team names nothing to do with location

1williegibson

started this the other week there with my nephew.

trying to name teams in scotland and england (senior level) with their names having no connection with their location. port vale for starters. dont think there is an area in stoke with that name.

obvious one for scotland are the hobos.... any more ?

• Replies 133
CavySlaveJambo

Port Vale: this is on Wikipedia

Port Vale are one of the few English league clubs not to be named after a city or town. The name Port Vale exists on maps pre-dating the 1876 formation of the club, and is a reference to a valley of ports on the Trent and Mersey Canal, associated with the city's pottery industry.

So it is named after a place. And one linked to the city (Stoke) as a whole.

Raith Rovers?

The battle of Raith was near Kirkcaldy and I believe that's where they take the name from, despite Raith Estate being part of Kirkcaldy it is generally quite a newish scheme so nothing to do with the team :thumbsup:

St Mirren

Queen of the South, although they do play in the south west of Scotland I suppose :unsure:

CavySlaveJambo

Ross County?

There from Dingwall, Easter Ross.

What about QPR? I know about the original ground but...

Arsenal: named after a royal arms factory I believe.

Woolwich Arsenal proper name

when they played at woolwich , i think

CavySlaveJambo

Everton (unless.....)

Arsenal (unless...)

there is an area of liverpool called Everton. BUT they have always played elsewhere (Anfield/Walton)

Woolwich Arsenal proper name

when they played at woolwich , i think

I might be wrong, but do Berwick Rangers not play in Tweedmouth over the bridge from Berwick :unsure::unsure:

yes they do!

used to work with a great old boy many years ago

who was a season ticket holder at B R (and from berwick) and was

adament that they were a Scottish team.

when questioned bout Trever Steven his answer was

na he's from spittal(which is tweedmooth) :thumbsup:

East Stirling? They play in Falkirk don't they?

they do , but again it's county boundaries that have

changed , East Strirlingshire they are. Midlothian we are (or were) :-)

East Stirling? They play in Falkirk don't they?

The full name is East Stirlingshire FC :thumbsup: Play in Stenhousemuir the now.

Learn something new every day, never knew that Sir Alex had his first management job at the club

The full name is East Stirlingshire FC :thumbsup: Play in Stenhousemuir the now.

Learn something new every day, never knew that Sir Alex had his first management job at the club

did he not get sacked ? :thumbsup:

Dave you're such a loser :lol: only kdding of course :)

Do they not play at Firs park (which is in Falkirk)?

Dave you're such a loser :lol: only kdding of course :)

:lol: Boink whip....... your the loser Clare :lol: Just kidding.

Gie's a text, i'm boreded

Definitely trying to get in there post imo. :whistling:

West Brom/Ham??

Aston Villa?

Crystal Palace?

Leyton Orient?

Could all be wrong.

Villa's in a part of Brum called Aston, not sure on the other 2 though

oh yeah i may have not replied after a while earlier..apologies for that ha. I was working at the rink and phone ran out of batterieees! i'll gie you a wee text the now i suppose

West Brom/Ham??

Aston Villa?

Crystal Palace?

Leyton Orient?

Could all be wrong.

West Bromich is a place NW of Birmingham

They did, but they had to move

Really?! Wasn't aware of that. Why did they move? Take it it's a ground share with Stenhousemuir now?

Aye at Ochilview (sp) pitch was too small and couldn't afford to build a new stadium/sort it out. Was Firs Park the one with the Hedges around it?