. But I’m not sure why people are jumping to the conclusion that he’s not giving a crap father than asking why the warm up is the way it is.

When he was warming up I saw his right leg heavily strapped before he lifted his sock up. There’s got to be a reason why the fitness coach goes out with him during his warm up and why the same fitness coach takes part on the keep ball drills while Gnanduillet collects the stray balls. Neilson doesn’t carry non-triers, if there’s one thing consistent with him is that he’s not afraid to put players out in the cold if he doesn’t like their attitude. So for me it’s more Neilson’s actions that make me think there’s something more to it. Because it is odd and peculiar how he warms up.

its irrelevant - he has done NOTHING to merit a place in that team. 

2 minutes ago, heartsfc_fan said:

Waste of space.

Watched him at half time attempting to warm up. Doesn't look interested.

I didn't even see him warm up at half time. Disappointed he was even on the bench. What does the management see that I cannot. 🤔 

46 minutes ago, BackOfTheNet said:

If he's got strapping on his leg and isn't able to take part in a basic drill involving pressing then he's no good for us and shouldn't be involved at all.

If he comes on it's because he's 100% surely? Actually disappointed that the entire coaching team even consider him.

To be fair to the guy, you can't judge any striker on the position we were in when he came on.

In saying that if we can cut our losses in January it would probably be best for all concerned.

This guy seems to be pissing most fans off, yet the manager seems to put him ahead of far better pros and with more ability. I know who I would be pointing the finger at. 

Edited by Clerry Jambo

11 minutes ago, kissthebadge said:

its irrelevant - he has done NOTHING to merit a place in that team. 

2 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

If he's got strapping on his leg and isn't able to take part in a basic drill involving pressing then he's no good for us and shouldn't be involved at all.

If he comes on it's because he's 100% surely? Actually disappointed that the entire coaching team even consider him.

It may be irrelevant in terms of team performance if you think he should be nowhere near it. But I’m not in a mood to label a guy something he’s not if the reason he’s not participating in the drills due to a coaching decision (with backroom staff there that’s all I assume it can be). I just don’t think Neilson would even have him in the squad every week if he’s was simply just being lazy or needing a fitness coach to babysit him. There’s had to be more to it than that. Regardless of what you think of him talent wise, it just doesn’t add up that he’d be around the squad every week if he was as lazy and uncaring as people claim he is.

1 minute ago, BackOfTheNet said:

It may be irrelevant in terms of team performance if you think he should be nowhere near it. But I’m not in a mood to label a guy something he’s not if the reason he’s not participating in the drills due to a coaching decision (with backroom staff there that’s all I assume it can be). I just don’t think Neilson would even have him in the squad every week if he’s was simply just being lazy or needing a fitness coach to babysit him. There’s had to be more to it than that. Regardless of what you think of him talent wise, it just doesn’t add up that he’d be around the squad every week if he was as lazy and uncaring as people claim he is.

Are you suggesting Neilson is bringing on an unfit striker? Or inferring something much worse? 

Your eyes don’t lie that he doesn’t look interested. 

6 minutes ago, frankblack said:

To be fair to the guy, you can't judge any striker on the position we were in when he came on.

In saying that if we can cut our losses in January it would probably be best for all concerned.

Correct. Don’t know why people are so focused on him when he came on 2-0 down with ten men. He’s clearly not what we need and the situation needs resolved (and will be imo) in January. 

3 minutes ago, BackOfTheNet said:

If he’s not fit enough to be participating in passing drills, he’s not fit enough to play! Simple 

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

Correct. Don’t know why people are so focused on him when he came on 2-0 down with ten men. He’s clearly not what we need and the situation needs resolved (and will be imo) in January. 

I agree. We need to resolve a few issues. There’s no chance I’d be playing anybody that indicates they want to leave in the summer beyond January. 

3 minutes ago, Des Lynam said:

I agree. We need to resolve a few issues. There’s no chance I’d be playing anybody that indicates they want to leave in the summer beyond January. 

Me neither. I think RN said several times we were working at getting a striker in during the last window and I believe we were close. I’d imagine it’ll be a top priority this window. 

37 minutes ago, Clerry Jambo said:

This guy seems to be pissing most fans off, yet the manager seems to put him ahead of far better pros and with more ability. I know who I would be pointing the finger at. 

It really is an insult to be watching him trying to play ▶️ 

35 minutes ago, Des Lynam said:

Are you suggesting Neilson is bringing on an unfit striker? Or inferring something much worse? 

Your eyes don’t lie that he doesn’t look interested. 

34 minutes ago, Steve said:

If he’s not fit enough to be participating in passing drills, he’s not fit enough to play! Simple 

I’m not saying he’s not fit enough to play. I’m saying what makes sense and what doesn’t make sense. It doesn’t make sense that he would not care and be unfit and lazy and Neilson and the coaching staff would continue to pick him and play him. It doesn’t make sense that if he’s as lazy as people are saying he is that players like McEneff (who’s obviously not lazy and gives 100% when he’s on), and it doesn’t make sense that he continues to get picked ahead of players like Walker who Neilson has a great affinity with, is a Hearts fan and is capable of scoring goals if Gnanduillet is unfit, lazy or uninterested.

