Souttar & Uche out for 5/6 months

VivaObua

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

I'll say once more then leave you to it - you're talking from a position of ignorance compared to those in charge at the club, intelligent people who care about the club's welfare. 

If something needs done I trust them to do it, I'm not going to mob up because of innuendo from some radge on the internet.

As I said before I’m not ignorant of the facts, and I’ve agreed that the club obviously know more about it. The club have made a few mistakes over the last few years, intelligent or not. Internet Radge ???.

• Replies 630

• redjambo

• i8hibsh

No source, no medical training and certainly not ITK but to me the big felly will be back way sooner than 5 months.

4 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

No source, no medical training and certainly not ITK but to me the big felly will be back way sooner than 5 months.

Hope it’s befote next Sunday!

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Hope it’s befote next Sunday!

Rather the Wednesday.  He would ****ing destroy Hibs.

3 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Rather the Wednesday.  He would ****ing destroy Hibs.

Vermin at my work are cheesing that he's missing the derby.

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

Please don’t ever question my support for my one and only football team. My agenda is that I want the very best for the club, to break the stranglehold of the ugly sisters and these injuries are hampering that especially this season when everything is up for grabs. If you or anyone else is happy within mediocrity and a top 4 finish that’s fine, don’t criticise the rest of us who want it all. My anger at losing these players is no doubt clouding my judgement whilst I look for someone to blame. I’ve been in touch a few times over the last few years( handrails for the bottom part of the new stand in the first three games, watching old guys struggle up and down was scary) and had no response I’m afraid, no big deal.

I beg to differ. I think that it is a concern that the club didn't respond to you regarding the handrails issue. There are always practical and strategic considerations with any structural modifications, but the least that the club should be doing is acknowledging the concerns of supporters who contact them. By what means did you try contacting the club about the issue?

1 hour ago, i8hibsh said:

Promise long, deliver short. Here's hoping!

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

Promise long, deliver short. Here's hoping!

Something I am very familiar with

6 minutes ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Three key players out injured, this is a strange strange season.

Captain, vice captain and the player to cause most fear to the opposition.

Really is a shit stick likes.

Again, we go into another derby with key players out and Hibs (yet again) at full strength.

57 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I beg to differ. I think that it is a concern that the club didn't respond to you regarding the handrails issue. There are always practical and strategic considerations with any structural modifications, but the least that the club should be doing is acknowledging the concerns of supporters who contact them. By what means did you try contacting the club about the issue?

I left a voicemail message with the Stadium manager and emailed her, I couldn’t watch the frail and elderly struggle up and down the stairs. I had to help an older gentleman and his pal up the stairs after the first game. I got in touch after that. 

5 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Captain, vice captain and the player to cause most fear to the opposition.

Really is a shit stick likes.

Again, we go into another derby with key players out and Hibs (yet again) at full strength.

It’s becoming the norm, quite frustrating especially when they need to put back in their place. 

13 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Speak for yourself, better qualified yes but I’m not starting from a position of ignorance. Not only do I have a qualified sports scientist and Uefa pro licence holder in my family but I work with a qualified sports psychologist who works for the club in the video analysis department, their advice and insight is extremely useful.

I'm married to a health professional. They're not allowed to discuss patients and their injuries, even with their other halfs.

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

I left a voicemail message with the Stadium manager and emailed her, I couldn’t watch the frail and elderly struggle up and down the stairs. I had to help an older gentleman and his pal up the stairs after the first game. I got in touch after that. 

And no-one got back to you? That's not good at all, imo. I would have knocked it upstairs myself. Is there still an issue with this?

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

I'm married to a health professional. They're not allowed to discuss patients and their injuries, even with their other halfs.

Slightly different at a sports club where injuries are revealed and discussed. 

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

And no-one got back to you? That's not good at all, imo. I would have knocked it upstairs myself. Is there still an issue with this?

After the third home game handrails were installed thankfully and it seemed a bit of a waste of time to go on about it. 

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

Ok mate but neither are health care professionals and don’t have patients.

You're talking like you have inside knowledge of the players' injuries from the people you mentioned. There's a reason specialists exist. Sending a player to a specialist does not mean the treatment or care they were receiving at Hearts was wrong.

GorgieRules22
12 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

It’s becoming the norm, quite frustrating especially when they need to put back in their place. 

We put them in there rightful place the last derby ??

11 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

You're talking like you have inside knowledge of the players' injuries from the people you mentioned. There's a reason specialists exist. Sending a player to a specialist does not mean the treatment or care they were receiving at Hearts was wrong.

They have knowledge of how an injury can happen, and that Uche was training as if nothing was wrong. My point all along is if the people we employ to specifically diagnose what’s wrong with someone and they can’t do it why are they there? If they’re not specialists in this field why employ them? Send them to the Royal Infirmary.

9 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Slightly different at a sports club where injuries are revealed and discussed. 

Makes no difference. Health professionals at a club obviously discuss it with their employer who then decides what to tell fans but they don't talk to friends and family and blokes on the street about the patients in their care.

2 minutes ago, GorgieRules22 said:

We put them in there rightful place the last derby ??

