Societys gone barking

david mcgee

Asked my ten year old son if he enjoyed playing in the snow when at school yesterday only to be told that they werent allowed out in it.

Whats growing up all about these days?

The PC brigade are ruining society, is it any wonder kids are smashing bus shelters and painting on walls?

For heavens sake let kids grow up naturally, if they cant get rid of their natural exhuberance through play anymore is it any wonder some have pent up aggression.

Asked my ten year old son if he enjoyed playing in the snow when at school yesterday only to be told that they werent allowed out in it.

The PC brigade are ruining society, is it any wonder kids are smashing bus shelters and painting on walls?

For heavens sake let kids grow up naturally, if they cant get rid of their natural exhuberance through play anymore is it any wonder some have pent up aggression.

My kids were told they would get a detention if they were seen touching the snow. Whole country has gone mad.

While I share your sentiments about the schools not letting the children play in/with the snow I'm sure you can see the other side of the coin where if something happened to oneof the kids the schools do not want sued by letigious parents!

This culture of sueing over accidents has led to public funded institutions like schools bricking themselves that their whole budget will be spent on making pay outs to pupils who slipped in the playground and then their parents cry negligence.

Not saying that you would be those parents, but in a sense it is that kind of parent that is forcing the school's hand into being overprotective.

blondejamtart
While I share your sentiments about the schools not letting the children play in/with the snow I'm sure you can see the other side of the coin where if something happened to oneof the kids the schools do not want sued by letigious parents!

This culture of sueing over accidents has led to public funded institutions like schools bricking themselves that their whole budget will be spent on making pay outs to pupils who slipped in the playground and then their parents cry negligence.

Not saying that you would be those parents, but in a sense it is that kind of parent that is forcing the school's hand into being overprotective.

Indeed - that's what will be behind it. When my daughter was at nursery, high winds blew the entrance door back, catching her in the face and leaving her with a scar which she still has to this day. It wouldn't have occurred to me to sue the school - but I bet these days, more than a few parents would be reaching for the phone to call one of those claims firms.

As someone from Minnesota reading this, it seems surreal. I remember when I was 13 and the Governor called off all public school for the entire state one particular day when the windchill was something crazy even buy Minnesota standards (-50 C or thereabouts). With the day off from school, my friends and I all went skiing! :smiley2:

We used to play king of the hill at recess in the winter, a highly intellectual game where one boy would climb up to the top of a large pile of snow (created when the parking lot was shoveled off) and every other boy would attempt to throw him off, whomever was succesful at doing so became the next king of the hill and the process would repeat itself until we all got too tired to bother.

i really hate this pish that kids are worse behaved now than when we were lads ITS total bollocks WE WERE ALL RAGING LITTLE *******S AS WELL :santa5:

Local authorities could start by using some of their budget on insurance policies then.

This has been going on for a while to be honest. When I was in primary school they said that throwing snowballs was not allowed in the playground incase the snowballs had stones in them, incase the snowball hit a younger one in the face, incase it smashed a window, hit a member of the public etc. Too much trouble for the school. It sort of makes sense, if I had a wee child I would agree with this. The power some of the older children could generate in a throw would knock a wee primary 1 kid off their feet IMO. Plenty of time after school to throw snow at busses and houses.

Local authorities could start by using some of their budget on insurance policies then.

I'm sure there are already insurance policies in place. I'll wager some parents will think they can get more by litigation though.

Edit: fwiw - my wee boy's nursery lets him and his class play in the snow.

I'm sure there are already insurance policies in place. I'll wager some parents will think they can get more by litigation though.

Yeah, that's a tough one. Large insurance policies could convince litigous parents there's more money to be had, maybe a nasty feedback loop arises as a result?

My kids school had no nativity play this year as they did not want to upset any ethnic groups, this is also why there is no Santa Claus in the Livingston shopping centre this year!

Even although I'm an athiest, stuff like that really annoys me. It's Christmas FFS!

You should also get on the blower to the school telling them that you assume that there will be absolutely no religious events marked or discussed at all then e.g. Eid, Ramadan etc.