What would make more sense is that the being at the side of the passing drills or getting one on one coaching during warm up is a coaching decision. Obviously Neilson, the coaching staff, the sports scientists etc feel this is necessary. Maybe a journalist should ask the thinking behind this so we know why it’s happening. But all I’m saying is we have a strong squad this season, many people on this thread I’m sure would have a long list of people who they’d rather in the squad than Gnanduillet, so why has Neilson not dropped him like a stone like he did with Roberts, Frear, Damour, Kastaneer etc? Personally, I think there more to it than (ironically) lazy assumptions about his attitude. Why have him warm up like that in front of 20,000 people instead of just dropping him? I’d like to know the answer before blaming the player. Especially after a game like today.

Edited by BackOfTheNet

It was an odd substitution.

First of all I wouldn't bring on Gnanduillet for anyone unless he was literally the only fit player left in the squad. His work rate and ability is miles behind everyone else.

But taking off Devlin and putting on another "striker" left a massive hole in the middle of the park that Rangers exploited in the last 10 minutes. 

Perth to Paisley
9 minutes ago, gnasher75 said:

It was an odd substitution.

First of all I wouldn't bring on Gnanduillet for anyone unless he was literally the only fit player left in the squad. His work rate and ability is miles behind everyone else.

But taking off Devlin and putting on another "striker" left a massive hole in the middle of the park that Rangers exploited in the last 10 minutes. 

Taking off Devlin had little to do with  bringing on Gnando - principally to stop him being sent off.

I would have brought on Walker

7 minutes ago, Perth to Paisley said:

Taking off Devlin had little to do with  bringing on Gnando - principally to stop him being sent off.

I would have brought on Walker

If that was the reason which it may well have been McEneff was the obvious replacement.

3 minutes ago, husref musemic said:

why ?

Because he came on for 4 minutes when we were down to 10 men and 2-0 down. It's folk moaning about his warmup, it's ridiculous. 

1 hour ago, BackOfTheNet said:

I’m not saying he’s not fit enough to play. I’m saying what makes sense and what doesn’t make sense. It doesn’t make sense that he would not care and be unfit and lazy and Neilson and the coaching staff would continue to pick him and play him. It doesn’t make sense that if he’s as lazy as people are saying he is that players like McEneff (who’s obviously not lazy and gives 100% when he’s on), and it doesn’t make sense that he continues to get picked ahead of players like Walker who Neilson has a great affinity with, is a Hearts fan and is capable of scoring goals if Gnanduillet is unfit, lazy or uninterested.

What would make more sense is that the being at the side of the passing drills or getting one on one coaching during warm up is a coaching decision. Obviously Neilson, the coaching staff, the sports scientists etc feel this is necessary. Maybe a journalist should ask the thinking behind this so we know why it’s happening. But all I’m saying is we have a strong squad this season, many people on this thread I’m sure would have a long list of people who they’d rather in the squad than Gnanduillet, so why has Neilson not dropped him like a stone like he did with Roberts, Frear, Damour, Kastaneer etc? Personally, I think there more to it than (ironically) lazy assumptions about his attitude. Why have him warm up like that in front of 20,000 people instead of just dropping him? I’d like to know the answer before blaming the player. Especially after a game like today.

firstly, you are comparing McAneef and Gnando, a midfielder to a tall target man striker…. Which is odd 

he shrugs his shoulders continually, his body language is awful and reeks of disinterested or being sulky

when you come on with fresh legs you sprint to close people down, he was jogging to people, absolutely shocking

If you don’t see lazy performances from him you are watching with your eyes shut 

8 minutes ago, Steve said:

firstly, you are comparing McAneef and Gnando, a midfielder to a tall target man striker…. Which is odd 

he shrugs his shoulders continually, his body language is awful and reeks of disinterested or being sulky

when you come on with fresh legs you sprint to close people down, he was jogging to people, absolutely shocking

If you don’t see lazy performances from him you are watching with your eyes shut 

Then explain why he even makes the bench, never mind plays most weeks from the bench? Or is that Gnanduillet’s fault too?

1 minute ago, grumpyespana said:

I thought the big lad done okay when he came on he never touched the ball that I saw.

Actually had a couple of touches, including winning a header and then passing to Boyce, and then Boyce headed it up in the air and behind himself and we lost possession. Something that is if Gnanduillet had done in his 4 minutes would have added 10 pages to this thread.

husref musemic
18 minutes ago, Bob Loblaw said:

Because he came on for 4 minutes when we were down to 10 men and 2-0 down. It's folk moaning about his warmup, it's ridiculous. 

He is an awful footballer who's clearly checked out. 

His 'warm up' &  escorted sessions are indicative of his couldn't a F attitude.

The fact that he never made an appearance yesterday gives you an indication of what Robbie Neilson's opinion of Gnanduillet is. He obviously does not rate him. 

We were playing in a winnable match against a poor side. We were struggling to create any chances at all. We did not have a recognised striker on the pitch. All of this was true and yet Gnanduillet still could not get on the pitch.

I don't think the big fella will be at Hearts very much longer. If he doesn't move on in January then he will surely be gone in the summer.