U19's V Bonnyrigg 6.45Pm Tonight

Gambo

No, see above. I think the success with defensive players illustrates what can be acheived.. Question is, why aren't we managing that with forward players. Is our scouting poor? Our coaching? Evidently, we're not doing so well with forward players - what do you put that down to? Bad luck?

I put it down to fans lableiing even the slightest whiff of a forward talent, the new robbo, and then roundly turning on said player when he doesnt live up to that persons expectation as quick as they'd like. Dismissin them, booing them, GTF' them. All those things that idiots do.

• Replies 163

Agree to an extent, but the success in producing defensive players just highlights the deficiency in producing forward players.

You know as well as I do that if we had coaches capable of producing quality goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and strikers, then they wouldn't be working for Hearts!

Which other glut of strikers born in the same years as Mole & Weir that Hearts somehow failed to spot are doing better? Those kids got picked because they were among the best available - look around the SPL and tell me which strikers that other teams produced in those years Hearts should have signed but didn't?

Mole and Weir are just two examples. We've failed to produce a decent forward (Elliot arguably being the closest we've come) in over a decade. Are you suggesting there have been no decent forwards in Scotland for a decade?

He showed more than glimpses. He had half a season of consistantly good football with the help and guidance of Janny. He certainly is lazy and his biggest problem in my eyes is he's thick as mince. A 5 year contract is the worst thing a young player can get. It very rarely works for us, Simmons looked a class act when he came through, got his deal and then took the piss. That's not the fault of coaches though.

Anyway, I can handle a lack of forwards if they producing multi million pound players on a regular basis.

Agree with some of that, specifically the 5 year contract nonsense. All it leads to is a comfort zone and creates the problem that we can't get rid because of the OTT wages. Simmons is another good example.

Of course it is good that we have brought some players in other positions through, as I have said we are excellent at bringing through defenders. I'm not sure how much the current coaching setup had to do with the likes of Gordon and Berra mind you ! However, as I see it the biggest problem in our current squad is putting the ball in the net. Last season we scored the lowest number of goals in years (I think it was our second lowest total in 30 years). Their seems to be a dearth of goals throughout the club, the question I posed at the start of this. My concern is that there is no sign of us changing that from within. Will Romanov therefore provide funds to resolve it from outwith ?

You know as well as I do that if we had coaches capable of producing quality goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and strikers, then they wouldn't be working for Hearts!

Agreed, we'll never have the best of the best coaches. But at the same time, I don't think it's impossible for HMFC to be producing some half decent forward players. Which begs the question, why aren't we....and for me, the obvious answer is that there are things we could be doing better in scouting/coaching forward players.

Mole and Weir are just two examples. We've failed to produce a decent forward (Elliot arguably being the closest we've come) in over a decade. Are you suggesting there have been no decent forwards in Scotland for a decade?

Iam saying there have been very few decent forwards produced in the last decade - probably less than TEN which is at most only 1 per year which means that 1 club is lucky to have landed him and the other 11 SPL clubs not as lucky. Name me this glut of striker talent the SPL has produced?

I put it down to fans lableiing even the slightest whiff of a forward talent, the new robbo, and then roundly turning on said player when he doesnt live up to that persons expectation as quick as they'd like. Dismissin them, booing them, GTF' them. All those things that idiots do.

Fair enough. Mole and Weir would be banging in the goals if it wasn't for the fans. Glad we've got that cleared up/ :teehee:

Agreed, we'll never have the best of the best coaches. But at the same time, I don't think it's impossible for HMFC to be producing some half decent forward players. Which begs the question, why aren't we....and for me, the obvious answer is that there are things we could be doing better in scouting/coaching forward players.

They aren't perfect and that's something that needs to be improved on. Who were the last decent forwards that Rangers and Sellick brought through though? It's easier said than done.

I personally have high hopes for Smith and then you've got Jamie Walker coming through as well. We'll just need to see what happens. Kyle will hopefully play a role in the improvement of the strikers. They need an experienced player to look up to.

scott_jambo

Mole and Weir were 2 of the best young players in their age group - who else were Hearts supposed to select? The fact they didn't prove good enough to progress to the highest level isn't a fault or blame of anybody - very few players make it to the top - clubs can only pick the better or best of the pool of talent available. Are you just assuming there was better than Mole and Weir available?

Garry o'connor, Derek Riordan and Steven Fletcher.

