The main stand

campbell

9 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

Without knowing who you are talking about. That was a shocking attitude to take if they were acting up. Were they in a senior position at that time? Or would the instructions have come from above him?

A senior position. He left the Club for a few years and has returned.

• Replies 473

• Thomaso

• Francis Albert

25 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

No way that can be true. 

Thankfully it has been replaced, so we'll never know if it was a death trap but it was a shite hole, especially compared to what we have now. 

It looked like Dundee's old main stand - shite hole. 

Although not as bad as the old ER stand - the toilet was like something out of Tenko!

6 minutes ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

Although not as bad as the old ER stand - the toilet was like something out of Tenko!

It reminded me of the toilet that McGregor dives into (dream) when high in trainspotting. 

How anyone can even compare the two is beyond me Tbh. 

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

Best stand in the land.

Ibrox has somthing about it Tbh. 

Like old and traditional, but big and new as well. 

3 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Most of it is 40 years old now. 

13 minutes ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

A senior position. He left the Club for a few years and has returned.

I actually think I’d have reacted worse tbh. I probably wouldn’t have had the choice to switch seats. 

6 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

The main stand is nice, very iconic. I like the more traditional design too. 

Its a shame our old stand wasn't savable in that way, but I think it was too close to the pitch to do anything (as in we needed the larger footprint provided by the new stand).

Heres a question, does anyone have a picture of the old stand before the office buildings were built in front of it? I.e showing the exterior. I don't think i've ever saw that before and it would be interesting to see what the main entrance would have looked like before any more modern changes were made. I tried looking on London Hearts and google, but no luck!

43 minutes ago, OTT said:

The main stand is nice, very iconic. I like the more traditional design too. 

Its a shame our old stand wasn't savable in that way, but I think it was too close to the pitch to do anything (as in we needed the larger footprint provided by the new stand).

Heres a question, does anyone have a picture of the old stand before the office buildings were built in front of it? I.e showing the exterior. I don't think i've ever saw that before and it would be interesting to see what the main entrance would have looked like before any more modern changes were made. I tried looking on London Hearts and google, but no luck!

I know this will be very controversial, but I think the old stand looked shit. Looked like the exterior of a warehouse. I feel absolutely no loss now that it’s gone. As far as AL designs went, it was clearly in the cheaper end of the market. 

45 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

I know this will be very controversial, but I think the old stand looked shit. Looked like the exterior of a warehouse. I feel absolutely no loss now that it’s gone. As far as AL designs went, it was clearly in the cheaper end of the market. 

Agree, it was well past it's sell by date. 

49 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

The old stand was a cheap Archibald Leitch design/build with nothing to offer like the stands at Ibrox or Aston Villa. 

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

Most of it is 40 years old now. 

It is and they'll need to do something as it ages but in terms of football stadiums from the outside- I quite like it 

2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

The old stand was a cheap Archibald Leitch design/build with nothing to offer like the stands at Ibrox or Aston Villa. 

I think it was very similar to the Dundee stand. 

Dens_Park_Dundee.jpg

1 minute ago, davemclaren said:

Yeah, it showed. Can never get my head around how people felt so much affection for it. I’ve sat and stood in every single part of the ground since 1986. Until the new stand was built when I shifted over to it, I was most recently in the Wheatfield for about a decade. I used to look over at the “old lady” and dream about it being torn down and replaced with something that completes the stadium. Something the same height for starters.

48 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

He clearly had a wide range of price points in his catalogue. People always say his masterpiece was Ibrox however they’re very wrong, Villa Park’s Trinity Road stand was, until astonishingly it was demolished around 20 years ago to make way for a new one. Absolute vandalism to not keep the frontage of it somehow. 

2 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

I think it was very similar to the Dundee stand. 

Dens_Park_Dundee.jpg

Similar, except ours didn't have the angular bit. 

Just now, Tazio said:

He clearly had a wide range of price points in his catalogue. People always say his masterpiece was Ibrox however they’re very wrong, Villa Park’s Trinity Road stand was, until astonishingly it was demolished around 20 years ago to make way for a new one. Absolute vandalism to not keep the frontage of it somehow. 

Yeah that looked good. So does the Ibrox frontage tbf. Are Craven Cottage and Goodison AL stadiums too?

3 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

Ugly as ****.

Somehow the blue roof paint makes it worse. I preferred the rust and bird shit look of our old one to that. 

2 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

Yeah that looked good. So does the Ibrox frontage tbf. Are Craven Cottage and Goodison AL stadiums too?

Both of them. Goodson was I think, his first major one. The list of grounds he designed is astonishing. 

I remember as a young adult in the 80s at that shithole ER NYD game and after many cans of lager and no real toilet that so many of us Jambos walked way up to the back top fence and pissed on the Hobos walking passed giving them the first shower in years. Ah the good old days. 

giphy.gif

Just now, Smith's right boot said:

Somehow the blue roof paint makes it worse. I preferred the rust and bird shit look of our old one to that. 

Remember it being grey too. There wasn’t a lot you could do to make it look less shit tbh. Mind Vlad stuck a big backlit Hearts badge on it. Meh.

2 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

Craven cottage was similar in design iirc. 

It is similar looking to our old one. 

Craven_Cottage_Football_Ground_-_geograph.org.uk_-_778731.jpg

1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

Craven cottage was similar in design iirc. 

It is similar looking to our old one. 

Craven_Cottage_Football_Ground_-_geograph.org.uk_-_778731.jpg

Been there to watch Scotland v Nigeria. It was a damn sight better looking than our old stand. 

1 hour ago, Beast Boy said:

I didn’t think the old stand had much architectural merit TBH. The “old lady” chat was a bit cringeworthy.

Just now, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

I didn’t think the old stand had much architectural merit TBH. The “old lady” chat was a bit cringeworthy.

5 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Both of them. Goodson was I think, his first major one. The list of grounds he designed is astonishing. 

Goodison is a good looking old stadium. Still looks good today, despite being ancient in parts.

9 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

****, he'd moan about the time of the night if Holly valance, Holly wilobough(sp) and Kylie knocked on his door, drenched, cold and hungry saying they needed a place to shower and stay for the night as their car had broke down. 

8 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

Been there to watch Scotland v Nigeria. It was a damn sight better looking than our old stand. 

i was there when we played Fulham in the old Texaco Cup i'm sure i saw Bobby Moore before the game walking in with a pair of boots in his hand.

1 minute ago, **** the SPFL said:

i was there when we played Fulham in the old Texaco Cup i'm sure i saw Bobby Moore before the game walking in with a pair of boots in his hand.

Man. Pretty cool. 👍

4 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Nothing to do with the stand but any time Villa Park is mentioned I think about this photo of the Holte End back when it was a 20k terrace. 

E506A136-3F05-4756-B3AF-D32D032D8B84.jpeg

****ing hell... Good job Janczyk and Weir didn’t play for Villa at that time, when they were a bit naughty.

Never got the sentiment around the main stand. Held the club back for years and our future at Tynecastle was never secured until it was demolished and replaced. Its popularity increased around the time the pricing structure changed and the cheaper season tickets were to be found there. Nothing wrong with that, of course. 

Edited by Weakened Offender

1 hour ago, Beast Boy said:

It was at the cheaper end but if you look at Simon Inglis's books on football grounds you will see it was how the exterior of football stands looked like for most of the last century. Not like exteriors of warehouses but of football stands. And a centuary on the brickwork was as good as new.

And dare I say it not like a 1970s office block!

The redevelopment of Bologna's ground is interesting. It retains the outward appearance of the original - a Roman arena. Inspired by the Colilseum and many other ancient arenas and it retains the totally unique tower above what was terracing on one side, almost medieval in appearance. It lacks all the blandness of modern stadiums although the aliuminium style roofing over some of the old terraces is unfortunate.

