English Premier League.

IronJambo
4 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Not EPL but not worth starting a new thread over. Tony Mowbray has been appointed the new Birmingham City manager. This guy really has had a long career bringing mediocrity to various clubs. 

The Brummies seem delighted with his appointment!

• Replies 15.1k

• Tazio

• neilnunb

• Maroon Sailor

milky_26
6 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Not EPL but not worth starting a new thread over. Tony Mowbray has been appointed the new Birmingham City manager. This guy really has had a long career bringing mediocrity to various clubs. 

He should steady the ship after the Rooney debacle 

8 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Personally think he is a decent, but limited, manager.

I would suggest better than the oft-mentioned Alex Neil 🤷‍♂️

23 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Massively over-achieved with the Sunderland squad last year. Bunch of teenagers and cast offs, got them promoted then into the playoffs. Seems to work best with younger lads.

5 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Massively over-achieved with the Sunderland squad last year. Bunch of teenagers and cast offs, got them promoted then into the playoffs. Seems to work best with younger lads.

My impression is he does well but has problems getting that final few percent to push things on to the next level. 

Sigma One
27 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

He should steady the ship after the Rooney debacle 

Doubt he would suck the whole team off though. :look:

On 08/01/2024 at 14:26, Sigma One said:

Doubt he would suck the whole team off though. :look:

Classy.

22 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Oops

How? 

Good to see the Luton goal stand. Striker was clever, the keeper was weak. Well done to the officials on this one. 👏 

Chelsea v Fulham quality is piss poor man. No better than an SPL game. Tempos pish. Heating up a bit now though. 

McCoist make up your mind.

I've got to say or I've got to shay.

Does my head in 😏

Have to say KDB will probably go down as the best ever Midfielder the Premier league has seen, he makes one of the strongest leagues in Europe look like the Scottish premiership

1 hour ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

Does my head in 😏

Really really does mine in anaw.

Des Lynam
4 minutes ago, benny said:

Brilliant game and a brilliant second half from City.

KDB is back.

An absolute fantastic game. What an advert for the Premier League. 

How long before Saudi paymasters decide Howe simply isn't up to the job and get rid of him? Continually bleats about injured players but he isn't up to the job.

Mikey1874

Newcastle are mostly just very very defensive.

The two exciting goals today mask that. 

Gundermann

The kind of game I loathe...

Plastic team v plastic team.

The new West End
1 hour ago, Gundermann said:

The kind of game I loathe...

Plastic team v plastic team.

Did you watch it?

RedStarRiot
1 minute ago, The new West End said:

Harsh

Good footballer but a horrible wee twat. 

Decent game but who really cares who wins between Saudi vs UAE. 

Ideally a real club like Liverpool or Arsenal win the league. 

The new West End
1 minute ago, RedStarRiot said:

.Nice try :)

2 hours ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Really really does mine in anaw.

43 minutes ago, RedStarRiot said:

How do you know he is a horrible wee twat ? 

Ridiculous comment to make . 

Gundermann
11 hours ago, The new West End said:

Did you watch it?

No. I watched my kids play a Subbeteo type game. More real-world stuff.

11 hours ago, RedStarRiot said:

Yeah a real club opposed to an unfashionable side that came back from league one to dominate the English top flight, meanwhile the two clubs you speak of stick to promoting youth and turn away millions from Sky and foreign ownership.

RedStarRiot
1 hour ago, VALDOS' said:

Yeah a real club opposed to an unfashionable side that came back from league one to dominate the English top flight, meanwhile the two clubs you speak of stick to promoting youth and turn away millions from Sky and foreign ownership.

Dominate due to being state owned and not adhering to financial fair play. 

Tbh Man Utd, Arsenal and Liverpool have a great track record of producing from their academies. I have nothing against foreign ownership at all and clubs spending but when they are owned by countries with questionable ethics and don’t care for the game really (sports washing) then I think the club is a disease on football. 

RedStarRiot
13 hours ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

How do you know he is a horrible wee twat ? 

Ridiculous comment to make . 

Based on what I see? He commits sneaky wee tactical fouls here and there but never seems to get cautioned for it. 

The EPL is nonsense sometimes. 

The richest club in the world parking the bus at home and hanging on for a point. 

The new West End
9 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

The richest club in the world parking the bus at home and hanging on for a point. 

They genuinely have so many injuries but it was a bit sad to see

The new West End
2 hours ago, Gundermann said:

No. I watched my kids play a Subbeteo type game. More real-world stuff.

Well done sir !! I like that ... Good parenting

56 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Last season, it worked for them and you knew that, if they scored, they weren’t losing.  This season, not the case - they’ve played lots of good sides lately, they have injuries etc etc but they’re not getting in the CL next season.  Will be interesting to see if they start to properly draw down on these funds.

18 hours ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

Does my head in 😏

Or 'Can I ask'. It's the same patter fae McCoist. 

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Or 'Can I ask'. It's the same patter fae McCoist. 

Is he still a slavering erse?

2 hours ago, RedStarRiot said:

Dominate due to being state owned and not adhering to financial fair play. 

Tbh Man Utd, Arsenal and Liverpool have a great track record of producing from their academies. I have nothing against foreign ownership at all and clubs spending but when they are owned by countries with questionable ethics and don’t care for the game really (sports washing) then I think the club is a disease on football. 

I'm pretty sure the USA is a foreign state. One or two more American owners and they'll be able to change the whole league structure to suit themselves. No relegation, a closed shop.