Victorian Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 That's the other thing. Inflation. Inflation of the recent past took a big wet bite out of the artificially set price element of MUP. Average earnings, even benefits to a degree, have risen to meet inflation. At some point in a few years, inflation adjusted price would overtop the artificially high set price. MUP would be lower than the natural market rate. Therefore the set price has to react to inflation somewhere along the line. If the government of the day wants to keep it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 17 minutes ago, Boab said: Calm doon ! Green tea ? That’s panic buying, mate ! 🫤 Desperate times, Boab. Desperate times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Real Maroonblood Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 41 minutes ago, Morgan said: £1.09 added onto a four pack of 568ml cans of San Miguel (the 5%stuff, not the real Spanish 5.4% stuff mind). That’s it for me now. Green tea from now on in. Feck that. I share the pain mate. Folk drive to Berwick to get cheap drink. They would better driving to the AA. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seymour M Hersh Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 hour ago, kingantti1874 said: Disgraceful really is. Look forward to this rancid government being put out to pasture very soon. What makes you think a new government would repeal the SNP's puritanical law? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steve89 Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 I may be wrong but if you get it delivered from one of those booze suppliers you will still get the same deal as everyone else. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
il Duce McTarkin Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 39 minutes ago, Morgan said: Desperate times, Boab. Desperate times. Lets be hones, Morg', despite being bevvy daft this isn't going to affect us in any meaningful way. My jimmies remain unrustled. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 2 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said: Lets be hones, Morg', despite being bevvy daft this isn't going to affect us in any meaningful way. My jimmies remain unrustled. Correct, Gov. My own Jim-jams look like they’ve just been pressed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 21 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said: I share the pain mate. Folk drive to Berwick to get cheap drink. They would better driving to the AA. 👍 Aye, like 27p is going to stop you having a pint... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Real Maroonblood Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 2 minutes ago, Morgan said: 👍 Aye, like 27p is going to stop you having a pint... 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 Didn't realise we had so many Puritans on kickback. Who also it seems happen to be SNP supporters. Watch out , the fun police are about. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brownkg Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 6 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said: Didn't realise we had so many Puritans on kickback. Who also it seems happen to be SNP supporters. Watch out , the fun police are about. FFS it is 50% of the population mate you fail your arithmetic O grade or what? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darrenold Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 Minimum price is backed by science as a great way to remove shite cheap alcohol from the market. It doesn't really affect higher quality alcohol ( such as a single malt) cause that price stays where it is. It also doesn't affect pubs at all .it's only for supermarkets or offys. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darrenold Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 Mr David Nutt has spoken in great lengths about this and he was praising the Scots. Not bad for an English gentleman 😃 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Real Maroonblood Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 minute ago, darrenold said: Minimum price is backed by science as a great way to remove shite cheap alcohol from the market. It doesn't really affect higher quality alcohol ( such as a single malt) cause that price stays where it is. It also doesn't affect pubs at all .it's only for supermarkets or offys. 🍺🍺🍺🍺👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 hour ago, Victorian said: Let's have a deek under the bonnet of this pearler. The "regime" doesn't get any money out of it. The "regime", like all other governments does not have any money of their own. It's all public money. The public's money to spend on services and benefits. So when you're denying money, you're denying it from the public expenditure. From yourself even. silly me thought the extra money went to the Scottish government to tackle the problem. Should have known they are that thick to not think of taking it to help the people they say are affected by alcoholism. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 53 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said: I share the pain mate. Folk drive to Berwick to get cheap drink. They would better driving to the AA. as I said I work there sometimes so when I’m there I will buy it. I wouldn’t be going there just for a booze run Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaddysBar Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 Was in Tesco earlier. The beer I normally buy used to be £17.82 for an 18 pack. It’s now £23.49. Not a problem, I just had to reverse shop a bit, put back the fresh fruit, veg and meat and pick up some processed shite for the kids instead. Saved £5.67 so zero net cost to our family purse. Winner winner, turkey twizzler dinner. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 14 minutes ago, brownkg said: FFS it is 50% of the population mate you fail your arithmetic O grade or what? GCSE for me old boy . But that aside, on recent results the SNP support does not make up 50% of the population, if that's your poorly made point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victorian Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 minute ago, 1971fozzy said: silly me thought the extra money went to the Scottish government to tackle the problem. Should have known they are that thick to not think of taking it to help the people they say are affected by alcoholism. Nothing wrong with the belief that the money should be allocated to such services. 👍 But wait... you wanted to deny the "regime" the money by buying in busy old Berwick. Win - win apparently. Which is it then? Money to tackle the problem or deny the money to tackle the problem? 🤔 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Real Maroonblood Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 5 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said: as I said I work there sometimes so when I’m there I will buy it. I wouldn’t be going there just for a booze run Remember people would go from Dover to Calais for cheap booze. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 2 minutes ago, Victorian said: Nothing wrong with the belief that the money should be allocated to such services. 👍 But wait... you wanted to deny the "regime" the money by buying in busy old Berwick. Win - win apparently. Which is it then? Money to tackle the problem or deny the money to tackle the problem? 🤔 because believe it or not I wouldn’t trust them to spend it to tackle the problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaddysBar Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said: Remember people would go from Dover to Calais for cheap booze. On a related note, I found my phoenix nights series 1 and 2 dvds today. I’ve been fuming for years about who I had forgotten I had lent it to who didn’t have the decency to return them. *****. So while I was initially exhilarated, I soon came crashing back to earth when it dawned on me I don’t have any means to watch a dvd😡 The booze run episode was epic though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victorian Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 Just now, 1971fozzy said: because believe it or not I wouldn’t trust them to spend it to tackle the problem. Aaah. That is fair enough actually. But a different argument altogether. It's notional of course because there is no public money raised, but if there was, is denying it being raised at all a better solution than there being money that may not be put to optimum use? Not convinced. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
heartmussel Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 11 hours ago, Gundermann said: As someone else said, it's backed by the other parties too. I believe Labour are looking into something similar for England. https://www.telegraph.co.uk/politics/2024/08/30/pub-bosses-warned-government-minimum-alcohol-pricing/ Am not against scheme but would prefer it to be a health type levy that sees money going to the NHS. As someone who has struggled for many years in and out of clinics, this 100%. I can assure you price increases would not have stopped me. Sadly I grew up in the culture of Alchohol, licensing laws were strict, there was this mysterious thing about getting into a pub or even handing a note to the shopkeeper saying it was for you Dad. It’s all about education and like everything else we need extra funds for NHS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 48 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said: Didn't realise we had so many Puritans on kickback. Who also it seems happen to be SNP supporters. Watch out , the fun police are about. Yes . Not surprised there is that link . They love to see the nanny state in full action it seems . Talking about independence ? It’s more dependence . 21 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said: because believe it or not I wouldn’t trust them to spend it to tackle the problem. Yep . Same with the forthcoming tourist tax . They will get their paws into that somehow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said: Yes . Not surprised there is that link . They love to see the nanny state in full action it seems . Talking about independence ? It’s more dependence . Yep . Same with the forthcoming tourist tax . They will get their paws into that somehow Fair point. If they called themselves Dependence supporters it may be closer to the truth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 9 minutes ago, heartmussel said: It’s all about education and like everything else we need extra funds for NHS Exactly . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 For those of us that can drink sensibly and can't be bothered paying this silly "tax" which isn't a tax really it helps the margins of the supermarkets, anyone got any good recommendations of English websites that deliver ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron78 Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 3 hours ago, darrenold said: Scotland’s minimum pricing linked to 13% drop in alcohol-related deaths, study finds. In response to the " nanny state" line that comes up anytime anybody tries to do anything about alcohol,, the fact above speaks for itself. Alcohol is still the number one harmful drug to society overall, that includes crack, heroin and cigarettes. Everyone just defends it cause it's legal. Says the guy who's going to the pub rather than supporting his team (whichever one that is) in the derby match next month. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray Gin Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 If this is going to make a substantial difference to your bank balance, you have a drinking problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron78 Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 hour ago, darrenold said: Minimum price is backed by science as a great way to remove shite cheap alcohol from the market. It doesn't really affect higher quality alcohol ( such as a single malt) cause that price stays where it is. It also doesn't affect pubs at all .it's only for supermarkets or offys. Would love to read that scientific paper. Please share. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray Gin Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 25 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said: For those of us that can drink sensibly and can't be bothered paying this silly "tax" which isn't a tax really it helps the margins of the supermarkets, anyone got any good recommendations of English websites that deliver ? If you drink sensibly it's not going to cost you more than about a fiver a month. The delivery charge will cost you more than the increase in price. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 36 minutes ago, Aaron78 said: Says the guy who's going to the pub rather than supporting his team (whichever one that is) in the derby match next month. Well said, Aaron. The poster you quoted has a tad Hibs about him, that’s for sure. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brownkg Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 1 hour ago, Lord Montpelier said: For those of us that can drink sensibly and can't be bothered paying this silly "tax" which isn't a tax really it helps the margins of the supermarkets, anyone got any good recommendations of English websites that deliver ? 2 hours ago, Lord Montpelier said: GCSE for me old boy . But that aside, on recent results the SNP support does not make up 50% of the population, if that's your poorly made point. If, as you claim, you drink sensibly I am guessing it is not Buckie or white lighting so unless you can find a site that delivers you 3 or 4 months of marginally cheaper alcohol at a go and remain disciplined enough to make it last 3 or 4 months you might save £15 a quarter are you really that strapped for cash that £1 a week has you struggling? Give altruism a go and pay £5 for JKB Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Day@theraces Posted September 30 Share Posted September 30 In the corner shop next to Queensferry street today and prices were still the same. Fella says because they bought old stock the prices will remain the same. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darrenold Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 2 hours ago, Morgan said: Well said, Aaron. The poster you quoted has a tad Hibs about him, that’s for sure. Get that shit outta here. I've been a season ticket holder throughout the 00s and not in the slightest Hibs. The kickback effect is in full force here.. stupid assumption. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ulysses Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 6 hours ago, PaddysBar said: Was in Tesco earlier. The beer I normally buy used to be £17.82 for an 18 pack. It’s now £23.49. 18 of any of the beers I normally drink would cost between €55 and €60, depending on whether I buy 440 ml cans or 500 ml bottles. I'm clearly doing something badly wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 7 hours ago, Ray Gin said: If you drink sensibly it's not going to cost you more than about a fiver a month. The delivery charge will cost you more than the increase in price. Cost of living Ray. Every penny counts and hard working people don't need this silly nanny state tax imposed on them. I'll be looking to shop elsewhere now and as demand grows which it will delivery charges will vanish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Montpelier Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 2 hours ago, Ulysses said: 18 of any of the beers I normally drink would cost between €55 and €60, depending on whether I buy 440 ml cans or 500 ml bottles. I'm clearly doing something badly wrong. Do you drink beer laced with gold ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
