Even More SNP Nonsense

Stuart Lyon

deesidejambo

Read the article, operating costs are down to $15 per barrel from $30.

Im guessing you got the boot from your spin doctor job in the local rag, you're not very good. [emoji2]

You guess wrong. I write press releases for the companies. I know how to fool the stupid, as your sums confirm.

• Replies 11.7k

• Space Mackerel

• deesidejambo

• Pans Jambo

• JamboX2

Space Mackerel

Silly SM. In Norway it may be 15 per barrel but not in U.K. Those figures are not UK ones.

Also the operating costs are the day to day running costs and don't include both the development costs and the decommissioning costs, both of which are massive and both of which are written off against tax.

as stated previously, per barrel operating costs are frequently understated in order to fool shareholders into thinking the companies are in good health. But at the same time those same companies are reporting audited financial losses on an increasing scale each year, as Wood confirms.

Finally even the SNP have removed oil from their forecasts to confirm the above is the real situation at the moment.

Apart from that your sums are fine

What about the tax take from the support and service industries too? Are they written off against tax? Hotels, on shore engineering etc?

That could be worth about the same.

deesidejambo

What about the tax take from the support and service industries too? Are they written off against tax? Hotels, on shore engineering etc?

That could be worth about the same.

They are subject to Corporation tax only. There will be treasury revenue there but again there nowhere near 1100 billion.

Spacey, if your sums were correct why are the SNP using zero for the growth forecasts?

Silly SNP - you should tell them there's $1100 billion coming from oil so they can add back in the 15 billion they removed and another 1085 billion on top.

That's assuming of course development and decommissioning costs are ignored. Eck will love you.

And make it 2 bottles of Ardbeg.

Space Mackerel

They are subject to Corporation tax only. There will be treasury revenue there but again there nowhere near 1100 billion.

Spacey, if your sums were correct why are the SNP using zero for the growth forecasts?

Silly SNP - you should tell them there's $1100 billion coming from oil so they can add back in the 15 billion they removed and another 1085 billion on top.

That's assuming of course development and decommissioning costs are ignored. Eck will love you.

And make it 2 bottles of Ardbeg.

I think you're getting your billions and millions confused pal.

I got an A for Higher maths btw [emoji4]

deesidejambo

I think you're getting your billions and millions confused pal.

I got an A for Higher maths btw [emoji4]

You may want to Check your own post then

Space Mackerel

You may want to Check your own post then

My mathematics are spot on.

Let's take production increases to 150,000 barrels per day and oil hits $70.

70-15 = 55

55 x 365 = 20,075

20,075 x 150,000 = 3,011,250,000 (3 billion odd)

3,011,250,000 x 0.78 = 2,348,775,000

deesidejambo

My mathematics are spot on.

Let's take production increases to 150,000 barrels per day and oil hits $70.

70-15 = 55

55 x 365 = 20,075

20,075 x 150,000 = 3,011,250,000 (3 billion odd)

3,011,250,000 x 0.78 = 2,348,775,000

Sorry you are of course correct. Silly Deeside.

So then, even at $70 per barrel, which it isn't and even assume operating costs in U.K. are $15 per barrel, which they are nowhere near.

And even if we assume zero development and decommissioning costs, which is stupid,

And even if we assume a tax level of 78%, which it isn't

Then treasury take is 2.3 billion per year.

So tell the SNP not to put zero into the growth forecast.

Space Mackerel

Sorry you are of course correct. Silly Deeside.

So then, even at $70 per barrel, which it isn't and even assume operating costs in U.K. are $15 per barrel, which they are nowhere near.

And even if we assume zero development and decommissioning costs, which is stupid,

And even if we assume a tax level of 78%, which it isn't

Then treasury take is 2.3 billion per year.

So tell the SNP not to put zero into the growth forecast.

Let's go with the figure from an actual CEO of a major oil

company, it will be back up to the $100 mark within 5 years.

Doing the very most basic of maths gives a figure of.....

$3.629 billion in tax receipts.

That's 2 new Forth Road Bridges every year.

deesidejambo

For those who dont have their heads stuck in the sand.

Try Woodmac

But that was in MSM so must be lies.

Maybe this then.

While the SNP are banging on about the magical 24 billion barrels, the fields are being dismantled as we speak.  And once the facilities go, then the new developments can't be tied-in.

