Happy Birthday your Majesty.

No one forced them to go. MOD EDIT

tut tut,i think you may get a mod feeling your collar.

• Replies 162
Odds are its about 50% of what he's actually due.

Anyway....................

God bless the British Armed Forces. Each and every single one of them.

The Royal Family can feck right off though.

The boy need s to change his accountant(sp):dribble:

Happy (official) birthday to Her Majesty the Queen.

Best wishes from a loyal subject. :birthday::surprise:

Long to reign over us. God save The Queen.

Happy (official) birthday to Her Majesty the Queen.

Best wishes from a loyal subject. :birthday::surprise:

Long to reign over us. God save The Queen.

Nought wrong with being proud of your heritage, thats what I say. Why some British people get offended about this is beyond belief.

jambo walesy

Can't be bothered with these things tbh.

Think the Monarchy is a bit of a joke and imo the soldiers in Iraq/Afghanistan probably don't give a flying **** about the queen either.All this fighting for Queen and country nonsense is absolute bollocks.

Plus i also find it a disgrace that you have to be Protestant to sit on the throne.

However i am still very proud to be a British citizen, i just wish some things were different.

slashishere
Well when you put it like that. :laugh:

FWIW Slash, I aint no troll, I am however very proud to be British. And I'm not protestant either, so put that in your pipe and smoke it.

I've no problem with people being proud to be british, dont get what the protestant thing is about though?? not one either for the record, or any for that matter.

Unfortunatly I gave up smoking last year so no pipes to be put in mouth and smoked.

Fair doo's, if your say your not fishing i'll take your word on it.

And I welcome any boost to the troops all over the world but as another poster pointed out, money on improving equipment would be better spent, or perhaps it could have been spent allowing them to make and recieve vids from their loved ones. just my humble opinion though.

peace out.

Happy Birthday Your Majesty,

Sad to see so many of the usual suspects trying to turn this thread into a point scoring exercise, they scream and shout about what they believe in yet never allow others the same luxury. Trolling? Bigots? they throw the accusations in the wrong directions.

God bless you Your Majesty.

Spitonastranger
Just watching the Trooping of the colours on BBC the now.

Is there any better a sight than the Queen trooping the colours?

yes, what i have just left in toilet:mad:

Agreed!

What a complete waste of taxpayers money, the only place I troop when it's my birthday is down the pub, and the only person it costs any money to is myself.

Selfish old boot!

You must have a lot of birhdays then ;)

I've no problem with people being proud to be british, dont get what the protestant thing is about though?? not one either for the record, or any for that matter.

Unfortunatly I gave up smoking last year so no pipes to be put in mouth and smoked.

Fair doo's, if your say your not fishing i'll take your word on it.

And I welcome any boost to the troops all over the world but as another poster pointed out, money on improving equipment would be better spent, or perhaps it could have been spent allowing them to make and recieve vids from their loved ones. just my humble opinion though.

peace out.

The protestant reference will be i assume to avoid other accusations that will undoubtedly still be thrown around as is the fashion on here.

Spitonastranger
Nice to see the usual lack of respect. Our brave soldiers are stationed in Iraq and Afghanistan watching this on TV. Thouroughly enjoying the event. This event is as much for their benefit as for the Queen.

But hey if the usual narrow minded JKB brigade would like to think otherwise that is fine.

Oh and on cue they have just started with the Scots Guards and 'Heighland Laddie'.

MOD EDIT No relevance to us lot at all eh..............

why are the soliders brave:sad:they knew what they were getting themselves into, killing innocent people is not brave

Spitonastranger
I think you will find it is their 'duty' to go...:rolleyes:

Next time you have a meeting at your work just tell them you aren't going coz you don't feel like it......

See how that goes down.

It amazes me how many posters on JKB live in some parallel universe. They certainly don't live in the real World anyway. :wacko:

was it their duty to join:confused:

why are the soliders brave:sad:they knew what they were getting themselves into, killing innocent people is not brave

How low can you get?

WTF do you know about it, what you read in your little paper?

Your just lucky these people do their job and give you the freedom to write such bile!

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

think there are far better ways of spending taxpayers money on better equipment for our troops than stopping the trooping of the colours.

A little old war in Iraq for a start.

Or use some of that cash that has been exchanged for honours

Or the money used for bribing DUP mp's ?

Or some of Ken Livingstons wasted millions.

The list is endless.....

This labour government has wasted millions of tax payers money and have nothing to show for it, trooping of the colours has been around for 200 years and long may it continue.

Not a monarchist at all but I respect the woman, she's done her job for 50 odd years, and done it well.