132goals1958 Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 9 hours ago, Lord Montpelier said: For those of us that can drink sensibly and can't be bothered paying this silly "tax" which isn't a tax really it helps the margins of the supermarkets, anyone got any good recommendations of English websites that deliver ? It’s the margins of the supermarkets that are a sad indictment of the world we live in. In the plough to plate processes they take the largest share of the cake for basically bunging a product on a shelf. Suppliers are more or less forced to contribute to promotional activities, provide extended credit terms and can be delisted at the whim of a buyer. Maybe the big brands have some muscle but it is more an oligopoly situation than ever. Now they are reaping the benefits of MUP . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 7 hours ago, darrenold said: Get that shit outta here. I've been a season ticket holder throughout the 00s and not in the slightest Hibs. The kickback effect is in full force here.. stupid assumption. You’ll be called a “ far right “ person next and a transphobe . That’s how it works on this . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 1 hour ago, 132goals1958 said: It’s the margins of the supermarkets that are a sad indictment of the world we live in. In the plough to plate processes they take the largest share of the cake for basically bunging a product on a shelf. Suppliers are more or less forced to contribute to promotional activities, provide extended credit terms and can be delisted at the whim of a buyer. Maybe the big brands have some muscle but it is more an oligopoly situation than ever. Now they are reaping the benefits of MUP . Allegations of 'Nanny State' don't seem to extend to allowing supermarkets to fleece us. Profits keep on rising though. That said, I'd much rather than any additional pricing would be ringfenced to help the NHS, education, addiction centres and whatever else may help people. But... that would only strengthen yon dreaded Nanny State, no? And, are those who whinge about the Nanny State pleased that drug and drink deaths remain fairly high? Folk giving the middle-finger to bad auld NS, after all? How far down the line do we go? Legalise all drugs? Allow private business to reap ever greater profits? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
132goals1958 Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 19 minutes ago, Gundermann said: Allegations of 'Nanny State' don't seem to extend to allowing supermarkets to fleece us. Profits keep on rising though. That said, I'd much rather than any additional pricing would be ringfenced to help the NHS, education, addiction centres and whatever else may help people. But... that would only strengthen yon dreaded Nanny State, no? And, are those who whinge about the Nanny State pleased that drug and drink deaths remain fairly high? Folk giving the middle-finger to bad auld NS, after all? How far down the line do we go? Legalise all drugs? Allow private business to reap ever greater profits? If MUP had been ringfenced (which I agree with) you can bet supermarkets would have increased their own prices basically resulting in a double whammy for the consumer. We have a drink and drugs malaise in this country, Where you strike the right balance is difficult but what is beyond doubt is MUP is like another regressive tax having a disproportionate effect on low income responsible families. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darrenold Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 It's not about nanny state. That's just a phrase thrown about anytime anything happens. Nanny state was said about the smoking ban but that was a great success. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cheetah Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byyy The Light Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 16 minutes ago, 132goals1958 said: If MUP had been ringfenced (which I agree with) you can bet supermarkets would have increased their own prices basically resulting in a double whammy for the consumer. We have a drink and drugs malaise in this country, Where you strike the right balance is difficult but what is beyond doubt is MUP is like another regressive tax having a disproportionate effect on low income responsible families. I think the biggest issue is the admin cost to collect the money would probably outweigh the actual money collected. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuart Lyon Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 In Sainsbury's earlier today and they had notices up about the increase in minimum price for alcohol. Should they be applying that to what must predominantly be old stock? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 (edited) What's this about old stock? Do the supermarkets pay the suppliers more for the product or is it just you and me that the 65p gets applied to? If it's just you and me the how old the stock is is irrelevant. It's a Gov policy that alcohol from that date needs to be sold at 65p per unit. Happy days for the supermarkets who get to boost their profits even further till that stock is sold. Edited October 1 by hughesie27 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tightrope Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 I think the SNP have underestimated the repercussions this will cause for them. I don't know anyone who is happy with this. This will cost them votes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darrenold Posted October 1 Share Posted October 1 (edited) 53 minutes ago, tightrope said: I think the SNP have underestimated the repercussions this will cause for them. I don't know anyone who is happy with this. This will cost them votes. Medical people are happy with it Science people are happy with it Harm reduction people are happy with it It's actually a really good idea it's just no one can see it at the time or they can't tolerate change. Smoking ban was once laughed at and it was said it would never work. Now I can't imagine life without it. Edited October 1 by darrenold Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...