Still game returns tonight !

Better call Saul

Looking forward to this !!!!

They should make as many episodes as friends imo

Bet Karen Dunbar wished there was a wee part for her .

• Replies 755

• peter_hmfc

• Maroon Sailor

• iantjambo

• AlimOzturk

Yes, it was average. No where near as funny as the tv show.

You do surprise me, I'd have thought they'd be better.

Can't wait to watch tonight.  I've also got tickets for the show in February as an Xmas pressie apparently.

I know it's trendy to hate Scottish stuff but I do really like Still Game.

The Punjabi lads I work with absolutely love it. Apparently much of Meena's language would bring a tear to a glass eye.

Two exceptionally talented and funny* writers.

Two young(ish) guys dressed and made-up as old guys.

Various other young(ish) actors dressed and made-up as old folks.

Everybody then proceeds to slag everyone else off, bicker, and then all be pals again.

Set in Glasgow.

What's not to love?

:muggy:

(*Or so their biggest fans - themselves - seem to think anyway... And, no, I'm not on the wind-up: don't like them, don't like it, on no account will be watching.)

Edited by Auld Reekin'

Imo it is nowhere near as funny as people who masturbate over it but it is still worth a watch.  I'll iplayer it at some time I am sure.

The "weegie" patter from some people on this forum at times is tiresome.  

Perhaps if someone was to come up with a decent "Embra" comedy at some point then the tag "Weegie comedy" would be more applicable but until then it's the best Scotland has to offer.  It's still miles better than a lot of the so-called comedies on TV these days.  

FWIW I like it.  It makes no difference to me if it's "Weegie" or not.  

Really looking forward to it, i've loved Still Game from the start

i am however a little worried it might not be as good, always remember when Rab C Nesbitt came back, the new series was terrible and not a patch on the original

Edited by Jamborossco

Placid Casual

I don't get the hysteria either. It's one of the better British comedies from recent years, but that's not saying much.

Someone tried to tell me recently that it was better than Father Ted :Aye:

Love Still game. I have been counting the days to tonight's show and got myself into the mood last night with going through some of the old videos. The mark of a great comedy when you are still laughing at the gags having seen them several times.

I was disappointed I couldn't go to the live show in the Hydro.

Am going to make sure I get to the one in February.

I don't get the hysteria either. It's one of the better British comedies from recent years, but that's not saying much.

:cornette:  :nojustno:

Not even close to Father Ted.

Love still game.

Managed to get tickets this morning for their live show next year.

Didn't see last years but the BBC showed parts from the show and it was pish. Hopefully it's better second time round.

Perhaps if someone was to come up with a decent "Embra" comedy at some point then the tag "Weegie comedy" would be more applicable but until then it's the best Scotland has to offer.  It's still miles better than a lot of the so-called comedies on TV these days.  

My pleasure...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTdDWF83B7I

Maybe because the 75% of Scotland that doesn't live there finds the constant Glasgow-centric nature of BBC Scotland (TV & radio) hugely tiresome.

That and their shan 'provincial football' patter.

Regal Kingston

Consistently funny show - really looking forward to it.

I wonder if Old Eric is going to be in it?

He must be a fair age now

Pete the jakie died as well so will be missed.

I didn't know he had died.  

Placid Casual

It's a pity some folk feel its their duty to hate anything Scottish.

Not sure if serious.....

If you are, then I really don't think that's the reason. Some people just feel that this sitcom is overrated. That's it.

I didn't know he had died.

Afraid so

A new character called Methadone Mick is coming in to the series

Arnold Rothstein

Or maybe just don't fawn over everything Scottish?

Hmmm. Don't like 'Still Game' but I'm going to Hampden tomorrow night.

<conflicted>

Hmmm. Don't like 'Still Game' but I'm going to Hampden tomorrow night.

<conflicted>

Which end are you sitting in?

::troll:::'>

He is. I see him regularly. He was extremely excited about this. He said this was the funniest season yet. They set fire to his hat apparently.

Which end are you sitting in?

::troll:::'>

LOL

I was at the 'Divegate' game too (go to all Scotland home games) and took some pelters. Not all of them jokey either.

This is merging into the other thread here, sorry.

Quite enjoy still game

Enjoy watching them over on Netflix and dvds etc

The BBC showing of the live show wasn't complete, watch the DVD, as it's over an hour longer and shows the full story.

ISA annoys me in the live show as she is practically shouting the whole time and not speaking.

Managed to get tickets for the February shows, hopefully ISA is a bit toned down but looking forward to it.

Regal Kingston

He is. I see him regularly. He was extremely excited about this. He said this was the funniest season yet. They set fire to his hat apparently.

Good to hear he is doing well!

One of the successes of Still Game is the quality of the supporting cast.

Winston, Tam, Naveed, Isa, Eric, Shug & Boabby are all brilliant and integral to the show.

All of us have our own tastes - whether it is Still Game, Father Ted, Mrs Brown, Miranda - each to their own.

I love Still Game. My friend went to drama school with a few members of the cast and is still good friends with Winston. Her folks are retired and fill their time as extras and in the new series her mum has a speaking part. 

Quite looking forward to it but I fear the anticipation may be greater than the reality. 

Recently watched the previous 6 series and it has aged well. 

Didnt like the live show at all so I am hoping for a big return to form tonight.

The actor that plays/played Eric was a friend of my late father. They had both been stokers on the same ship in the RN.