Remembrance service attendance

I got there at 10.15 and got on the island , couldnt see much and i was near the front.

When he announced the Hearts chairman I though dosnt look like a Romanov to me....

Good on Christophe Berra for reading the letter ..

• Replies 122
Old Pivotonian
Maybe nobody asked?

All the above will have gone through, I'm sure, a statutory process to temporarily close the road(s). Similar applies in towns down here for "Riding of the marches" type events, even for their relatively short closures of an hour or two. Maybe someone needs to actually investigate/pursue that in future? (Sorry, but I'm unclear who actually organises this).

I certainly wouldn't want to make political capital out of this, and I'm not trying to stir up trouble over what is IMHO an excellently organised event, but if anyone has a suggestion or comments for TIE/ Chief Constable/ Council/ HMFC over how the service is managed then the Fans Forum would be happy to pass that on to the appropriate people.

Email me at [email protected] or come along to the AGM on the 17th .

I think I was standing right next to you Rod:) I had a dark suit, black shirt and sun glasses on.

Aha. It's always good to put a face to the cyber name.

Good service I thought.

As an aside, did you, or anybody else, see that really cool "cruiser" motorbike in maroon with the Hearts crest on each side of the tank. How cool was that!!! Superb.

Anyhow, take care Boo, keep the Heart in Hearts.

Cheers,

Rod.

I was there. The performance of the PA system didn't spoil things for me. It's all about the occasion and paying one's respects.

Heart of Midlothian FC - the world's FINEST football club bar none.

robin hood jambo

I saw Stevie Banks at the service with the playing staff, which i thought showed the caracter of Banksy considering his situation with the club at the mo.

Aha. It's always good to put a face to the cyber name.

Good service I thought.

As an aside, did you, or anybody else, see that really cool "cruiser" motorbike in maroon with the Hearts crest on each side of the tank. How cool was that!!! Superb.

Anyhow, take care Boo, keep the Heart in Hearts.

Cheers,

Rod.

thats one of our own posters actually.

the only blight on the day for me was the person who shoved their 2 "kids" in front of us before anything started cos they had wreaths to lay. they were both far taller than me, not children and if must have known the laying of wreaths was at the end of the service.

the wreaths looked wonderful though, and i'm still thinking about this morning and all it represents.

Definitely a bigger crowd this morning than there's been in the few years I've been going. Definitely felt there was slightly more than 500.

The PA system would have been fine if the road had been closed. Traffic coming down Morrison Street would probably be OK, but surely the traffic coming down Dalry Road could have been held for the duration and the traffic from Murrayfield sent down Palmerston Place instead?

Poignant service - the speakers and the musicians did a great job.

Special mention to Craig Herbertson. The accoustic version of Hearts of Glory was loud, proud and simply stunning. If you were to elease an accoustic version like that on disc, I'm certain that it would fly of the shelves - a must have for all Hearts supporters and an opportunity to raise some pennies for the Great War Memorial?

i'd certainly be in line to buy it.

been trying to find the song for ages, and not been able to. it really was a stunning performance

i'd certainly be in line to buy it.

been trying to find the song for ages, and not been able to. it really was a stunning performance

You can pick up the Hearts of Glory album in the club shop Bev, and the track itself is also on iTunes.

I definitely prefer the stripped down raw version we heard today though.

Even altho traffic stopped from 10.55 to 11.05, the Polis should have asked drivers to cut their engines as a taxi's diesel engine chugging away at bottom of Morrison Street was over-noisy throughout the 2 minute silence - would've helped global warming situation a bit as well - I'm sure traffic situation could be worked out better - apart from that it was a proud time and made one glad not to have been involved in any war, especially WW1, more of a carnage than having a fighting chance, literally.

Poignant moment Berra reading that letter - brought it all home.

thats one of our own posters actually.

the only blight on the day for me was the person who shoved their 2 "kids" in front of us before anything started cos they had wreaths to lay. they were both far taller than me, not children and if must have known the laying of wreaths was at the end of the service.

the wreaths looked wonderful though, and i'm still thinking about this morning and all it represents.

And I thought it would be the two large cups of drinks that you were balancing when crossing the road that would block your view :P

Another point about the traffic was that every bus that passed had a advert on the side for Zack and Miri Make a Porno :mad:

I noticed the same. Personally, I didn't have a major problem with the traffic situation, and I don't really see the comparison with the fireworks/hogmanay etc., but I couldn't help thinking the frequent fly-bys of Seth Rogen's puss and the cretinous film title was slightly distasteful.

An excellent, moving service that reminds me how lucky I am to be a Jambo. Best club in the world, bar none.

Sound system was better than last year imo.

Traffic as has been the same for the last 3 services i have attended was a joke.

I never realised until today that "Hearts Of Glory" had two verses i did not know about, was a great touch having Craig singing.

Broxburn Jambo

I attended with my wife and grandson and to-days service was one of the most moving I have attended, football aside this service always reminds me that being a Jambo is very special.

Sound system was better than last year imo.

Traffic as has been the same for the last 3 services i have attended was a joke.

I never realised until today that "Hearts Of Glory" had two verses i did not know about, was a great touch having Craig singing.

They're on the album - the shorter version was produced for the single

This is my story

This is my song

It's a long way from Gorgie

To the fields o' the Somme

Where they played tunes of glory

As we marched along

The pals o' the Sporting Battalion

From the Heart of Midlothian

To the Waverly train

The crowds they were singing

An auld Scots refrain

Our sweethearts and darlings

Our bonnie wee bairns

Were waving their flags

And calling our names

Sing Hearts of Glory

Dawn and sunset

Hearts of glory

Lest we forget

Young Scottish soldiers

And soldiers unknown

Who gave hearts of glory

In the trenches of Picardy

The whistles are blown

And it's over the top lads

Through the wire and the bombs

To pain and destruction

Let the piper play

To lead us to hell

To death and dismay

There was never a moment

I was not afraid

But there by my side

Were the gallant McCrae's

Until they fell in the slaughter

When the bayonets were out

And the few of us left

Held the auld Scots Redoubt

Ellis and Currie

Briggs, Boyd, Hazeldean

Wattie and Nisbet

He was only sixteen

Their names I'll remember

At the end of each day

They fought and died

Wi' Geordie McCrae

Who cared for the Kaiser

Or Imperial gains

Love of our country

Duty or fame?

Between the whim of an airman

And four feathers of shame

We fought for the pals

Of a wee fitba team

And when it was over

Just what had we done?

There were no flags of glory

For McCrae and his own

There were no graves for heroes

For our brothers and sons

Who sleep 'neath the flowers

In the fields of the Somme

Some came back as cripples

Some couldnae kick a ball

Some wounded and broken

Most came not at all

But they remain in my memory

Forever young

The pals o' the Sporting Battalion

Sing Hearts of Glory

Dawn and sunset

Hearts of glory

Lest we forget

Young Scottish soldiers

And soldiers unknown

Who gave hearts of glory

First time in years that we could not make it as we were up north visiting. We did however checked the time and held a wee quite minute on our own in rememberence. Great news about the turnout at Haymarket so sad not to be there. Just heard on BBC there that the "supreme sacrafice" about the 1914 team becomming the 'C' company of the 16th Battalion of the Royal Scots is on Wednesday night BBC1 at 10.45, will watch it when I get back from Tynie. We should never forget!

I was part of a fairly large crowd watching from across the road and it really was such a pity that the traffic was allowed to pass through.

Still, a very sombre occasion and I was very glad to have been there, despite the temperatures.

Hopefully the beatiful clock tower will return sooner rather than later.

Proud to support HMFC. LWF.

Wanted to go today but had work. The Gyle had its two minutes silence but there were a couple of arses who just kept walking around shopping while the majority remained still.

Hopefully I'll be able to go to Haymarket next year. Sounds like a very moving service.

Son Of Anarchy

Gutted I couldnt get off work today.Well done to those who attended.Will definately make it next year.HMFC will always be special for many reasons,but none more so than the fact we had Mccraes Battalion.I urge everybody to watch the programme on wednesday night.EVERY HOUSEHOLD IN THE UK SHOULD KNOW THIER STORY,but little has ever been told like on the first day of the war they got further than any other regiment in the British Army.Im just back from Contalmaison a few weeks ago,and it takes your breath away.Humbling.I love my club,I love my Country.LEST WE FORGET

I've not attended for a couple of years, but I thought today's service was a credit to all involved and made me feel rather shamed at not having been present at the last couple.

My only gripe (apart from having my view blocked by Mr Obua :) ) was the Scotrail annoucement from Haymarket mid way through the silence, surely this can be pointed out to them so it can be avoided in future, it's not difficult to postpone announcements for 60 seconds!

I thought the speakers were all excellent and I was pleased to see such a strong turn out from youth and first team players past and present.

A weekend to be proud of Heart of Midlothian Football Club.

blondejamtart

We couldn't go, as son had a game this morning (although both teams observed the silence beautifully), but I'm quite touched just reading all the reports from those who were there.

I do feel though, that it is a pity the traffic wasn't stopped (along with the announcements and other little irritations on such an occasion). Surely it isn't too much to ask for?