Fair enough. Mole and Weir would be banging in the goals if it wasn't for the fans. Glad we've got that cleared up/ :teehee:

I said slightest whiff of forward talent.

Iam saying there have been very few decent forwards produced in the last decade - probably less than TEN which is at most only 1 per year which means that 1 club is lucky to have landed him and the other 11 SPL clubs not as lucky. Name me this glut of striker talent the SPL has produced?

Decent forwards who came through in the last decade:-

Goodwillie.

Fletcher.

K Miller.

L Miller.

Boyd.

McCormack.

Riordon.

McFadden.

Maloney

Naismith

O'Conner

Decent forwards who came through at HMFC in the last decade:-

None.

They aren't perfect and that's something that needs to be improved on. Who were the last decent forwards that Rangers and Sellick brought through though? It's easier said than done.

I personally have high hopes for Smith and then you've got Jamie Walker coming through as well. We'll just need to see what happens. Kyle will hopefully play a role in the improvement of the strikers. They need an experienced player to look up to.

I'm not for one second saying it's easy. Just that given we're producing nothing, it would seem that improvements could be made.....

I don't see much in Smith but hopefully I'll be wrong. Have heard good things about Jamie Walker I hope he lives up to them.

Garry o'connor, Derek Riordan and Steven Fletcher.

I see - so we are jealous of Hibs now are we?

Something that been conviently ignored by these two while they have their little moan.

Thanks for your productive jibe as per.

There is a difference between moaning and questioning something that the club are evidently struggling to resolve. As I said at the very start of this thread last night was just a pre season friendly but Robinson and Smith both played against a junior team and it Was Hearts 0. These guys have 1st team experience and in my opinion have done ok but it does come down to them being regular subs or getting the odd start are they ready or good enough ?

Are you happy to accept a situation where they have produced 3 decent forwards whilst we've produced none, or do you admit their might be room for improvement?

Decent forwards who came through in the last decade:-

Goodwillie.

Fletcher.

K Miller.

L Miller.

Boyd.

McCormack.

Riordon.

McFadden.

Maloney

Naismith

O'Conner

Decent forwards who came through at HMFC in the last decade:-

None.

I see so you just about managed to scrape past TEN players and six of those players are older than 25 which means they signed pro at least a decade ago .... so in 10 or 11 years x 12 SPL clubs you just about managed to come up with 1 player per year - one of whom was freed by Rangers his talent was that obvious and one whom of who left Hearts after a disagreement between his coach & his dad.

scott_jambo

Just not closed minded.

I think we have brought through some great players but these strikers would have walked into any of our teams in the last 10 years. You did ask us to name some.

JR is going a bit far back with suggestions like Maloney. But I dont think he is jealous of Celtic.

scott_jambo

I see so you just about managed to scrape past TEN players and six of those players are older than 25 which means they signed pro at least a decade ago .... so in 10 or 11 years x 12 SPL clubs you just about managed to come up with 1 player per year - one of whom was freed by Rangers his talent was that obvious and one whom of who left Hearts after a disagreement between his coach & his dad.

I named 3 from one club in 3 years.

Are you happy to accept a situation where they have produced 3 decent forwards whilst we've produced none, or do you admit their might be room for improvement?

Specialist striker coaching might help ......... Hibs have been successful with those 3 players and before them Kenny Miller so they have had luck in that area of the field whilst we have produced goalies, defenders, midfielders and wingers etc. I do think a lot of it is down to luck in whether it's a defender or striker at any particular club who makes the grade ie I don't think the fact Hibs have had 3 or 4 strikers while we've produced the same or more players in other positions means anything in particular about a clubs scouting or coaching. Both Edinburgh clubs have been producing players for Scotland teams - our have been defence and midfield theirs have been midfield and attack - does that prove anything? Personally I think their forwards got more opportunity to play week in week out regardless of poorer results and performances some weeks whilst it's been easier to slot in defensive minded players at Tynie as we've generally been a more solid team for most of the last decade.

So even at your supposed rate of one decent striker being produced per year by the SPL, are you happy that we've not even had our share of that?

londonjambo

Gary their was no Programme/ team sheet etc

Cheers mate

And now ... more bickering ...

GC

Thanks for your productive jibe as per.