A hard fought one nil at home is not their place, a 4 nil drubbing is what I have in mind and what we’ve been used to, however spoilt that is ?.

1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

Makes no difference. Health professionals at a club obviously discuss it with their employer who then decides what to tell fans but they don't talk to friends and family and blokes on the street about the patients in their care.

Neither of the two folk I’m talking about are health care professionals though.

Just now, Pasquale for King said:

They have knowledge of how an injury can happen, and that Uche was training as if nothing was wrong. My point all along is if the people we employ to specifically diagnose what’s wrong with someone and they can’t do it why are they there? If they’re not specialists in this field why employ them? Send them to ER.

The whole point of being a specialist is that they specialise in one particular area of the body or type of injury, taking years to build up and maintain that expertise.

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

Neither of the two folk I’m talking about are health care professionals though.

Nevermind. You seem to be suggesting the Hearts staff somehow did something wrong, which is out of order when you have no knowledge of the injuries.

13 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

After the third home game handrails were installed thankfully and it seemed a bit of a waste of time to go on about it. 

Fair enough. It was really good of you to try to report the problem. The next time though, if no-one gets back to you, I suggest trying alternative ways of contacting the club, the higher up the possible. Issues like that are important, as is the club acknowledging the concerns of the supporters (although I imagine in their defence that the stadium manager was a mite busy during that particular period. :)).

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

The whole point of being a specialist is that they specialise in one particular area of the body or type of injury, taking years to build up and maintain that expertise.

So what are they special areas that our medical department know , is it not football related injuries? Should we not hire people who can diagnose an injury, this saving thousands sending players to Leeds and London? This is not the first time an injury has been outwith their knowledge. If it’s about money then in the future some of our FoH money should go to expanding the sports science/medical department.

5 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Nevermind. You seem to be suggesting the Hearts staff somehow did something wrong, which is out of order when you have no knowledge of the injuries.

CL said exactly what happened, it’s been laid out up there. They didn’t know what was wrong, he trained and played and then when he couldn’t go on due to the pain he was sent to London where he was diagnosed properly. 

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Fair enough. It was really good of you to try to report the problem. The next time though, if no-one gets back to you, I suggest trying alternative ways of contacting the club, the higher up the possible. Issues like that are important, as is the club acknowledging the concerns of the supporters (although I imagine in their defence that the stadium manager was a mite busy during that particular period. :)).

Yeah no doubt she was, thankfully nobody was hurt.

42 minutes ago, Rudi5kaceldream1ng said:

Three key players out injured, this is a strange strange season.

Indeed but at least we have experienced players to come in as opposed to 16 year olds like last year.

2 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

You haven’t read all my posts as I’ve specified problems from last season that clearly haven’t been rectified, I only asked these two folk late yesterday to find out what they think. As CL has explained the process fully it seems the people we employ couldn’t find out was wrong with Uche “we FIINALLY got to the bottom of the problem” said a

clearly frustrated CL. Whether Uche made the problem worse by training and playing is difficult to ascertain but it would seem likely don’t you think? I think changes are likely in the department.

CL also said "It’s quite an obscure injury, a fracture in an area of his foot that is really difficult to detect. We’ve had scans, X-rays and CTs and he’s constantly had pain during it all. We sent the images down to the leading specialist in London, James Calder, and he said there was a very small chance – our physio had already suggested it – but getting the scan to show something wrong it has to be done when the foot is under stress. Rather than take an X-ray of the foot he had to stand in a certain position that created the shift in the bone that allowed us to recognise the injury. It’s normally an injury associated with a car driving over someone’s foot.”

Sounds like everyone did their job and you are just assuming that it was made worse by training. Sure, we could play it ultra cautious with every injury but then we'd have no team most weeks. Physios and docs also rely on players to give them feedback and tell them if they can play on. In professional sport its very common for people to push through the pain, even though they know that could be risky. Just ask all the footballers now living with arthritis or ice hockey players and boxers dealing with the long-term effects of head injuries.

9 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

So what are they special areas that our medical department know , is it not football related injuries? Should we not hire people who can diagnose an injury, this saving thousands sending players to Leeds and London? This is not the first time an injury has been outwith their knowledge. If it’s about money then in the future some of our FoH money should go to expanding the sports science/medical department.

Levein literally answered that in the quote I posted. 

Demi Mitchell was another where some people said Hearts were in the wrong playing him after he first had discomfort.

Man Utd were happy to send him back to us this season. 

Edited by Mikey1874

11 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

CL also said "It’s quite an obscure injury, a fracture in an area of his foot that is really difficult to detect. We’ve had scans, X-rays and CTs and he’s constantly had pain during it all. We sent the images down to the leading specialist in London, James Calder, and he said there was a very small chance – our physio had already suggested it – but getting the scan to show something wrong it has to be done when the foot is under stress. Rather than take an X-ray of the foot he had to stand in a certain position that created the shift in the bone that allowed us to recognise the injury. It’s normally an injury associated with a car driving over someone’s foot.”