Meanwhile only 2 exploration wells spudded this year.

That should be a worry to all who genuinely care about this happening right under the SNPs noses.

The oil price will recover one day, but too late I fear.

But

24 billion barrels!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Wahaaaaay!!!

deesidejambo

Let's go with the figure from an actual CEO of a major oil

company, it will be back up to the $100 mark within 5 years.

Doing the very most basic of maths gives a figure of.....

$3.629 billion in tax receipts.

That's 2 new Forth Road Bridges every year.

It may well recover in five years, maybe earlier.

Meanwhile more fields get decommissioned.   You should be fighting for that not to happen if you genuinely cared.

But post some smileys instead.

Space Mackerel

For those who dont have their heads stuck in the sand.

Try Woodmac

But that was in MSM so must be lies.

Maybe this then.

While the SNP are banging on about the magical 24 billion barrels, the fields are being dismantled as we speak. And once the facilities go, then the new developments can't be tied-in.

Meanwhile only 2 exploration wells spudded this year.

That should be a worry to all who genuinely care about this happening right under the SNPs noses.

The oil price will recover one day, but too late I fear.

But

24 billion barrels!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wahaaaaay!!!

You really are trying to make yourself believe that the new Scottish Government would be liable for all these costs??? [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Take your figure and deduct 92% that should give you a more true reflection.

Try and get the arithmetic right this time, I'll be marking and no asking for help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

deesidejambo

You really are trying to make yourself believe that the new Scottish Government would be liable for all these costs??? [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Take your figure and deduct 92% that should give you a more true reflection.

Try and get the arithmetic right this time, I'll be marking and no asking for help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Well good luck persuading the SNP to put revenues back into the calculations.

For everyone else -

The UK NS is in the shit.    

Production is 900,000 barrels per day and dropping.

Treasury revenues are almost zero, audited.  

Operating costs are nowhere near $15 per barrel, as evidenced in auditable accounts.

Despite rock-bottom rig rates exploration is almost zero, with many rigs stacked in every firth.

Decommissioning costs are spiralling and are also tax-deductible.

The UK Govt is doing absolutely the right thing in trying to keep things afloat while hoping for a recovery, despite this partnerships are filing for decommissioning in a number of fields.  Brent Field, the North Sea marker field, ceases production without a peep from the SNP to try and defray.

Will the price recover?  Yes of course, but it needs to be soon.  Then the problem goes away, for a while.

Why is the above not an issue?  Because SNP fools dont accept the auditable reality and smugly talk everything up leading to a false sense of security and a "bonanza" coming.   All to try and get support for Independence. 

When production hits 800,000 barrels per day later this year we'll see how well we are doing towards the 24 billion barrels.

Ach **** it I'm hitting the bottle.

Trapper John McIntyre

Two bald men fighting over a comb.

The interminable debate about oil, a product now worth absolutely feck all to the Scottish economy.

Space Mackerel

Two bald men fighting over a comb.

The interminable debate about oil, a product now worth absolutely feck all to the Scottish economy.

Someone better tell him then, England will be at war with Spain, Scotland, Syria, Afghanistan and Iraq.

faa1d3acf443936a256560bc2c44d7b0.png

Repeatedly you have been told why the take is less. You have been repeatedly told why the costs in Scotland are more.

It's not hard to see.

If the state will not fund exploration and oil infrastructure then private firms will. They will accordingly look for a cut in tax to make exploration affordable and worth their investment.

On squandered oil money? Debatable. A mythology has grown up here. The idea a Scottish government would've spent it any better is just a myth. You will never know. Most of Norway's oil money is paid into a sovereign wealth fund. Norway's higher standards of living, infrastructure and quality of life is largely funded by higher personal taxation, increased local government power and responsibility and a much more proactive and interventionist state in the economy.

Oil's role has not made Norway a better nation. It's political choices have. Look at the history, the views and the attitudes of Scottish politicians and there is little to suggest a much different attitude to the rUK politicians exists except on a few issues.

If you want a better nation which you as a person may need to be prepared to pay for it.

Its pathetic though. We have to pay for them to look for the oil and extract it so they can make a fortune and squirrel it away an offshore taxhaven so its not paid to the UK treasury. Thats about it really isnt it?

Also, wheres the debate about the oils been spent by the UK but not for Scotland? It paid for (amongst other things);

The wars in the Falklands, 2x Iraq & Afgan.