Can't be arsed watching the show but the troops should have more like this, they put their arses on the line in unjustified wars for meagre pay with shoddy supplies and zero support from the government. Brown should hang his head in shame, disgrace that he is.

Ps - vote SNP, bring back the Scottish regiments :-)

spot on DR

just as an aside though, i find the anti military feeling on here incredibly distateful and slighty distressing.

those men & women do a job that allows us, and many over the world to sleep more soundly, and for every example of a dodgy soldier there are hundred, nay thousands who do an excellent job in circumstances none of us will ever experience, facing hardships & situations i hope none of us ever have to face

our forces get nothing but the utmost respect from me.

if you can read this, thank a teacher. if you are reading this in english, thank a soldier!

god bless our troops, not some pampered royal. they do a job that many of us could never do.

Anyone who knows me well either in 'real' life or even mt JKB muck about life will know very well that I am a staunch Unionist.

I do however draw the line at the Queen.

NOTHING personal to her majesty and her family but they simply have to go.

I am proud of the history etc yadda yarra but times they are a changing and we (taxpayers) simply should not foot the bill.

Now people argue that they bring in money through tourism etc, this one just does not wash with me.

Noone and I mean noone goes to london just because of the Queen. The monarchy does not generate tourism it is just something to amuse tourists whilst they are already here.

I know they now pay taxes etc but it simply is not good enough. Noone can actually calculate the net worth of the Queen as it is just simply too staggeringly much.

Why have all this idle fortune when it could be put to such good. All these erses who own half the land and top properties in the UK simply by right of birth is a sham.

What exactly do they do? please someone educate me

As previously said i really do quite like them as people, just see them as a gargantuan waste of ????

It is time for us to step into the 21st century and realise that the monarchy is a lost leader.

They have been on the decline for 30 years and we can only hope that the decline has not ended

PS I am not disrespecting trooping the colour etc just making a wee point on the monarchy

Also one thing that annoys me is all this **** the Queen. I don't having any bad feeling towards her. Just dont think it makes sense anymore.

And another thing y is it ok to say **** the queen and noone batters an eye lid but you say **** the Pop and you are a bigot!

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

dont really care what points or whatever it is I'll get, your a **** and i'd love you to share your view with my mates who serve.

Whos killing innocent people? Those in Afghanistan are fighting the Taliban, which all political parties see as a worthwhile war. Whatever you think about Iraq, I cant remember many times our forces have been accused of killing innocent people, not all are perfect but they're not the divs on suicide missions.

grumpyjambo
I think you will find it is their 'duty' to go...:rolleyes:

Next time you have a meeting at your work just tell them you aren't going coz you don't feel like it......

See how that goes down.

It amazes me how many posters on JKB live in some parallel universe. They certainly don't live in the real World anyway. :wacko:

My error, no one forced them to join up to go and fight wars that do not affect the shores of the UK.

dont really care what points or whatever it is I'll get, your a **** and i'd love you to share your view with my mates who serve.

Whos killing innocent people? Those in Afghanistan are fighting the Taliban, which all political parties see as a worthwhile war. Whatever you think about Iraq, I cant remember many times our forces have been accused of killing innocent people, not all are perfect but they're not the divs on suicide missions.

the sad thing BHM, is that there is a section of society now, that do believe this.

they seem to have no comprehension of the good work our forces do, nor do they see the way that they have to survive on ops, often without the right equipment, or kit. it breaks my heart to be honest the lack of respect shown to our troops

Bomber Harris' Best Mate
the sad thing BHM, is that there is a section of society now, that do believe this.

they seem to have no comprehension of the good work our forces do, nor do they see the way that they have to survive on ops, often without the right equipment, or kit. it breaks my heart to be honest the lack of respect shown to our troops

spot on beverley.

They are a damn site more brave than anything I have done or do.

I once climbed a tree to save a cat but that is it

They prety much have us all beat in that dept.

I am sure you must be much more brave tho eh!;)

Thats the sad state of the country now, people believe the crap their mate tells them or something they see in some rag, they dont look for themself or spend any time looking into the claims they make.

Anyway, hows that lovely voice of yours?

Seriously?

yeah it does really upset me to be fair.

my dad was navy and all my uncles were army, as was my grandad and his brothers. my great, uncle uncle willie was shot down over the irish sea (not long after selling his horses to the queen incidentally) and i have had a couple of army boyfriends and many military mates so i do have, i think, a strong feeling about the work they do, and how they go about ops.

now that you know my military relationship, i'm sure people will understand why it upsets me and angers me so much

The good thing about the Queen's birthday is that it's another year Chaz and his harpe have been kept off the throne ;-)

Hopefully by the time she kicks it Scotland will have the option to remove itself from the sovereignty of the crown or Chaz will have realised the only way to save the monarchy is to hand the crown direct to William.

