Forgotten players

Jambo_Gaz

Justin Fashanu! I remember he scored a raker, was it against Aberdeen maybe??

Made his name by scoring a screamer against Liverpool for Norwich.

Notts Forest paid a million for him soon after and he flopped in a big a way as you can. Not one of Clough/Taylors best moves. 100k they got back from Notts Cty IIRC.

Can remember him missing a very good chance at Rangers - as well as waving to the fans whenever his name was chanted - not much else apart from that.

• Replies 133
League Cup semi at Easter Road.

We won 3-1, wore maroon.

Hammy scored though.

You sure about the maroon?

Paille played?

He only scored once and was against Partick Thistle.

It was either a mis-hit or a deflection.

Whatever it was - it was not a 'raker'.

Hmmm, i was but a bairn (dangerous in hindsight!) but it was defo from distance. Now i think, it was a big deflection, 25-30 yards, right hand side of the box! Maybe no tho.

What about my boardname!!!!!!!!!! Ian Baird!!!!!!!!! That was a player. Maybe.

Hehehehehe

Brilliant.

On seconds thoughts....

I may be getting confused with him peddling coke.

On seconds thoughts....

I may be getting confused with him peddling coke.

BOOM TSH!

And of course, who can forget Mo Berthe.

JJ lost the plot towards the end.

:sad:

Glyn Snodin (sp)

Great left foot. Scored a great last minute free-kick against, erm, someone in europe.. Anyway, i liked him!

Dirk Diggler
You sure about the maroon?

Paille played?

He did, and as DH says he scored.

And we did wear maroon, possibly all maroon strips and shorts if memory serves me correctly.

He did, and as DH says he scored.

And we did wear maroon, possibly all maroon strips and shorts if memory serves me correctly.

**** know where Im getting the Yellow from.

:wacko:

He was horrific.

Talking of horrific.......

Darren Beckford.

I'll see your Darren Beckford and raise you a Brian Hamilton

There hasn't half been some plums playing for us over the years! Another few I can think of are Mo Berthe, Paul Cherry, Jim Love, Jim Weir, Dave Kirkwood, Paul Smith, Malcolm Murray, Stuart Gauld, Ally Mauchlen, Kevin James, Kevin Twaddle.......loads more, not including the amount of muppets since Vlad came in!

Cat Stevens

Derek Holmes (I'm sure he had lower league success down south)

Vincent Guerin

Robert Thomascheck

The infamous Mo Berthe

Darren Beckford (I once heard of Andy Goram referring to him as Gazza's negative on a night out in Montpelliers between a mix of Rangers and Hearts players)

There hasn't half been some plums playing for us over the years! Another few I can think of are Mo Berthe, Paul Cherry, Jim Love, Jim Weir, Dave Kirkwood, Paul Smith, Malcolm Murray, Stuart Gauld, Ally Mauchlen, Kevin James, Kevin Twaddle.......loads more, not including the amount of muppets since Vlad came in!

I seem to remember Dave Krkwood being ok, got moved back to sweeper occassionally and looked like a good reader of the game. How I formed tat opinion at the age of 9 i dont know, but thats what i remember!!

Dirk Diggler

We did wear Yellow at Dens park in a league game I think.

Possibly a couple of years earlier.

I think we got beat and it was never worn again.

At least i think it was yellow.

Pat McShane -- forward and Pat Byrne -- midfield -- from Leicester City I think

and of course Crawford Boyd -- what a player !! ;)

Pat Byrne was a great players for one season (I think the year we stayed down).

IIRC Hearts agreed that the next year he could live in Dublin and they would fly him over for the games.

He never kicked a ball.

Derek Holmes (I'm sure he had lower league success down south)

Vincent Guerin

Robert Thomascheck

The infamous Mo Berthe

Darren Beckford (I once heard of Andy Goram referring to him as Gazza's negative on a night out in Montpelliers between a mix of Rangers and Hearts players)

VG, great pedigree, was he pish for us, i dont rmbr....??

No bad, unlucky with injuries, eh.

Might have done.

Colin Cramb.

We played at Dens Park a couple of years later in yellow I think.

Infact I'm sure we went bottom of the League that day.

I seem to remember Dave Krkwood being ok, got moved back to sweeper occassionally and looked like a good reader of the game. How I formed tat opinion at the age of 9 i dont know, but thats what i remember!!

I remember my old man slating him constantly and calling him a poser was one memory of Kirkwood, along with a lot of sighing in the stands!

I think we got beat and it was never worn again.

At least i think it was yellow.