The Trident system

The Channel Tunnel

The M25

The Jubilee line

The first extension to Heathrow

Etc.

Whilst the single lane roads in Scotland and the housing estates rotted. Sick man of Europe whilst the profits poured into The London treasury. For 43 years and counting.

What did we get???

Trapper John McIntyre

Its pathetic though. We have to pay for them to look for the oil and extract it so they can make a fortune and squirrel it away an offshore taxhaven so its not paid to the UK treasury. Thats about it really isnt it?

Also, wheres the debate about the oils been spent by the UK but not for Scotland? It paid for (amongst other things);

The Trident system

The Channel Tunnel

The M25

The Jubilee line

Etc.

Whilst the single lane roads in Scotland and the housing estates rotted. Sick man of Europe whilst the profits poured into The London treasury. For 43 years and counting.

What did we get???

Haha. Always loved that.

Would be true as well if it wasnt for our wee country that gave the world all the amazing inventions it has over the years.

Trapper John McIntyre

Haha. Always loved that.

Would be true as well if it wasnt for our wee country that gave the world all the amazing inventions it has over the years.

While part of the Glorious Union.

C656gziW0AAaFnc.jpg

Roxy Hearts

C656gziW0AAaFnc.jpg

Education system has always been independent. Nothing to do with the union.

We invented things due to our natural competence, something propaganda fed unionists fail to acknowledge. What a negative life they lead.

Oh how I loath narrow brits nationalism.

Trapper John McIntyre

Education system has always been independent. Nothing to do with the union.

We invented things due to our natural competence, something propaganda fed unionists fail to acknowledge. What a negative life they lead.

Oh how I loath narrow brits nationalism.

Oh how I loath narrow Scots nationalism.

(and I wouldn't boast too much about the education system right now).

Edited by Trapper John McIntyre

No doubt Wings and another flight of fancy.

Can you dispute the logic or you going to deflect by playing the source?

Roxy Hearts

Oh how I loath narrow Scots nationalism.

(and I wouldn't boast too much about the education system right now).[/quote

Aye right.

Scottish education is fine. My daughter, nieces and nephews are doing fantastic and that's how I judge it, not the BBC or MSM.

What's narrow about wanting your country to run its own affairs like every other country? For goodness sake you trolls take the biscuit.

Someone better tell him then, England will be at war with Spain, Scotland, Syria, Afghanistan and Iraq.

faa1d3acf443936a256560bc2c44d7b0.png

But, but, but it's worthless isn't it??!??

Roxy Hearts

Correct JD and there are more oil jobs in that dump London than Scotland, go figure and probably more whisky jobs too.

London, London they cry a finance centre etc etc etc. Nonsense. Place is a drain on all of us.

Thunderstruck

Can you dispute the logic or you going to deflect by playing the source?

Your sense of humour bypass seems to have worked.

Correct JD and there are more oil jobs in that dump London than Scotland, go figure and probably more whisky jobs

Do you have a breakdown of these numbers ?

Space Mackerel

C656gziW0AAaFnc.jpg

This is from yesterdays demo against the rape clause and isn't photoshopped like your terrible trolling.

d7a908eb9204a4d009a14a6ec32b4edf.jpg

jambo lodge

This is from yesterdays demo against the rape clause and isn't photoshopped like your terrible trolling.

d7a908eb9204a4d009a14a6ec32b4edf.jpg

Love the quote from Ruth about the utter hypocrisy of the SNP position on this. Holyrood are free to implement a different system in Scotland for tax credits..........over to you Nicola?

Space Mackerel

Love the quote from Ruth about the utter hypocrisy of the SNP position on this. Holyrood are free to implement a different system in Scotland for tax credits..........over to you Nicola?

We'll change it when we get independence.

Another own goal from the Mooth and her London paymasters.

We'll change it when we get independence.

Another own goal from the Mooth and her London paymasters.

Why wait for independence ? If the policy is important surely you make the change now.

The Trident system

The Channel Tunnel

The M25

The Jubilee line

Etc.

What did we get???

I'm not getting into the debate on the subject topic ,but I'm not sure you should put the Falklands war along side the other 2 as you have ,simply as it involved an invasion of a British held territory ( different debate granted) and the temporary occupation of British citizens .