Again, my boy's nursery discuss and do things around Eid, Ramadan etc (which I think is a good thing), but yesterday was the Christmas party and Santa turns up and gives the kids a wee present!

Jobs a good un!

... but don't forget - it probably wasn't anything to do with the monority groups themselves. They won't have asked for Christmas to be cancelled and most likely wouldn't have complained.

People seem to blame the minorities for the do-gooding attitudes of PC whites and councillors. (Not saying that you do BTW)

This has been going on for a while to be honest. When I was in primary school they said that throwing snowballs was not allowed in the playground incase the snowballs had stones in them, incase the snowball hit a younger one in the face, incase it smashed a window, hit a member of the public etc. Too much trouble for the school. It sort of makes sense, if I had a wee child I would agree with this. The power some of the older children could generate in a throw would knock a wee primary 1 kid off their feet IMO. Plenty of time after school to throw snow at busses and houses.

It's a jungle out there isn't it. From primary school to finishing secondary I got into fights, chucked snowballs, got cuts and bruises from fitba and all manner of general mischief. I'm still here bud.

Protecting bairns is fine, just allow for a bit of growing up to be done. No point shielding them from everything.

what school was that

It's a jungle out there isn't it. From primary school to finishing secondary I got into fights, chucked snowballs, got cuts and bruises from fitba and all manner of general mischief. I'm still here bud.

Protecting bairns is fine, just allow for a bit of growing up to be done. No point shielding them from everything.

Yeh true, but when you have a little girl in the playground getting a snow/ice ball to the face, tears everywhere, bloody nose, teachers phoning the parents up at their work telling them to get round the school to pick their children up then it is understandable that the school can do without the trouble.

My kids school had no nativity play this year as they did not want to upset any ethnic groups,

Would be interesting to know if this was official council policy ?

By avoiding the traditional message of Christmas we are pandering to a secular minority and allowing the event to become all about commercialism, presents and self-indulgence. :santa5:

Yeh true, but when you have a little girl in the playground getting a snow/ice ball to the face, tears everywhere, bloody nose, teachers phoning the parents up at their work telling them to get round the school to pick their children up then it is understandable that the school can do without the trouble.

Of course, but things happen don't they. Should the schools ban PE in-case a kid get's hurt? Of course not. My point is it's ridiculous now.

My suggestion, proper supervision while they have a laugh in the snow instead of a blanket ban which ruins the fun for everyone.

I have a wee one on the way, I can see a few visits to her school wondering why she can't play in the snow or why she can't give out Christmas cards in-case it offends some other bairns fud parents.

On the subject of Xmas cards, the boy's nursery respectfully asked that instead of sending individual cards in class, if they wanted to then send one card to the whole class. If you want to give your mucker a card after nursery then cool.

I guess this is to stop kids feeling alone and isolated if they don't get a card? Or I suppose some families may not be able to afford cards, or want to send them but their kid is then ostracised for not...it's a blinkin' minefield!

My oldest boy (Primary 1) spent two hours last week writing cards to all his chums at school, which included "the Janny" and the "dinner ladies", he didn't get to bed til way past his bedtime :santa4:

On Sunday he smashed a snowball in my his wee brothers (20 months) face, I almost chastised him but then thought about it and we just got on with having a family snowball fight.

Fortunately we don't seem to have too much PC nonsense going on at his school from what I can tell, if/when I do hear of it I'll most likely question it if I feel its ridiculous.

Aye, you're right. There was no vandalism until 2001.

I had no nativity play at school in either primary or secondary, throughout the 80's and 90's.

Damn PC do-gooders have gone back to the future!

I had no nativity play at school in either primary or secondary, throughout the 80's and 90's.

What is your point exactly?

The Rudolph Steiner Experiment.

:wink:

The stupidest case of scared to be sued is up in Dundee ,the Edinburgh Zoo tour bus was due to go to a primary school (name i forget ) but the bus couldn't fit in the school gates so parked on the pavement outside ,the school side of the road ,but due to education dept regulations the bus had to leave and go back to the zoo ,as the kids were not allowed out onto the pavement as it was out of school grounds and no risk assessment was available or no supposed proper supervision just incase they ran onto the road .

