Pasquale for King Posted February 21 Posted February 21 19 minutes ago, John Findlay said: If the new owners are indeed Catholic, I would love if they decided that they would have a Catholic only signing policy🤣 Like Hibs 😱 Quote
HoGwash Posted February 21 Posted February 21 If these guys already own Leeds, how are they able to take over Rangers? Is there not an SFA rule that limits owners of other clubs to a 25% stake in a Scottish club, like the Black Knights with H1b5. Quote
theshed Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Have no real interest in this and don’t bother reading about it so can someone tell me is this going ahead or just the Scottish media getting excited about nothing? Quote
studo Posted February 21 Posted February 21 San FranSevco Lifted from The Herald opinion page: Is your football club skint? Tick Are you struggling to find the money to pay your bills? Tick Is your domestic season over in February? Tick Did you recently suffer the worst result in your short but hilarious history? Tick Are your supporters tired of being constantly ridiculed by their most hated rivals? Tick Is your manager a clown but you can't afford to pay him off? Tick Are you expecting Hector at the front door again looking for the R&D money back? Tick Do you have to start finding £4.5 million to pay for Oscar Cortes in the months ahead? Tick Are you about to ask your fanbase to fork out hundreds of pounds for another season of the same old p1sh? Tick Do you need to find a reason to pull the wool over their eyes yet again? Tick We've got the perfect solution. Make up some hilarious story about more people with wealth off the radar who are desperate to pump millions of pounds into your tribute act of a club. Feed it to all your compliant gimps in the media. All your brain-dead gullible fans will buy into it, give you all their money, then in the summer you can give them the bad news that the deal has fallen through at the last minute for some unknown mysterious reason. It's almost season book renewal time at Sevco folks!!! Quote
Rogue Daddy Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, michael_bolton said: They would only see the risk as anyone else being competitive. For investors like this there is no real financial benefit to be made from Scottish football. Even if the tv deal was improved by a factor of seven or eight, which it won't be, it still wouldn't really be worth major investment. Anyone looking at investing in the Old Firm is looking at European revenue initially, and then possibly being part of a super league set up down the line. Nothing other than completely dominating the Scottish set up is worth it to them. They'll have no interest in a genuinely competitive SPFL. If we were to qualify for the Champions League ahead of Rangers, their investment would be a waste of time. This is what I don't get.... or, at least, I don't understand why the uglies have difficulty getting their heads around it. An uncompetitive league, whlie making them richer, undermines their 'standing' in Europe. Our league will never generate transfer fees the likes of the other European leagues, the uglies will never be relevant in Europe and it's because of THEMSELVES. It's because there is no competition, it's because the SFA/SPFL the media and everyone else bend over backwards to ensure NOBODY competes with them. They're their own worst enemy. The stronger they get in Scotland (the poorer everyone else gets) and the more irrelevant they become in Europe.Yet EVERYTHING is set up for the benefit both of them ONLY. Year on year. Until there is league reconstruction and a TV deal that benefits everyone equally - there will be no competition. And the uglies will continue to be even less relevant in Europe. Quote
RENE Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Has any news feed mentioned the SFA rules re multi club ownership? Quote
Dunks Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 minutes ago, RENE said: Has any news feed mentioned the SFA rules re multi club ownership? Aye. Rubber stamped already as "no material impact". Rangers and SFA boards are standing round a digestive biscuit as I type. Quote
Byyy The Light Posted February 21 Posted February 21 11 minutes ago, Rogue Daddy said: This is what I don't get.... or, at least, I don't understand why the uglies have difficulty getting their heads around it. An uncompetitive league, whlie making them richer, undermines their 'standing' in Europe. Our league will never generate transfer fees the likes of the other European leagues, the uglies will never be relevant in Europe and it's because of THEMSELVES. It's because there is no competition, it's because the SFA/SPFL the media and everyone else bend over backwards to ensure NOBODY competes with them. They're their own worst enemy. The stronger they get in Scotland (the poorer everyone else gets) and the more irrelevant they become in Europe.Yet EVERYTHING is set up for the benefit both of them ONLY. Year on year. Until there is league reconstruction and a TV deal that benefits everyone equally - there will be no competition. And the uglies will continue to be even less relevant in Europe. This is my point as to why I hope a change of ownership might bring about change. It's the only way anybody would be able to make a return in Scottish football. The more unbalanced and uncompetitive the league gets, the lower the standard of player will want to play in the league. It's a self fulfilling death spiral and all Rangers, Celtic and the authorities do is tell the rest of the clubs to do better. Quote
