Did I really wear that?

Morgan

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

Royales had them in blue and also the yellow ones.

Think I had every pair of Torsion going.

Torsion! I forgot about those.

My pride and joy...Image result for adidas torsion 90's

• Replies 284

• Bridge of Djoum

• been here before

• jack D and coke

crunchy frog
15 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

To be fair to those hi tec if you swapped the white bit for 3 stripes you'd have a pair of adidas of the time. Roms or some shit 

Edit: I had these similar to the hi tec but I'm sure mine were bamba not mamba

Screenshot_2019-06-09-15-01-42-1.png

5 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Questar  pre Torsion was first kid in school to have them.

D5WPUhpXsAYx4_-.jpg

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

D5WPUhpXsAYx4_-.jpg

Very nice.

Just now, Bridge of Djoum said:

Very nice.

I would buy them now if they had a re issue.My fav trainers ever.

3 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

D5WPUhpXsAYx4_-.jpg

Which school?

8 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

These are on sale on EBay.£595.

Screenshot_20190609-150636.png

Just now, vegas-voss said:

I would buy them now if they had a re issue.My fav trainers ever.

Sure there's nothing in the Spezial re-issues?

1 minute ago, weegranty said:

These are on sale on EBay.£595.

Screenshot_20190609-150636.png

Bargain...?

24 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

To be fair to those hi tec if you swapped the white bit for 3 stripes you'd have a pair of adidas of the time. Roms or some shit 

Couldn't afford Adidas.

1 minute ago, weegranty said:

Couldn't afford Adidas.

Look at you now, though. Edvard Munch paintings and everything.

First pair of trainers I ever seen anybody wearing that were not Adidas,Puma or the shit your mum just made you wear.

images.jpeg

15 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Image result for umbro training top 80's

These were a must.

This, this and this again.

Drill tops, gods own kicking about in top. There was nothing you couldnt do in a drill top. I prefered the earlier umbro ones without that 'pro training' malarkey on it but great things none the less.

Ive said before the shop is missing a huge trick not stocking something like this...

20190219_092231.jpg.28f28df62a6ab3c2e1588977cbe58c34.jpg

For the PE gear...

20190609_152912.jpg

Or if you were a bit of a tosser...

s-l225.jpg.b211fd27ea812d08a5c3c2e0f53585e1.jpg

Or if you go blue tokens for your school dinner..

6904729963_006e305b11_b.thumb.jpg.ccda18b377ae883eaba07d999519a14b.jpg

2 hours ago, been here before said:

For the PE gear...

20190609_152912.jpg

So true ?

3 hours ago, been here before said:

For the PE gear...

20190609_152912.jpg

Rucanor were the school bag of choice for me. Usually with some band name typexed on the side. 

3 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Rucanor were the school bag of choice for me. Usually with some band name typexed on the side. 

Image result for bananarama

Leather and suede patchwork jackets. Smock style with a round collar and a lace up neck. Got them at ingliston market. Not the best look with hindsight.

I also remember the chipie jeans and Israeli jackets. Best Company sweatshirts. 

56 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Rucanor for me too but with my current girlfriends name in said Tippex.

4 hours ago, been here before said:

For the PE gear...

20190609_152912.jpg

I had one of these, and a Rucanor after the strap broke.

anb6536-1.jpg

Did you have a real Rucanor? I mind there being a lot of imitations, with different names.

5 hours ago, been here before said:

For the PE gear...

20190609_152912.jpg

Apparently I was a bit of a tosser then!

I went full on tosser soon after

1560109819054.thumb.png.c0a0c0fbd35d65796a065f2e6e78f6c4.png

6 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Apparently I was a bit of a tosser then!

How did you carry your Head bag? There were 3 options as I recall...

1- by the handles down by your side, looking a little like you might have had a sawn off in it if it was an epsode of the Sweeney?

2- by the accompanying shoulder strap? No one really done that though.

3- by the handles, elbow bent hand in front of the shoulder carrying bag over the shoulder? That was tosser maximus.

Ruccanor bags you could easily slip your arm through the handle to be carried nonchalantly over the shoulder.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

1- by the handles down by your side, looking a little like you might have had a sawn off in it if it was an epsode of the Sweeney?

3- by the handles, elbow bent hand in front of the shoulder carrying bag over the shoulder? That was tosser maximus.

Ruccanor bags you could easily slip your arm through the handle to be carried nonchalantly over the shoulder.

I had a variation on 3, my arm through one handle so it was hanging off my shoulder, zip against my back. 

I rocked a similar jam for this beauty

s-l400.jpg

5 hours ago, been here before said:

For the PE gear...

20190609_152912.jpg

A guy at my primary had one of those Head bags. I'm sure the main compartment had locks at the zips and came with the smallest keys you'd see. I'm pretty sure it also had a detachable compartment which unzipped and he used to carry his packed lunch in it. 

Looking back, it was all a bit wanky! ? 

On 07/06/2019 at 18:24, Morgan said:

Earrings.

We need to talk about earrings.

Remember getting told by the doorman at Cinderella’s that if I didn’t take my earring out, I wasn’t getting in :(

On 07/06/2019 at 23:09, skinnybob72 said:

A guy I worked with rolled up to the office one day in the early 90s wearing a light coloured suit and slip on shoes thinking he was Don Johnson from Miami Vice. He was ripped mercilessly so much so that he went home at lunchtime and got changed. The gear was never seen again. 

I can’t believe I’m admitting this, but I went up the time on quite a few occasions dressed like that, a mint coloured jacket and white trousers :facepalm:

8 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Went there quite a bit. Buzzini along a bit too. 

