Modern Day Football Sayings

daveyhmfc

Markymark1874
42 minutes ago, postage-stamp said:

Yup. But if you say anything you'll get pulled for being sexist.  

It's an obvious point that a no female (none) could be an expert on the men's game.. since they've never played in it.   

You said that no female commentator could be taken seriously - then followed it up with the above. Does this not mean that 90% of male commentators can’t be taken seriously either - having never played the game?

I dunno, maybe you deserve to get pulled for being sexist 🤷

Edited by Markymark1874

• Replies 303

• Wee Mikey

• been here before

postage-stamp
12 minutes ago, Markymark1874 said:

You said that no female commentator could be taken seriously - then followed it up with the above. Does this not mean that 90% of male commentators can’t be taken seriously either - having never played the game?

I dunno, maybe you deserve to get pulled for being sexist 🤷

Well people like Andy walker ( welt so he is) at least has played the men's game and been on the pitch.   

Percival King
3 minutes ago, pettigrewsstylist said:

Erraa macaroon bar.

Ha ha ha. Erra macaroon, erra Chewits. I can still picture the wee guy that used to wander the terraces at places like Fir Park with a bag full of macaroons and Chewits. Sadly, a sorry victim of all seater stadia.

Conversely I quite like the old football sayings like the use of crack for a foreign team e.g. "Hearts face the crack German outfit on Thursday" or a player having to attend a meeting with the SFA; "hauled up before the beaks".

Naisys Tackle
2 hours ago, Costanza said:

This is an apt reboot as I've been laughing my ass off at some of these in recent days. First one features Robbie as well.

(the Dion Dublin cameos get me every time)

:lol: class man.  You got more? 

Markymark1874
32 minutes ago, postage-stamp said:

Well people like Andy walker ( welt so he is) at least has played the men's game and been on the pitch.   

Ha ha - maybe not the best example to use.

25 minutes ago, Percival King said:

Ha ha ha. Erra macaroon, erra Chewits. I can still picture the wee guy that used to wander the terraces at places like Fir Park with a bag full of macaroons and Chewits. Sadly, a sorry victim of all seater stadia.

I think it was the old brockville a Zico Kidd clearance wiped the boy out and his tray of goods. A 300 man brawl followed!

Markymark1874
12 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

I think it was the old brockville a Zico Kidd clearance wiped the boy out and his tray of goods. A 300 man brawl followed!

Funny, Brockville was the ground I thought of when I think of that bloke with the macaroons. 

Any time that commentators pluralise, whether referencing players or clubs.

"It's when you come up against the Dundee Uniteds or the Motherwells" ... etc.

Or, "It's the Ronaldos and Messis that you must admire."

How many of them ARE there? 😆

Modern expressions in football,mmmm...

"She's had a great strike"

"She makes a great pass"

"She made a great Tackle"

"She"

🙃

3 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Modern expressions in football,mmmm...

"She's had a great strike"

"She makes a great pass"

"She made a great Tackle"

"She"

🙃

She? He?

These days, who knows?

Screenshot_20230209_194842_Google.jpg

Edited by Wee Mikey

Percival King

Sunday Post used to refer to match tickets as briefs, as in "fans can bag their briefs for the big match". 

I've never bagged my briefs, though Mrs K might think that there were times when I should have.

4 hours ago, The Treasurer said:

Not just in football but the people saying "floor" when they mean the ground.

As in "they like to play the ball on the floor"

A floor is inside a fecking building !!!

What are these people dancing on?

outdoor-dance-floor-hire-3.jpg

1 hour ago, Costanza said:

Conversely I quite like the old football sayings like the use of crack for a foreign team e.g. "Hearts face the crack German outfit on Thursday" or a player having to attend a meeting with the SFA; "hauled up before the beaks".

One of my favourites were shots that were  " blazed over the bar"

you could almost imagine the trail it was leaving 😂

Someone saying they’re going to “take in” a game always gets me 😂

Edited by RickDeckard

I can't be bothered with the interviews with former players like Barry Ferguson in the sun and the record where they use words like "insists" and "adamant" eg 

Ex-Rangers ace Barry Ferguson insists the title race is still on.

Is it Barry ? Aye? Ya cheating wee nyaff 

Terminology like "low block" is standardized now across all coaching courses so that you can coach anywhere in the world and players will know what their coach is talking about. I think that's the point in it. 

Percival King
5 hours ago, The Treasurer said:

Not just in football but the people saying "floor" when they mean the ground.

As in "they like to play the ball on the floor"

A floor is inside a fecking building !!!

Absolutely. And a deck's on a boat so why yell at a player to get the ball on the deck????

1 hour ago, Percival King said:

Absolutely. And a deck's on a boat so why yell at a player to get the ball on the deck????

These pens!!! H1b5 v Greenock Morton.

Ryan Porteous was clearly aiming for the deck ....

.... the deck of the Royal Yacht Britannia doon in Leith ...

The ‘boy’ is a unit.

The ‘boy’ could be late 20’s or into his 30’s.  He’s definitely not a boy.

Vernacular?

2 hours ago, JJ93 said:

Any sort of Americanism whatsoever. 

This, it grinds my gears during a major tournament when American pundits start talking about which side of the "bracket" a team is in.  It's "draw" not bracket.

7 hours ago, RustyRightPeg said:

:laugh: Outstanding,  hadn't seen that part and parcel one before.

love stuff like that. This one of goalkeepers just launching it seems weird now watching the modern game.

None of those little goal keeper hitch kicks or them wearing the same shorts and socks as outfield players these days.

8 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

These pens!!! H1b5 v Greenock Morton.

Ryan Porteous was clearly aiming for the deck ....

.... the deck of the Royal Yacht Britannia doon in Leith ...

A veritable fester Road boofest 🤣

Ally "Can I ask you" McCoist. 

And the pish Jim White come out with. Not to mention Simon Jordan who says Consequenced, all the time. Just feck off you absolute arsehole of a human being.

10 hours ago, RobNox said:

This, it grinds my gears during a major tournament when American pundits start talking about which side of the "bracket" a team is in.  It's "draw" not bracket.

"grinds my gears" is another annoying Americanism... 

10 hours ago, Morgan said:

The ‘boy’ is a unit.

The ‘boy’ could be late 20’s or into his 30’s.  He’s definitely not a boy.

Vernacular?

Not a unit either.

I hate "...the romance of the cup..." eh?

And what is  it Charlie Nicholas keeps saying (there's a vid on some other thread that's quite funny)!... starts all his sentences with something like "I'll tell you this...." (IRRC may be wrong!)

13 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

A "dance ground"....

1 hour ago, The Treasurer said:

A mat on the ground 

Solid attempt, but I think I prefer dance ground. Sounds more glamorous.