Not a monarchist at all but I respect the woman, she's done her job for 50 odd years, and done it well.

Can't be arsed watching the show but the troops should have more like this, they put their arses on the line in unjustified wars for meagre pay with shoddy supplies and zero support from the government. Brown should hang his head in shame, disgrace that he is.

Ps - vote SNP, bring back the Scottish regiments :-)

I agree with you Das Root. I'm not a monarchist either but it really is very difficult to fault the queen for the way she has carried out her duties over a long period of time - in fact you'd have to look quite hard to find many people who have met her who have a bad word to say about her.

As for today's event, it is more about recognising the bravery and pride of our armed forces, who continue to do us all proud, than the queen's birthday. I've been a very fierce critic of the Iraq war but I have nothing but respect for our armed forces - its the politicians I have a problem with.

Thats the sad state of the country now, people believe the crap their mate tells them or something they see in some rag, they dont look for themself or spend any time looking into the claims they make.

Anyway, hows that lovely voice of yours?

well, that and the stance its quite trendy to be seen as anti-war.

while people are quite within their rights to disagree with some of the military action thats been taken in recent years, and lets not forget that not all military personel agree with the way thing have been done either, what some people are mistaking is their anger at the war should not equate to an anger towards people who are following orders.

oh and the voice is ok thanks, little rusty cos its tired this week, but otherwise fine thank you

Just a couple of wee points. The first is that the origin of the Troop was to allow the Standard to be taken through the ranks of the mercenaries, basically so they could see the flag of the people who were paying them to fight.

Having trained in 1955 for the Troop was extremely disappointed that it was cancelled because of a railwaymens strike. Not that I really had a great desire to wish the Queen a happy birthday, but to the guardsmen of the Scots Guards who were the Escort to the Colour that year it was an opportunity to participate in one of the worlds greatest pieces of military pageantary. Someone mentioned Scots Guards today and Hielan Laddie, there is no greater feeling than marching behind a band playing the Regimental tune. To add to this by marching down the Mall after the Troop is superb. Contrary to the beliefs of some the men participating in the Troop are not just toy soldiers who do nothing else, this is totally wrong all are trained to and have served on active service. I include myself in this.

The day I signed the papers committing to Military service I swore an Oath to the Queen, I must confess it was just words to me, and I gladly did so immediately after accepting the traditional shilling, I no longer have that having spent it as soon as I left the recruiting ofice. At no time did I swear offer or in any other way commit to killing wounding or in any other manner attack innocent civilians, I committed to doing my duty, obeying my orders and doing what was necessary to protect Queen and Country, I am proud to have done so serving in a Scottish regiment in the British Army.

and for that bob, you and your fellow troopers have my unwavering respect!

Just a couple of wee points. The first is that the origin of the Troop was to allow the Standard to be taken through the ranks of the mercenaries, basically so they could see the flag of the people who were paying them to fight.

Having trained in 1955 for the Troop was extremely disappointed that it was cancelled because of a railwaymens strike. Not that I really had a great desire to wish the Queen a happy birthday, but to the guardsmen of the Scots Guards who were the Escort to the Colour that year it was an opportunity to participate in one of the worlds greatest pieces of military pageantary. Someone mentioned Scots Guards today and Hielan Laddie, there is no greater feeling than marching behind a band playing the Regimental tune. To add to this by marching down the Mall after the Troop is superb. Contrary to the beliefs of some the men participating in the Troop are not just toy soldiers who do nothing else, this is totally wrong all are trained to and have served on active service. I include myself in this.

The day I signed the papers committing to Military service I swore an Oath to the Queen, I must confess it was just words to me, and I gladly did so immediately after accepting the traditional shilling, I no longer have that having spent it as soon as I left the recruiting ofice. At no time did I swear offer or in any other way commit to killing wounding or in any other manner attack innocent civilians, I committed to doing my duty, obeying my orders and doing what was necessary to protect Queen and Country, I am proud to have done so serving in a Scottish regiment in the British Army.

You my man, are a legend.

I salute you Sir!

Please take my appreciation for serving us - thankyou:)

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

And I'd imagine those involved today feel the same. So its well worth it.

Excellent post Bob

coppercrutch

Total respect Sir. :)

I enjoyed watching it, and wish her many happy returns. I liked how they kept switching back to the guys in Afghanistan watching their mates trooping the colours

Was a nice touch.

coppercrutch

Indeed. It is just nice to have a day where they can be proud of what they do. Whether the war is 'right' or not is beside the point. That has nothing to do with the soldiers on the ground.

While I understand people that disagree with wars their attitude to the soldiers can be out of order.