Sounds like everyone did their job and you are just assuming that it was made worse by training. Sure, we could play it ultra cautious with every injury but then we'd have no team most weeks. Physios and docs also rely on players to give them feedback and tell them if they can play on. In professional sport its very common for people to push through the pain, even though they know that could be risky. Just ask all the footballers now living with arthritis or ice hockey players and boxers dealing with the long-term effects of head injuries.

Yeah I read all of that too, if it was suspected then it’s up to someone at the club to say no he’s not playing. Training and playing with most injuries surely make them worse. If he was ok to play at Ibrox and it’s not making it worse why isn’t he playing the next four games?

2 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Demi Mitchell was another where some people said Hearts were in the wrong playing him after he first had discomfort.

Man Utd were happy to send him back to us this season. 

He played three games with an injury, he walked off leaving us to play with ten men for ten minutes. CL said he would be ok to play at the weekend, he was taken back and operated on after being properly diagnosed. Let’s face it he didn’t have any other offers and will never make it at United.

16 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Levein literally answered that in the quote I posted. 

Make up your mind you said we didn’t lnow what happened five minutes ago?

8 hours ago, Smithee said:

Ok, so tell us the detailed knowledge you have of their injuries and the mistakes that have been made.

You'll wait a long time I'm afraid,guy seems to be a bit of a look at me type.Me I'd back the club on this issue.

Getting a wee bit like "going round in circles" here. 

Just out of interest, if an "ordinary" footballer (not a professional) got injuries such as Uche's or Soapy's, what would happen? 

Would/could they play through the pain barrier? 

Would they simply take some time off and let the injury heal itself? (Could these injuries heal themselves?) 

Would the medical treatment be supplied by the NHS? 

Would/could such injuries force someone to give up playing football? 

I suppose it all depends on the level you're playing at. 

59 minutes ago, sairyinthat said:

You'll wait a long time I'm afraid,guy seems to be a bit of a look at me type.Me I'd back the club on this issue.

I think I’ve answered the question, I’m not a look at me type at all as a quick look at how little I post would prove.

23 hours ago, Inch Hearts said:

Okay, I’ll humour you, where have I posted any digs at the club? And while we are at it how can me saying I don’t share the confidence that we have adequate back up to replace our first choice centre half pairing, both international any sort of dig at the club??? 

Thought so.  Troll. 

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

Yeah I read all of that too, if it was suspected then it’s up to someone at the club to say no he’s not playing. Training and playing with most injuries surely make them worse. If he was ok to play at Ibrox and it’s not making it worse why isn’t he playing the next four games?

Because the specialist results came back after the game?

don’t share the confidence that we have adequate back up to replace our first choice centre half pairing, both international 

To be fair Hearts can't be expected to have like for like replacements to Souttar and Berra in the wings. How could we afford that? However, we do have four full internationals as back up in Dunne, Clevid, Smith and Hughes, plus another defender Godhino coming back from injury who is also a full international. Depth of squad is not something to have a moan at Hearts about this season. We have probably the deepest squad in the league.

Celtic, Hibs, Rangers and Aberdeen would all be in much worse shape than us if you took out their three best players.

Edited by Guest

51 minutes ago, Inch Hearts said:

Thought so.  Troll. 

Sorry for having a life outside this forum.

Report me if you think I'm a troll pal?

38 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Because the specialist results came back after the game?

Sooooo training and playing made it worse or he at least he shouldn’t have been doing either, kind of what I’ve been trying to say all along isn’t it? 

35 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

To be fair Hearts can't be expected to have like for like replacements to Souttar and Berra in the wings. How could we afford that? However, we do have four full internationals as back up in Dunne, Clevid, Smith and Hughes, plus another defender Godhino coming back from injury who is also a full international. Depth of squad is not something to have a moan at Hearts about this season. We have probably the deepest squad in the league.

Celtic, Hibs, Rangers and Aberdeen would all be in much worse shape than us if you took out their three best players.

Agreed about losing their best three players and nobody has as good replacements waiting in the wings. Dunne isn’t an international,  Smith has two caps and is out tomorrow,  Hughes is past it and hasn’t completed 90 minutes this season and Godhino is weeks away. Clevid is an unknown quantity and it will be interesting to see him tomorrow whatever the line up is. How quickly we adapt to the changes will shape the rest of the season.

35 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

Sorry for having a life outside this forum.

Report me if you think I'm a troll pal?

Apology accepted pal ?

37 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Agreed about losing their best three players and nobody has as good replacements waiting in the wings. Dunne isn’t an international,  Smith has two caps and is out tomorrow,  Hughes is past it and hasn’t completed 90 minutes this season and Godhino is weeks away. Clevid is an unknown quantity and it will be interesting to see him tomorrow whatever the line up is. How quickly we adapt to the changes will shape the rest of the season.

Dunne has a full cap. Edit - u21 but point is we have strength in depth. Expecting like for like replacements for two standout players is a little unrealistic.

Edited by Guest

41 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Sooooo training and playing made it worse or he at least he shouldn’t have been doing either, kind of what I’ve been trying to say all along isn’t it? 

We don’t know that. And either way if it’s a hard to spot fracture theres really no need for the pitchforks.