Edited by Francis Albert

This collection of dilapidated red brick warehouses will be like the filthiest porn going for all the “old lady” enthusiasts out there... phwoar!

F2B42F57-0F4A-47E1-9D91-FD0A3213DDCF.jpeg

5ED5DEDC-8B33-424F-8C90-3A1D361677BC.jpeg

13BAE86D-E95B-4261-867D-6F37200E1854.jpeg

221B5B2B-AB27-4469-9151-AE4BF4DF1729.jpeg

3 hours ago, Smith's right boot said:

No way that can be true. 

Thankfully it has been replaced, so we'll never know if it was a death trap but it was a shite hole, especially compared to what we have now. 

It looked like Dundee's old main stand - shite hole. 

Have Dundee got a new main stand?

8 minutes ago, Beast Boy said:

This collection of dilapidated red brick warehouses will be like the filthiest porn going for all the “old lady” enthusiasts out there... phwoar!

F2B42F57-0F4A-47E1-9D91-FD0A3213DDCF.jpeg

5ED5DEDC-8B33-424F-8C90-3A1D361677BC.jpeg

13BAE86D-E95B-4261-867D-6F37200E1854.jpeg

221B5B2B-AB27-4469-9151-AE4BF4DF1729.jpeg

None of those look like a football stand and certainly none like a Leitch stand however cheap.

Though they look like very decent warehouses.

The top one especially.

Edited by Francis Albert

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

None of those look like a football stand and certainly none like a Leitch stand however cheap.

Though they look like very decent warehouses.

You have to be kidding. The top one actually looks a lot better than the shit-tip we ripped down, and the bottom one is almost a dead ringer. :rofl:

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Nothing to do with the stand but any time Villa Park is mentioned I think about this photo of the Holte End back when it was a 20k terrace. 

E506A136-3F05-4756-B3AF-D32D032D8B84.jpeg

Good grief!!! I'm not seeing any vomitoria. How long must it've taken to get out? 🤣

Cairneyhill Jambo

Can't believe folk are slagging off our old main stand. They've obviously never done the stadium tour before the new stand was built. Maybe wasn't the most pleasing to the eye or practical, but it was full of history about our great club. The stories about the changing rooms in the old main stand were brilliant. 

Just now, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

Can't believe folk are slagging off our old main stand. They've obviously never done the stadium tour before the new stand was built. Maybe wasn't the most pleasing to the eye or practical, but it was full of history about our great club. The stories about the changing rooms in the old main stand were brilliant. 

I’ve been all over that old main stand, including the offices. It was an ugly pile of poop. Sorry, but it was. 🤷‍♂️

39 minutes ago, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

It was but its time was definitely up. 

44 minutes ago, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

I did the tour. The old stand and dressing rooms in particular were an embarrassment for a club of Hearts standing.

44 minutes ago, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

It was done. It was a disgrace behind the frontage. Don't listen to what FA says about anything 

1 hour ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

I did the tour. The old stand and dressing rooms in particular were an embarrassment for a club of Hearts standing.

They were fine in 1915 to be fair 

2 hours ago, Cairneyhill Jambo said:

Aye, all true, but any time I was in the old stand I seemed to end up dodging ma heid around a pillar trying to see the action, particularly, for some reason when the ball was at the Gorgie end. Ah, but, memories, always got a better view, and mair fun at the corner of the Shed. 🤣❤️

Edited by whodanny

8 hours ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

My pals and I were also in the back row of the Willie Bauld Suite for a number of years. It used to have a nice Hearts fans members atmosphere, then we walked in on day to find nearly every table taken up by Celtic fans. We complained and were told by a well known member of staff “they’ve paid their money same as you”!

We are now all in the Wheatfield.

What a bloody scandal.  We need to be of a welcoming disposition but they should have been told to piss right off.