GorgieFifeLife Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 It’s a great idea but it will be difficult to create something which looks authentic when you are painting it on to corrugate which is obviously not a flat surface. Fairly sure the guy doing the painting wouldn’t have recommended this approach. It may look ok when finished but there is a high chance that it will look half arsed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jack Torrance Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said: If they dinnae use the original font, this place will be unbearable 🫠 CoMiC sAnS or gTf Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 7 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said: Jim'll be fizzin' ye beat him to it Then again he usually uses that when there's a whiff of misogyny Sorry @Jim Panzee 😞 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruyff Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 9 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said: If they dinnae use the original font, this place will be unbearable 🫠 It better be in the original font. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamhammer Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 FS we could win the league and some folk would greet If its shite THEN lose yer mind Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) Superficial guff. File alongside retro kit releases and the likes. Edited September 12 by Ally Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humblerogue Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 It will look great in the championship Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Mikey Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 21 minutes ago, Sleepy head said: I know. That's a bad sign. Top post. Made me 😄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 20 minutes ago, GorgieFifeLife said: It’s a great idea but it will be difficult to create something which looks authentic when you are painting it on to corrugate which is obviously not a flat surface. Fairly sure the guy doing the painting wouldn’t have recommended this approach. It may look ok when finished but there is a high chance that it will look half arsed. Inspired by our recruitment methodology and a nod to our coaching staff. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bazzas right boot Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 49 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said: Personally, I'll sit back and await the final outcome. It might just very well be stunning. But, for the cynics amongst us, here's an appropriate song. "Rip it up and start again" "I hope to God you're not as dumb as you make out" ... etc. 😄 Nah, don't wait until it's complete until it's done and judge on it's own merits. Far better, mature and normal to project any negative thoughts about Hearts on to this and send yourself spiralling into a rage before it's even finished. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bazzas right boot Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 "Auld Gorgie Sign" oot??? Who would have funk it? We've come along way since administration. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bazzas right boot Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 14 minutes ago, Jamhammer said: FS we could win the league and some folk would greet If its shite THEN lose yer mind If we won the league some folk would moan that there wasn't enough yoof or flair involved. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
luckydug Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 If the above is an accurate example I think it looks great. Mind you I'm not a moaning faced bairn like most of the inhabitants of this thread. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) 1 hour ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said: “Hand painted onto the Gorgie Stand” per the planning application. https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/centralDistribution.do?caseType=Application&keyVal=SFQQUQEWJU10 That is utter **** 1 hour ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said: “Hand painted onto the Gorgie Stand” per the planning application. https://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/idoxpa-web/centralDistribution.do?caseType=Application&keyVal=SFQQUQEWJU10 That is utter f****** pish Hearts! At least paint it exactly like the original ffs!! That board has not got a bloody clue about our history...fecking arsewipes Edited September 12 by Go for it 1308 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bazzas right boot Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) 42 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: A meltdown over paint. I’ve seen it all now. Dunno, our season depends on it. As the Middle East teeters on all out war, America sits on the cusp of a civil war threatening world peace and Russia look to invade Europe, this paint job puts it all in the shade. We nEeD anSwErs. SiGn oOT!! Edited September 12 by Bazzas right boot Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 hour ago, been here before said: Just do a straight copy, as it was. No 'exciting modern twist' or some sort of '21st century re-interpretation'. Exactly mate....that board are bloody useless! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
If carlsberg did rivals... Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 43 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: A meltdown over paint. I’ve seen it all now. Emulsions are running high! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bungalow Bill Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) The drawing gave the impression it would be quite a big sign. Doesn’t look big enough. Edited September 12 by Bungalow Bill Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sac Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Making a replica and hanging it up would have probably been cheaper than putting a scaffold up and paying people to paint it, and on corrugation, so depending on where the daylight is there will be shadow lines. 🤦♂️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Maybe the letters will be attached and it is just the maroon backing that is painted ? Im sure it will look decent either way though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