RENE Posted February 21 Posted February 21 If SFA allow the takeover by 49ers and I was Hibs (even saying it makes me feel dirty) I'd raise the roof. I think the guy who took over at St Johnstone (?) sold his share in a club down south. Quote
michael_bolton Posted February 21 Posted February 21 19 minutes ago, Rogue Daddy said: This is what I don't get.... or, at least, I don't understand why the uglies have difficulty getting their heads around it. An uncompetitive league, whlie making them richer, undermines their 'standing' in Europe. Our league will never generate transfer fees the likes of the other European leagues, the uglies will never be relevant in Europe and it's because of THEMSELVES. It's because there is no competition, it's because the SFA/SPFL the media and everyone else bend over backwards to ensure NOBODY competes with them. They're their own worst enemy. The stronger they get in Scotland (the poorer everyone else gets) and the more irrelevant they become in Europe.Yet EVERYTHING is set up for the benefit both of them ONLY. Year on year. Until there is league reconstruction and a TV deal that benefits everyone equally - there will be no competition. And the uglies will continue to be even less relevant in Europe. I think this line of thinking made sense a decade or more ago, but is less relevant now. Domestic leagues are largely being sidelined, especially outside the Big Four. Your standing as a club depends entirely on Europe, outwith the Premier League with all its money. Celtic have shown this season that a level of success/relvance in the Champions League is possible with the right investment, and Rangers will see that as where they ultimately want to be. For all of the smaller leagues now the situation is the same. Essentially nobody cares. A more competitve Scottish league would go largely unnoticed outwith our own borders. It's not an issue. Quote
Hømme Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Just when you think we can close the gap due to JA they come in with fresh investment. On paper a potential great deal for them. They might end up better run as a result. The challenge continues for us. Quote
jamboy1982 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Anyone who thinks these guys will come in and rangers will start spending big are deluded. Any time anyone is linked with buying the tribute act it’s always a billionaire, or someone with off the radar wealth. Same with any player they are linked with, a wonderkid or superstar and they turn out to be gash. Media frenzy building it up. You’d have to be mental to pump 50/60 million into a Scottish club. You’d never recoup that money never mind make a profit on it. Quote
gordon simpson Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, jamboy1982 said: Anyone who thinks these guys will come in and rangers will start spending big are deluded. Any time anyone is linked with buying the tribute act it’s always a billionaire, or someone with off the radar wealth. Same with any player they are linked with, a wonderkid or superstar and they turn out to be gash. Media frenzy building it up. You’d have to be mental to pump 50/60 million into a Scottish club. You’d never recoup that money never mind make a profit on it. 49ers are exploring selling 10% for $9 billion of their franchise they will be swamped with cash, £60 million is peanuts to them Quote
Hømme Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, jamboy1982 said: Anyone who thinks these guys will come in and rangers will start spending big are deluded. Any time anyone is linked with buying the tribute act it’s always a billionaire, or someone with off the radar wealth. Same with any player they are linked with, a wonderkid or superstar and they turn out to be gash. Media frenzy building it up. You’d have to be mental to pump 50/60 million into a Scottish club. You’d never recoup that money never mind make a profit on it. You would be equally deluded to think it will make no difference. Quote
Nerja Jambo Posted February 21 Posted February 21 This is a great thing for Scottish football. If both Rangers and Celtic continue to become bigger and bigger the day will come when they will leave SF. The next stage for European football is the elite league whereby only the most financially wealthy will take part and that will include those 2. I long for the day. Quote
