Happy Birthday your Majesty.

The Baldmans Comb

I watched the trooping of the colour as well for the first time in years and found it all incredibly old fashioned and a very amusing spectacle but that old lady has my total respect for having to go through such nonsense year after year.

She does seem a rather strange old fashioned woman but she is to be very much admired as she does her day job very well and is a credit to her country.

I'm rather indifferent on the whole to her soldiers some of whom are very poor human specimens who throughout history have committed a number of atrocities however this applies to all armies and it's true to say the vast majority of soldiers of do a very difficult job extremely well.

Can't say I would give soldiers the foreluck tugging respect of some but they do a dirty job for no thanks and little reward.

• Replies 162
Its the Queen's birthday, not Prince Philip's. ;)

THe Queen's Birthday is the 21st of April. Prince Phillip's is the 10th of June.

Trooping the colour is for the benefit of London tourists. To give it credence they deemed the Queen would have an official birthday. This is announced through a document called a DCI(Defence council instruction) unless otherwise stated the Queen's official birthday will always be the second Saturday in June.

John

THe Queen's Birthday is the 21st of April. Prince Phillip's is the 10th of June.

Trooping the colour is for the benefit of London tourists. To give it credence they deemed the Queen would have an official birthday. This is announced through a document called a DCI(Defence council instruction) unless otherwise stated the Queen's official birthday will always be the second Saturday in June.

John

Thanks for pointing out something that I already knew John. I also knew it was the Queen's official birthday, but as head of our state, wanted to wish her a Happy birthday all the same. :)

I'm sure you did that on April the 21st when it actually was her birthday.

John

I'm sure you did that on April the 21st when it actually was her birthday.

John

With my memory John, I'm surprised I even remembered this one. I didn't If I'm honest, it was only when I spotted the T.V showing the Trooping of the colours that I remembered.

Just a couple of wee points. The first is that the origin of the Troop was to allow the Standard to be taken through the ranks of the mercenaries, basically so they could see the flag of the people who were paying them to fight.

Having trained in 1955 for the Troop was extremely disappointed that it was cancelled because of a railwaymens strike. Not that I really had a great desire to wish the Queen a happy birthday, but to the guardsmen of the Scots Guards who were the Escort to the Colour that year it was an opportunity to participate in one of the worlds greatest pieces of military pageantary. Someone mentioned Scots Guards today and Hielan Laddie, there is no greater feeling than marching behind a band playing the Regimental tune. To add to this by marching down the Mall after the Troop is superb. Contrary to the beliefs of some the men participating in the Troop are not just toy soldiers who do nothing else, this is totally wrong all are trained to and have served on active service. I include myself in this.

The day I signed the papers committing to Military service I swore an Oath to the Queen, I must confess it was just words to me, and I gladly did so immediately after accepting the traditional shilling, I no longer have that having spent it as soon as I left the recruiting ofice. At no time did I swear offer or in any other way commit to killing wounding or in any other manner attack innocent civilians, I committed to doing my duty, obeying my orders and doing what was necessary to protect Queen and Country, I am proud to have done so serving in a Scottish regiment in the British Army.

Bob, I stopped reading this thread after your post - which, at the time, was the first post on page 3. While I'm posting, the thread is currently approaching page 5.

I hope the 'opposition' haven't attempted to discredited this post or your opinion in any way.

I won't know because I can't be bothered reading any more of their pish.

Bob, I stopped reading this thread after your post - which, at the time, was the first post on page 3. While I'm posting, the thread is currently approaching page 5.

I hope the 'opposition' haven't attempted to discredited this post or your opinion in any way.

I won't know because I can't be bothered reading any more of their pish.

Like Bob I too served: 1979-1990. I was Navy and not Arrmy. However the most important thing I did after the Falklands conflict was the Cenotaph in Whitehall on Rememberance Sunday 1986.

I did not have to say an oath to the Queen. I had to sign a pink slip of paper with an oath on it. I didnt read it I just signed as I had selfishly joined the Navy to see the world.

Being very truthful here. If on that day someone had taking a pot shot. I would have stood and taking the bullet in front of a veteran than stood in front of the Queen.

I am not a monarchist. As far as I am concerned all those serving are paid by the British taxpayer(at the time the Royal family did not pay any tax, I am sceptical to this day that they do now) and therefore to me their first allegiance is to the taxpayer.

However if I was sixteen again I would do exactly the samething as being in the Navy is to date the best job I have ever had. Not the best paid but the best full stop.

John

I think Toggie has much worse secrets than that;)

Sure hope there isn't any photographic evidence. :biggrin:

The following song sung back around the time of the Coronation by Scottish Patriots and Nationalists sums up my stance perfectly.

The Scottish breakaway

Oh Scotland hasnae got a king

And she hasnae got a queen,

How can ye hae the second Liz

When the first yins never been?

Chorus

Nae Liz the wan, nae Lillibet the twa,

Nae Liz will ever dae.

We'll mak oor land republican

In a Scottish breakaway!

Her man's cried the Duke o Edinbury,

He's wan o the Kilted Greeks,

O dinna blaw ma Kilt awa,

'Cos Lizzie wears the breeks.

Noo her sister Meg's got a bonnie pair o legs,

But she didnae want a German or a Greek,

Pair auld Peter wis her choice, but he didnae suit the boys,

So they sellt him up the creek.

Sae here's tae the Lion, the bonny Rampant Lion,

An a lang streetch tae its paw,

Gie a Hampden Roar, an' we're oot the door:

--An ta-ta, ti Chairlie's maw.

(Sung the Tune of 'The Sash My Father Wore')[/indent]

The following song sung back around the time of the Coronation by Scottish Patriots and Nationalists sums up my stance perfectly.

The Scottish breakaway

Chorus

Nae Liz will ever dae.

In a Scottish breakaway!

Cringe.

The Scottish breakaway

Chorus

Nae Liz will ever dae.

In a Scottish breakaway!

I think I much prefer that tune with it's original lyrics. :)

Aww **** it...

**** the, fascist bigoted inbred unwanted medieval, monarchy!

I've actually lost a bit of respect for you with that above comment.

Also you can say MOD EDIT but if you say the same thing about a religious leader you get banned.

I agree with you for a change.

If I were to say **** the Papacy, I'd no doubt have my comment deleted and be serving a suspension. Despite it being the same sentiment.