We did have two different yellow strips in the 90's, one was ALL yellow(shorts and socks), the other was a mis-match of colours, think it was yellow with black sleeves, maroon UNDER the sleeves, black shorts with maroon trim.....it was awful! Think i've got a couple of games on tape where it was worn, Raith Rovers I think was one, Bruno got sent off and maybe Gary Locke too?

Hawick Jambo

I'll trump you all with the sight of Leigh Jenkinson running (!) down the wing in maroon.

Forced me to move to Hawick

Best comedy award by a Hearts striker...Gary McSwegan missing 3 sitters in a row against Kilmarnock!

Andy Thorne!

Was he not the 1 Game legend, Jeffries brought in on loan??

I also remember Fitzroy Simpson, Juanjo, Willy Oufioe(sp?) & Dennis Wyness being let down's

but the biggest one I was looking to be banging the goals in for the JT's was Ramon "The Mullet" Periera....I thought he looked stonking but hey:rolleyes:

tommythejambo

Wilfred Quofelio (sp?)

Played one game for us against Rangers and was never heard from again.

Mirsad Beslija

Payed a fortune for him, has hardly played, is on crutches again, has a contract for another year, and doesn't even get a squad number - I win.

This may be seen as a bit flippant, but I genuinely would have added Stephen Frail to that list 2 years ago....

In fairness to Stephen McFrail he genuinely was a pretty decent player

Frail was a good player for us, one of Sandy Clark's best signings. I remember the goal he scored against Aberdeen at Tynie 94/95 season under Tommy McLean, came of the right wing, looked for someone to pass to, changed his mind and rifled a rightfoot shot into the top of the net, I was at Tannadice when he got his bad injury aswell, was a decent player for us, shame about that injury.

wot about hans eskillson he was rank

Yup.

Another strange one, Benfica paid over a million for him as well.

Who scouts these players??

Paisley Jambo
those two goals bought him about an extra 6 months in the team doing feck all.

I know what you mean but it was surely worth it as that game is a legendry for all the right reasons. :):107years:

I'll put forward Allan Moore(rubbish), Iain Jardine(thought he was better than Kenny Black), Billy McCann and Colin MacAdam.

comradejambo
Yup.

Another strange one, Benfica paid over a million for him as well.

Who scouts these players??

Apparently Hans is now a professional poker player nowadays. He must have found his true calling :)

Paisley Jambo
In fairness to Stephen McFrail he genuinely was a pretty decent player

Agreed. Injury robbed us of a good one there. :sad:

Jimmy McNulty
Pat McShane -- forward and Pat Byrne -- midfield -- from Leicester City I think

and of course Crawford Boyd -- what a player !! ;)

Christ, why does Pat have to be dragged into these threads? Number 4 was my favorite player at the time, along with Paul O'Brien (number 10).

vlad on the tyne

petras,willie mainge,kevin queen,stracheny,myles hogarth,kizys,george wright,andy bruce,david *****in hagen

Georgie-boy did no too bad for himself.....

Did anyone see the TV series he presented wi Jo Guest??? Lucky beggar! He probably entered her too!

Paisley Jambo
Was the guy Marinello who played for the Hobos the same guy as who lined up for us in the early 80s?

Yes

Was the guy Marinello who played for the Hobos the same guy as who lined up for us in the early 80s?

One and the same.

Great player for Arsenal,mince for us.Granted there was about a ten year gap between the two.

vlad on the tyne
Georgie-boy did no too bad for himself.....

Did anyone see the TV series he presented wi Jo Guest??? Lucky beggar! He probably entered her too!

did wrighty get her pumped aye? :eek:

it must have been the only box old georgie boy ventured into and scored!!!

is he not an agent now?

Christ, why does Pat have to be dragged into these threads? Number 4 was my favorite player at the time, along with Paul O'Brien (number 10).

He was a real waste of what looked like a great talent as a youngster.

did wrighty get her pumped aye? :eek:

it must have been the only box old georgie boy ventured into and scored!!!

is ne not an agent now?

I canny confirm one way or the other, but i do like to think that a mediocre Hearts central midfielder pigsticked Joanne Guest. So, I'm gonnae say YES!!

badly drawn boy
Cant remember **** all about him mate. Think that tells its own story!

Peter Van Der Ven - now there was a man who could wear a tache.

Dutch porn star , decent player

If the thread is about forgotten players rather than humpty ones then :-

(some would also qualify for the humpty list!)

Derek Renton

Wilson Wood

Neil Murray

Thompson Allan

Ralph Callachan

Des O'Sullivan

Steve hamilton

Jim Denny

Brian Mcneil

Archie Whyte

Gary Liddell

Derek Strickland