Ex member of the SaS Posted February 21 Posted February 21 8 hours ago, JFK-1 said: I saw someone say that their current share value is around £100 million and that the shareholders would expect a premium price to sell, so there's that. But I think the two biggest shareholders are Dave King and Dougie Park and I don't see them playing hardball over this. They will get a nice payout and King has been trying to get that payout for some years. He was trying to sell to the fans at some point. But judging from the commentary on it saying it's at an advanced stage the Americans obviously know all this but would appear to be continuing with it regardless. Also if they do go through with it I don't see them settling for the status quo of Celtic being dominant which would also cost even more money. I expect an entity like this throwing around money like that has something along the lines of at least a 5 year plan to make CL and Rangers could already have actually done that this season with investment even though they weren't league winners, I don't know how much longer second place gets a shot at it. The CL is mega bucks and rising so I would think this looks as good a bet as any to make it which would likely be impossible with Leeds because the EPL is too competitive and it takes mega bucks to get a CL spot, a lot cheaper in Scotland. An entity like that would also enjoy the prestige of taking a side from a smaller league into the CL and trying to make some sort of impact there. If it goes through we might hope it could somehow expand an international viewership for Scottish football in general. Pretty sure I read their shares are trading at around 20p/share. They also appear to have issued more in the last week or so but I can't be 100% sure of that. If so the 20p is too high. Quote
rory78 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Doesn't matter really Celtic will romp the league for many years time and probably get 10 in a row,Celtic could've went all out and splurged all that wonga in the bank but probably have it set aside incase Rangers managed to get their finances fixed anyway Quote
hmfc1440 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 14 minutes ago, Nerja Jambo said: This is a great thing for Scottish football. If both Rangers and Celtic continue to become bigger and bigger the day will come when they will leave SF. The next stage for European football is the elite league whereby only the most financially wealthy will take part and that will include those 2. I long for the day. A long wait so far for that. Quote
buzzbomb1958 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, jamboy1982 said: Anyone who thinks these guys will come in and rangers will start spending big are deluded. Any time anyone is linked with buying the tribute act it’s always a billionaire, or someone with off the radar wealth. Same with any player they are linked with, a wonderkid or superstar and they turn out to be gash. Media frenzy building it up. You’d have to be mental to pump 50/60 million into a Scottish club. You’d never recoup that money never mind make a profit on it. Billionaires do not give their cash away to businesses which won’t make them a profit and as it stand now there is no profit to be made unless they buy Ibrox from them then say rent it back for£5 millions a year , then sell Auchendowie and Edminstone house , cut staff drastically like they are doing at Man United then sell any players who are worth anything that for me is the only way I can see them getting their money back from this shitshow , if I was a zombie I’d be worried Quote
Ex member of the SaS Posted February 21 Posted February 21 After Celtic's exit Brenda stated they will spend big to compete in Europe. ( forgetting his earlier comment about not being able to compete with the financial disparity. ) if Sevco do spend big what does it get them / Celtic? So both clubs spend big on top players, either team could win this league with a B team so buying big players can only be for Europe , Oh but wait Brenda said they can't compete with the big boys, so these big named player are walking around a diddy league wasting their talent / time. Pretty sure the share holders won't be happy with less dividend to exit Europe as usual. Quote
buzzbomb1958 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 (edited) 30 minutes ago, gordon simpson said: 49ers are exploring selling 10% for $9 billion of their franchise they will be swamped with cash, £60 million is peanuts to them The Rangers 2012 can only spend 70% of their income no matter what Edited February 21 by buzzbomb1958 Quote
