Modern Day Football Sayings

daveyhmfc

On 07/11/2017 at 11:01, Hagar the Horrible said:

Not just modern but from time immemorial:   The lad done well.....grammer please, how hard is it to say the lad did well, or the lad has done well?

But just listen to Americans, and you will really have your tights ripped!!!   great yardage (who compiles stats on measuring how far they have travelled with the ball at their feet)  and then go to all that bother to just call it yardage???

The penalty box is not the shooting zone

I think you mean grammar.

Referring to a manager as a gaffer.

• Replies 303

• Wee Mikey

• been here before

1 hour ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

Leading to the penalty, his arm wasn't in a natural position? Of course it was, it's still attached to his ****ing shoulder radge!

lol

On 11/7/2017 at 14:33, Andrew Gilbert Wauchope said:

What currently gets to me is describing forwards as being "up top" 

Amen. It's "up front".

Haven't got out of 2nd gear yet

Going through the gears

Taken the handbrake off

They can up a gear any time they want

Edited by Maroon Sailor

It's terrible, simply terrible, that football commentators have descended to the level of using metaphors to describe the action. How dare they! We should keep the language as simple and literal as possible, avoiding, as Orwell described it "dying metaphors, pretentious diction, and high-flown rhetoric, which produce the meaningless words of doublespeak, the product of unclear reasoning."

Down with figurative descriptions! Away with metaphors! To the gallows with non-literal speech!

I'm with you all the way guys. It's such a shame that there wasn't a movement with these opinions around the time that Shakespeare was writing his infernal plays - then maybe I would be able to understand them!

Work in progress, a great one used by the hobos when stuck in the championship for three years.

Just another feeble excuse from them, along with this could be our year, brought out quite a few times

as their number of years to win the scottish cup reached 114 .

114, joke.

"He's lost the dressing room" arghhh

and....

"1966" arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh 

Edited by It should have been ten

michael_bolton
On 11/11/2017 at 08:17, Konrad von Carstein said:

Used far too much in this place "fitba" as annoying as "footy" IMO

Nonsense. 'Fitba' is simply regional English. And it's certainly not modern.

Edited by michael_bolton

special agent oso

One that really annoys me is " We didn't turn up" 

I'm sorry but you had 11 players on the pitch at the start of the match, you did turn up. You just weren't that good and got humped

'Just got to take it one game at a time"

"It's a results business"

"The group" (One of Brenda's favourites)

"We need to regroup"

"Undisclosed fee"

"Baller"

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

I was at Hallam FC v Dronfield Town yesterday (Hallam's my local non-league side).  Sitting right behind the dugouts, you hear everything said.  The Hallam coach hardly said a word during the game but the Dronfield coach never shut up.  He was constantly shouting things like "Danny, get in the hole".  But an interesting saying I'd not heard before was Dronfield players shouting at others "Body language, body language" at various times, for no obvious reasons.  Anyone hazard a guess at what this was for?  It was all through the match, which Dronfield won 4-1 (and were 3-0 up within 20 minutes). 

Edited by Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

18 hours ago, been here before said:

Not a saying as such but this fad of scoring then looking up to the heavens with 2 fingers raised is annoying.

Was that not started by Frank Lampard after the death of his mum?

Anyway, it drives me mad too.

On 11/11/2017 at 10:30, Harry Potter said:

Work in progress, a great one used by the hobos when stuck in the championship for three years.

Just another feeble excuse from them, along with this could be our year, brought out quite a few times

as their number of years to win the scottish cup reached 114 .

114, joke.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSERmFyzmyuyizRTa62OZh

On 10/11/2017 at 12:27, Thomaso said:

"he made a great offer" - Davey feckin Provan, when a player runs into space.

Every single word that comes out that ****s mouth annoys me.

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

Dont know how long these have been around if they qualify as modern or not

"As we approach the business end of the season"

"the manager has done really well despite putting together the squad with a shoestring budget"

"he fluffed that chance but then got a second bite at the cherry"

"a real stramasch in the box..." 

3 minutes ago, Steve_Jersey_HMFC said:

Dont know how long these have been around if they qualify as modern or not

"As we approach the business end of the season"

"the manager has done really well despite putting together the squad with a shoestring budget"

"he fluffed that chance but then got a second bite at the cherry"

"a real stramasch in the box..." 

Stramash was Archie McPherson who was brilliant imo.

13 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Stramash was Archie McPherson who was brilliant imo.

I always thought it was Arthur Montford. A different generation though, both great and only bettered imo by Bob Crampsey

3 minutes ago, alanthejambo said:

I always thought it was Arthur Montford. A different generation though, both great and only bettered imo by Bob Crampsey

It was indeed Arthur Montford Alan.

My mistake.

19 hours ago, Escobar PHM said:

Every single word that comes out that ****s mouth annoys me.

Same here! Hate the boring auld @rsehole

• 3 weeks later...

Someone on Sportsound last night used a word incorrectly which I hear all the time in football.

It was along the lines of "He's installed confidence in his players."

The correct word is "instilled".

You installed a PA system. You install software in your computer. You install a new Manager.

You instilled confidence among your players. You instil doubt in the minds of your players. You instil a feel-good factor at your office.

My understanding of the words:

Physical or tangible objects are installed.

Beliefs or feelings are instilled.

Edited by Hearts_fan

Not so much a football saying per se but give it time.

The word 'very' being replaced by the word 'super' in every day speak now

I'm super confident I can win

He was super cool under pressure

I am super happy

I was super pleased with that

2 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Not so much a football saying per se but give it time.

The word 'very' being replaced by the word 'super' in every day speak now

I'm super confident I can win

He was super cool under pressure

I am super happy

I was super pleased with that

Can't stand it. Particularly when someone says something is "super cool".

Derek Ferguson "i'll tell ye what Richard" umpteen times throughout Sportsound every single week   :laugh: 

Edited by Hearts007

" There's contact "

Eh Aye it's a contact sport - not every contact is a foul,  just because some cheating pansy decides to hit the deck

Portable Badger

'Defeat' it would seem has been totally removed from the lexicon.  Nobody uses it on TV or in the papers.  It's always a 3-0 loss and not the old fashioned 3-0 defeat. It really nibbles my tits !!

.......And the increasing use of '.... are on the offensive'......... 'he's an offensive player'.  No No No. The word you're looking for is Attack/ing.

........And as for those Plums that think it's trendy to use f#cking 'gotten'  !!!!  They even used it on the Hearts' website in their match report. Bellend !!