Old Southside Pubs

Corstojohn

The Brass Monkey I think.

It is.

I was in there for the the first time recently, waiting for a mate. I had a cracking brie and chorizo roll while I waited :)

Their lunchtime specials looked to be pretty good. From what I remember it was a pint and a sandwich for ?4.50, or a pint, soup and a sandwich for ?6 (I think)

• Replies 168

• Stuart Lyon

• The Real Maroonblood

• Brandt

• Tams bird

Question cropped up when discussing this thread with mates.

How far and wide is the "Southside"?

What is your starting point from the southern end, Salisbury Road up to Commie, down to St Leonards taking in Dumbiedykes then up Drummond Street to West Crosscauseway, up to Potterrow then along to Middle Meadow walk, back along the meadows to Causewayside then down to Ratcliffe Terrace??

Interested to hear what others think.

Edited by JT1959

Goldstone Wonder

Best i can help. The Qua...

400744791_7a94fd9036_z.jpg

Was there not a pub where KFC is, on the corner but a fire gutted the whole building long time ago?

Not sure about the KFC but when I was a student in the mid to late 80s living above the Southsider, that cinema showed blue movies.

Got a feeling the pub might have been called The Quaich although that is nothing other than an educated guess. I remember going into the Asian convenience store which is called Southside Greengrocers in this photo. Sure the guy who owned it was called Mr Shafiq as he offered me and my mates a flat to rent down at East Junction Street which we politely declined.

Edited by Goldstone Wonder

The disco bar replaced by KFC was the Uptown.

I don't know what year the photo in the previous post was taken but it certainly looks as if the pub was called the Quaich. The names I have for it were:-

Britannia Bar 1965

The Half Penny - no year known for that one

The Trot Inn 1970 -1980

The La Scala was a regular picture house then changed to "The Classic" and showed soft porno, Carry on Plumber etc, then it closed and re-opened as La Scala again but as a Bingo Hall.(There could even have been some casino element!!!)

It was called The Classic when Uptown burnt down.

Edited by JT1959

I also stayed in Brown Street with my parents until 1960 when the decanting started.

. Same as us. We were in number 5,,.

The Woolpack was the pub on Potterrow next to what is now the Central Mosque. Its still there and has had a few names since.

Yep, Native State, Koko's etc.

48 Nicolson Street, had a planning application in 1993 changing it from a pub (The Half Penny), to a sandwich bar, delicatessen & coffee shop. Then another application in 2000 is to change it from a tanning shop into an Amusement Arcade. I hadn't seen the name The Quaich, so it was after the fire in 1982 and before 1993, found a reference in a court document to The Quaich so that confirms the name of the pub. I agree with the other names supplied by Stuart Lyon above.

Where Ladbrokes is now at Surgeons Hall was a Pub at one time also was it not, think it then became a cafe called the Bambi Cafe???

NotVincentGuerain

causey1067834_zps92f5c60f.jpg

Crown Copyright ? RCAHMS Licensor www.rcahms.gov.uk

This view of the Causey from 1979 shows the Buccleuch and Greyfriars Church flanked by the ruins of older tenements. In the background no. 26 West Crosscauseway appears as a stone faced building and to the north Pear Tree House is visible behind the predecessor to 56 North bar.

http://www.thecausey.org/causeyhistory.html

(there are lots more photos on that site, and bits about the history of Causewayside. Like how it got it's name)

2289865459_zps72b7d414.jpg

Bristo Street, pictured here in 1966, is no longer. Picture: Alan Ledgerwood

Lost Edinburgh in the Evening News. http://www.scotsman....treet-1-2808438

(i can't work out where this photo is taken from)

The whole area around the Parkers was the big car park next to Bristo Square which is the new Uni building i think. The junction immediately on the left leads to Nicolson Square and Surgeons hall.

As far as I know the only other name for the Auld Hoose was Ye Auld Hoose. If anyone knows any different I would be interested to know any other names for this pub.

Where Ladbrokes is now at Surgeons Hall was a Pub at one time also was it not, think it then became a cafe called the Bambi Cafe???

I think that was the "Rat Trap" Maggie Rae , who was in charge there was rumoured to dry her Fet Lors over the pie stand on the bar there.

Sandys elbows

I think that was the "Rat Trap" Maggie Rae , who was in charge there was rumoured to dry her Fet Lors over the pie stand on the bar there.

