Old Southside Pubs

Corstojohn

Aussie Jambo
15 hours ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Aye Swannys, the bell , Leslie’s , Jamie’s all quality boozers. 

I assume your talking about big AM? Last time I was in the bell a good few years ago he was working across the road in swannys.

Aye. Chels was in my class at Burry. Him & GM we went to all the away games pretty much. Footage of us at Tannadice 85 on YouTube. Archie commentating. We stood beside guys in fancy dress as I knew we would get on sportscene. 😂

• Replies 168

• Stuart Lyon

• The Real Maroonblood

• Brandt

• Tams bird

Montgomery Brewster
7 hours ago, Aussie Jambo said:

Aye. Chels was in my class at Burry. Him & GM we went to all the away games pretty much. Footage of us at Tannadice 85 on YouTube. Archie commentating. We stood beside guys in fancy dress as I knew we would get on sportscene. 😂

Heheheh. Superb. I went to Sciennes with they pair. Stayed round the corner from GM for a while. Guid lad.

Aussie Jambo
13 minutes ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Heheheh. Superb. I went to Sciennes with they pair. Stayed round the corner from GM for a while. Guid lad.

Yep. I lived down the scheme. I probably know you. Be a good chance. 

Stuart Lyon
3 hours ago, graygo said:

Anybody able to note the different names for the big pub opposite the Commonwealth pool? 

Salisbury Arms formerly 

Physician & Firkin

known 1999

Gold Medal Tavern

1970+80 to

Crags The

2000's to 2011

5 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Salisbury Arms formerly 

Physician & Firkin

known 1999

Gold Medal Tavern

1970+80 to

Crags The

2000's to 2011

Perfect, thank you. 👍

• 4 weeks later...

Few old pub photos here.

I was in the Canons Gait (Blue Blanket) recently. It's had a pretty big makeover. It looks good.

They were also doing an opening layalty card for the first few weeks that got about 33% off the price of a pint, which is most welcome for prices these days in the Royal Mile.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/history/gallery/21-incredible-edinburgh-photos-show-24640440

59 minutes ago, Say What Again said:

Few old pub photos here.

I was in the Canons Gait (Blue Blanket) recently. It's had a pretty big makeover. It looks good.

They were also doing an opening layalty card for the first few weeks that got about 33% off the price of a pint, which is most welcome for prices these days in the Royal Mile.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/history/gallery/21-incredible-edinburgh-photos-show-24640440

Thanks for that 

Stuart Lyon
3 hours ago, Say What Again said:

Few old pub photos here.

Great photos. I'm still looking for one of the Earl of Marchmont when it was the Totem Lounge if anyone can help.

Bonnie Prince Charlie
4 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Thanks for that 

Canons Gate was sold fairly recent by DM Stewart who still own the Cumberland bar and the Abbotsford. They also bought Ryries

55 minutes ago, Bonnie Prince Charlie said:

Canons Gate was sold fairly recent by DM Stewart who still own the Cumberland bar and the Abbotsford. They also bought Ryries

58 minutes ago, Bonnie Prince Charlie said:

Still own The Guildford as well

1 hour ago, Bonnie Prince Charlie said:

Yep. The Old Town Pub Co. has it now. 

They’ve quite a number in the area now. The Royal Mile, The Globe, George IV Bridge Bar, Stramash and Fiddlers Arms among them. 

They also own the one that’s yet to open just down from the aparthotel on the Canongate, in the pedestrian area beside the new HMRC building. 

It feels like it’s been getting worked on for about four years now. Obviously there was the covid impact and 3,000 folk that never moved in to the tax building as major blows, but the frequently seem to start up work again, yet it never opens. 

Someone told me they have a tapestry on the wall behind the bar that cost £14,000. 

No idea if it’s true, but I dread to think how much a pint will be in there 😂

Edited by Say What Again

Not a pub, but sad to see Franco's chippy burn down. Don't know how long it had been there, but I used to go all the time when I was a laddie. Always been pretty affordable and still looked the same as it did when I used to go in years ago.

Got me thinking that there's really not any chippies around there now. One away down Mayfield Road, Salvatores over Marchmont way and Bodrum on Dalkeith Road probably the closest. Bene's on the Canongate too but they've been reportedly closing for months. Deep Sea and Clamshell on the way in to town too but they're not traditional chippies.

Plenty kebab shops and Chinese but nae chippy's if you're having a bevvy.

Not a pub but always used to pop in to the Casino Martell next to the Wine Glass on the way home from a night out because bar was open till 4 and you got free tea and sandwiches! Don’t think I ever actually played the tables there 

Must have been back in the 80’s

ArcticJambo

I'd sometimes catch the Belmonte at Piershill if I went home via the High Street or Holyrood Road, and through the Park but as I say that was rare as normally I'd be stumbling home late.  Or Giovanni's on Northfield Broadway.  I;m sure there was one on Montrose Terrace but can't say I ever remember using it, probably The Montrose!

Edited by ArcticJambo

Sheeps Heid in Duddingston Village just up from the loch and park gates, we used to have al ot of police do,s there stag parties etc. quiet and nobody eyeballing us.

11 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

I'd sometimes catch the Belmonte at Piershill if I went home via the High Street or Holyrood Road, and through the Park but as I say that was rare as normally I'd be stumbling home late.  Or Giovanni's on Northfield Broadway.  I;m sure there was one on Montrose Terrace but can't say I ever remember using it, probably The Montrose!

I can't recall the name of it but there was certainly a chippy on Montrose Terrace. The daughter of the owner was in my year at school.

I don't recall ever using it either as Bene's on the Canongate was so good in those days. Unbeatable.