KK Welcomes New Gambling Project for Footballers

Guest GhostHunter

Top article and well done to Kyle for putting himself forward to front gambling in football and if we are to get the beast of his playing career that's even better.

The Beast ?

Harsh.

Ian Murray might this initiative useful allegedly.

As will Anthony Stokes if stories are to be believed.

Top marks for KK though....a gent :thumbsup:

Some of the stories about gambling debts and footballers are pretty frightening. Brebner springs to mind, with tales of him being run out of town.

Keith Gillespie at Newcastle , losing ?60k in a day.

The legendary Stan Bowles at QPR - shame he couldn't pass the bookies as well as he passed a ball (or words to that effect).

Kenny Sansom as well , I believe.

Well done to KK, Although i'm not a 'gambling man' myself, i've one or two mates who are really big gamblers.

Says a lot for the man's character to help with this initiative.

Allegedly still owes a number of previous hibs players money.

Also due to speak on 5 Live some time between 10 and 12 this morning.

Well done KK - he spoke well on 5 Live.

But I think the most important thing to come out of all this is that it gave them the opportunity to replay the clip of the winning goal in the New Year derby - TWICE.

Well done KK - he spoke well on 5 Live.

But I think the most important thing to come out of all this is that it gave them the opportunity to replay the clip of the winning goal in the New Year derby - TWICE.

I knew he had had problems in the past, but I'd assumed he'd put it behind him. Quite a surprise to hear that the club pays his salary to his missus and she dishes out pocket money to him. :unsure:

Fair play to him for agreeing to front the initiative. :thumbsup:

Guest GhostHunter

Bednar allegedly has pissed some "people" off in Edinburgh, hence the Zero Chance of him coming back here.

Allegedly.

Bednar allegedly has pissed some "people" off in Edinburgh, hence the Zero Chance of him coming back here.

Allegedly.

that was only the OAP couple up at fairmilehead who were after him for having a jobby in a flower pot in their garden.

inexplicable.

Frankenstein Jambo.

John Terry - is he not a massive gambler.

Must admit, had problems myself in the past. Not to a huge extent, but got a bit hooked on the roulette machines in the bookies and could often easily put 50 quid in and lose it in about 1 hour.

Soon stopped when i moved oot my mums and had to pay rent though :thumbsup:

Must admit, had problems myself in the past. Not to a huge extent, but got a bit hooked on the roulette machines in the bookies and could often easily put 50 quid in and lose it in about 1 hour.

Are you actually kidding?

Easy, Axel Freed.

I knew he had had problems in the past, but I'd assumed he'd put it behind him. Quite a surprise to hear that the club pays his salary to his missus and she dishes out pocket money to him. :unsure:

Fair play to him for agreeing to front the initiative. :thumbsup:

maybe the problems are in the past, but he fears it happening again and to make sure that his family have money and to reduce the risk of him falling off the wagon he gets his wages paid to his wifes account.

My biggest concern with KK when he signed was not his ability to pla, but his ability to take the pressure and that he'd go back to gambling. Looks like he's got his head straight and getting settled down will have played a big part of that.

Beyond scottish football (where folk do usually have surplus income, atleast whilst their playing) gambling is a very big problem in our society and very little appears to be done about it.

Well done KK and anyone whose got the balls to stand up and admit they have a problem.

About what?

no offence, but i've seen people spunk away the best part of a grand on roulette in less than 5 mins many a time

im not a big gambler myself and wasting ?50 on a roullete for any amount of time would seem like alot of money to me, but your problem aint a real 'problem'

unfairness on FJ on this occasion IMO.

surely it doesn't matter what the monetary amount is that someone has lost while gambling if that amount is something they cannot afford to lose.

his ?50 casino machine loss might mean more than some pro footballer's ?10,000 loss at something else.

if it was adversely affecting his life then of course it's a bloody problem.

stick to pizza FJ. you can only lose skin at that.

surely it doesn't matter what the monetary amount is that someone has lost while gambling if that amount is something they cannot afford to lose.

his ?50 casino machine loss might mean more than some pro footballer's ?10,000 loss at something else.

Don't see the unfairness myself - he stopped when he left home because he had rent to pay.

1) He is living at home, he has a roof over his head and probably gets food

2) That's not a 'gambling problem' that is spending your spare cash in the bookies

Not quite the same as pi$$ing thousands of pounds against the wall every month.

Don't see the unfairness myself - he stopped when he left home because he had rent to pay.

2) That's not a 'gambling problem' that is spending your spare cash in the bookies

fair enough. it all depends on the exact circumstances of his 'problem'... which we do not know.

in any case, i don't think he was trying to make a like-for-like comparison, he just mentioned that he had a related type of 'episode' of shan gambling.

"not to a huge extent" were his words i believe.

Keith Gillespie at Newcastle , losing ?60k in a day.

The legendary Stan Bowles at QPR - shame he couldn't pass the bookies as well as he passed a ball (or words to that effect).

Kenny Sansom as well , I believe.

KG was 90k on 1 horse.

Frankenstein Jambo.

Living at home I did have some spare cash but I was still spending that in the bookies, not on things like new-clothes and building up a savings. I then started gambling moore than I could and borrowing a little and kiding myself I'd win enough to repay them. It did get a bit out of hand but moving out of home and having to keep a roof over my head and having to feed myself, I had to prioritise things and hence I had to stop gambling otherwise i'd be homeless.

Maybe never got myself into thousand pounds of debt but had I kept gambling and never sorted it out it could of easily went that far.

Cardiac Rucksack

That took balls, ive pissed some cash up against several bookies walls. Its a very difficult thing ot keep control of as when you get a big win then you think its going to keep going that way. Sadly it never does and you end up chasing your tail. Incredibly difficult to admit to anyone also. So well done again the big man.

I just wanted to use the Axel Freed line, tbh.

i can't help but gush about how decent this guy seems to be.

his honesty about his problem was terrific and i'm sure he'll be able to help a lot of folk coming out and admitting how bad his problem was for him, and more so for admitting he has his wages paid to his mrs bank account just in case he slipped again.

comes over as such a nice person, and every time i hear him speak i get a wee bit more impressed by him