Nicola Sturgeon

jake

8 minutes ago, Spitonastranger said:

Exactly its not her job to pass tory legislation, but you knew that and dodge the question again. :clyay:

Do you know how this works aye ?

Thread title is a clue

Unless you want it merged with another thread

She is not competent imo. She is a wee bitter and twisted woman who can't accept the results of not one but two referendums.

If we voted Yes to Indy do you think she would accept a vote to have another referendum before Scotland left the UK ?

Of course not 

Edited by Maroon Sailor

• Replies 513

• Space Mackerel

• Justin Z

• manaliveits105

• ri Alban

North Berwick Jambo
14 hours ago, jake said:

A country mile more competent than any other political party leader in the UK.

Credit to Scotland no matter your politics?

Over the past month or so she is without doubt the only party leader to come out with any credibility. By far the best in the Uk by a long way! 

Spitonastranger
5 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Do you know how this works aye ?

Thread title is a clue

Unless you want it merged with another thread

She is not competent imo. She is a wee bitter and twisted woman who can't accept the results of not one but two referendums.

If we voted Yes to Indy do you think she would accept a vote to have another referendum before Scotland left the UK ?

Of course not 

Tories eh, what are they like, democracy and their leader shuts down parliament, but aye the Scottish Government should get Brexit done. I am no SNP voter but Sturgeon is head and shoulders above the other leaders, which this thread is about, only a bitter and twisted person wouldn't see that.

8 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Image result for pictures of jimmy krankie

Ah mate, thats hillarious, absolute belter. A bit pee came out when I seen this.

Your awesome 👍

14 hours ago, Tott said:

Why Jake..

SNP have had the ann budge  free role so far..

Wheres the improvemnets in MY scottish life?

Schools/Nhs are failing?  where is the positives?

No charge for prescriptions.

No charge for university fees

No charge for social care.......etc

.......What have the Romans ever done for us?

Schools are not failing. They are "average" in Science and maths and above average in reading per the international research published earlier this week. Can do better but not failing.

The problems with education include;

1. The expectation of shit parents who drop their charges at the school gates and expect the school to turn their brats into Einstein. Said  parents' role models are Cheryl Cole or Conor McGregor and spend much more time on social media than parenting their children.

2. The financial burden placed upon schools required to deal with such stupid expectations and unruly brats

3. The tertiary education industry that gives out degrees in lucky bags because they are paid millions in tuition fees to do so.

The problems with the NHS include

1. Not admitting enough medical students to university and elitism in the admissions procedures.

2. Primary care is antiquated - GP's do not have a magic wand - they are generally brilliant but cannot solve everything.

3. Millions of elderly people with complex medical needs including social care.

I have teachers and doctors in my immediate family and these professions do a fantastic job.

Your point may be that another political party could do better at running the devolved services in Scotland - if so I respect your opinion. However, if it is that we are better off being run from Westminster, you're having a laugh. Every unionist party pledging to renew trident! That's a good use of £200BN with the problems above right? Tax cuts for the rich, gravy for the Bullingdon Boys etc etc. That's what you get. Now, then, always. That's what middle england wants. YOUR Scottish life will only become significantly better once WE take back control. Then you might ask not "what can I get" but "what can I do about it"?

1 minute ago, Greenbank2 said:

No charge for prescriptions.

No charge for university fees

No charge for social care.......etc

.......What have the Romans ever done for us?

Schools are not failing. They are "average" in Science and maths and above average in reading per the international research published earlier this week. Can do better but not failing.

The problems with education include;

1. The expectation of shit parents who drop their charges at the school gates and expect the school to turn their brats into Einstein. Said  parents' role models are Cheryl Cole or Conor McGregor and spend much more time on social media than parenting their children.

2. The financial burden placed upon schools required to deal with such stupid expectations and unruly brats

3. The tertiary education industry that gives out degrees in lucky bags because they are paid millions in tuition fees to do so.

The problems with the NHS include

1. Not admitting enough medical students to university and elitism in the admissions procedures.

2. Primary care is antiquated - GP's do not have a magic wand - they are generally brilliant but cannot solve everything.

3. Millions of elderly people with complex medical needs including social care.

I have teachers and doctors in my immediate family and these professions do a fantastic job.