Bought a quite horrific dark brown suede bomber jacket from smarty pants too, again too big for me :lol: 

Thought i was the mutts an all. 

Rab Thallons place, remember him well, a right character. 

41325AC2-57C3-4011-B57A-E9147137FBB3.jpeg

B811BC6C-F8F1-4308-AF2F-1E35FCCAD8A3.jpeg

9 hours ago, been here before said:

Across the forehead.

10 hours ago, been here before said:

Seems I was  a tosser!

Did the shoulder strap too, though.

25 minutes ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Seems I was  a tosser!

With a Head bag?

Just now, been here before said:

Jesus...

Thats bad.

I was young!

11 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

A guy at my primary had one of those Head bags. I'm sure the main compartment had locks at the zips and came with the smallest keys you'd see. I'm pretty sure it also had a detachable compartment which unzipped and he used to carry his packed lunch in it. 

Looking back, it was all a bit wanky! ? 

The wankiest of all were those who had a bag with a bit to hold a tennis racquet. That same bit never ever seeing any racquet.

Guilty of so many of the fashion crimes already listed on here. Troop, British Knights and SPX hoodies spring to mind. Had those hideous Travel Fox trainers too. 

Was also partial to any old crap that Burberry would churn out, in a desperate attempt to pretend to be a casual. Seem to remember some particularly howling jumpers from the Thomas Burberry range. Even dabbled with the blue check fishing hat, but even as a fifteen year old I could tell that was pushing it a bit. 

Oh aye, and had a Head bag too. Feckin' massive thing, probably containing one school book and a pencil. 

Edited by Craig_

10 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Remember getting told by the doorman at Cinderella’s that if I didn’t take my earring out, I wasn’t getting in :(

I can’t believe I’m admitting this, but I went up the time on quite a few occasions dressed like that, a mint coloured jacket and white trousers :facepalm:

Rab Thallons place, remember him well, a right character. 

41325AC2-57C3-4011-B57A-E9147137FBB3.jpeg

B811BC6C-F8F1-4308-AF2F-1E35FCCAD8A3.jpeg

I was once ‘advised’ to take my earring out before starting a new job.

Showed up ‘earringless’ and in a smart suit.  The guy I was taking over from (who was to show me the ropes) had on jeans, a polo-shirt and....

..an earring!

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I was once ‘advised’ to take my earring out before starting a new job.

Showed up ‘earringless’ and in a smart suit.  The guy I was taking over from (who was to show me the ropes) had on jeans, a polo-shirt and....

..an earring!

???

Aaaaah, but which ear, made a lot of difference back then?

47 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

???

Aaaaah, but which ear, made a lot of difference back then?

Left of course.

And, it’s still there to this very day.

On a side note, I had it ripped right out through the lobe during an ‘altercation’ at Muirton Park many moons ago.

Still got the wee scar.

7 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Across the forehead.

This doesn’t surprise me in the slightest.

:wink:

6 hours ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Seems I was  a tosser!

Same for me but with the Rucanor.

I still find that a comfy way to carry a wee hold-all.

41 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Same for me but with the Rucanor.

I still find that a comfy way to carry a wee hold-all.

Nah.

No no no... it was the Head bag that was the tosser element.

The only people who couldnt/shouldnt have adopted the over the shoulder look was the Capital carrier bag officianado.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

Nah.

No no no... it was the Head bag that was the tosser element.

The only people who couldnt/shouldnt have adopted the over the shoulder look was the Capital carrier bag officianado.

Ah, got it now.  (I think).

So, to confirm, it wasn’t the ‘over the shoulder look, with the hand bent back’ that was the tosser look, it was which particular bag one did it with?  Am I right so far? 

But, the Capital Meat Centre bag was a huge ‘no no’ no matter which was it was carried?

Hope I’m on the tight track here.  This is terribly confusing. :) 

How did the smallish, rectangular Adidas bag (with the zip across the top) fare in the tosser stakes?

I had two of these so ask with some trepidation.

heartstastic
18 hours ago, been here before said:

The guy who invented Head sportsgear revealed in an interview years ago that he wanted to prove that people would buy anything that was marketed in a certain way, If you look at the Head logo he was basically taking the piss and made millions from it. Well done sir! (p.s i had one too!)

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Left of course.

And, it’s still there to this very day.

On a side note, I had it ripped right out through the lobe during an ‘altercation’ at Muirton Park many moons ago.

Still got the wee scar.

Still there, next you’ll be telling us you have a ponytail ?

and fighting at the fitba, you sure you’re a morningsider?

7 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Still there, next you’ll be telling us you have a ponytail ?

and fighting at the fitba, you sure you’re a morningsider?

No ponytail.

Wasn’t fighting :lol:   It was a ‘wrong place at wrong time’ scenario.  :wink: 

Not a born and bred Morningsider though, lived there for many years but brought up at the Braids. That’s where the real hooligans come from.

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

No ponytail.

Wasn’t fighting :lol:   It was a ‘wrong place at wrong time’ scenario.  :wink: 

Not a born and bred Morningsider though, lived there for many years but brought up at the Braids. That’s where the real hooligans come from.

? neither am I, Marchmont first.

Seen a guy  get beaten up by two guys on Morningside Road and they stole his moccasins :facepalm:

Just now, luckyBatistuta said:

? neither am I, Marchmont first.

Seen a guy  get beaten up by two guys on Morningside Road and they stole his moccasins :facepalm:

Moccasins.  ::facepaw::

On the same level as ‘Boat shoes’. 

All the pretentious English pr!cks that visit here wear feckin boat shoes.

And straw hats.  :getout: