Gordon Ramsay Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 2 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: 😆 Slugball oot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 minute ago, Chimp said: The only reason people are having a meltdown about this sign painted is because we've started the season so badly. If we were flying, in the Europa group stage, in the League cup and near the top of the table I can guarantee nobody would give a monkeys. This is purely another reason to feel aggrieved with the club because of what's happening on the park. It's a sign ffs. A wee nod to the past, nothing more. Getting all worked up about it especially before it's even finished too 🤦♂️ Indeed. but I'm still outraged. My plan for today was to put my packets of cuppa soup in alphabetical order in my cupboard, but this paint-gate has just thrown me. I don't know whether to write a letter to Ann Budge, The Times, my local MP or the Edinburgh Evening news. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 2 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said: Slugball oot. 🤣 🤣 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 3 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: Indeed. but I'm still outraged. My plan for today was to put my packets of cuppa soup in alphabetical order in my cupboard, but this paint-gate has just thrown me. I don't know whether to write a letter to Ann Budge, The Times, my local MP or the Edinburgh Evening news. 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nobreath Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 I'm glad they are doing it. I would have preferred the installation of a replca wooden sign, but the signage on the backof the stand will be cool. Now lets argue about the font. I preferred theoriginal font to the cowboy font.🧐 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 10 hours ago, way out west jambo said: Aye mate, back in 1912 or about then. Jim Jeffries canny even mind that sign. Things move on, it’s called progress. We have the museum, we have the plaques, why do we need this? 🤷🏻♂️ 1912? The sign was only removed when we built the new Gorgie stand. Pretty sure with Jim Jeffries history with the club he would be delighted with the reinstatement of that iconic sign. Progress doesn’t mean you throw away the heritage of the Club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 4 minutes ago, Nobreath said: I'm glad they are doing it. I would have preferred the installation of a replca wooden sign, but the signage on the backof the stand will be cool. Now lets argue about the font. I preferred theoriginal font to the cowboy font.🧐 Agree with all that. I have to say when they repainted the sign the font was a mistake. The original was much classier - Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nobreath Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 11 minutes ago, Thomaso said: Agree with all that. I have to say when they repainted the sign the font was a mistake. The original was much classier - Spaghetti Westerns must have been a big infulence back then.🤠 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papa Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Given my profile photo I’ve got to be happy with this. I’m sure the club will do it justice. Off the field the club has the Midas touch. Pity it doesn’t extend to on field. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArcticJambo Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 How about the club communicate in clear and concise language, we're football fans ffs. Most clients will put out a RFP, requesting three designs within set parameters, like maroon ans under 50k lol. The three options are then considered, one decided upon and then a contractor sought. Typically! If the Board chose the 'Paint it on the Stand' option then explain why, it doesn't have to be complicated. - Council wouldn't entertain a big ****off wooden sign as it blocked the sun for a couple of flats. - we couldn't engineer a big stand alone sign coz it would cost 100k, and we can't afford that, Olid is flying, likes. - we don't like to waste leftover paint Etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboozy Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Can’t wait to seeing this finished, it’s a homage to an iconic old sign that is part of our heritage, I can’t understand why people are getting their knickers in a wad over this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 (edited) 13 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said: How about the club communicate in clear and concise language, we're football fans ffs. Most clients will put out a RFP, requesting three designs within set parameters, like maroon ans under 50k lol. The three options are then considered, one decided upon and then a contractor sought. Typically! If the Board chose the 'Paint it on the Stand' option then explain why, it doesn't have to be complicated. - Council wouldn't entertain a big ****off wooden sign as it blocked the sun for a couple of flats. - we couldn't engineer a big stand alone sign coz it would cost 100k, and we can't afford that, Olid is flying, likes. - we don't like to waste leftover paint Etc. I would not expect this to go out to a fan vote. Saying that to me the right choice was a painted wooden board sign to match the original attached to the back of the stand. Edited September 13 by Thomaso Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corstorphine Jambo Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Anyone else got a copy of the Lowry style print drawn from White Park across the road? That has, from memory, the old sign in full glory. I’ll need to dig my framed copy out and get it back on the wall Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madvlad65 Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 The paint will probably run quicker than boyce 🙄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 15 hours ago, Humblerogue said: It will look great in the championship Away you go. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 24 minutes ago, Madvlad65 said: The paint will probably run quicker than boyce 🙄 Dry paint runs faster than Boyce. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shooter McGavin Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 16 hours ago, Le Chat said: Actually think it'll look alright when it's done. Although, now I want the side of each stand to match the same darker maroon colour 😄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harry Potter Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Loved passing the old sign on the no 1 bus on the way to dalry baths when at primary school. We did a wee cheer as we passed it. Will comment on the new one when its complete.😏. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sooperstar Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 16 hours ago, Sow Easy said: It quite clearly refers to the manufacture and painting of a sign multiple times in the article. If you think they're just painting it on the stand you need to read closer. 16 hours ago, Sow Easy said: "Over the next two weeks, a traditional sign writer will work on recreating the sign from archival material held in the HMFC Museum. The sign will be painted by Thomas Payne, a traditional sign writer and glass gilder from East Lothian, supported by a highly skilled team. The work to the sign has been funded by the National Lottery Heritage Fund as part of the Maroon Mile Project." A traditional sign writer wouldn't be working on painting on corrugated metal and the Lottery Fund wouldn't be needed for some paint. 16 hours ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said: “Hand painted onto the Gorgie Stand” per the planning application. https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/centralDistribution.do?caseType=Application&keyVal=SFQQUQEWJU10 A great series of posts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pans Jambo Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Anyone else thinking if we just scrapped this idea and saved the money on the 12 tins of paint, some scaffolding and one painters wages then we could have went unbeaten the rest of the season??