Your point may be that another political party could do better at running the devolved services in Scotland - if so I respect your opinion. However, if it is that we are better off being run from Westminster, you're having a laugh. Every unionist party pledging to renew trident! That's a good use of £200BN with the problems above right? Tax cuts for the rich, gravy for the Bullingdon Boys etc etc. That's what you get. Now, then, always. That's what middle england wants. YOUR Scottish life will only become significantly better once WE take back control. Then you might ask not "what can I get" but "what can I do about it"?

Mrs PJ works as a classroom assistant. Shes been in schools in East Lothian, Edinburgh and is now working in Mid Lothian.

Increase in pupils with special needs.

Increase in pupils with "social issues"

Increase in pupils with behaviour issues

All this plus half the teachers ALLOW the kids to use their mobiles DURING lessons and if they are removed some of them go off on one and leave the class to go for a wander. The teachers are powerless and some of them just dont care.

She said one lad in 1st year turned up last week after being off for a month and asked what class he was in after being dropped off. He found out it was English and said "**** that, I'm not doing effing English" and just walked out.

IMO, its poverty NOT the SNP thats the issue.

5 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Mrs PJ works as a classroom assistant. Shes been in schools in East Lothian, Edinburgh and is now working in Mid Lothian.

All this plus half the teachers ALLOW the kids to use their mobiles DURING lessons and if they are removed some of them go off on one and leave the class to go for a wander. The teachers are powerless and some of them just dont care.

She said one lad in 1st year turned up last week after being off for a month and asked what class he was in after being dropped off. He found out it was English and said "**** that, I'm not doing effing English" and just walked out.

A valid point - to refine further......

It is a having a credible route OUT of poverty.

Too many idiots believe that winning the X-Factor, being a premiership footballer, becoming a gangsta etc etc are more viable options than working hard, getting a viable education and leaving poverty behind. Of course they're wrong but they don't care, because in this L'Oreal generation, they have the right to everything "because they're worth it". I know I'm being flippant and there are many people that follow the work hard route - and kudos to them. But too much of our society is geared towards solving for the wasters (as opposed to those in need) at the detriment of the triers.

25 minutes ago, North Berwick Jambo said:

Over the past month or so she is without doubt the only party leader to come out with any credibility. By far the best in the Uk by a long way! 

She comes across as a charismatic leader, only because  she does not get asked difficult questions by English journalists . . . the exception being the Scot, Andrew Neal!   

Everything the SNP  have control seems a shambles.  However, according to Sturgeon, those rascally Westminster Tories are responsible for all Scotland's ills.   What a load of crap!

The much vaunted ' Tory austerity' was cased by the world financial crash and the fact that Labour left the country (UK) almost bankrupt.  Cuts and savings HAD to be made, so difficult decisions were implemented and carried out.

The snp DO NOT speak for the people of Scotland.  They speak for themselves and their supporters.

9 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

She comes across as a charismatic leader, only because  she does not get asked difficult questions by English journalists . . . the exception being the Scot, Andrew Neal!   

Everything the SNP  have control seems a shambles.  However, according to Sturgeon, those rascally Westminster Tories are responsible for all Scotland's ills.   What a load of crap!

The much vaunted ' Tory austerity' was cased by the world financial crash and the fact that Labour left the country (UK) almost bankrupt.  Cuts and savings HAD to be made, so difficult decisions were implemented and carried out.

The snp DO NOT speak for the people of Scotland.  They speak for themselves and their supporters.

:greatpost:

27 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

14 minutes ago, Greenbank2 said:

A valid point - to refine further......

It is a having a credible route OUT of poverty.

Too many idiots believe that winning the X-Factor, being a premiership footballer, becoming a gangsta etc etc are more viable options than working hard, getting a viable education and leaving poverty behind. Of course they're wrong but they don't care, because in this L'Oreal generation, they have the right to everything "because they're worth it". I know I'm being flippant and there are many people that follow the work hard route - and kudos to them. But too much of our society is geared towards solving for the wasters (as opposed to those in need) at the detriment of the triers.

Poverty and doing more to provide a route out of poverty are two areas where the Sturgeon government could be doing more. One of the key providers of public services and social services in Scotland is local government which has seem huge decreases in their budgets due to the decisions of SNP finance ministers.

Whilst Scotland is doing better in some respects compared to the rest of the UK it is not doing too great in others. 

The buck for the bits they aren't doing too well in are within the SNP government's power to correct. 

Frankly though, I fear change in attitude won't come until either indyref2 is won or lost by the SNP. Till then there'll be little change.

Just now, Jamstomorrow said:

Meanwhile.  What has any of this got to do with football or football related matters?

The Terrace for Hearts and football. The Shed for everything else.

52 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

Does the tories speak for the UK then?

Cuts? Yeh, tax cuts for the Billionaires.

Edited by Pans Jambo

59 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

add in the IFS saying the SNP election pledges have not been costed and in an independent scotland would lead to more austerity

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2019-50657846

1 hour ago, Jamstomorrow said:

1 hour ago, Spitonastranger said:

Tories eh, what are they like, democracy and their leader shuts down parliament, but aye the Scottish Government should get Brexit done. I am no SNP voter but Sturgeon is head and shoulders above the other leaders, which this thread is about, only a bitter and twisted person wouldn't see that.

20191116_164121.jpg

3 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

add in the IFS saying the SNP election pledges have not been costed and in an independent scotland would lead to more austerity

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2019-50657846

It actually says "COULD" but....

Wow - what a surprise!!!!!!!

Another right wing bullingdon boy think tanks says "doff your cap and worship at the feet of your betters"

"The Institute was founded in response to the passing of the Finance Act 1965 by four financial professionals: a banker and later Conservative Party politician (Will Hopper), an investment trust manager (Bob Buist), a stockbroker (Nils Taube), and a tax consultant (John Chown)."

Only interested in retaining the status quo.

Strikes me as a narcissistic type of leader. More about herself than her party and policies. ... Heard next to nothing from Ian Blackford (thank goodness) or others within SNP during this Election campaign. Almost as if she has put a gagging order on them and wants all the attention and limelight herself.

We live in a democracy so the SNP do speak for the people of Scotland.

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Nicola Sturgeon should be offered a knighthood...that would piss off a few folks nicely.

It would piss off her as well. She gets enough stick being called Jimmy Krankie

28 minutes ago, Greenbank2 said:

It actually says "COULD" but....

Wow - what a surprise!!!!!!!

Another right wing bullingdon boy think tanks says "doff your cap and worship at the feet of your betters"

"The Institute was founded in response to the passing of the Finance Act 1965 by four financial professionals: a banker and later Conservative Party politician (Will Hopper), an investment trust manager (Bob Buist), a stockbroker (Nils Taube), and a tax consultant (John Chown)."

Only interested in retaining the status quo.

they also said both the tory and labour policies dont stack up but didn't say they were not properly costed. 

So anyone who is privileged you should just ignore. how very communist of you 

1 hour ago, jake said:

We live in a democracy so the SNP do speak for the people of Scotland.

Actually, if you count the votes of the opposition parties and add them together, you will find that more people did not vote for them than did.  Ergo they do not actually speak for the majority of people of Scotland, only themselves and their supporters.  

2 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Its poverty for bad behaviour to blame. Have a word with yourself. It's bad parenting, teachers own faults for voting away all their powers of enforcing discipline at their conferences because it was the trendy thing to do. Personal responsibility. That's a no no. It's all the fault of poverty. What a load of bollocks.

Does the tories speak for the UK then?

Cuts? Yeh, tax cuts for the Billionaires.

Typical 'chip on the shoulder' reaction.   What has stopped you from working hard and becoming a Billionaire?  I for one do not grudge anyone who has done well for themselves.  Billionaires tend to create jobs and wealth for others.

The UK Government speaks for the whole of the UK.  Scotland has simply a devolved parliament and has responsibility for devolved powers.  Our basic income tax in Scotland is higher than in the rest of the UK.  You can thank the snp for that.

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

It would piss off her as well. She gets enough stick being called Jimmy Krankie

Are far as I am aware, females do not get Knighthoods!  

1 hour ago, Old Hearts said:

Strikes me as a narcissistic type of leader. More about herself than her party and policies. ... Heard next to nothing from Ian Blackford (thank goodness) or others within SNP during this Election campaign. Almost as if she has put a gagging order on them and wants all the attention and limelight herself.

There may be a psychological narcissistic issue.   I believe that at University, she was known as 'seaweed,' as even the tide would not take her out!  Now she hogs the limelight.   

7 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

Are far as I am aware, females do not get Knighthoods!  

That's my point

1 hour ago, milky_26 said:

they also said both the tory and labour policies dont stack up but didn't say they were not properly costed. 

So anyone who is privileged you should just ignore. how very communist of you 

Not ignore. Distrust.  Especially when they are seeming to act in benevolence. 

What is their motivation to make society better? It was one of their ilk (who is till revered) that said “there is no such thing as society”

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Its poverty for bad behaviour to blame. Have a word with yourself. It's bad parenting, teachers own faults for voting away all their powers of enforcing discipline at their conferences because it was the trendy thing to do. Personal responsibility. That's a no no. It's all the fault of poverty. What a load of bollocks.

You work in schools John? Kids turn up without jackets and no money for lunch but hey, personal responsibility when youre 12 eh?

Typical 'chip on the shoulder' reaction.   What has stopped you from working hard and becoming a Billionaire?  I for one do not grudge anyone who has done well for themselves.  Billionaires tend to create jobs and wealth for others.

The UK Government speaks for the whole of the UK.  Scotland has simply a devolved parliament and has responsibility for devolved powers.  Our basic income tax in Scotland is higher than in the rest of the UK.  You can thank the snp for that.

Your whole post screams “TORY”. 

The “Billionaires” I refer to are the ones who squirrel millions away in offshore accounts to avoid paying their share. You know it goes on. The same Billionaires who contribute to the tory party. Strange set of coincidences.

Meanwhile its austerity and slave wages for the masses and Tax cuts for the rich.

Earn more = pay your share IMO but you think if their loaded they should be allowed to get away with it! Typical tory viewpoint. 

I bet you believe in “Trickle down economics” is actually a thing? “Wealth creators” actually exist and “the tories” actually give a feck about anyone earning less than £100k/year!

7 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

You work in schools John? Kids turn up without jackets and no money for lunch but hey, personal responsibility when youre 12 eh?

Yes, personal responsibility at 12. I had it. My daughter is an English teacher. Next.

1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

Yes, personal responsibility at 12. I had it. My daughter is an English teacher. Next.

Next what mate? 
Some of the parents are suffering from “working poor” syndrome cause by the tories. You know the ones, full time on minimum wage and such.

North Berwick Jambo
5 hours ago, Jamstomorrow said:

So we needed eight years of austerity, food banks & millions struggling on universal credit all while big business & corporations pay less & less tax?  Funny how the Conservatives have now managed to come up with the money that’s needed to replace the tens of thousands of police officers, nurses etc who have been badly missing down south since they took power! It’s almost like they are trying to blackmail all the brexit supporting  dumb Middle Englanders in to keeping them in Westminster. I think Scots folk are generally to canny to fall for all the Tory pish as the polls will show next week 😉

Edited by North Berwick Jambo

14 minutes ago, North Berwick Jambo said:

So we needed eight years of austerity, food banks & millions struggling on universal credit all while big business & corporations pay less & less tax?  Funny how the Conservatives have now managed to come up with the money that’s needed to replace the tens of thousands of police officers, nurses etc who have been badly missing down south since they took power! It’s almost like they are trying to blackmail all the brexit supporting  dumb Middle Englanders in to keeping them in Westminster. I think Scots folk are generally to canny to fall for all the Tory pish as the polls will show next week 😉

I refer to previous statements.

You are correct.  I see kids walking to  school without jackets.  I don't know if they have money for lunch or not, but they all seem to be glued to mobile phones.

7 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

You are correct.  I see kids walking to  school without jackets.  I don't know if they have money for lunch or not, but they all seem to be glued to mobile phones.

They are probably Googling 'Maths for Dummies' and 'Science for Dummies' on their phones, because the Scottish Educational system is failing them. 

100% don't blame the teachers though. Not their fault the system is flawed.

Nicola's #1 priority though apparently. ..... Well, behind Independence, herself, and blaming the Tories for absolutely everything. 

Edited by Old Hearts

6 minutes ago, indianajones said:

She and the SNP get my vote as part of the UK.

In an independent Scotland I would probably vote differently. 

Shoosh you! Dontcha know an Indy Scotland will be a 1 party state...apparently.

1 minute ago, Spitonastranger said:

Is that another one of you in a different dress

Titonastranger go to bed - school tomorrow kid

Spitonastranger
2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Titonastranger go to bed - school tomorrow kid

Quality banter school and changing my name. Oh ma sides

Just now, Spitonastranger said:

Quality banter school and changing my name. Oh ma sides

Lights out Tit