There is a difference between moaning and questioning something that the club are evidently struggling to resolve. As I said at the very start of this thread last night was just a pre season friendly but Robinson and Smith both played against a junior team and it Was Hearts 0. These guys have 1st team experience and in my opinion have done ok but it does come down to them being regular subs or getting the odd start are they ready or good enough ?

How are they struggling to resolve??? Robinson, Smith, Elliot ( I still have faith), Templeton, Novi, Walker. Are all forward prospects, someone with a more intimate knowledge of the youth system could probably list more.

So on one hand we have the dismissing of the achievements at youth level of previous players as a marker for progression and then on the other hand are saying that the result of this fixture matters to see how far Robinson and Smith have progressed. Well which is it?

scott_jambo

Specialist striker coaching might help ......... Hibs have been successful with those 3 players and before them Kenny Miller so they have had luck in that area of the field whilst we have produced goalies, defenders, midfielders and wingers etc. I do think a lot of it is down to luck in whether it's a defender or striker at any particular club who makes the grade ie I don't think the fact Hibs have had 3 or 4 strikers while we've produced the same or more players in other positions means anything in particular about a clubs scouting or coaching. Both Edinburgh clubs have been producing players for Scotland teams - our have been defence and midfield theirs have been midfield and attack - does that prove anything? Personally I think their forwards got more opportunity to play week in week out regardless of poorer results and performances some weeks whilst it's been easier to slot in defensive minded players at Tynie as we've generally been a more solid team for most of the last decade.

I dont think its luck.

Its qutie clear Hibs are sh1t at producing defenders and Hearts are sh1t at producing strikers. Maybe we could learn from another.

I named 3 from one club in 3 years.

Yes which is highly exceptional and not replicated anywhere else in the SPL not even at Hearts or the Old Firm or since at Hibernian - maybe John Park had a good eye for those players in that period?

Specialist striker coaching might help ......... Hibs have been successful with those 3 players and before them Kenny Miller so they have had luck in that area of the field whilst we have produced goalies, defenders, midfielders and wingers etc. I do think a lot of it is down to luck in whether it's a defender or striker at any particalur club who makes the grade ie I don't think the fact Hibds have had 3 or 4 strikers while we've produced the same or more players in other positions means anything in particular about a clubs scouting or coaching. Both Edinburgh clubs have been producing players for Scotland teams - our have been defence and midfield theirs have been midfield and attack - does that prove anything? Personally I think their forwards got more opportunity to play week in week out regardless of poorer results and performances some weeks whilst it's been easier to slot in defensive minded players at Tynie as we've generally been a more solid team for most of the last decade.

Well I don't believe it was good luck that brought us through good defensive players, I think it was good scouting and good coaching. Equally, I don't believe it is bad luck that has seen us fail to produce a decent forward player in over a decade.

scott_jambo

How are they struggling to resolve??? Robinson, Smith, Elliot ( I still have faith), Templeton, Novi, Walker. Are all forward prospects, someone with a more intimate knowledge of the youth system could probably list more.

So on one hand we have the dismissing of the achievements at youth level of previous players as a marker for progression and then on the other hand are saying that the result of this fixture matters to see how far Robinson and Smith have progressed. Well which is it?

I dont mean forwards, I mean strikers. Players who's favourite position is striker and loves putting the ball in the net. Only Smith and at a push Elliott could be described as that.

Attacking midfielders and wingers count as much as Andy Driver would be classed at Zlatan Ibra.

So even at your supposed rate of one decent striker being produced per year by the SPL, are you happy that we've not even had our share of that?

Hearts, Celtic, Rangers*, Aberdeen, St Mirren, St.Johnstone, Inverness, Hamilton and others haven't had their share either - I include Rangers because they freed Ross McCormack and it was at Motherwell where he established himself as aproven SPL player.

Only Hibs with 3-4 whilst John Park was coach and Motherwell picking up McFadden and McCOrmack from Hearts and Rangers have produced more than 1 each and total almost half the players on your list - Dundee Utd, Killie and Falkirk produced Goodwillie, Boyd and L.Miller so they got lucky with 1 each in the last 10 years.

scott_jambo

Yes which is highly exceptional and not replicated anywhere else in the SPL not even at Hearts or the Old Firm or since at Hibernian - maybe John Park had a good eye for those players in that period?

Charlie, their in the frickin same city as us. These players were right under our nose. I suspect it could be to do with yotuh scouts and maybe our scouts have a better eye for defenders than attackers. Or at least what it would take to be successful at the highest level. That isnt down to luck though is it?

