• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Just now, kila said:

I think you'll be back to washing your messages in the sink again come October 

Yeah, that is one rule I never did bother with TBH...

9 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Of course no other nation celebrates its achievements of the past, relatively recent past in this case, still within the memory of many still alive and many more who knew  those who fought and died.

America with July 4th, France with Bastille Day, Russia with 1917 and the Great Patriotic War (aka WW2), China with Mao's revolution ... etc etc. I would say no other country has so many people who hate their own country as much as we do.

I take it you don't think that Britain as a country doesn't have an unhealthy obsession with WW2 then? 

Just now, weehammy said:

How exactly does this ‘unhealthy obsession’ manifest itself?

Hopefully answered on another thread, relevant to the subject.

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

That very much depends on what you are defining as country.

Well if you define it as Scotland

What does Scotland's national anthem celebrate and how long ago was proud Edwards army sent homeward tae think again?

And what did Scots contribute in WW2, whatever country they reaarded as their country?

3 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

I take it you don't think that Britain as a country doesn't have an unhealthy obsession with WW2 then? 

Well done for working that out.

19 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

The people threatening lockdown or calling for it are unaffected clearly. How about we have some mp’s or advisors of this bolloks fired everytime so many people lose their jobs or a business folds? 
Id hate to have a business in hospitality now. You’re going to get your stress levels through the roof but boo fecking hoo for them I suppose eh. 

My business is tourism based - no income during lockdown and 30% of normal turnover since then (need 60% to break even). I got no income from the government due to the amount I earned the previous year. I got no income support as I saved money for my kids and have money in a tax account.

Since I  have to deal with people face to face, I have the dilemma of wanting to stay open but troubled I could contract and take Covid back to my family. Hence I carefully consider the ongoing situation. I feel that the SG is a bit trigger happy and the UK gov is a shambles. I felt that we came out of lockdown far too slowly the last time and any new lockdown gives me the fear it will happen again.

Maybe if we do lockdown again, there should be a working from home tax. After all think of all the savings on transport costs people have made. We will need the extra revenue for the NHS after all. And definitely politicians and their gravy train advisers should not receive any pay until lockdown ends. 

Maybe after a wee dose of empathy they would look at things differently.

23 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

What’s so funny?

Your post. Sorry I assumed it was meant to be funny...comparing this to the world wars is funny, as it's so silly. Assumed it was dark humour.

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Your post. Sorry I assumed it was meant to be funny...comparing this to the world wars is funny, as it's so silly. Assumed it was dark humour.

Apology accepted 

It was Nicola who said it mate and too many on here are moaning about the possibility of not seeing friends and family in person for a few months - when they can use video calls for that 

Edited by Jambo 4 Ever

Just now, Jambo 4 Ever said:

It was Nicola who said it mate and too many on here are moaning about the possibility of not seeing friends and family in person for a few months - when they can use video calls for that 

Nicola is funny then. Though I've always thought she has a good sense of humour tbf. Usually trolling UK govt on twitter 👍

4 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Nicola is funny then. Though I've always thought she has a good sense of humour tbf. Usually trolling UK govt on twitter 👍

Why is it so funny?

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

There are a couple of posters who are fishing for a reaction. It’s what they do and pretty much their sole purpose for posting. They are getting said reaction they want.

Hence the fish are biting.

I would say it wasn’t funny as I had to explain it it but It wasn’t really meant to be it. Just an observation. 

Though I can’t of feel like I’ve had to explain the internet/JKB to you. Hopefully helps you find your way👍

Bit patronising there, mate. 

4 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Why is it so funny?

Because it's not even remotely comparable or relevant. It's the surreal nature of it that makes it humourous. 

People didn't see friends and family during the war as they were in far flung places fighting...not because Churchill said the smoke from BBQs with food for more than 6 people might provide a target for the Luftwaffe

Edited by Taffin

13 minutes ago, westbow said:

My business is tourism based - no income during lockdown and 30% of normal turnover since then (need 60% to break even). I got no income from the government due to the amount I earned the previous year. I got no income support as I saved money for my kids and have money in a tax account.