stirlo Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 hours ago, michael_bolton said: I think this line of thinking made sense a decade or more ago, but is less relevant now. Domestic leagues are largely being sidelined, especially outside the Big Four. Your standing as a club depends entirely on Europe, outwith the Premier League with all its money. Celtic have shown this season that a level of success/relvance in the Champions League is possible with the right investment, and Rangers will see that as where they ultimately want to be. For all of the smaller leagues now the situation is the same. Essentially nobody cares. A more competitve Scottish league would go largely unnoticed outwith our own borders. It's not an issue. I think you are right about this. Of course a more competitive Scottish premiership would be great for those with an interest in Scottish football, but the idea that this would suddenly create all sorts of interest in television viewers from other countries is a bit of a myth. On the Rangers takeover - assuming it goes ahead, the problem will be getting into the Champions League. The reality is that financially Rangers are miles behind Celtic just now and even if the new owners wanted to pour in tens of millions of pounds they would be very limited by the FFP rules. Quote
HMFC01 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 (edited) 3 hours ago, HoGwash said: If these guys already own Leeds, how are they able to take over Rangers? Is there not an SFA rule that limits owners of other clubs to a 25% stake in a Scottish club, like the Black Knights with H1b5. Yeah. I think it's 29% no more than 30%. If I read it right there was a syndicate (edit, consortium) involved in the takeover or investment. So there might be an abity to take more shares through a different company perhaps. Of course I could be talking shite 😂 I was going to ask as well. Copied and pasted... Leeds United Football Club Limited is 100% owned by 49ers Enterprises Global Football Group LLC Edited February 21 by HMFC01 Quote
Ex member of the SaS Posted February 21 Posted February 21 On the BBC site: Scottish FA rules on multi-club ownership would be no barrier to a potential takeover of Rangers by 49ers Enterprises, the investment arm of NFL franchise the San Francisco 49ers, or even the potential for their president Paraag Marathe to take a seat on the Ibrox board, as dual ownership involving the Leeds United chairman would "not impact on the integrity of the competition" in this country. (The National) https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cm2j40591j6o Quote
Rogue Daddy Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 hours ago, michael_bolton said: I think this line of thinking made sense a decade or more ago, but is less relevant now. Domestic leagues are largely being sidelined, especially outside the Big Four. Your standing as a club depends entirely on Europe, outwith the Premier League with all its money. Celtic have shown this season that a level of success/relvance in the Champions League is possible with the right investment, and Rangers will see that as where they ultimately want to be. For all of the smaller leagues now the situation is the same. Essentially nobody cares. A more competitve Scottish league would go largely unnoticed outwith our own borders. It's not an issue. You don't think a more competitive league would help Celtic or Rangers in Europe?... I think it would - it's the one thing the uglies are right about when it comes to Euro performances ie. "lack of competition. Moan, greet, sniffle!"... problem is, they REALLY don't want competition in the league. Yeah, they may get the odd 'decent run' now and again... but they're never going to get where they really want (or believe?) they should be - ie. top 16 every year? Would a stronger Aberdeen, H1b5 and us make a difference... perhaps, consistency-wise, but you're right when you say we're never going to get to big-4 levels. Quote
HMFC01 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 "49ers Enterprsises would need around 30 per cent of the shares to gain overall control but buying a stake of that size would trigger an obligation to make an offer for all shares. And because of their ownership of Leeds United, they couldn't acquire a stake above 50 per cent due to the multi-club ownership rules." Quote from the Sun. Which is why I was thinking there would be different investors involved to take up the shares. 😀 I dunno. All will become clearer soon. Quote
Rogue Daddy Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 hours ago, Byyy The Light said: This is my point as to why I hope a change of ownership might bring about change. It's the only way anybody would be able to make a return in Scottish football. The more unbalanced and uncompetitive the league gets, the lower the standard of player will want to play in the league. It's a self fulfilling death spiral and all Rangers, Celtic and the authorities do is tell the rest of the clubs to do better. Yeah... that's pretty much how I see it anyway. Quote