So the kids had to just watch and wave goodbye from the window as the bus full creepy crawlies etc left and went back to the Zoo .

lol me to in the 70s damn pc do gooders

truth is this daily mail nitivity play bull**** has a hell off a lot more to do with agnostic teachers and parents than any other religion getting offended

Would be interesting to know if this was official council policy ?

By avoiding the traditional message of Christmas we are pandering to a secular minority and allowing the event to become all about commercialism, presents and self-indulgence. :santa5:

secular minority you mean secular majority

When I was at School (at least five years ago) they did not allow snowball fights. Didn't stop it as there was a huge snow ball fight every time it snowed.

Being as childish as we were, always laughed when they put up the sign saying "No Snowballing allowed."

When I was at School (at least five years ago) they did not allow snowball fights. Didn't stop it as there was a huge snow ball fight every time it snowed.

You need to be more careful nowadays....

....the police in America will threaten to shoot you for throwing snowballs.

:peepwall:

A couple of incidents at my kids primary school which pist me off :

we got a letter saying that the school sports day was fast approaching and that the kids had to bring sun cream - which they had to be able to apply themselves as the teachers wouldn't be doing it.

My son was left behind with a few others while the rest of the class went swimming. We went to see the teacher about this after he told us about it and asked what he had done wrong. Nothing , said the teacher. He was left behind because he could already swim - the school's legal responsibility under the national curriculum (sp?) was to TEACH kids to swim. As he could already swim they had no obligation to take him.

A couple of incidents at my kids primary school which pist me off :

we got a letter saying that the school sports day was fast approaching and that the kids had to bring sun cream - which they had to be able to apply themselves as the teachers wouldn't be doing it.

My son was left behind with a few others while the rest of the class went swimming. We went to see the teacher about this after he told us about it and asked what he had done wrong. Nothing , said the teacher. He was left behind because he could already swim - the school's legal responsibility under the national curriculum (sp?) was to TEACH kids to swim. As he could already swim they had no obligation to take him.

Tbf, i can see where the school is coming from with the first point. Some parents are utter arseholes when it comes to other adults laying a finger on their children.

I love how these discussions always, for the most part anyway, ridicule how society has evolved since we were nippers. How great we had it blah, blah blah, yet conveniently ignoring the fact that it is our generation that has created all these ridiculous mindsets/rules for our kids in the first place.

It's our generation that has put all this PC pish out there, not our parents and grandparents.

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

they are east ham david

maltese jambo

seem to remember a snowball fight at my old school (Holy Rood) when a younger lad got his nose broken by one...was a good 10-11 years ago now so i suppose it was just before all this culture of blame and sueing took off.

Also remember people from Porty high comming down with knives, random people entering the school and threatening other kids and many other incidents.

Now, fortunatly, its all fenced off and no doubt the staff would not tolerate certain things that used to go on, i agree in general that political correctness has gone too far but some things are common sence not to be allowed.

I hate to come into this at such a late stage, but I'm in my sixties and I was given the belt for throwing a snowball during the morning break many years ago. So there were similar rules about playing in the snow even back then.

Mind you I was assaulted by a complete stranger using a leather strap, so some progress has been made!

I hate to come into this at such a late stage, but I'm in my sixties and I was given the belt for throwing a snowball during the morning break many years ago. So there were similar rules about playing in the snow even back then.

PWNED

The litigation thing is getting out of hand. No-one clears the snow from in front of their house now because if someone slips hthey can sue! The same goes for shops. In my day everyone cleared the snow and had pride in their community.

I was going to start a new thread for this, but it probably fits in here too:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/highlands_and_islands/8427762.stm

In short: the mother of a child with muscular distrophy has caused her daughter's school's trip to an outdoor activity centre in Inverness to be cancelled because they're worried that she'd sue them for excluding her.

Now, quite aside from the whole PC-or-not-PC question, how can this mother have thought that she was doing her daughter a favour by complaining? The sense of entitlement is staggering.

I was going to start a new thread for this, but it probably fits in here too:

In short: the mother of a child with muscular distrophy has caused her daughter's school's trip to an outdoor activity centre in Inverness to be cancelled because they're worried that she'd sue them for excluding her.

