The Specials

the general

the general

read on the Beebs radio 6 site that they are set to reform later in the year - lets just hope they play Scotland - one of the best live bands I ever saw

Thats great news , hope this happens. Seen Neville Staples recently at the Liquid rooms with the Beat also went to Bad Manners both were cracking gigs and brought back loads of memories from my youth.....:)

Guest Freewheelin' Jambo

It would be a dream come true for me to see them live.

Who cares if Hall hates Dammers.

The Verve hate each other but money talks and they toured again.

"I'm goin' out tonight,

don't know if I'll be alright,

Concrete Jungle, animals after me"

I am sitting here wearing my Specials t-shirt, front cover of 1st album.

Have also heard they're rehersing and getting back together for live dates. I will come in my pants when this happens!!

Suspect Device

heard Lynval (sp) Golding on the radio, he said that they have all been talking for the first time in years. 30th aniversary of `Specials` is coming up and they hope to mark it with a tour.

excellent news and i for one will def be getting along to see them if it happens

BB38, i was at the Liquid Rooms for Neville Staples and The beat as well :)

Please please please play Barrowlands. Might even rival SLF.

dodethejambo
Accepted. That was foolish. Please slap me.

Consider yourself slapped a045.gif

Seen them 1st time round on the 2ToneTour at Tiffs.Was a bit of a rude boy then.Pork Pie hats and suits out off Armstrongs!!!!!

Drew Busby !

Christ I'd love a reunion. Read the big Mojo article yesterday and then finished up playing ska all night :)

So many favourite songs... but Friday Night, Saturday Morning sums up many a night out for most of us in our (ahem) younger days :D

Guest Freewheelin' Jambo
Christ I'd love a reunion. Read the big Mojo article yesterday and then finished up playing ska all night :)

So many favourite songs... but Friday Night, Saturday Morning sums up many a night out for most of us in our (ahem) younger days :D

Do Nothing

Blank Expression

Do the Dog....

Ah please, come and do a gig in Edinburgh. Make my life complete.

What about a JKB meet up at the gig?

Drew Busby !
Do Nothing

Blank Expression

Do the Dog....

Ah please, come and do a gig in Edinburgh. Make my life complete.

What about a JKB meet up at the gig?

For men of "a certain age" obviously :laugh:

"This one is for all de bouncers..."

... "It's called Big Monkey Man... 1,2,3,4..."

Gulp. This may be one of those things I spend a few 100 quid on and try go to loads of gigs on the tour. Should really be out of things like that at age 40, but fk it, this is The Specials, their importance cannot be talked up enough really.

Terry and Lynval were on Radio 2 last Saturday night interviewed by Jack Docherty. They confirmed that they were back in rehearsals and will be touring in Autumn. Terry said that after receiving treatment for a bi-polar disorder, he realised how much he loved the band and all the other Specials as people.

Hopefully it'll be a tour of venues rather than somewhere huge like the SECC. Corn Exchange would be great. Never saw them first time round.

Walter Kidd

In that case I'll be dusting down my staprest (which wont fit me) and my fred perry.

Too Much Too Young.

In that case I'll be dusting down my staprest (which wont fit me) and my fred perry.

Too Much Too Young.

See you down the front matey - Fred Perrys ahoy!

Working for the Rat Race - You Know You're Wasting Your Time!

Magic!

the general

the gig at Tiffs was probably one of the best ever gigs I saw ( Costello at same place was good too)

I remember when we went to Bologna for the game and our accomodation was in this small seaside resort but everywhere was shut as the holiday season was well over - as we drove up in the bus everyone as one started singing Ghost Town ! epic

also remember scouring Camden market for the bootleg pre release of the debut album,got it eventualy but it cost a mint

The doc martins will be getting polished up and the braces looked out when they hit town! It's good news!

Anyone got a live DVD of them? Unfortunately I'm not old enough to have went to see them :sad: I'm looking for a live DVD now, seen a few festival performances on Youtube, amazing!

Feckin Mod music i.e. crap, was fed up at the time of kicking you all off scooters! But nowadays we,re all mates, 2 wheels and all that!:107years:

I was a punk at the time the Specials were around. Didn't stop me knowing they were the utter business though. Great tunes, brilliant lyrics. End of.

I have Dance Craze on dvd if you want a copy gives a pm with address details...

Anyone got a live DVD of them? Unfortunately I'm not old enough to have went to see them :sad: I'm looking for a live DVD now, seen a few festival performances on Youtube, amazing!

I take it you've washed your hair since, Greaser-boy? ;)

Terry said that after receiving treatment for a bi-polar disorder, he realised how much he loved the band and all the other Specials as people.

:boak:

Couldn't they just get back together quietly (or admit it's for the money)?

Walter Kidd
See you down the front matey - Fred Perrys ahoy!

Working for the Rat Race - You Know You're Wasting Your Time!

Magic!

Too much fighting in the dance halls ...............

I am sitting here wearing my Specials t-shirt, front cover of 1st album.

Have also heard they're rehersing and getting back together for live dates. I will come in my pants when this happens!!

Think they'd let you in if you just arrived in your pants.... ahh.... I've got you.

Suspect Device
Feckin Mod music i.e. crap,

haha.. naw it wisnae - and I was another punk at that time. great band

was fed up at the time of kicking you all off scooters!

Doesn't Make It Alright.:cool:

But nowadays we,re all mates, 2 wheels and all that!:107years:

stay press - Fred Perry - Docs - braces.

think it'll only be the Docs that still fit me ;)

Terrible Trio
Too much fighting in the dance halls ...............

you're gonna get you're f*****' head kicked in

Terrible Trio

I'm sure you could loosen the braces a bit

dodethejambo

I want all you skinheads to get up on your feet

Put your braces together and your boots on your feet

And give me some of that old moonstomping

Are you ready? Start stomping!

Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

image.php?productid=24013

Guest Freewheelin' Jambo

Each day I walk along this lonely street

Trying to find, find a future

New pair of shoes are on my feet

Cos' fashion is my only culture

Nothing ever change, oh no...

Nothing ever change

People say to me just be yourself

It makes no sense to follow fashion

How could I be anybody else

I don't try, I've got no reason

Nothing ever change

I'm just living in a life without meaning

I walk and walk, do nothing

I'm just living in a life without feeling

I talk and talk, say nothing

Nothing ever change

I walk along this same old lonely street

Still trying to find, find a reason

Policeman comes and smacks me in the teeth

I don't complain, it's not my function

Nothing ever change

They're just living in a life without meaning

They're just playing in a life without thinking

They talk and talk, say nothing

I walk and walk, I'm dreaming

I talk and talk, say nothing

I'm just living in a life without meaning

Saw them at the Venue about 10 - 12 years ago, then there was a SKA night up stairs after the show:) Brilliant night.