Biffa Bacon Posted February 21 Posted February 21 The answer to the "sack the board" is a new owner. But rest assured they have no interest or loyalty in Rangers, this is an investment to receive a return. The mentality of the masses is a never-ending supply of wealthy board members keeping them afloat with cash injections that are converted into shares, if the results do not go the way they expect, it is get rid of the directors and get in some new ones (with the usual not Rangers standard, Big club and other cliches). Lets be clear, this is not a donation, it is a loan, that will be fully repaid sooner or later, just like the Glaziers at Man U. The only financial success will be achieved with CL football, the returns from the Scottish game will not make financial viability. They wont be the first foreign owner to come in with a plan, scoosh the league, and sell players for mega profit, how did that work for the Dundee teams, Hibs and even our own Vlad? Hopefully we can improve and spanner the works of both the OF, cutting off the CL riches for them. Quote
DesertDawg Posted February 21 Author Posted February 21 3 hours ago, HoGwash said: If these guys already own Leeds, how are they able to take over Rangers? Is there not an SFA rule that limits owners of other clubs to a 25% stake in a Scottish club, like the Black Knights with H1b5. Record Sport revealed in a mammoth exclusive that Paraag Marathe and the 49ers are behind a move to takeover Rangers after a US-based consortium held secret discussions stretching beyond the turn of the year. Those talks have reached an advanced stage and could be completed over the new few weeks after the SFA cleared the path for the dual ownership plan that would involve Leeds United. Quote
joondalupjambo Posted February 21 Posted February 21 This is about stopping Celtic in the short term and less to do with worrying about credible, long term success in Europe. Quote
chrystaf Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Quote from today's Scotsman= Marathe, listed by Forbes as having a personal worth of around £4.7billion, was at the forefront of the deal that saw 49ers Enterprises take ownership of Leeds United in 2023 in a £170m buyout. Scottish FA rules on dual ownership would prevent 49ers Enterprises from obtaining a controlling stake in Rangers on its own due to its status at Elland Road, however, it appears that the involvement of other investors will ensure any new regime will be able to secure enough shares to take over the running of the Govan club. Any takeover of Rangers would require dealing with a fragmented ownership base. The club’s former chairman, South Africa-based Dave King, is the largest individual shareholder with a stake of 12.96 per cent through his New Oasis Asset Company. Douglas Park owns 11.54 per cent and George Taylor holds 10.22 per cent of the shares. Stuart Gibson holds 9.53 per cent while John Bennett, who stood down as chairman last year for health reasons, has 7.11 per cent. Borita Investments and Perron Investment, owned by directors Julian Wolhardt and John Halsted respectively, hold a combined 12.69 per cent. Quote
Mikey1874 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Paid Athletic article deal for the investment arm of the San Francisco 49ers to purchase a 51 per cent controlling stake in Scottish soccer club Rangers is expected to be completed in the next few months, sources close to the deal have told The Athletic. Talks have been ongoing since last year and the structure of the deal is already ‘well-baked’, according to a source familiar with the situation — who, like all cited in this article, requested anonymity as they were not authorised to discuss the deal. Advertisement 49ers Enterprises is looking to sell a ten per cent stake in its NFL franchise and has been scouting the globe for opportunities to invest in sporting opportunities, although those two processes are not believed to be directly linked. Rangers, as one-half of the globally-recognised Old Firm rivalry and with potentially direct access to the UEFA Champions League via winning the Scottish Premiership, are seen as an exciting proposition. The driving force behind the deal is Paraag Marathe, who is president of 49ers Enterprises and executive vice president of football operations. He is into his 24th year at the San Francisco-based team but has experience in British soccer having led the £170million ($215m) takeover of English club Leeds United in July 2023 after five years as a director of the board. Quote
DesertDawg Posted February 21 Author Posted February 21 20 minutes ago, chrystaf said: Quote from today's Scotsman= Scottish FA rules on dual ownership would prevent 49ers Enterprises from obtaining a controlling stake in Rangers on its own due to its status at Elland Road, however, it appears that the involvement of other investors will ensure any new regime will be able to secure enough shares to take over the running of the Govan club. So, should the Gordon's decide to offload, say 50%, of Hibs total shares, they could sell to "other investors" to leave Black Knight Football and Entertainment in control with their existing 25%? Quote
Heartsfth Posted February 21 Posted February 21 No financial expert but I thought that if various parties worked together to buy a company they were considered one and the same. If that’s the case does that mean the SFA are altering their own rules to accommodate Rangers Quote
michael_bolton Posted February 21 Posted February 21 (edited) 3 hours ago, stirlo said: I think you are right about this. Of course a more competitive Scottish premiership would be great for those with an interest in Scottish football, but the idea that this would suddenly create all sorts of interest in television viewers from other countries is a bit of a myth. On the Rangers takeover - assuming it goes ahead, the problem will be getting into the Champions League. The reality is that financially Rangers are miles behind Celtic just now and even if the new owners wanted to pour in tens of millions of pounds they would be very limited by the FFP rules. Aye. It would certainly be nice to have an actually competitive league, but it would make no difference to our wider appeal. Anyone doubting this ask yourself a question; What happened in the title races in Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, and Poland last year? 90% of posters on here (including me) will have no idea. That's how others feel about our league. a couple of seasons ago the Swedish league went to a last game of the season decider. How many people here noticed? Edited February 21 by michael_bolton Quote
michael_bolton Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 hours ago, Rogue Daddy said: You don't think a more competitive league would help Celtic or Rangers in Europe?... I think it would - it's the one thing the uglies are right about when it comes to Euro performances ie. "lack of competition. Moan, greet, sniffle!"... problem is, they REALLY don't want competition in the league. Yeah, they may get the odd 'decent run' now and again... but they're never going to get where they really want (or believe?) they should be - ie. top 16 every year? Would a stronger Aberdeen, H1b5 and us make a difference... perhaps, consistency-wise, but you're right when you say we're never going to get to big-4 levels. No. I don't really see why it would. And even if we agree that it would help them, what mechanism is there for anyone to make the league actually competitive? Salary caps are a non-starter, an FFP system would protect the staus quo. Even equalising the tv money for the Premiership among the 12 clubs would still leave the OF miles richer than the rest. There's no practical way to do it, so it's moot. Quote
Nerja Jambo Posted February 21 Posted February 21 5 hours ago, hmfc1440 said: A long wait so far for that. Patience my boy, patience. Quote
HMFC01 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 hours ago, michael_bolton said: Aye. It would certainly be nice to have an actually competitive league, but it would make no difference to our wider appeal. Anyone doubting this ask yourself a question; What happened in the title races in Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, and Poland last year? 90% of posters on here (including me) will have no idea. That's how others feel about our league. a couple of seasons ago the Swedish league went to a last game of the season decider. How many people here noticed? 😀 I notice the swing in change of league winners in various European Leagues. Mostly the leagues you mention. You perhaps could have included Norway. A recent swing in Germany by Bayern Leverkusen. You've even got Napoli trying to maintain another challenge. England has Liverpool returning, with Nottingham Forrest having a good go. Anyway, away from that. The players we could attract might turn into International class players or better, sign International class players. Perhaps not at the top ranked nations but enough to give any nation an interest to follow a potential, future international, or current star player. TV overseas could increase. I'm only hypothetically saying but not far off happening. I think we can challenge. Make a more competitive league. Well, that's three clubs at least. Makes it a bit more interesting. I might have picked the conversation up wrong. 😀 Quote