It is though, as others have remarked, one of those things which really does make you proud to be a Jambo.

First time this year very good turn out from all, even the hearts players i even had the honour to lay the wreath for the "Freinds of the memorial" very moving day.

have to have a special mention for the guy in front of us!!!!!!!:mad:

the hibee with consumption ted?

he was disgusting. redm said everytim he coughed, he spat.

Sounds lovely.

thats the one :boak it was right in shell's eyesight and at her feet and every time he crossed himself he just about took her head off.

That aside, he still turned up though.

Not having a pop, he does sound rather disgusting, but he still showed up so fair play to him for that.

I don't know if it was the same guy, but one of the wreath layers had a hibs tie on. Fair play at least they turned up.

That aside, he still turned up though.

Not having a pop, he does sound rather disgusting, but he still showed up so fair play to him for that.

yeah we said that at the time too.

he spoke to redm a bit, but i managed to zone him out. he said to her that he didn't know what it was for, but his mates had told him there was a memorial service at haymarket today, so he thought he'd come along.

i think he was slightly touched

at least he was there, just wish he'd stood somewhere else.

I don't know if it was the same guy, but one of the wreath layers had a hibs tie on. Fair play at least they turned up.

Hibs are always represented and lay a wreath - respect to them for that.

The guy that tedp6873 refers to looked like an eccentric thespian type. Fair enough to cross yourself during a religious service, however, this guy took it to extremes. At one point it looked like he was trying to conduct the band.

Anyway...............

I thought the service was a huge success once again, and the turnout was commendable. I was particularly pleased with the kids from the two schools who laid wreaths - a huge thank you and well done to them.

One thing we have to consider for the future is the PA system. It was excellent where we stood, however, I understand that for those further back, many of them did not hear the service. We need to improve that!

All in all a highly successful day; one to make us proud of our story.

spot on john

well done to all involved in the committee, all the organisers and everyone who turned up. it was a special morning.

Surprised to be standing next to a guy in a Celtic training top. Was with his asian girfriend who was asking what it was all about. He seemed pretty au fait with the story - shows that they are not all morons. His girl got bored and dragged him away shortly after the silence.

Goodmorningmrfisherman
First time I've ever been and enjoyed it, think I'll make it a yearly thing from now on.

Thats what I like to hear.

Make a point of it and you will never regret it.

Proud to be part of the Heart of midlothian football club on special days like today.

good pic there thanks

i thought i saw someone shooting pics from around about where you were out the window!

next to the advertising hoardings.

I am involved with hospital radio in Edinburgh and have been for some time.

Tonight I played "Hearts of glory" as the last song of the evening before we tuned the patients back to radio 2! I explained a little about the song as best as I could and told everyone how amazing it sounded this morning.

As we had competition prize winners in the Western general I was up in one of the wards after 10pm. I was so happy to have patients ask me about the song and where they could buy it. I felt proud to support our team and happy to know that more folk now know a little more about the bravery of these men.

May we always remember.

A very proud to be but humbled Heart's fan

Geddy

Excellent service this year.

I thought that the turn out was good, although it is really hard to tell when in amongst it. The way the service was done was perfect IMO, hopefully it will be that way for years to come.

I thought it was superb that Frail came, he has been here before as he had to, however yesterday nobody made him come, he came off his own back. He deserves a lot of respect for that.

I agree with Seymour re the roads, for us to get the roads closed for the whole service, we would need to get far greater numbers than we did yesterday.

I also went to the Royal Scots lunch, a fantastic lunch that I will certainly aim to add to my rememberance day routine.

Excellent service this year.

I thought that the turn out was good, although it is really hard to tell when in amongst it. The way the service was done was perfect IMO, hopefully it will be that way for years to come.

I thought it was superb that Frail came, he has been here before as he had to, however yesterday nobody made him come, he came off his own back. He deserves a lot of respect for that.

I agree with Seymour re the roads, for us to get the roads closed for the whole service, we would need to get far greater numbers than we did yesterday.

I also went to the Royal Scots lunch, a fantastic lunch that I will certainly aim to add to my rememberance day routine.

Stevie Frail also used to come in years gone by in between him being an (ex-)player before he became youth team coach, Dave McPherson & a couple of others from that time also made some non-obligatory appearances.

If the club haven't already tried, they eally need to approach those in authority and get the traffic stopped for the entire service. It's disgraceful that every year the sound of traffic drowns out everything else.

Never going to happen as long as the numbers are less than a thousand (or about that). For the police to close the roads, we need a heck of a lot more people to come along.