heartsfc_fan Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 I'll wait till it's finished before making judgement. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 2 minutes ago, heartsfc_fan said: I'll wait till it's finished before making judgement. Fools and bairns should never see half done work Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon Ramsay Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 No one cares, Slugball oot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colinmorewasgash Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 55 minutes ago, Humblerogue said: It will look great in the championship Well considering the sign was there for many years including the crap 70s and 80s, nostalgia isn't always great, jesus that looks awful. Do they really have a clue, why are the fans never asked opinion on anything or what type of sign they would like. I mean painting on corrugated iron who thought oh that will be good plus if we announce it now, it will shut the peasants up. I despair more and more about this current board on anything football related over last few years, wooh we got 3rd 4th 3rd in a poor league with pretty poor hibs and sheep. Why do they never have any dialogue with the true fanbase silence is golden when they get a bit flak, and its our history as football club not the budge bowling club and women institute for friends and family. Cheap looking superficial guff. Wasn't sure if good or bad idea originally as I would rather use money to upgrade other parts of stadium as we aren't spending it on striker, but then saw that they are getting some artist in, once again board on the cheap while the fat cats live off the club money she ain't the saint folk think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
south morocco Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 minutes ago, colinmorewasgash said: Well considering the sign was there for many years including the crap 70s and 80s, nostalgia isn't always great, jesus that looks awful. Do they really have a clue, why are the fans never asked opinion on anything or what type of sign they would like. I mean painting on corrugated iron who thought oh that will be good plus if we announce it now, it will shut the peasants up. I despair more and more about this current board on anything football related over last few years, wooh we got 3rd 4th 3rd in a poor league with pretty poor hibs and sheep. Why do they never have any dialogue with the true fanbase silence is golden when they get a bit flak, and its our history as football club not the budge bowling club and women institute for friends and family. Cheap looking superficial guff. Wasn't sure if good or bad idea originally as I would rather use money to upgrade other parts of stadium as we aren't spending it on striker, but then saw that they are getting some artist in, once again board on the cheap while the fat cats live off the club money she ain't the saint folk think. The national lottery heritage fund have donated the money for this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colinmaroon Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Was going to say that I couldn't believe the negativity, and I remembered Kickback can be a Fools Paradise. I'm delighted and I'm sure the end result will be just like the sign was when it was originally erected, or the top rate sign painter may add some aging. Either way if it's sticking to an accurate representation of the original, fine by me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
been here before Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 minutes ago, colinmorewasgash said: Well considering the sign was there for many years including the crap 70s and 80s, nostalgia isn't always great, jesus that looks awful. Do they really have a clue, why are the fans never asked opinion on anything or what type of sign they would like. I mean painting on corrugated iron who thought oh that will be good plus if we announce it now, it will shut the peasants up. I despair more and more about this current board on anything football related over last few years, wooh we got 3rd 4th 3rd in a poor league with pretty poor hibs and sheep. Why do they never have any dialogue with the true fanbase silence is golden when they get a bit flak, and its our history as football club not the budge bowling club and women institute for friends and family. Cheap looking superficial guff. Wasn't sure if good or bad idea originally as I would rather use money to upgrade other parts of stadium as we aren't spending it on striker, but then saw that they are getting some artist in, once again board on the cheap while the fat cats live off the club money she ain't the saint folk think. You've read all that into a sign being painted on the outside of a stand? ****in hell 😄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) 5 minutes ago, colinmorewasgash said: Well considering the sign was there for many years including the crap 70s and 80s, nostalgia isn't always great, jesus that looks awful. Do they really have a clue, why are the fans never asked opinion on anything or what type of sign they would like. I mean painting on corrugated iron who thought oh that will be good plus if we announce it now, it will shut the peasants up. I despair more and more about this current board on anything football related over last few years, wooh we got 3rd 4th 3rd in a poor league with pretty poor hibs and sheep. Why do they never have any dialogue with the true fanbase silence is golden when they get a bit flak, and its our history as football club not the budge bowling club and women institute for friends and family. Cheap looking superficial guff. Wasn't sure if good or bad idea originally as I would rather use money to upgrade other parts of stadium as we aren't spending it on striker, but then saw that they are getting some artist in, once again board on the cheap while the fat cats live off the club money she ain't the saint folk think. 👏 👏 👏 Edited September 12 by Go for it 1308 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArcticJambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) Surely, yes surely to god they've applied to recreate the sign and mount it on an arch over the current gates BUT, BUT have been denied planning permission. Surely they haven't thought we'll paint it on the stand, surely!! Edited September 12 by ArcticJambo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Real Maroonblood Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said: If they dinnae use the original font, this place will be unbearable 🫠 As long as Naeclue isn’t involved it’ll be fine. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chuck Berry Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 When finished, can they move the scaffolding round to the Wheatfield and removed the half-arsed advert sign? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newton51 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Cheep option again. Why do we get the simple things so wrong Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newton51 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 10 minutes ago, Chuck Berry said: When finished, can they move the scaffolding round to the Wheatfield and removed the half-arsed advert sign? The directors never leave the main stand so probably don’t have a clue about this Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 hour ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said: Emulsions are running high! 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cazzyy Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 11 minutes ago, Newton51 said: Cheep option again. Why do we get the simple things so wrong FFS, we didn't pay for it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 hours ago, Le Chat said: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
been here before Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 8 minutes ago, Gundermann said: Great film. Might watch it again over the weekend if I've a couple of spare hours. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
way out west jambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Most fans I know were asking for another striker and a centre half. Who was asking for the old sign to make a comeback? 🤔 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Australis Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 I love the idea. But can't help feeling it's a decision to make us forget about the keystone cops management and players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jambopilms Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 11 minutes ago, Australis said: I love the idea. But can't help feeling it's a decision to make us forget about the keystone cops management and players. Yep they definitely applied for lottery funding, got the money and found a company to start the work all since the start of the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gorgie_Rules Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) Must admit I laughed out loud when I seen it painted onto the stand. Not that big a deal but at same time its a piss poor effort at restoring something nostalgic. However folk will literally bash the board with anything when results aren’t going our way Edited September 12 by Gorgie_Rules Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SecN Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 2 hours ago, Humblerogue said: It will look great in the championship **** off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humblerogue Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 minute ago, SecN said: **** off. I don’t think we will be relegated but we are showing no semblance of a team that know what they are doing. So far away from the attacking team Naismith spoke about last year, he brings in a pile of players and plays them out of position. Unbalanced and completely confused. Not improved in attacking areas. Has all the signs of a team in serious trouble. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Just now, Humblerogue said: I don’t think we will be relegated but we are showing no semblance of a team that know what they are doing. So far away from the attacking team Naismith spoke about last year, he brings in a pile of players and plays them out of position. Unbalanced and completely confused. Not improved in attacking areas. Has all the signs of a team in serious trouble. Wrong thread ffs man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scratchy Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Should've just done t-shirts, I'd get one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
S Form Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 hour ago, Newton51 said: Cheep option again. Why do we get the simple things so wrong I blame the bursds team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Humblerogue Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 7 minutes ago, Go for it 1308 said: Wrong thread ffs man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope the sign is lovely! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victorian Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 I'm now convinced that some peoples' weekends are completely ruined if only their second favourite version of the Hearts Song is played pre-match. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 23 minutes ago, Humblerogue said: I don’t think we will be relegated but we are showing no semblance of a team that know what they are doing. So far away from the attacking team Naismith spoke about last year, he brings in a pile of players and plays them out of position. Unbalanced and completely confused. Not improved in attacking areas. Has all the signs of a team in serious trouble. Ps ...I totally agree with all of that....you better believe it! Anyway....back to 'the sign' argument 😬 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the posh bit Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 2 hours ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said: Emulsions are running high! 😁 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...