michael_bolton Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 minutes ago, HMFC01 said: 😀 I notice the swing in change of league winners in various European Leagues. Mostly the leagues you mention. You perhaps could have included Norway. A recent swing in Germany by Bayern Leverkusen. You've even got Napoli trying to maintain another challenge. England has Liverpool returning, with Nottingham Forrest having a good go. Anyway, away from that. The players we could attract might turn into International class players or better, sign International class players. Perhaps not at the top ranked nations but enough to give any nation an interest to follow a potential, future international, or current star player. TV overseas could increase. I'm only hypothetically saying but not far off happening. I think we can challenge. Make a more competitive league. Well, that's three clubs at least. Makes it a bit more interesting. I might have picked the conversation up wrong. 😀 England, Italy, and Germany aren't in this conversation. We're talking about whether our league being more competitive would make it more appealing to outsiders. My argument is it would not. Hence my point about how many people in Scotland could tell you who won the Swedish or Austrian leagues last season. Nobody has any reason to care. If we started challenging for the league, or Hibs, or Dundee United, that wouldn't change. Quote
stirlo Posted February 21 Posted February 21 2 hours ago, michael_bolton said: Aye. It would certainly be nice to have an actually competitive league, but it would make no difference to our wider appeal. Anyone doubting this ask yourself a question; What happened in the title races in Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland, and Poland last year? 90% of posters on here (including me) will have no idea. That's how others feel about our league. a couple of seasons ago the Swedish league went to a last game of the season decider. How many people here noticed? I can't remember the last time I watched a Bundesliga game or a Ligue 1 game let alone a game from somewhere like Sweden or Poland. I'm much more likely to watch a Scottish championship game on a Friday night. Of course you probably get a few more people that might be interested in Scottish games if it was more competitive but you'd be talking a very small number in relative terms. Quote
Seymour M Hersh Posted February 21 Posted February 21 9 hours ago, HoGwash said: If these guys already own Leeds, how are they able to take over Rangers? Is there not an SFA rule that limits owners of other clubs to a 25% stake in a Scottish club, like the Black Knights with H1b5. If there is an SFA rule like that it will be updated in about five minutes should the need arise for either arse cheek. Quote
DesertDawg Posted February 21 Author Posted February 21 11 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said: If there is an SFA rule like that it will be updated in about five minutes should the need arise for either arse cheek. 🤒 All over the US Sports news today. No mention of any multi-club ownership restrictions. Doncaster and buddies already bought and paid for? Quote
Footballfirst Posted February 21 Posted February 21 5 minutes ago, DesertDawg said: 🤒 All over the US Sports news today. No mention of any multi-club ownership restrictions. Doncaster and buddies already bought and paid for? Has Trump issued an Executive Order yet? Quote
Jingle Bells Posted February 21 Posted February 21 Hopefully Pope Francis recovers from illness in time to give his half-time blessing at Ibrox for this takeover, should it go through. Quote
DesertDawg Posted February 21 Author Posted February 21 9 minutes ago, Footballfirst said: Has Trump issued an Executive Order yet? 😁 Good question FF! Rumour has it that he's considering an order to prohibit "soccer" since the ball is round. Quote
JFK-1 Posted February 21 Posted February 21 12 hours ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said: Would imagine, they will make far more money out of Leeds in PL I doubt that. How much do you think the likes of Liverpool have to spend on transfers and wages to build a top 4 side? You think Leeds are going to step into the EPL and make money? I don't. They were recently relegated because there is no way they can regularly compete with the likes of Liverpool or any of the usual top 4 sides. EPL sides spend pretty much all their income and even more on just staying in the EPL. Some amass huge debts trying. In Scotland on the other hand making CL with Rangers would cost a tiny fraction of the money swilling around in England. And if the top two places continued to get a chance at CL then they're pretty much guaranteed a go at CL every year aren't they. The likes of Man City aren't making money for anybody, the polar opposite. They will use all manner of dark arts to spend millions more than they earn. Leeds can never compete with that. And the EPL in general is a very expensive money drain for many a club. Quote
Wilson Posted February 21 Posted February 21 1 hour ago, DesertDawg said: 😁 Good question FF! Rumour has it that he's considering an order to prohibit "soccer" since the ball is round. 😄 Quote