Snodgrass from Livi is another we could have easily picked up, but our scouts/coaches probably thoguht he wasnt a good enough 'athlete' to play for Hearts.

Charlie, their in the frickin same city as us. These players were right under our nose. I suspect it could be to do with yotuh scouts and maybe our scouts have a better eye for defenders than attackers. Or at least what it would take to be successful at the highest level. That isnt down to luck though is it?

Snodgrass from Livi is another we could have easily picked up, but our scouts/coaches probably thoguht he wasnt a good enough 'athlete' to play for Hearts.

I see - nobody else in the SPL thought Snodgrass or the hugely improved Dorrans were good enough to play in their youth or 1st teams either so EPIC FAIL to the whole of the HMFC and HFC and CFC and RFC and every other SPL youth scouting and coaching system then?

I repeat. I couldn't give a monkeys what other clubs have done / are doing.

Hearts long term strategy is allegedly to bring through more and more young players and sell them on for big profit.

Over a number of years we have failed to bring through strikers who have been good enough for us nevermind selling them to the EPL for millions of pounds. During the same period we have brought through several talented defenders and a top class keeper. Why are we failing at the other end of the park ? Lots of money can be made from producing strikers so it baffles me that it is not seen as priority for both the good of Hearts in the short term (we get goals) and in te long term (we get money). So far there is littel to suggest that any of our young players near first team level are going to be the answer. So are we another 5 years away or even longer ? If that is the case we need to bring in from outwith the club to bridge that gap.

scott_jambo

I see - nobody else in the SPL thought Snodgrass or the hugely improved Dorrans were good enough to play in their youth or 1st teams either so EPIC FAIL to the whole of the HMFC and HFC and CFC and RFC and every other SPL youth scouting and coaching system then?

I think your losing the plot.

The snodgrass comment was just a wee bit on the end of the main thrust of my post. Could you go back and address the main point please.

I dont mean forwards, I mean strikers. Players who's favourite position is striker and loves putting the ball in the net. Only Smith and at a push Elliott could be described as that.

Attacking midfielders and wingers count as much as Andy Driver would be classed at Zlatan Ibra.

So know where narrowin it down to "strikers", just to mae your argument field smaller. Keep talking baws pal aye, Im no taling wingers as forwards. Andy Driver as Zlatan, thats laughable. Im talking players who are recognised 2nd strikers at their age group. Smith Ellito 1st strikers, Temps, Novi, Glen, Robinson; 2nd Strikers.

You also metioned Gary O'conner, target man Gary O'Conner surely not a striker, but target man. Or it could be all balls and they are all FORWARD PLAYERS.

scott_jambo

So know where narrowin it down to "strikers", just to mae your argument field smaller. Keep talking baws pal aye, Im no taling wingers as forwards. Andy Driver as Zlatan, thats laughable. Im talking players who are recognised 2nd strikers at their age group. Smith Ellito 1st strikers, Temps, Novi, Glen, Robinson; 2nd Strikers.

You also metioned Gary O'conner, target man Gary O'Conner surely not a striker, but target man. Or it could be all balls and they are all FORWARD PLAYERS.

Ok, apologies.

But Novi and Templeton I wouldnt include.

Glen and Robinson yes. But Glen wasnt in your inital post.

I think your losing the plot.

The snodgrass comment was just a wee bit on the end of the main thrust of my post. Could you go back and address the main point please.

Hibs had 3-4 forward players signed by John Park that went on to play full international for Scotland - that is truly remarkable but also very much the exception that NO OTHER SPL TEAM has managed since not even Hibs - most haven't produced any or else seen them flourish elsewhere (McFadden & McCormack) which accounts for Motherwells contribution. Producing decent strikers is hard, very hard as the handful of decent strikers available to Scotland proves. Hibs got a good crop 7-10 years ago but they've not had much come through up front since so what happened to the conveyor belt?

scott_jambo

Hibs had 3-4 forward players signed by John Park that went on to play full international for Scotland - that is truly remarkable but also very much the exception that NO OTHER SPL TEAM has managed since not even Hibs - most haven't produced any or else seen them flourish elsewhere (McFadden & McCormack) which accounts for Motherwells contribution. Producing decent strikers is hard, very hard as the handful of decent striekrs available to Scotland proves. Hibs got a good crop 7-10 years ago but they've not had much come through up front since so what happened to the conveyor belt?