Since I  have to deal with people face to face, I have the dilemma of wanting to stay open but troubled I could contract and take Covid back to my family. Hence I carefully consider the ongoing situation. I feel that the SG is a bit trigger happy and the UK gov is a shambles. I felt that we came out of lockdown far too slowly the last time and any new lockdown gives me the fear it will happen again.

Maybe if we do lockdown again, there should be a working from home tax. After all think of all the savings on transport costs people have made. We will need the extra revenue for the NHS after all. And definitely politicians and their gravy train advisers should not receive any pay until lockdown ends. 

Maybe after a wee dose of empathy they would look at things differently.

I feel for you man. The people who show no care to people like you boil my piss. Not arsed that you and your business is going down the kazi. We all need taken care of here. 
Maybe a work from home tax will give that lot that want more lockdowns a wee shot across their bows too. Not a bad shout. 

1 minute ago, Brian Dundas said:

NO it was because only the Illuminati had the internet and Zoom in WW2, in WW1 it was just MSN messenger

😂😂👍👍

5 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Because it's not even remotely comparable or relevant. It's the surreal nature of it that makes it humourous. 

People didn't see friends and family during the war as they were in far flung places fighting...not because Churchill said the smoke from BBQs with food for more than 6 people might provide a target for the Luftwaffe

😄

3 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

NO it was because only the Illuminati had the internet and Zoom in WW2, in WW1 it was just MSN messenger

My grandad had a pager. 😉 

All these people wanting more lockdowns are either retired or can work from home and don’t care about the millions who will lose their Jobs over the winter 

I refuse to believe anyone who could lose their job are happy to go back into a lockdown 

Sturgeon, Johnson and these scientists guys have no money worries whatever happens so won’t lose sleep if we lockdown again 

Edited by theshed

14 minutes ago, Taffin said:

People's children were taken from them and sent to strangers. 

10 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I feel for you man. The people who show no care to people like you boil my piss. Not arsed that you and your business is going down the kazi. We all need taken care of here. 
Maybe a work from home tax will give that lot that want more lockdowns a wee shot across their bows too. Not a bad shout. 

Cheers man. You are right, it is easy to make a call for lockdown with little to lose. There will be a lot less tax to collect with so many businesses making a loss. 

5 hours ago, Normthebarman said:

Sorry, but if they ban house visits today I'll be ignoring them at the weekend.

My 9yr old has just watched her younger sister have a birthday party 2 weeks ago with a few of her pals outside, been to her pals birthday party outside with a few mates a week ago , then to be told that we had to cancel hers and at most she could have one pal visit over the course of a few days. 

There's not a ****ing chance I'm now telling her "Sorry, now you can't have any pals round for your birthday. But off to school you go, to spend the day in a small room with 30 of them."

Yup, even young children know it's BS.  At school, at organised sports, they know it's hipocrisy.  Daughter wanted to get together with 3 friends today at the Meadows, wee kickabout with a ball, volleyball, frisbee bit of music and a few snacks.  Nope sorry, no can do.

Felt most sorry for young folks during the lockdown, this isn't going to make it any easier. Losing some of the best times of their lives.  sad.

2 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

A working from tax isn’t the greatest of ideas for a variety of reason. Not least taxing people for working from home isn’t really going to aid in the old social distancing message. 

We want you to work from home so we can tax you more is a hard message, even for this lot, to try and sell. Its a step away from a lockdown tax, where govt tax you for being at home. Think of all the money people are saving as they can’t go out, socialise, holidays etc.

Maybe reducing tax for the people who are going to in to work, rather than increasing tax for people working from home. 

Just now, Lord BJ said:

Whilst it might be nice it ain’t happening. In all likely hood we will all see take increases once this shit show is stabilised. 

You eaten your hat yet? 

A long time ago!

15 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Are there people actually wanting more lockdowns?

Wanting? No. More easily persuaded? Probably if it has little or no affect on their income.

