• Replies 2.9k

• RustyRightPeg

• Martin B

• Fozzyonthefence

• Gambo

Yes. No game management whatsoever. You don’t see Boateng or Beni giving away these sorts of cheap fouls in dangerous positions. I hope Critchley makes him a word to the wise!

could do with learning or at least trying to stick to, the basics

stay goal side....jockey...dont try and win the ball in no danger scenarios.....when the player is 90 years from our goal or facing th touchline anywhere on the pitch !

Someone gave him a new deal. 

Let that sink in for a minute. 

He's a walking yellow card with absolutely no footballing ability. 

Can't tackle. Can't pass. 

Offers nothing. 

He just has games that suit him and games that don't. Thought he was very good on Thursday and very poor today - but I could say that about half the team! 

Needs to be gone in January and better quality recruited. His lack of discipline and always playing the wise guy is now making me dislike him. 

I said last season it was time for him to move on, absolutely love his desire and commitment, but he's just lacking in quality unfortunately 

3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Offers nothing. 

And yet successive Managers have played him.  Maybe they know something about football players that you do not?

Captain Sausage

Really missed Beni today. Devlin isn’t suited to that sort of game where we dominate possession against a low block. 

1 minute ago, Gordon_1874 said:

He just isn't very good at football.

Yes,can;t question his commitment,but not much else,must have a drawer full of yellow card!

He’s a liability. In a situation where Boyle is facing the corner flag and he literally needs to do nothing apart from stand still…he sticks his leg in, ends up wrong side and yellow carded. It’s basic stuff. 

We then concede from it. He did the same thing away at Fir Park, absolute dunderheid tackle that we concede from. 

It’s okay though, cause he runs about a lot. 

10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Is he a liability?

Too rash?

Too hot-headed?

For me, yes.

Should never have been given a new deal. 

2 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

And yet successive Managers have played him.  Maybe they know something about football players that you do not?

Neilson & Naismith? 

Aye nae bother

He has been a stick on yellow card bet for years.

A powerhouse in midfield  though and always 100% effort.

Edited by hughesie27

3 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

Who else do they play instead? Naismith gave him the new deal. Going swimmingly for all parties eh. 

Naismith sitting picking his arse and Devlin costing us goals.

Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

Neilson & Naismith? 

Aye nae bother

I am willing to bet that they were better footballers than you.

Time for him to move on,stupid fouls and bookings guaranteed. Hasn't learned how to control his emotions. Had enough  chances,but it's the same old Cammy. Has loads of energy,but very little actual skill. OK as a squad player, but not a starter for us 

1 minute ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Who else do they play instead? Naismith gave him the new deal. Going swimmingly for all parties eh. 

Naismith sitting picking his arse and Devlin costing us goals.

Are you saying we do not have other options?

He has some good qualities but really needs to cut out stupid fouls in dangerous areas. He should have learned from the near miss from the free kick in the first half, but didn’t.

Corstorphine Jambo
Just now, hughesie27 said:

He has been announced stick on yellow card bet for years.

A powerhouse in midfield  though and always 100% effort.

100% effort is an absolute requisite for any player when they enter the pitch. Relatively disciplined and composed on Thursday and you mark him down as having a good game. Maybe trying for the unreachable cliche of 110% and he becomes a liability. Just stay tight to the boy - that’s all he needed to do

Their goal comes from his stupidity in fouling where he did. He’s not a starter that’s for sure. Keep him for Europe. 

Penrices left boot

He's simply not good enough.

He's a likeable guy and can do some good in terms of harassing and tackling, but his general passing, composure and game intelligence is just not there.

He offers little quality with the ball.

He's also not improved over his time with us.

He's probably behind Boateng,  Beni and the Hoff so for 4th or 5th choice he can come in and do a job, but we don't want to be relying on him for  any period of time.

Disser Pointon
13 minutes ago, AGoodLaugh said:

He just has games that suit him and games that don't. Thought he was very good on Thursday and very poor today - but I could say that about half the team! 

100%, decent squad player in the right games 

Their free kick for their goal was a great example of one of his failings.

Boyle is stuck with his back to the game so you just usher him to go back to his midfield of full back.

I know it's a derby and players want to be in each others faces but he gets far too close and aggressive and gets turned easily.

In each half he made a completely unnecessary foul by being naive and getting his body in completely the wrong position. The 2nd one cost us. He has a good attitude and has had some effective performances but he is nowhere near a good enough footballer to make us a better side and I can't wait to have Hoff back and Beni available to play with Boateng. I doubt Devlin starts very often when those 3 are fit and that's before any January incomings. It's been obvious for many months that he is so limited on the ball and he slows things down too often by taking an easy option as he simply doesn't have the ability to make decisive passes. An ok squad player for us but that's about it.

15 minutes ago, AGoodLaugh said:

Yip. 

He’s a ball winner however often takes out the man in the process. As a player playing against him you’d never get a minutes peace he be snapping at your heels from the moment he comes on. He needs the over exuberance coached out of him. 

Once again he played to his abilities. Everyone's seen him often enough to know what you're going to get from him. No surprises whatsoever in his performance today.

14 minutes ago, Jamstomorrow said:

I am willing to bet that they were better footballers than you.

So were 90% of the world's population. 

Still doesn't make Devlin what Hearts need. 

He's not a good footballer. He was a punt from an untried market. He hasn't improved. Time to let him go back to the A league.

Edited by The Mighty Thor

jambogirlglasgow

It’s not even so much that gives those needless fouls away in dangerous positions, it’s that he NEVER learns from it. What does he not understand? Drives me mad. 

23 minutes ago, normando said:

a soft yellow card but giving away silly fouls when opposition going nowhere sickening they got their goa from it.

Agree . Never a booking, hibs player fell over him. But no need to make the tackle

25 minutes ago, AGoodLaugh said:

Pretty much this  

If Beni was fit , Devlin doesn’t start today. 

got Beni , Boateng , hoff to come back. 

Devlin will have his moments of use but it should be limited. 

no excuse for his stupid foul though , whether it was the type of game for him

or not , it was incredibly naive 

25 minutes ago, VALDOS' said:

I said last season it was time for him to move on, absolutely love his desire and commitment, but he's just lacking in quality unfortunately 

Livingston quality 

avhudtheteeshirt

I like him for his tenacity and other team players don't like that fact.

OK he gives away fouls, but, if you jockey players to much, one wee slip and they are away.

He wares his heart on his sleeve gives his all and to be honest we could do a lot better with more like him. 

10 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Their goal comes from his stupidity in fouling where he did. He’s not a starter that’s for sure. Keep him for Europe. 

The thing is every single Hearts fan could tell he was about to concede a really stupid free kick about 5 seconds before the ref blows the whistle. Totally unnecessary and bad decision-making at any level of football, let alone by a professional.

32 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Is he a liability?

Too rash?

Too hot-headed?

For me, yes.

And then you add in a very very limited football player.

ScandinavianJambo
27 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Offers nothing. 

Not what Neil said after playing the Cypriots on Thursday. He picked him out for special praise, highlighting Devlin's passing accuracy. But, everyone on here knows better then the gaffer.

However, Devlin can be rash when excited and giving away free kicks on days like today is unecaserry and lead to the goal. He needs to learn to reign himself in. 

He played ok today, looked reserved and disciplined for most of the game.

Then he spoils a good showing by doing something really rather stupid . . . Again.