Ok. But are we the only team in the alst 10 years that hasnt produced 1 player that can the ball in the net now and again.

You missed out Killie with Boyd and Naismith.

Ok, apologies.

But Novi and Templeton I wouldnt include.

Glen and Robinson yes. But Glen wasnt in your inital post.

He wasnt, I plum forgot about him til that reply.

Ok. But are we the only team in the alst 10 years that hasnt produced 1 player that can the ball in the net now and again.

You missed out Killie with Boyd and Naismith.

No I didn't - Killie produced Boyd, Naimsith isn't a striker or certainly plays just as much in midfield, Falkirk produced Lee Miller and Dundee United produced Goodwillie in the last year or so. More than half the SPL including Hearts, Rangers and Celtic have struggled to produce any decent strikers in the last decade. Hearts and Rangers helped produce McCormack and McFadden for Motherwells benefit.

I repeat. I couldn't give a monkeys what other clubs have done / are doing.

Hearts long term strategy is allegedly to bring through more and more young players and sell them on for big profit.

Over a number of years we have failed to bring through strikers who have been good enough for us nevermind selling them to the EPL for millions of pounds. During the same period we have brought through several talented defenders and a top class keeper. Why are we failing at the other end of the park ? Lots of money can be made from producing strikers so it baffles me that it is not seen as priority for both the good of Hearts in the short term (we get goals) and in te long term (we get money). So far there is littel to suggest that any of our young players near first team level are going to be the answer. So are we another 5 years away or even longer ? If that is the case we need to bring in from outwith the club to bridge that gap.

Great post magicT's. Thats the bottom line. The evidence shows there is an issue. Unless we sort this issue (whatever it is), then we can't expect the results to miraculously change from failure to success.

scott_jambo

No I didn't - Killie produced Boyd, Naimsith isn't a striker or certainly plays just as much in midfield, Falkirk produced Lee Miller and Dundee United produced Goodwillie in the last year or so. More than half the SPL including Hearts, Rangers and Celtic have struggled to produce any decent strikers in the last decade. Hearts and Rangers helped produce McCormack and McFadden for Motherwells benefit.

I think Naismith was a striker for Kimarnock. may be wrong.

Where is our 1 Lee Miller or 1 David Goodwillie? Or is it really just luck like you said?

Great post magicT's. Thats the bottom line. The evidence shows there is an issue. Unless we sort this issue (whatever it is), then we can't expect the results to miraculously change from failure to success.

The issue is there is/has been a real dearth of forward talent in Scotland - you named 10 or 11 players that were considered quality strikers produced in Scotland in the last 10 years. 12 SPL teams each giving a chance as pro to 2 young strikers every year for 10 years is a minimum of 240 players been given an opportunity by SPL clubs in the last decade (a conservative estimate) therefore your success rate of 10 decent strikers is only a 4% success rate for all clubs/players.

I think Naismith was a striker for Kimarnock. may be wrong.

Where is our 1 Lee Miller or 1 David Goodwillie? Or is it really just luck like you said?

Falkirk had 1 player in a decade as have Dundee Utd recently with Goodwillie - the success rate in producing decent quality strikers really is quite low across all teams bar Hibs in one brief period a few years back.

The issue is there is/has been a real dearth of forward talent in Scotland - you named 10 or 11 players that were considered quality strikers produced in Scotland in the last 10 years. 12 SPL teams each giving a chance as pro to 2 young strikers every year for 10 years is a minimum of 240 players been given an opportunity by SPL clubs in the last decade (a conservative estimate) therefore your success rate of 10 decent strikers is only a 4% success rate for all clubs/players.

Even taking you're skewed figures at face value, what would hearts success rate be using the same criteria?

0%. Yet you seem to be under the illusion that we are doing everything right?

:lol: and round and round we go. Hearts have a rubbish record at bringing through strikers - FACT. Hearts have an excellent record at bringing through defenders - FACT. Lets prioritise doing something about the former given our alleged strategy is to bring through young players and sell them on. Young strikers who make an impact and score goals for Hearts will be worth lots of money - FACT. Why does it bother you what other teams success rate is ? Its Riccarton that should be of primary concern and Romanov should be asking serious questions (though I doubt he has any idea of the history) about our failure to bring through strikers of sufficient quality. It is actually handicapping his policy.

scott_jambo

Falkirk had 1 player in a decade as have Dundee Utd recently with Goodwillie - the success rate in producing decent quality strikers really is quite low across all teams bar Hibs in one brief period a few years back.