Now, quite aside from the whole PC-or-not-PC question, how can this mother have thought that she was doing her daughter a favour by complaining? The sense of entitlement is staggering.

The school's reaction is also bizarre IMO. Obviously it would've been tough on the kid to be stuck while everyone else went off on the various activities; in which case, couldn't she have been excused and just stayed at home? For this to happen instead is plain weird if you ask me.

When I was at Primary School we were sliding on a frozen puddle in the playground before class started, I slipped and knocked myself out. Came around and went to class as normal.

In High School a bigger boy through a snowball at me from close range, right in the eye. I had to walk around with a pirate style patch on for a week after that.

I didn't sue either time. Bloody should have though.

Mind you I was assaulted by a complete stranger using a leather strap, so some progress has been made!

Same thing happened to me in 1st year at secondary. It takes a special kind of sadist to give someone the belt after they have been throwing snowballs and their hands are freezing cold. Hurt for bloody hours.

Never had any problems with playing in the snow at the schools I attended.

Primary school was on the periphery of Holyrood Park, at Meadowfield, and when it snowed we went out and did what kids do in the snow. If someone got hurt they got on with life, if somebody got excessively wet they went home, got changed and came back to school.

By secondary the teachers wouldn't have dared to stop people playing in the snow. Such teacher intervention just didn't happen at Portobello High School in the 1970's, unless they were very brave.

Same happened at my primary school we had to sit indoors if it snowed. Mind you this was a good 6 years ago. Also when I moved to a primary school in the borders we were told if we so much as threatened anyone with a snowball we would be kept in at break and lunch.

One of the PE teachers used to encourage throwing snowballs, as long as it was away from the school. His reasoning was it'd improve our javelin!

If it snowed while I was at school it was a free for all, go mental which is the way it should be IMO. Rattled a few teachers with some choice snowballs too. Good times.

southside1874
As someone from Minnesota reading this, it seems surreal. I remember when I was 13 and the Governor called off all public school for the entire state one particular day when the windchill was something crazy even buy Minnesota standards (-50 C or thereabouts). With the day off from school, my friends and I all went skiing! :smiley2:

We used to play king of the hill at recess in the winter, a highly intellectual game where one boy would climb up to the top of a large pile of snow (created when the parking lot was shoveled off) and every other boy would attempt to throw him off, whomever was succesful at doing so became the next king of the hill and the process would repeat itself until we all got too tired to bother.

I remember getting off school because the boiler brokedown and we all went out and played in the snow.:santa1:

southside1874

Jeremy Clarkson

Sunday Times 8/11/09

I've given the matter a great deal of thought all week, and I'm afraid I've decided that it's no good putting Peter Mandelson in a prison. I'm afraid he will have to be tied to the front of a van and driven round the country until he isn't alive any more.

He announced last week that middle-class children will simply not be allowed into the country's top universities even if they have 4,000 A-levels, because all the places will be taken by Albanians and guillemots and whatever other stupid bandwagon the conniving idiot has leapt

I hate Peter Mandelson. I hate his fondness for extremely pale blue jeans and I hate that preposterous moustache he used to sport in the days when he didn't bother trying to cover up his left-wing fanaticism. I hate the way he quite literally lords it over us even though he's resigned in disgrace twice, and now holds an important decision-making job for which he was not elected. Mostly, though, I hate him because his one-man war on the bright and the witty and the successful means that half my friends now seem to be taking leave of their senses.

There's talk of emigration in the air. It's everywhere I go. Parties. Work. In the supermarket.

My daughter is working herself half to death to get good grades at GSCE and can't see the point because she won't be going to university, because she doesn't have a beak or flippers or a qualification in washing windscreens at the lights. She wonders, often, why we don't live in America

Then you have the chaps and chapesses who can't stand the constant raids on their wallets and their privacy. They can't understand why they are taxed at 50% on their income and then taxed again for driving into the nation's capital. They can't understand what happened to the hunt for the weapons of mass destruction. They can't understand anything. They see the Highway Wombles in those brand new 4x4s that they paid for, and they see the M4 bus lane and they see the speed cameras and the community support officers and they see the Albanians stealing their wheelbarrows and nothing can be done because it's racist.

And they see Alistair Darling handing over ?4,350 of their money to not sort out the banking crisis that he doesn't understand because he's a small-town solicitor, and they see the stupid war on drugs and the war on drink and the war on smoking and the war on hunting and the war on fun and the war on scientists and the obsession with the climate and the price of train fares soaring past ?1,000 and the Guardian power-brokers getting uppity about one shot baboon and not uppity at all about all the dead soldiers in Afghanistan, and how they got rid of Blair only to find the lying twerp is now going to come back even more powerful than ever, and they think, "I've had enough of this. I'm off."

It's a lovely idea, to get out of this stupid, Fairtrade, Brown-stained, Mandelson-skewed, equal-opportunities, multicultural, carbon-neutral, trendily left, regionally assembled, big-government, trilingual, mosque-drenched, all-the-pigs-are-equal, property-is-theft hellhole and set up shop somewhere else. But where?

You can't go to France because you need to complete 17 forms in triplicate every time you want to build a greenhouse, and you can't go to Switzerland because you will be reported to your neighbours by the police and subsequently shot in the head if you don't sweep your lawn properly, and you can't go to Italy because you'll soon tire of waking up in the morning to find a horse's head in your bed because you forgot to give a man called Don a bundle of used notes for "organising" a plumber.

You can't go to Australia because it's full of things that will eat you, you can't go to New Zealand because they don't accept anyone who is more than 40 and you can't go to Monte Carlo because they don't accept anyone who has less than 40 mill. And you can't go to Spain because you're not called Del and you weren't involved in the Walthamstow blag. And you can't go to Germany ... because you just can't.

The Caribbean sounds tempting, but there is no work, which means that one day, whether you like it or not, you'll end up like all the other expats, with a nose like a burst beetroot, wondering if it's okay to have a small sharpener at 10 in the morning. And, as I keep explaining to my daughter, we can't go to America because if you catch a cold over there, the health system is designed in such a way that you end up without a house. Or dead.

Canada's full of people pretending to be French, South Africa's too risky, Russia's worse and everywhere else is too full of snow, too full of flies or too full of people who want to cut your head off on the internet. So you can dream all you like about upping sticks and moving to a country that doesn't help itself to half of everything you earn and then spend the money it gets on bus lanes and advertisements about the dangers of salt. But wherever you go you'll wind up an alcoholic or dead or bored or in a cellar, in an orange jumpsuit, gently wetting yourself on the web. All of these things are worse than being persecuted for eating a sandwich at the wheel.

I see no reason to be miserable. Yes, Britain now is worse than it's been for decades, but the lunatics who've made it so ghastly are on their way out. Soon, they will be back in Hackney with their South African nuclear-free peace polenta. And instead the show will be run by a bloke whose dad has a wallpaper shop and possibly, terrifyingly, a twerp in Belgium whose fruitless game of hunt-the-WMD has netted him ?15m on the lecture circuit.

So actually I do see a reason to be miserable. Which is why I think it's a good idea to tie Peter Mandelson to a van. Such an act would be cruel and barbaric and inhuman. But it would at least cheer everyone up a bit. onto in the meantime.

.. how can this mother have thought that she was doing her daughter a favour by complaining? The sense of entitlement is staggering.

The answer to your question is in the article :-.

.. she would have been asked to film them kayaking and doing the things she would love to do but she cannot do and I thought that was psychologically a pretty cruel thing to ask a child to do."

She's right.

On the other hand life's cruel but the school have made provision for the child to undertake less strenous activities. That places them free from discrimination imo.

In the end she can't canoe or hold a bow...nothing the education authorities can do will change this and shouldn't lead to banning of kayaking or archery for everyone.

All the mum will have suceeded in doing is present herself (and her daughter) as a killjoy.

What her mum's done is ensure she's seen as a kill

Jeremy Clarkson

Sunday Times 8/11/09

What a whiny piece of ****. Boo-****ing-hoo. I'm delighted that society is going to the dog's if it means one more second of displeasure to this whining ****bag of a man.