Space Mackerel

According to our resident ski instructor and former media spin doctor, it supposedly isn't worth a skoosh.

God knows why they are investing ?45 billion in the area over the next 3 years, these oil companies would be better heading off to the casino.

Why wait for independence ? If the policy is important surely you make the change now.

their goal is to make Scotland shit and blame Westminster, in the hope were all deluded enough to vote for independence. if they were interested in whats best for Scotland they would be going out on a limb to use their powers, but no they sit on their hands and blame London for it.

Space Mackerel

their goal is to make Scotland shit and blame Westminster, in the hope were all deluded enough to vote for independence. if they were interested in whats best for Scotland they would be going out on a limb to use their powers, but no they sit on their hands and blame London for it.

What it does is that exposes the myth that the Scottish Conservative and Yoonyinist party is not autonomous in Scotland.

Actually on this matter I think I'm with the Tories (wtf?). The state shouldn't be providing support for every child, I'd actually only say the first but two is fine I guess. The exemption (so called rape exemption) imo is a way to be compassionate to people who've had more than 2 children through being victims of crime and therefore not being punished again.

I get that how this is implemented might be difficult but one thing I don't see from the protesters is an alternative method. It's easy to complain about policy but another to have a viable alternative.

What it does is that exposes the myth that the Scottish Conservative and Yoonyinist party is not autonomous in Scotland.

Sorry not sure I understand - are you saying the above is the reason to wait for independence before making the change ?

deesidejambo

According to our resident ski instructor and former media spin doctor, it supposedly isn't worth a skoosh.

God knows why they are investing ?45 billion in the area over the next 3 years, these oil companies would be better heading off to the casino.

Need any ski lessons while you're in Switzerland?

I'm skint.

Space Mackerel

Sorry not sure I understand - are you saying the above is the reason to wait for independence before making the change ?

Here's an alternative, don't vote for her period?

yes that's what he's saying.

independence at all costs, **** it if Scotland ends a basket case, the separatists don't care as long as the English aren't involved.

no what it does is show that scots are shit at running things and as things stand the English are better. you can throw all the oil money myths you want at that. as the oil price difference is negligible, its a level playing field at the moment and just like our fitba team were getting roasted by the English when it comes to the economy.

too wee too stupid, were certainly playing the part well at the moment.

Space Mackerel

no what it does is show that scots are shit at running things and as things stand the English are better. you can throw all the oil money myths you want at that. as the oil price difference is negligible, its a level playing field at the moment and just like our fitba team were getting roasted by the English when it comes to the economy.

too wee too stupid, were certainly playing the part well at the moment.

http://www.nationaldebtclock.co.uk/

?1.8 TRILLION and rising.

Right you are. :lol:

Actually on this matter I think I'm with the Tories (wtf?). The state shouldn't be providing support for every child, I'd actually only say the first but two is fine I guess. The exemption (so called rape exemption) imo is a way to be compassionate to people who've had more than 2 children through being victims of crime and therefore not being punished again.

I get that how this is implemented might be difficult but one thing I don't see from the protesters is an alternative method. It's easy to complain about policy but another to have a viable alternative.

Why shouldn't the state provide support for every child?

And when did this actually happen?

Are you referring to the 2014 referendum?

If you are, you do realise that the people then returned the SNP with a mandate to hold another referendum if there was material change, such as Scotland voting to remain in the UK but the UK leaving.

no I'm referring, to her letter to Westminster requesting another referendum. everyone knows the changes that are afoot, brexit etc, they did polls on this and the people said they didn't want another referendum but not to be deterred by what the people think, they had a wee discussion with their green chums and decided to have another referendum.

it seems that as the situation changed with regards scots voting against brexit, things have since changed again and the people have said they don't want another referendum. this doesn't fit with the agenda so the people are being ignored, that's the people who gave the original mandate, the mandate should there be change, the vote against brexit, the people who now want left in peace and for them to get back to their day job of running the country now.

http://www.nationaldebtclock.co.uk/

?1.8 TRILLION and rising.

Right you are. :lol:

you surely aren't that stupid that you didn't see that, that was the UK as in SCOTLAND, England, wales 'n' n.Ireland and we are running it up quicker than your hated english

at the moment, because of the barnet formula and a rock bottom price for oil/gas were getting more per head out of the budget yet are performing miserably compared to the English.

too wee too stupid, were playing the part well