Did I really wear that?

Morgan

Ok here goes.   Might be a few revisits.

Non clobber.

A ****ing bouffant hair-do.    A wee chin goatee.

Clobber.    Satin shirts.   Surfing shirts.   Day-glow coloured designer Oxford shirts.   Cuban heeled boots.    Winkle pickers.   Carpet jacket.   Stuff out of Sweater Shop.   No comprehension of wearing stuff that fits.   

• Replies 284

• Bridge of Djoum

• been here before

• jack D and coke

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Ok here goes.   Might be a few revisits.

Non clobber.

A ****ing bouffant hair-do.    A wee chin goatee.

Clobber.    Satin shirts.   Surfing shirts.   Day-glow coloured designer Oxford shirts.   Cuban heeled boots.    Winkle pickers.   Carpet jacket.   Stuff out of Sweater Shop.   No comprehension of wearing stuff that fits.   

Are you a lecturer at a liberal arts college?

Just now, Bridge of Djoum said:

Oh there were some shanners in among that lot, I assure you.

Had some beauties myself. The shanner Georgio Armani shellsuits were a particular low point. Was so desperate to get one it was far too big for me but bought it anyway. Looked a complete ticket :facepalm:

1 minute ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Are you a lecturer at a liberal arts college?

Nut but was nearly head hunted.

Just now, jack D and coke said:

Had some beauties myself. The shanner Georgio Armani shellsuits were a particular low point. Was so desperate to get one it was far too big for me but bought it anyway. Looked a complete ticket :facepalm:

Yup. I had a habit of buying gear that was too big, just to have it. There was a Hardcore black donkey jacket, a K-Way rain jacket, could never get cords to fit at all. 

The worst was a patchwork jacket, must have been 250 quid in 1990. It was ****** awful but just wanted it.

I also tried to follow Chris Lowe's fashions.. looked better on him than me. 

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Nut but was nearly head hunted.

So which part WAS hunted?

Craig Gordons Gloves

I once owned a Sergio Tacchini (sp) Shellsuit jacket in purple, green and yellow.  I remember wearing McKenzie jumpers teamed with a pair of chipie jeans and blue kickers boots and thinking i was the epitome of a casual :)

I've also owned brown cords at one point and thought nothing of wearing a denim shirt with a white polo neck underneath it...

10 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Yup. I had a habit of buying gear that was too big, just to have it. There was a Hardcore black donkey jacket, a K-Way rain jacket, could never get cords to fit at all. 

The worst was a patchwork jacket, must have been 250 quid in 1990. It was ****** awful but just wanted it.

I also tried to follow Chris Lowe's fashions.. looked better on him than me. 

Chris Lowe was a trendy ***** tbf. My nephews have been wearing the Champion gear again lately, one of Chris’ that was had some tidy Champion gear??

1 minute ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

No mentions for Fila tracksuits yet.

Had a really smart yellow sort of terry towling Fila t-shirt?wore that to death :lol: 

Just now, jack D and coke said:

Chris Lowe was a trendy ***** tbf. My nephews have been wearing the Champion gear again lately, one of Chris’ that was had some tidy Champion gear??

Had a really smart yellow sort of terry towling Fila t-shirt?wore that to death :lol: 

Other guys had Maria Whittaker and Sinitta on their bedroom walls, I had PSB posters covering every inch. Had a bit of Champion gear also. Good stuff. not expensive.

The one color Travel Fox baseball shoes, ( 2 pairs, yellow and orange) were a footwear highlight.

1 minute ago, jack D and coke said:

:vrface:  I had that as well.   Made me sweat like a horse.

39 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

A storage unit mate, very posh, lol,  remember wearing yellow trousers with a red belt,  shirt, maroon shoes with white piping 

was in Marjorca aged 20. shirt like this.

shopping.png

Are you Tom Selleck, Harold?

:wink: 

1 hour ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

image.jpeg.ce94bcb1a66ec64e116e36344628eeda.jpeg

Image result for grolsch bottle top shoes

Had the key rings!

They came with a couple of pairs of pastel coloured Pepe cotton trousers I  had.

Clipped the thing onto the belt loop and tucked the keys into the back pocket.