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corstorphine Jambo Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 14 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said: Anyone else thinking if we just scrapped this idea and saved the money on the 12 tins of paint, some scaffolding and one painters wages then we could have went unbeaten the rest of the season??? 😃 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamhammer Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 (edited) Passed it this morning 100% just getting painted on a wee maroon square directly on the stand Looks too small and a bit meh Wait till it’s done though Edited September 13 by Jamhammer Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 14 hours ago, been here before said: Great film. Might watch it again over the weekend if I've a couple of spare hours. Could we commission Lord Summerisle to erect a proper sign? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shooter McGavin Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 47 minutes ago, Sooperstar said: A great series of posts. The way people jump in with both feet is baffling at times, and then they disappear when it becomes apparent they’re slavering p*sh 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kila Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Gorgie Stand sign needs re-doing in the same font or it'll look a bit shan Glad to hear it's Lottery Funded though. Was disappointed when the (same) painter wasn't commissioned to do all the stand interiors, what he/his team did in the new stand is brilliant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nobreath Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 It looks like the original font. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
westbow Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 hour ago, Morgan said: Dry paint runs faster than Boyce. There might be an interested crowd outside watching the paint dry. Certainly better than the fare served up inside, etc. and so on and so forth. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigdav Posted September 13 Author Share Posted September 13 2 hours ago, Corstorphine Jambo said: Anyone else got a copy of the Lowry style print drawn from White Park across the road? That has, from memory, the old sign in full glory. I’ll need to dig my framed copy out and get it back on the wall Yep first wife bought it for me one Christmas, she's long gone,divorced not dead lol but the pic hangs proudly on the wall Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said: Anyone else thinking if we just scrapped this idea and saved the money on the 12 tins of paint, some scaffolding and one painters wages then we could have went unbeaten the rest of the season??? Painter oot... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gillsland jack Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 18 hours ago, Deid Heid said: https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/blogs/news/historic-sign-to-be-reinstated-at-tynecastle-park Interesting timing, attempt to shut us up maybe.Or am i being too cynical? With respect, you are just being too cynical, for us Auld yins, not as old as some on here but have been going to Tynecastle since 1969, anything that links us back to some bygone years is quite special and I for one appreciate the folks behind the scenes or upstairs if you like, putting some thought into stuff like this, the football on the park is a different department and will hopefully improve shortly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 16 hours ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said: Emulsions are running high! ... with our board attempting to gloss over the issues. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 3 hours ago, Madvlad65 said: The paint will probably run quicker than boyce 🙄 I lurve Boycie ... but he's walking on egg-shells richt noo. Eggshell doesn't run as much as other paint types. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ericb Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 hour ago, Nobreath said: It looks like the original font. Don't understand why we needed planning permission to paint a sign, surely we can paint what we want on our walls? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Richt noo ... The colour is spot-on and matches the gates to a T. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 3 hours ago, Nobreath said: Spaghetti Westerns must have been a big infulence back then.🤠 Sometimes wonder if it was a nod to Buffalo Bill performing at Tynecastle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syd Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 6 minutes ago, ericb said: Don't understand why we needed planning permission to paint a sign, surely we can paint what we want on our walls? It’s the size of the sign as well. Think it’s down as ‘advertising’ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 50 minutes ago, ericb said: Don't understand why we needed planning permission to paint a sign, surely we can paint what we want on our walls? Planning permission is often required for signs, especially those that are illuminated or larger than 0.3 square meters. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japan Jambo Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 18 hours ago, Go for it 1308 said: That is utter **** That is utter f****** pish Hearts! At least paint it exactly like the original ffs!! That board has not got a bloody clue about our history...fecking arsewipes I believe that's an earlier version that the one one most of us remember.. planning doc references 1940's. https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/files/9ED46030D8D5F92C4F3DF211FBFBDD7C/pdf/24_03059_ADV-03-PROPOSED_SIGNAGE-6347115.pdf Glad they are doing something, fingers crossed it looks good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japan Jambo Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 2 hours ago, davemclaren said: Painter oot... should of given Ian Black the job... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Boney M could do a job? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Went to college, studied arts To be a Jambo artist make a start Studied hard, gettin' my degree But no one seemed to notice me. Painter man, painter man Who want to be a painter man Painter man, painter man Who want to be a painter man Tried cartoons and comic books Dirty postcards could have done Here was where the money laid Classic Hearts art has had it's day? 🤭 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 15 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said: I believe that's an earlier version that the one one most of us remember.. planning doc references 1940's. https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/files/9ED46030D8D5F92C4F3DF211FBFBDD7C/pdf/24_03059_ADV-03-PROPOSED_SIGNAGE-6347115.pdf Glad they are doing something, fingers crossed it looks good. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 hour ago, Sooks said: Sometimes wonder if it was a nod to Buffalo Bill performing at Tynecastle We need more players with a 'Buffalo Stance' ... Neneh Cherry knows the score ... Over to you, Gorgie Ultras ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Neneh Cherry is a Jambo ... FACT!!! 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 If this happens, I'm blocking my Fawanews stream. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 4 minutes ago, Gundermann said: If this happens, I'm blocking my Fawanews stream. That ☝️ is a classic ... But ... Ronaldo's sculpture in Madeira airport takes some beating ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maroonsgotop Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 Take it Blackie's got his paint brushes out Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 This 👇 surely cannot be beaten for the worstest EVER commemorative statue. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 2 hours ago, Sooks said: Sometimes wonder if it was a nod to Buffalo Bill performing at Tynecastle Bowie. He was a great poster on here, years ago. He wrote a smashing book about the Famous. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 7 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said: This 👇 surely cannot be beaten for the worstest EVER commemorative statue. You've posted worse pictures of yourself, Michael. 😏 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...