. Deco, hung her drawers over the pie heater.had a shallaly, cludgey behind the bar in view. When I went in with my mates, young lads she said "what the f#*k do you'se want" character building stuff ;-)

As far as I know the only other name for the Auld Hoose was Ye Auld Hoose. If anyone knows any different I would be interested to know any other names for this pub.

I have only ever known it by those two names Stuart, Also remember that it used to by run by a German called Jurgen, unless my mind is playing tricks

NotVincentGuerain

The whole area around the Parkers was the big car park next to Bristo Square which is the new Uni building i think. The junction immediately on the left leads to Nicolson Square and Surgeons hall.

Just outside Dante Lannes cafe.About 4/5 doors up from Marshall Street.

thanks.

im up there tomorrow, i'll have a look about.

Interesting pictures, the church just up from the pub was I believe the Church of Christ. When a real wee boy 4/5 years old we used to go to the Band of Hope there, and watch magic lantern pictures. Also next to the pub was a small shop belonging to Mrs Craigie, tiny shop with the house in the rear, she even opened on a Sunday, and there wasn't much you couldn't buy there. If I was in the Castle o Clouts twice in my life, that is probably an exaggeration.

Somebody mentioned in a previous post Jeannie Deans pub, I went in there as a 171/2 year old to watch the World Speedway championships, the barman came and asked me my age and I was honest, he asked if I was working and I said no I am going to join the Guards on Friday, he said stay where you are and have another pint on me.

That is South Bridge the street to the left is Drummond Street.

Anyone else notice Bob Sharp in the middle of the road?

NotVincentGuerain

I could not work out exactly where it was, but roughly. I have always know this bit as it is, i was born in the 70's. huge difference between now and then.

post-26016-0-44608600-1381263965_thumb.jpg

post-26016-0-22835400-1381263975_thumb.jpg

• 8 years later...

Trying to remember the the pub opposite the Southsider in West Richmond Street.

I’m sure it was called Wee ????

Montgomery Brewster
On 07/10/2013 at 18:06, mac said:

Anyone remember "The Junction" ?

Great boozer. Even although it’s called something else now it will always be the junction to me. Also the falcon will always be the known as the falcon as well. 

🍻 

28 minutes ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Great boozer. Even although it’s called something else now it will always be the junction to me. Also the falcon will always be the known as the falcon as well. 

🍻

Cask and Barrel.

Stuart Lyon
14 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Trying to remember the the pub opposite the Southsider in West Richmond Street.

I’m sure it was called Wee ????

Wee Anderson's also called the Richmond and Nic Anderson's at some point.

Edited by Stuart Lyon

13 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Wee Anderson's also called the Richmond and Nic Anderson's at some point.

Thanks Stuart.

Can always rely on you to come up with the answers.

4 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Anyone remember Doolitles, was rather drunk in there back in the day.

I remember it was never in it.

It was called The Rat Trap before.

132goals1958

The Jeanie Deans near St Leonards was a great wee pub . Used to sometimes meet my father in Law for a few beers. Happy days

2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I remember it was never in it.

It was called The Rat Trap before.

cheers, 👍.   

Boston Jambo
On 08/10/2013 at 00:29, Boston Jambo said:

Anyone remember the rhino's head on the wall on the Parkers building? Or am i just crazy.

RDP1_0014.jpg

AlimOzturk

Cask and Barrel have a great folk session Sunday nights. 

The Abby does some of the best burgers in Edinburgh. 

Aussie Jambo

My old bus 1983-88. Went everywhere with them. 87-88 was old enough to drink. Grew up in Southside till I left in 90. Still drink in Southside when I’m home. Usually City Cafe, Southsider or BrassMonkeys. Sometimes Swannys. My mate runs it that I went to school with and I good Jambo I went with to Hearts games  images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRc11NdnqX64JnY5tGQUn6

Montgomery Brewster
5 hours ago, Aussie Jambo said:

My old bus 1983-88. Went everywhere with them. 87-88 was old enough to drink. Grew up in Southside till I left in 90. Still drink in Southside when I’m home. Usually City Cafe, Southsider or BrassMonkeys. Sometimes Swannys. My mate runs it that I went to school with and I good Jambo I went with to Hearts games  images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRc11NdnqX64JnY5tGQUn6

Aye Swannys, the bell , Leslie’s , Jamie’s all quality boozers. 

I assume your talking about big AM? Last time I was in the bell a good few years ago he was working across the road in swannys.