Modern Day Football Sayings

daveyhmfc

Dean "For me" Saunders, didn't realise he was such an arse hole til recently.

False nine or whatever they say , **** off.

• Replies 303

• Wee Mikey

• been here before

"Every right to go down, there" so it's alright to cheat is it.

"There was contact" Heard it!

13 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

" I've seen them given "

That winds me up . Usually said by a pundit who doesn't want to give an opinion. 

I don't care if you've seen them given, do you think it is a penalty or not?

I also hate "It's a big ask"

14 hours ago, Hearts007 said:

Derek Ferguson "i'll tell ye what Richard" umpteen times throughout Sportsound every single week   :laugh: 

That and saying "Listen " before almost every sentence. 

A manager, usually Harry Redknap who is "down to the bare bones of a squad" when they still have about 25 players to pick from.

Remember the days when teams could win the league and only used about 14 players the whole season. 

On ‎30‎/‎11‎/‎2017 at 09:14, Costanza said:

And Alan Preston "make no mistake" and " we've seen it time and time again Richard"

• 5 years later...
On 30/11/2017 at 09:14, Costanza said:

This is a bugbear of mine also.... that muppet at the daily ranger - Keith Jackass - actually writes this way. Starts a lot of his sentences with 'Listen.....' annoys the crap out of me... not that I read the DR that often mind... 😳

The Goalscoring Knee

Good to see "the next level" was driving someone scatty as long ago as 2017. 🤣 Dunno why, but it grinds my gears too.

On 01/12/2017 at 23:36, Maroon Sailor said:

" A bad time to concede "

Is there a good time to concede ?

When you're winning 2-0 but have a bet on 2-1?

This happened to me at a match once and got some stern looks when I celebrated and last minute consolation for the opposition.

He went down on him?

He came inside his man?

He backed into him?

He tipped it round?

'Get into him'

What's that all about? 

::troll::

Ronald Villiers
9 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

He went down on him?

He came inside his man?

He backed into him?

He tipped it round?

'Get into him'

What's that all about? 

::troll::

Remember hearing a commentator mentioning that Messi loves to go inside his man.  🤣

"It's harder to play against 10 men".

Why we don't just start with 10 versus Celtic or The Rangers beats me.

File under:-

"They may have scored too early".

Robbie's 'slow start' tactics? 🤭

Percival King

When analysing an incident, pundits (maybe more so in the pre-VAR days) would often say that the referee "had just about got that one right" which tended to mean that the referee had made the decision right in a tight call but the pundits praise was begrudged.

Always after the event:-

"He was never going to miss that".

And yet, we've all seen them missed.

After any even half spectacular diagonal pass or unlikely goal, it's good to know that:-

"He has that in his locker".

Baby steps.

We move on.

Onwards and upwards.

Jam tomorrow.

I realise these are more likely to be seen on football fansites, but boy oh boy...

Unbelievable Jeff  !

I was sittin here thinkin

He's going to his pocket, could be a card....  naw its a freakin Calculator  !

Davie Provan., no words needed , he is the physical embodiement of a slavering sh9te

1 minute ago, Daktari said:

'Their keeper kept them in it....' as opposed to what? Is that not what a keeper is for?

As opposed to Periera not keeping us in it?

Not just in football but the people saying "floor" when they mean the ground.

As in "they like to play the ball on the floor"

A floor is inside a fecking building !!!

'Wur' - As in 'We didn't take wur  chances'. 

Interestingly, as I type this the autocorrect is changing 'Wur' to 'Our'. Even Apple knows...

I don't mind most which is posted on here but the brave part annoys me.

WC or any tournament during a pk shoot out...

He's brave stepping up.

The pressure 

Get to ****.

Surgeons, nurses, firefighters, police, soldiers,  folk battling illness, folk out of work sinking under financial pressure etc are brave and have pressure. 

You're playing football, often for millions of £ a year.

Get a ****ing grip.

These instead that/those/them/this and the weegie radio term “in the end up” who i believe was started by Billy Dodds. 

This is an apt reboot as I've been laughing my ass off at some of these in recent days. First one features Robbie as well.

(the Dion Dublin cameos get me every time)

32 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

I don't mind most which is posted on here but the brave part annoys me.

WC or any tournament during a pk shoot out...

He's brave stepping up.

The pressure 

Get to ****.

Surgeons, nurses, firefighters, police, soldiers,  folk battling illness, folk out of work sinking under financial pressure etc are brave and have pressure. 

You're playing football, often for millions of £ a year.

Get a ****ing grip.

I know what you mean, but ...

See the next time we get tae pens in the Scottish 🏆? I cannae wait tae see ye (having secretly been included in the squad for just such an event) stepping up. Yer knees knocking together will be heard from the back of section D.

Personally, I can hardly bear watching, let alone the thought of taking one.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

"No-one should go to a game of football and not go home".

To be fair, that ☝️ is simply stating the bleedin' obvious, especially after our match the other day.

"He's done a little dink"  That's a criminal offence in some countries.  And can you do a big dink ? What does that look like ? Should you avoid stepping on it ?   And if I hear " at this moment in time " again then the tv's goin' oot the windae.   Anyway as soon as this moment in time is uttered it instantly becomes that moment in time so stick that in yer f++kin pipe ya hamshankers.

6 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

To be fair, that ☝️ is simply stating the bleedin' obvious, especially after our match the other day.

Very fond amongst the 'RIP, thoughts to the family' thread dwellers.

Manager x is 'running the rule' over player y.

Why does the transfer window have to 'slam shut' every year? Can nobody close it quietly?

1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

I know what you mean, but ...

See the next time we get tae pens in the Scottish 🏆? I cannae wait tae see ye (having secretly been included in the squad for just such an event) stepping up. Yer knees knocking together will be heard from the back of section D.

Personally, I can hardly bear watching, let alone the thought of taking one.

Good pressure tho, the way the commentators go on gets on my tits.

Anyway, I'd be like this.

penalties-f2.gif

Edited by Bazzas right boot

49 minutes ago, been here before said:

Very fond amongst the 'RIP, thoughts to the family' thread dwellers.

Just now, postage-stamp said:

Anything by a female commentator 

Some folk try too hard to be "edgy".

1 hour ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

“Player of the match” has to be up there tho. Get that in the bin 

This one just proves how bloody ridiculous things have become nowadays.

1 hour ago, Costanza said:

This is an apt reboot as I've been laughing my ass off at some of these in recent days. First one features Robbie as well.

(the Dion Dublin cameos get me every time)

🤣🤣🤣

2-0

1-0

0-0

Dangerous scores. 

Henry- Nah, 7-0 is more dangerous. 

postage-stamp
Just now, Morgan said:

This one just proves how bloody ridiculous things have become nowadays.

Yup. But if you say anything you'll get pulled for being sexist.  

It's an obvious point that a no female (none) could be an expert on the men's game.. since they've never played in it.