Do they not realise that some of those who are most against the war are probably some of those fighting in it.................:rolleyes:

We could go on forever, I am sitting watching my wee boy watching spongebob and I feel that is a far better sight, in fact I think most things I will see today will give me more happiness than the tropping of the colours

Are You All Ready Kids

Aye Aye Captain

I Cant Hear You

Aye Aye Captain

Whoooooooo Lives In A Pineapple Under The Sea

SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS

Absorbent And Yellow And Pourous Is He

SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS

If Nautical Nonsense Be Something You Wish!

SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS

Then Drop On The Deck And Flop Like A Fish

SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS

Ready?

SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS , SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS, SPONGE BOB SQUARE PANTS

SPONGE BOB SQUARE PAAAAAAANTS

:dribble::dribble::dribble::dribble::dribble:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1A_dcMdrwc

$ilvery_Moon

Happy birthday your majesty.

Respect to you sir.

It is one strange programme, I have always wondered what age Spongebob is!!!

22 this year on the 14th July

King of the North

This is yet another thread for the 'unionist/loyalist/takeyerpick element of our 'support' to bump their gums and try to wind the rest of us up.

Could have just as easily been a Steven Pressley thread, or a hello hello thread. Pointless trolling, with a bit of good old fashioned Daily Mail style 'our brave boys' pesh thrown in.

I couldn't care less about the trooping of the colour, other than the fact that the whole specatacle of the monarchy costs each of us a fair whack of money each year. As does the increasingly futile war in Iraq.

However, the notion that the squaddies are somehow getting a 'buzz' out of watching the Trooping of the colour is the most laughable. If some of the squaddies I have encountered are anything to go by, our brave boys would get more of a 'buzz' if their bosses provided them with free Adult channel movies and violent films, rather than forcing them to look interested in a horse parade for the benefit of the BBC cameras.

jambopompey

im wondering what all those who are taking the psh out of the troops who take part in trooping the colour, and who will be all down at haymarket and remembering the war dead in november, these boys are active troops, many of them have not long came back from theaters of war, this is all part of their duties.

for those that are overseas at this time they have a chance to sit down and watch their fellow mates do their duty, trust me it takes a lot of training and skill to do what these guys do, also remember that that is only their parade duties, along with weapons and combat training.

they are our boys and lassies, we all know someone who is in the forces, i made so many friends during my time and i will not stand for some keyboard ***** try and disrespect them. if your so much in for yourselfs, just try for a few months of army life, trust me it will change your feeling on why and what these folk do.

i will stop now before i totally go of on one and get my self banned due to some f^*^ing ar%%^es that seem to hover over JKB and make their feeling to be the most noisey.

happy birthday your majesty

Drew Busby !
This is yet another thread for the 'unionist/loyalist/takeyerpick element of our 'support' to bump their gums and try to wind the rest of us up.

Could have just as easily been a Steven Pressley thread, or a hello hello thread. Pointless trolling, with a bit of good old fashioned Daily Mail style 'our brave boys' pesh thrown in.

I couldn't care less about the trooping of the colour, other than the fact that the whole specatacle of the monarchy costs each of us a fair whack of money each year. As does the increasingly futile war in Iraq.

However, the notion that the squaddies are somehow getting a 'buzz' out of watching the Trooping of the colour is the most laughable. If some of the squaddies I have encountered are anything to go by, our brave boys would get more of a 'buzz' if their bosses provided them with free Adult channel movies and violent films, rather than forcing them to look interested in a horse parade for the benefit of the BBC cameras.

I think our boys were probably promised both porn and lager if they could manage to stay awake long enough to watch this "spectacle" ;)

coppercrutch

The staggering lack of respect continues.

FFS have a day off will you. For the record, I'm catholic, hate Rangers slightly more than Celtic. I am a unionist, not a loyalist (as that term is mostly used in the wrong fashion).

I hate how people try to pidgeon hole you into a category that you're not. I'm proud to be British, and I love Queen and country. There may be a certain element of our support who do fit into your description, but I for one aint one of them.

I openly boo 'Hello Hello', I admire Steven Pressley. Just for the record.

22 this year on the 14th July

Just as well it aint the 12th July eh? Would've fit in with this thread according to some. :rolleyes:

$ilvery_Moon

Unbelievably disrespectful. It wasn't designed to "wind you up". If you don't like the thread or you disagree with it fine. Stay out. Thankfully not everyone shares your point of view.

Spitonastranger
How low can you get?

WTF do you know about it, what you read in your little paper?

Your just lucky these people do their job and give you the freedom to write such bile!

all sides kill innocent people, you dont know me or what i have done, democracy allows me to give my views, you are the ones who talk about freedom but want to stop people giving their opinions:mad: