***Official East Fife v Hearts Match Thread***

iantjambo

28 minutes ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

Think he wants seeded and cant see the low scoring strikers getting enough tomm without help of others.

Thats my take on it. Why he needs to say it outside dressing room concerns me.

Its a throwaway comment IMO. Halkett to score again?? Walker to get one as well.

• Replies 1.2k

• Thomaso

• Jeff

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

9 minutes ago, Crete said:

With all this heavy rain 🌧 I hope the match can go ahead.

It drains off the pitch directly into the sea so we'll be fine. Unless it rains so much it raises the level of the sea up, at that point, come high tide we'll all get washed away, along with all the fife jobbies.

maroonsgotop

draw takes us through. a win by 4 or more means we are seeded. anything inbetween, irrelevant qualification wise

To not be seeded should be looked as being very poor and CL should be accepting it’s not good enough.

There are only two trophies we can win, so to not give ourselves the best chance in one of them would be irresponsible.

10 minutes ago, maroonsgotop said:

draw takes us through. a win by 4 or more means we are seeded. anything inbetween, irrelevant qualification wise

We can pip Livi for the last seeded spot too. We are currently 1 goal better off than them but they are playing Berwick who are shipping goals for fun. 

After a full preseason, 3 friendliest and 3 competitive games I would like to think the team is up to speed to comprehensively beat a lower league side.

No excuses if they don’t!

41 minutes ago, Jambomb said:

To not be seeded should be looked as being very poor and CL should be accepting it’s not good enough.

There are only two trophies we can win, so to not give ourselves the best chance in one of them would be irresponsible.

SPOT ON!

I'm about 5 miles down the coast from Leven. It's still chucking it down here. Supposed to ease off this afternoon allegedly. 

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Jesus ****. The ****er can't win.

Scottish Cup: Run was too easy.

League Cup: Not seeded...too difficult.

Let's just see who we get, before we all pretend indignation on the internet. Shall we give that a go...?

😡NO, I've got the hayrick hitched to the horses to put CL on so everyone can throw shite at him on the way to the gallows.

ps: doing a good set of yokels aprons & pitchforks at a decent price 👍

6 minutes ago, stuart500 said:

I'm about 5 miles down the coast from Leven. It's still chucking it down here. Supposed to ease off this afternoon allegedly. 

Aye due to ease off from 1pm through the whole afternoon. 

So says Michael Fish!

1 minute ago, Barack said:

I'll buy a pitchfork from you. Can gouge my eyes out then, happily unaware of some of the stuff that gets put on here.

They remind me of greetin bairns that are too impatient to wait and see the model finished 😁

14 minutes ago, Barack said:

Let's just see who we get, before we all pretend indignation on the internet. Shall we give that a go...?

See who we get? That's not really the point that's being made, is it? We might well end up unseeded and get lucky (like last year) - terrific - but as a Top 6 side, surely it isn't too much to hope for a seeded place, given the Top 4 aren't involved yet?

And the Scottish Cup run wasn't too easy - it was easy, which was great! The major difference being we had no control over that draw, whereas with the League Cup, we do.

Anyway, I'm right behind CL and trust we'll still get the business done.

Inch Hearts
22 minutes ago, Barack said:

It wasn’t too difficult though, it’s a piece of piss group that hearts should be winning comfortably and get seeded for the next round.  Unless it’s 5-0 today that won’t happen.  

23 minutes ago, Barack said:

What are you wittering on about!

should we give ourselves the best chance possible to win a trophy or not? 

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

I don't give a shit who we get.

Bit weird, but ok - each to his own! :lol:

Didn't we share receipts from 61,000+ punters by getting to the semi-final stage last season? (or 107,000+ divided by 4)

10 minutes ago, Barack said:

I don't give a shit who we get. Seeded or not.

It's not one of my main concerns regarding Hearts, at this moment in time.👍🏻

And your concerns are???

1 hour ago, maroonsgotop said:

My understanding is the best 4 teams from groups are seeded, from looks of it we are in a straight shoot out with Livingston for final seeded birth, same points total we have 1 goal advantage, they take on Berwick Rangers however 👀 (I'm assuming Motherwell beat Annan in my logic)

Inch Hearts
18 minutes ago, Barack said:

I don't give a shit who we get. Seeded or not.

It's not one of my main concerns regarding Hearts, at this moment in time.👍🏻

What is your main concerns mate? 

2 minutes ago, Jambo92 said:

My understanding is the best 4 teams from groups are seeded, from looks of it we are in a straight shoot out with Livingston for final seeded birth, same points total we have 1 goal advantage, they take on Berwick Rangers however 👀 (I'm assuming Motherwell beat Annan in my logic)

... and a 4 goal win would take us above Hibs.

27 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

It wasn’t too difficult though, it’s a piece of piss group that hearts should be winning comfortably and get seeded for the next round.  Unless it’s 5-0 today that won’t happen.  

Another exaggerated post, at this time of the day. 

tokyowalnut

I think we will pump them, get a seeded slot and everyone can have a beer with a smile on their face tonight.

Must be draining being a doomsday merchant all the time 😁

8 minutes ago, Jambo92 said:

Think you will find that Hibs are/were also in your ‘shootout’ 

Surely we can manage 4 or 5??

Edited by Thomaso

WELL WEATHER WISE IT LOOKS LIKE RAIN MAY CEASE AROUND 3PM

It will save pitch having to be watered and should help for as good a surface as you can get on the all weather 

We've played their recently so should be no major surprise to most of the squad

Of course we should win but I bet Dundee United thought that.

Forget the goals scenario and win the match.

Just now, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

How many do we need to score today to better Hibs?

(see five posts above!)

1 hour ago, Jambomb said:

Not seeded last season. Got to semi finals. That not good enough for you?

4 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

We got lucky!!

Why rely on luck two seasons running when we don't have to?

David McCaig
7 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Last year was an exceptional year for fortunate draws!!!

Law of averages says we're going to Ibrox, Parkhead or Pittodrie if we're unseeded.

Let's just make life easy for ourselves and beat our bottom flight opponents by 4 goals... And leave Hibs unseeded at the same time.

David McCaig
12 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

It will save pitch having to be watered and should help for as good a surface as you can get on the all weather 

The Bayview pitch was really slow and sticky last season, so hopefully the heavy rain is beneficial.

Our resident broadcaster Brian will stream the game at kick off. Hes put his hand in his pocket to pay for east fife TV.🇱🇻👏

Just putting this up here, its a Facebook group called Heart of Midlothian Fc, the Boy Brian says he will stream it. Feck knows if it will happen though.

17 minutes ago, tokyowalnut said:

I think we will pump them, get a seeded slot  

You should put a lot of money on this being the outcome

20 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Think you will find that Hibs are/were also in your ‘shootout’ 

Correct but the posts are stating unless we score 4 goals we will not be seeded, which is untrue..

17 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Aye lets not worry about winning 8 nil. Lets just worry about getting the win. We all know we'll draw celtic in the competition at some point anyway.

Lets see you Hearts.

2 minutes ago, merseysidejambo said:

Anyone know if there's a cash gate for this game?

Hearts tweeted this yesterday:

We head to Methil tomorrow afternoon for the final Betfred Cup group stage match!

A reminder that our ticket allocation has sold out & there will be no additional tickets available on the day. 

David McCaig
3 minutes ago, Jambo92 said:

Correct but the posts are stating unless we score 4 goals we will not be seeded, which is untrue..

We need 4 to surpass Hibs.

Realistically Livingston are level with us on goal difference are going to annihilate Berwick Rangers who have scored zero and conceded 16 in 3 games to date.

Inch Hearts
35 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Another exaggerated post, at this time of the day. 

What is exaggerated about it like? 

32 minutes ago, Hackney Hearts said:

(see five posts above!)

If we score four that takes us to plus 7, same as Hibs... what happens then????

David McCaig
2 minutes ago, RENE said:

We'll have scored 9 goals to Hibs 8

2 minutes ago, RENE said:

There's a play off on Thursday  1st August  😜