FFS

1 hour ago, jonnothejambo said:

How I managed to get a ham shank in Clouds is beyond me. 

59 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Your sex life sounds terrifying!

Not really.

He looked after himself.  :) 

22 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Are you Tom Selleck, Harold?

Had the tash as well, was ginger, ha ha

33 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Ye can beat an egg but ye cannae beat a wank.

You can sleep with a light on....

22 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Had the tash as well, was ginger, ha ha

I knew a bird called Tash as well.

Wisnae a ginger though.

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

:vrface:  I had that as well.   Made me sweat like a horse.

Seem to recall always looking like a drooned cat after wearing it :lol: 

Edited by jack D and coke

Speedos. :phface: 

Only on holiday :smile: not down Porty. 

An 80's KvonC would have stepped out in,;

Pointed suede Chelsea boots, skin tight black Jean's, one of those shirts with the front panel, canny mind what they were called, a green trench coat, silk paisley pattern scarf (patchouli oil infused ?) Phil Oakey hairstyle and on occasion a trilby hat.

I was cool as feck dammit! ??

Edited by Konrad von Carstein
how I posted that once let alone twice is beyond me ?

I was at my coolest just as Acid House/ Madchester was a thing. I spent most of my time looking like a poor imitation of Shaun Ryder.......Looked damn fine with it.

1 hour ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Pointed suede Chelsea boots, skin tight black Jean's, one of those shirts with the front panel, canny mind what they were called, a green trench coat, silk paisley pattern scarf (patchouli oil infused ?) Phil Oakey hairstyle and on occasion a trilby hat.

It was good mate, until the trilby.  :lol: 

Can see you in Charlie Parker’s or Refreshers with the old titfer on..  :gossip:

14 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

I was at my coolest just as Acid House/ Madchester was a thing. I spent most of my time looking like a poor imitation of Shaun Ryder..... Looked damn fine with it.

Source?

1 minute ago, Crete said:

I loved Stefan Edberg?

There is not a single part of me that is even remotely surprised by this.

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Source?

All the people dancing in a field at 8am who had obviously not touched any illegal substances guvn'r

8 minutes ago, gjcc said:

What was your handicap?

(answer very carefully)

Haha! Got it down to 14. 

6 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

All the people dancing in a field at 8am who had obviously not touched any illegal substances guvn'r

At least you are more than 85% sure on that.  :thumb:

1 hour ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Are you Midge Ure?

Had a pair of these when I was 13. Thought I was the dogs danglies. Folks wouldn't let me wear them to school so put them in my school bag and got changed at the bottom of the stairs

Teacher clocked them in the corridor and shouted 'Where's your clubs Mr R?'

Never wore them to school again - bullying bar steward!

71orcZycPtL__UX395_.jpg

5 minutes ago, been here before said:

Are you Midge Ure?

Forever and ever.

6BAD93FA-4DED-43AE-86D4-85DDF5672CBA.jpeg

8 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Had a pair of these when I was 13. Thought I was the dogs danglies. Folks wouldn't let me wear them to school so put them in my school bag and got changed at the bottom of the stairs

Teacher clocked them in the corridor and shouted 'Where's your clubs Mr R?'

Never wore them to school again - bullying bar steward!

71orcZycPtL__UX395_.jpg

Very Shalamar.

I often stepped out in a pair of these...

modshoes-The-Prince-black-Tassel-Loafers-SKA-MOD-Skinhead-08-300x300.jpg.fdd171128c0db2880923c3eaf2720933.jpg

...white socks, black or maroon sta-press topped off with perhaps a white tshirt and maroon Y cardigan.

Id be about 13/14 at the time.

Some styles are timeless.

Just now, been here before said:

Very Shalamar.

I often stepped out in a pair of these...

modshoes-The-Prince-black-Tassel-Loafers-SKA-MOD-Skinhead-08-300x300.jpg.fdd171128c0db2880923c3eaf2720933.jpg

...white socks, black or maroon sta-press topped off with perhaps a white tshirt and maroon Y cardigan.

Some styles are timeless.

No...no.....no man. Those shoes have never ever had a time.

2 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Maybe....

Well maybe you are, maybe youre not but to be honest I couldnt care less.

It means nothing to me...