"Finally, behavioural interventions that seek to increase the personal threat perception of Covid should be reconsidered, as they likely contribute to adverse physical and mental health impacts beyond Covid.

Consideration should also be given to whether policies that are intended to ‘reassure’, may in fact reinforce a heightened perception of risk. Providing the public with objective information on the actual risk they face from Covid-19, by age and health status, would be preferable.:

https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/boris-needs-to-rethink-his-covid-strategy/amp?__twitter_impression=true

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

Of course no other nation celebrates its achievements of the past, relatively recent past in this case, still within the memory of many still alive and many more who knew  those who fought and died.

America with July 4th, France with Bastille Day, Russia with 1917 and the Great Patriotic War (aka WW2), China with Mao's revolution ... etc etc. I would say no other country has so many people who hate their own country as much as we do.

But it's a peculiar trait of the British left that they hate everything about their own country. Usually siding with every enemy of ours. I give you J Corbyn as exhibit A.  Or loony left councils giving the go ahead for extended pub opening hours for a bit of Oirish craic on St Paddys Day but refusing the pub across the road on St George's Day. A strange mentality when most other countries, a lot of whom had empires too, revel in their history and blast out National Anthems that usually celebrate the slaying of their enemies

3 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Hancock just announced that grandparents and people who provide informal child care will be except from lockdown rules. In England. 

Where did you see / hear that?

2 minutes ago, westbow said:

Wanting? No. More easily persuaded? Probably if it has little or no affect on their income.

I feel for you mate. My Mrs is in retail taking around 30% compared to last years trade.

Feels like she's just waiting to be made redundant. The shop relies heavily on office workers and tourism, so if people aren't encouraged to go back to work soon, she's very likely out a job. Add to that all the shite she has to take from customers about track & trace & weirdo anti-maskers, it's a real tough time for workers in hospitality & retail.

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Funny how any ***** on the bus flapping his gums on the phone is a non mask wearer.   

You can use a phone with a mask 

16 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

The government will just borrow more money that they are never going to be able to pay back anyway.

They need to make sure people are protected, employers and employees and sort the issues that self employed people faced.

Unfortunately, I cannot see the last part happening. Self employed are not a priority issue for any government it seems. Not enough votes.

1 minute ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Where did you see / hear that?

In parliament right now

Health Secretary Matt Hancock tells MPs about some of the new measures which have come into force as part of local lockdowns in areas of England, including the North East.

The local lockdown rules ban people from socialising with others outside of their own household or support bubble. 

Mr Hancock says he has heard concerns about the impact that has been having on childcare arrangements.

"Today I'm able to announce a new exemption," he says.

People looking after children under the age of 14 or vulnerable adults are exempt from that ban, when it's necessary for caring purposes.

He says it covers formal and informal arrangements for childcare - but not playdates or parties.

"A consistent childcare relationship is allowed," he said.

If this lock down or restrictions to folks is going to happen regularly then they need to consider a universal basic income imo

Edited by AlimOzturk

As you probably are aware, I'm generally in support of restrictions whereby we can limit the rate of infections in order to keep the virus from taking off, albeit there is most certainly a balance to be had with this and other aspects such as the economy, social well-being and other medical care.

However, even I am a bit surprised that there is talk of the possibility of imposing tighter national restrictions. The infections in Scotland have certainly been increasing in the last few weeks, but there are definitely localised "hot spots" (of which, albeit today's figures were looking better, the Lothian NHS area has counted as one). There are still a number of areas in Scotland which, although having a raised number of infections, aren't doing too badly at all. As long as the tracking system is working well, I personally would still favour local restrictions, perhaps a bit tighter in some cases and perhaps with more punitive action for individuals who blatantly ignore the restrictions, but local all the same. But then again, I don't have all the data.

It just seems like they aren't giving enough time for measures to effect. I thought most measures take 2 weeks to show in the figures? Yet we've went to 6 from 2 households, to talking about lockdown in a week. 

2 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

I feel for you mate. My Mrs is in retail taking around 30% compared to last years trade.

Feels like she's just waiting to be made redundant. The shop relies heavily on office workers and tourism, so if people aren't encouraged to go back to work soon, she's very likely out a job. Add to that all the shite she has to take from customers about track & trace & weirdo anti-maskers, it's a real tough time for workers in hospitality & retail.

Appreciate it. It gets annoying when you hear it’s a money v health situation. It’s more complex. It’s about people’s jobs and livelihoods. I have three employees and, until I am totally on my uppers, they will not be made redundant. It’s a case of white knuckling it until Easter at the very least I reckon. Good luck to your Mrs.

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

I think it might have to be introduced, however that isn't going to save people businesses, it will stop people from starving though.

Even if they do it on a temporary basis until a vaccine or Covid is totally contained. If folk are unable to work and businesses are unable to hire folk due to the restrictions and lack of income then like you say folk are just going to suffer immensely. It might actually work as a tool to keep folk from being forced to break the restrictions in order to earn a living. 

35 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

People's children were taken from them and sent to strangers. 

Unless we propose sending the vulnerable to safe zones then it's still not really comparable. Maybe it will be considered a solution soon though. My point, not that I really had one as I though the poster was just having a laugh, was that during the war, physical distance kept people apart, not because there was a ban on meeting people.

5 minutes ago, Normthebarman said:

It just seems like they aren't giving enough time for measures to effect. I thought most measures take 2 weeks to show in the figures? Yet we've went to 6 from 2 households, to talking about lockdown in a week. 

That's actually one of the things that probably worries them. The City of Glasgow had restrictions imposed on them on 2 Sep. It's now 19 days later and here's the chart of their infections. The restrictions aren't reducing the infection rate. In reality, they should probably have been tighter and extended to hospitality too. I don't think "6 from 2" is going to have made that much difference as the folk that ignored the previous restriction will probably have ignored that one too - I don't think it was enough of a game-changer.

1937537431_Screenshotat2020-09-2116-46-26.png.41b59b55534b7975fec0919a14b0a7f2.png

3 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Unless we propose sending the vulnerable to safe zones then it's still not really comparable. Maybe it will be considered a solution soon though. My point, not that I really had one as I though the poster was just having a laugh, was that during the war, physical distance kept people apart, not because there was a ban on meeting people.

There were bans on meetings though. You weren't allowed to be out after a certain time. Wardens patrolled neighbourhoods reporting people who weren't complying. 

And many didn't, of course. Criminals thrived. The Spirit of the Blitz is a myth. 

1 hour ago, hmfcbilly said:

What I'm saying is I think a lot of the decisions being made are political (despite a repeated denial by the scottish government).

You must also think they are also political in Wales, England and indeed many other countries across the planet? Scotland is not the only country to introduce measures to try and curb the spread of the virus.

52 minutes ago, theshed said:

All these people wanting more lockdowns are either retired or can work from home and don’t care about the millions who will lose their Jobs over the winter 

I refuse to believe anyone who could lose their job are happy to go back into a lockdown 

Sturgeon, Johnson and these scientists guys have no money worries whatever happens so won’t lose sleep if we lockdown again 

Who are all these people wanting lockdowns? I've not seen anyone champing at the bit to be locked down. There's a difference between understanding why they may be necessary and actually wanting them.

22 minutes ago, westbow said:

Appreciate it. It gets annoying when you hear it’s a money v health situation. It’s more complex. It’s about people’s jobs and livelihoods. I have three employees and, until I am totally on my uppers, they will not be made redundant. It’s a case of white knuckling it until Easter at the very least I reckon. Good luck to your Mrs.

Good stuff mate. Best of luck👍🏼

28 minutes ago, Normthebarman said:

Aye it has gone from measured to full panic mode it would seem

7 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Who are all these people wanting lockdowns? I've not seen anyone champing at the bit to be locked down. There's a difference between understanding why they may be necessary and actually wanting them.

Naturally people will be less inclined the more it impinges on their situation. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic