• JudyJudyJudy

• neilnunb

• I P Knightley

• PortyJambo

Rudi Skacel
Posted

Shame. I was really looking forward to that match. This will help Djokovic massively as it gives him 3 days rest before his semi which is ideal at this stage and what he has been through the last few weeks. 

Posted (edited)

Crowd can get a practice shouting Friiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiitzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Edited by Mikey1874
Posted

De Minaur done himself on match point 1 of 2.  Somehow played and won the 2nd.  

Posted
43 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Crowd can get a practice shouting Friiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiitzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Maybe try a version of the shout at goalies taking a goal kick:

Ooooooohhh-you're-Fritz-aaaahhh!

Posted

Musetti vs Fritz is 'average' fayre.  Djokovic is not likely to be troubled by these.  

Posted

I expect Novak to be in the final 

Posted

Nice to see Rybakina win 🥇 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Musetti vs Fritz is 'average' fayre.  Djokovic is not likely to be troubled by these.  

I'm enjoying the match, favouring Musetti, who seems to have a bit more flair. 

We've been spoiled over the years to think that this is average stuff!

(Typed while Fraylor Titz was playing a service game like a donkey!!)

Edited by I P Knightley
Posted
23 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Fritz just looks like a one dimensional player without any intensity as well.  Can see why he's never gone beyond Q/F in a major.  Musetti is younger so may go on to become a top 10er.  Hard to imagine him troubling Djokovic or Alcaraz though.

Day@theraces
Posted
28 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Can Imagine Judy being glued to the telly in that game 😌.

Posted

Showing a bit of dig for the first time.  

Posted
41 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Fritz just looks like a one dimensional player without any intensity as well.  Can see why he's never gone beyond Q/F in a major.  Musetti is younger so may go on to become a top 10er.  Hard to imagine him troubling Djokovic or Alcaraz though.

Going to five sets gives Djoko a double whammy. A day off for him and a dogfight for his oppo. 

Booo!!

Posted

Ladies' semi-finals being "contested" this afternoon. First set came and went in about half an hour. Paolini needs to wake up and go a wee bit radge or she's oot by 3pm. 

Rybina follows and quite likely to go through her oppo like a hot knife through butter. 

Posted

Far too much greetin' going on from players during matches in this tournament.

Rick Sanchez
Posted

Rybakina next :wub:

Posted
On 08/07/2024 at 14:21, PortyJambo said:

I was just having a look down the latest scores on the BBC, which included the Wimbledon Juniors. There's British female called Mingge Xu, and an American called Kaylun Bigun...they really need to team up in the mixed doubles

I notice that Bigun is still in, he hasn't slipped out of the tournament yet. Mingge is out though, probably tightened up too much when things were getting hairy.

::troll::

Posted
1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

Ladies' semi-finals being "contested" this afternoon. First set came and went in about half an hour. Paolini needs to wake up and go a wee bit radge or she's oot by 3pm.

Paolini wins the longest Ladies Singles Semi Final in Wimbledon history.

Posted

Managed the tail end of that match . Was Vekic injured or does she go to the same charm school as Murray ? Paolini is a throwback to the old court players like both Martinas , Evonne Cawley , etc so a delight to watch . But serving at sometimes 60 mph ?? FFS I could serve faster . 😂 if Elena gets through I think she be way too powerful for her . She’s so gifted as a player 

Posted
10 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Nearly 3 hours whereas that’s just a warm up for some of the guys 

Posted
16 minutes ago, PortyJambo said:

I notice that Bigun is still in, he hasn't slipped out of the tournament yet. Mingge is out though, probably tightened up too much when things were getting hairy.

IMG_4738.gif

Posted
19 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

:biglaugh:

Not for the first time on this thread, I've thrown out an awful analysis/prediction!! 

Either that, or I take credit for inspiring wee Paolini to go radgey and make a match of it. I'd worry about Vekic's state of mind; it was quite surprising how much of a state she got into at 6-5 in the third. 

Posted
27 minutes ago, PortyJambo said:

He's firmly in there, banging the balls as hard as he can. 

I think that Mingge came up against a severe South American. Might have been a Brazilian? 

Posted

Nice ladies these two 

Posted
11 minutes ago, rudi must stay said:

Nice ladies these two 

Its a bit odd watching as they look alike from a  distance so hard to track..very " single white female". 

Posted

Whos that sitting next to Billie Jean King ? Old tennis player but cant put name to face

Rosie Casels?

Posted
4 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

Rybina follows and quite likely to go through her oppo like a hot knife through butter. 

Rybakina loses to her oppo by 2 sets to 1.

Posted
1 minute ago, Sooperstar said:

Disappointed. Ah well always next year

Posted

Would quite like Paolini to win women's singles but Krejcikova looked strong in last set.

Should be entertaining game though 

Posted
3 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Knightley strikes again!!

Posted

That was very moving . 

IMG_8285.jpeg

Posted

I had no idea Novotna was brown bread. That’s really sad 

Posted
14 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Yes she did a few years back of cancer . God bless her . 

Posted
1 hour ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

She was still in her 40s when cancer got the better of her. She'd supporter Martina Navratilova through her own (first) bout of cancer, so a doubly horrid way for her to be taken. 

She'd coached Krejcikova in her early years on the tour. 

Posted

Medvedev playing very slow at the moment. He is very capable of gamesmanship maybe that's his plan to unsettled Alcaraz 

Posted

Big cheating Russian, hope he gets drilled 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Big cheating Russian, hope he gets drilled 

Agree with that 

Posted

Med is so inconsistent. One minute plays a wonderful shot , next minute pure garbage . Often directing the ball straight to Alc . Btw what’s the big love in for Alc by the commentators with him ? Tongue right up his erchie 

Posted
12 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Med is so inconsistent. One minute plays a wonderful shot , next minute pure garbage . Often directing the ball straight to Alc . Btw what’s the big love in for Alc by the commentators with him ? Tongue right up his erchie 

I think he is to quick to give up

on a set. Once he’s behind he almost loses interest in clawing it back   

Day@theraces
Posted
41 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Because he's fedal fans and haters of Novaks knight in shining armour. Coming along to stop Novak from increasing every record he has. On the Tennis forums and sub reddits I frequent it seems nearly all Nadal fans have switched over to Alcaraz and it isn't just to with his nationality.

Posted
1 minute ago, Day@theraces said:

Because he's fedal fans and haters of Novaks knight in shining armour. Coming along to stop Novak from increasing every record he has. On the Tennis forums and sub reddits I frequent it seems nearly all Nadal fans have switched over to Alcaraz and it isn't just to with his nationality.

Yep ! That’s it . Unfortunately for them he’s not really delivering that much ,,, yet ! 

Posted (edited)

Alcaraz closing this match out now. 

Fancy him to win Wimbledon now. This seems like his event tbh. Novak about the only one who could stop him. 

Still do not think any of today’s players would touch the Federer, Nadal, Djokovic and Murray Era

in it’s prime. They would probably be floating around Murray but still think him on top of his game beats Alcaeaz, Sinner, Medvedev and Zverev. 

Edited by AlimOzturk
Posted

That’s alazaraz through to the final. 

Posted

Small crowd here for the Novak mate. 

Posted

This umpire likes the profiteroles 

Posted
3 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Still do not think any of today’s players would touch the Federer, Nadal, Djokovic and Murray Era

in it’s prime. They would probably be floating around Murray but still think him on top of his game beats Alcaeaz, Sinner, Medvedev and Zverev. 

I agree. That's why I miss those times now, we took it for granted.

Posted

Some performance today. McEnroe was spot on, when Musetti hit a winner he said "that's how good it has to be to beat him" and that sums up Djokovic. 

Day@theraces
Posted

I actually quite like Alcatraz, he comes across as a stand up guy always smiling. Just would rather Novak gets a few more G's under his belt first.