Didnt O'Connor and Riordan not play for Salvy and Leigh Griffiths not play for Hutchie. Cant we just walk doon to Wardie or whatever and take them along to Riccarton, or are we too busy sending scouts down to England to capture Jamie Mole.

Even taking you're skewed figures at face value, what would hearts success rate be using the same criteria?

0%. Yet you seem to be under the illusion that we are doing everything right?

Yes which is to be expected. 12 teams x 4% succes rate x 10 years means that 48% of teams will have produced 1 decent quality player in that decade - which is almost exactl what we have seen - 5 or 6 of the SPL teams have (Hibs, Utd, Motherwell, Killie, Falkirk) and the rest haven't yet.

If only 1 good striker per year on average is being produced by ALL the clubs and most are getting only 1 or 0 per decade does that mean they are ALL doing it wrong most years except for the 1 year they do find an actual star?

Yes which is to be expected.

Sorry, but I don't expect HMFC to go 10 years without producin a striker worthy of the tag. I can't believe any HMFC fan thinks that is a good thing.

12 teams x 4% succes rate x 10 years means that 48% of teams will have produced 1 decent quality player in that decade - which is almost exactl what we have seen - 5 or 6 of the SPL teams have (Hibs, Utd, Motherwell, Killie, Falkirk) and the rest haven't yet.

If only 1 good striker per year on average is being produced by ALL the clubs and most are getting only 1 or 0 per decade does that mean they are ALL doing it wrong most years except for the 1 year they do find an actual star?

Alternatively, 11 decent strikers produced between twelve SPL teams = approximately 1 per team. Where is ours?

I must agree that our recent record in producing strikers through from the academy is down right shocking compared to the amount of defenders and midfielders we have produced.

It's certainly a blind spot in our scouting and needs to be addressed.

However, I am happy enough that Hearts have produced international class defenders and midfielders over the years and if this means that in the future all we are looking to sign is strikers then surely that's an OK level of youth development in anyone's book - no?

I must agree that our recent record in producing strikers through from the academy is down right shocking compared to the amount of defenders and midfielders we have produced.

It's certainly a blind spot in our scouting and needs to be addressed.

However, I am happy enough that Hearts have produced international class defenders and midfielders over the years and if this means that in the future all we are looking to sign is strikers then surely that's an OK level of youth development in anyone's book - no?

On the whole, I'd say our youth development is excellent, and we've produced plenty of good players over the years.

As you've pointed out, the glaring problem is the lack of strikers, and that needs addressed.

:lol: and round and round we go. Hearts have a rubbish record at bringing through strikers - FACT. Hearts have an excellent record at bringing through defenders - FACT. Lets prioritise doing something about the former given our alleged strategy is to bring through young players and sell them on. Young strikers who make an impact and score goals for Hearts will be worth lots of money - FACT. Why does it bother you what other teams success rate is ? Its Riccarton that should be of primary concern and Romanov should be asking serious questions (though I doubt he has any idea of the history) about our failure to bring through strikers of sufficient quality. It is actually handicapping his policy.

I see so the fact that all the other teams have the very same problem in recruiting and producing quality strikers is irrelevant? - somehow you think they can be produced to order or requirement? 10 quality strikers from all 12 clubs in 10+ years shows you just how hard it is to pick/predict forward talent. The few decent players available to Scotland coaches shows that most clubs are failing most of the time given how few decent 'quality' strikers have been produced.

Sorry, but I don't expect HMFC to go 10 years without producin a striker worthy of the tag. I can't believe any HMFC fan thinks that is a good thing.

Alternatively, 11 decent strikers produced between twelve SPL teams = approximately 1 per team. Where is ours?

11 does not equal 12 and you wrongly assume an even distribution which there hasn't been - some clubs have been lucky and had more than 1 whilst others including Hearts have had 0, nobody said it was a good thing but it is not a trivial problem or something that is easily solved - especially when Hearts don't have nor can expect a monopoly on all young talent in Scotland - all we can do is compete and try our best which on the whole i think we do, but then I support Hearts activities you just bemoan them.