Fort Vallance Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 hours ago, Ally said: Superficial guff. File alongside retro kit releases and the likes. File alongside have a whinge about anything. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
way out west jambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Modern day stadiums going all LED Boards & displays, then there’s the light shows. We’re bringing back a shitey old wooden sign. 🤦🏻♂️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Go for it 1308 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 minute ago, Fort Vallance said: File alongside have a whinge about anything. You sir...are a 'Signage Happy Clapper' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thomaso Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: Modern day stadiums going all LED Boards & displays, then there’s the light shows. We’re bringing back a shitey old wooden sign. 🤦🏻♂️ For fans of my age it’s not a “shitey old wooden sign”. For me it’s an iconic part of our history that brings back memories of supporting my team. Saying that either replicate the sign or don’t do it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gorgiewave Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 4 hours ago, Deid Heid said: https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/blogs/news/historic-sign-to-be-reinstated-at-tynecastle-park Interesting timing, attempt to shut us up maybe.Or am i being too cynical? It's been planned for ages and it's lottery funded. I don't think the lottery gives grants to "shut up" fans. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SecN Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 2 hours ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said: Emulsions are running high! Jokes like that are un-pallete-able. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cookieboy Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 1 minute ago, SecN said: Jokes like that are un-pallete-able. I'll gloss over that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
way out west jambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 2 minutes ago, Thomaso said: For fans of my age it’s not a “shitey old wooden sign”. For me it’s an iconic part of our history that brings back memories of supporting my team. Saying that either replicate the sign or don’t do it. If we’re using the space at the back of the stand do something better with it. Paint a big mural of Zaliuskas or one of the Scottish cup winning teams lifting the trophy. Prime space for footfall & traffic to see and we’re wasting it on this. 🤦🏻♂️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fort Vallance Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 9 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: Modern day stadiums going all LED Boards & displays, then there’s the light shows. We’re bringing back a shitey old wooden sign. 🤦🏻♂️ Blasphemy. That sign was iconic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Section Q Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 4 hours ago, Le Chat said: Naisy oot.....! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Gorgiewave said: It's been planned for ages and it's lottery funded. I don't think the lottery gives grants to "shut up" fans. ****ing lotto . I heard we originally asked them to buy us a striker but they refused and this was the compromise Edited September 12 by Sooks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
way out west jambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Fort Vallance said: Blasphemy. That sign was iconic. Aye mate, back in 1912 or about then. Jim Jeffries canny even mind that sign. Things move on, it’s called progress. We have the museum, we have the plaques, why do we need this? 🤷🏻♂️ Edited September 12 by way out west jambo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fort Vallance Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: If we’re using the space at the back of the stand do something better with it. Paint a big mural of Zaliuskas or one of the Scottish cup winning teams lifting the trophy. Prime space for footfall & traffic to see and we’re wasting it on this. 🤦🏻♂️ I'm trying to guess your age by your post. Hope you got the exam results you hoped for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tian447 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 hours ago, jamborich said: Can’t believe people are getting their knickers in a twist without seeing it finished Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dalstonjambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 10 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: If we’re using the space at the back of the stand do something better with it. Paint a big mural of Zaliuskas or one of the Scottish cup winning teams lifting the trophy. Prime space for footfall & traffic to see and we’re wasting it on this. 🤦🏻♂️ Maybe your point would have more credibility if you could spell his name… Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
way out west jambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 4 minutes ago, Fort Vallance said: I'm trying to guess your age by your post. Hope you got the exam results you hoped for. My exams results were banging back in the 90’s. I done really well in business management. I started a company making shitey old wooden signs in 2019 and we’re flying. These boys with the LED boards etc going bust thanks to us with our shitey old wooden signs 👌🏻 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fort Vallance Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 8 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: Aye mate, back in 1912 or about then. Jim Jeffries canny even mind that sign. Things move on, it’s called progress. We have the museum, we have the plaques, why do we need this? 🤷🏻♂️ Last word. No disrespect and I get your point. But the whole point of the exercise was the heritage, remembering the area and the what the club means to Gorgie and Dalry. It's not about banners or celebrating trophies. It's more about people of a certain age thinking. "I remember that" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckies1874 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 2 hours ago, colinmorewasgash said: Well considering the sign was there for many years including the crap 70s and 80s, nostalgia isn't always great, jesus that looks awful. Do they really have a clue, why are the fans never asked opinion on anything or what type of sign they would like. I mean painting on corrugated iron who thought oh that will be good plus if we announce it now, it will shut the peasants up. I despair more and more about this current board on anything football related over last few years, wooh we got 3rd 4th 3rd in a poor league with pretty poor hibs and sheep. Why do they never have any dialogue with the true fanbase silence is golden when they get a bit flak, and its our history as football club not the budge bowling club and women institute for friends and family. Cheap looking superficial guff. Wasn't sure if good or bad idea originally as I would rather use money to upgrade other parts of stadium as we aren't spending it on striker, but then saw that they are getting some artist in, once again board on the cheap while the fat cats live off the club money she ain't the saint folk think. Nostalgia Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fort Vallance Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 7 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: My exams results were banging back in the 90’s. I done really well in business management. I started a company making shitey old wooden signs in 2019 and we’re flying. These boys with the LED boards etc going bust thanks to us with our shitey old wooden signs 👌🏻 Good lad. No substitute for quality. My results in the 70's were bang average but I remember the sign. Ram the LED. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pans Jambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 3 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said: Nostalgia Brilliant pics. I love the new (old) sign & ive not even seen it yet. Roon yeez haterz! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ArcticJambo Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 36 minutes ago, Thomaso said: For fans of my age it’s not a “shitey old wooden sign”. For me it’s an iconic part of our history that brings back memories of supporting my team. Saying that either replicate the sign or don’t do it. This, or 32 minutes ago, way out west jambo said: If we’re using the space at the back of the stand do something better with it. Paint a big mural of Zaliuskas or one of the Scottish cup winning teams lifting the trophy. Prime space for footfall & traffic to see and we’re wasting it on this. 🤦🏻♂️ That! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 The reaction to this is amazing. So many raging arseholes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SecN Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 41 minutes ago, tian447 said: Love that movie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Homme Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 17 minutes ago, hughesie27 said: The reaction to this is amazing. So many raging arseholes. Utter morons. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davemclaren Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 I'll judge it when I go past on the top deck of a bus. I remember doing that many times and always turning to look at the original ( both ltd and plc versions 😎 ). It was certainly iconic but was never going to be replicated, more a nod to the past. Not convinced painting it on the corrugated wall, if that is the plan, is the right idea though. We will see. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DubHearts Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 It might look alright painted onto the stand , but surely to **** they could pay for a wooden plaque fix to the stand and paint it !! A bit half arsed if it’s just painted onto the corrugated stand , it’s an iconic sign used to pass it everyday going to school then on the bus to and from work Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BillyMurphy Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 I saw the sign, and it opened up my heart..... some people are literally never happy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Selkirkhmfc1874 Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 Some of the moaning is just incredible about a painting ffs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WheatfieldWarrior Posted September 12 Share Posted September 12 48 minutes ago, DubHearts said: It might look alright painted onto the stand , but surely to **** they could pay for a wooden plaque fix to the stand and paint it !! A bit half arsed if it’s just painted onto the corrugated stand , it’s an iconic sign used to pass it everyday going to school then on the bus to and from work I Agree with this. I thought sustainable wood would be the modern thing rather than painting corrugated metal. I doubt it's a significant fire risk. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tian447 Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 I'm assuming that the paint is just a backing for where the sign is going to be affixed. The statement already mentions they are working with https://www.thomaspaints.com/ Fun fact, he's already done work in the Main Stand, and none of his stuff seems to be shite: Even if it's just going to be painted on, I'm sure it will faithfully recreate the style of what was there in the past. Why not just wait and see? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stupid Sexy Flanders Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 5 hours ago, way out west jambo said: If we’re using the space at the back of the stand do something better with it. Paint a big mural of Zaliuskas or one of the Scottish cup winning teams lifting the trophy. Prime space for footfall & traffic to see and we’re wasting it on this. 🤦🏻♂️ Who? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oda be a JT Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 It better glow in the dark or I’m stopping my monthly sub, board oot, Naismith oot @Ian Black 8 oot and scaffolders oot. 😡😡 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Debut 4 Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 8 hours ago, Thomaso said: For fans of my age it’s not a “shitey old wooden sign”. For me it’s an iconic part of our history that brings back memories of supporting my team. Saying that either replicate the sign or don’t do it. Apparently you’re a raging arsehole though if you think the current attempt isn’t going to do it justice…. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
been here before Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Debut 4 said: Apparently you’re a raging arsehole though if you think the current attempt isn’t going to do it justice…. Its wierd as **** how some rockets can take words typed on a screen by a total strangers such as 'looks shite' etc and construe it as folk "raging, getting all worked up or loosing the plot". Still if it gives them a little bit of contrived moral superiority then why worry? Edited September 13 by been here before Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Debut 4 Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 minute ago, been here before said: Its wierd as **** how some rockets can take words typed on a screen by a total strangers such as 'looks shite' etc and construe it as folk "raging, getting all worked up or loosing the plot". Still if it gives them a little bit of contrived moral superiority then why worry? Correct. I’m hardly spitting teeth myself over it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EH11 2NL Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 (edited) When was the sign taken down? Was when the "new" Gorgie stand was built? Edited September 13 by EH11 2NL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
I.T.K Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 13 hours ago, Hungry hippo said: I'm surprised at the negative reactions. As far as I'm concerned, it's just a nice reference to our past. It's really weird. Some people just want something to foam about. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jbee647 Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 32 minutes ago, EH11 2NL said: When was the sign taken down? Was when the "new" Gorgie stand was built? Around 1994 when they started knocking down terracing and building the Wheatfield Stand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 13 hours ago, Sooks said: Sorry @Jim Panzee 😞 I'm outraged. but not as much as some it would seem.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 12 hours ago, Gordon Ramsay said: No one cares, Slugball oot. I do wonder who this is referring to. Budge? McKinlay? Naismith?, Forrest?...anyone with a bald head? Anyway, it's hilarious. Keep saying it. I almost stopped shitting myself with laughter after the 8th time you wrote this. I think you should change your user name to Alfie Noakes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 21 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: I'm outraged. but not as much as some it would seem.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon Ramsay Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 4 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: I do wonder who this is referring to. Budge? McKinlay? Naismith?, Forrest?...anyone with a bald head? Anyway, it's hilarious. Keep saying it. I almost stopped shitting myself with laughter after the 8th time you wrote this. I think you should change your user name to Alfie Noakes. Slugball oot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 3 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: I do wonder who this is referring to. Budge? McKinlay? Naismith?, Forrest?...anyone with a bald head? Anyway, it's hilarious. Keep saying it. I almost stopped shitting myself with laughter after the 8th time you wrote this. I think you should change your user name to Alfie Noakes. Tattie heid was always going to be a really difficult first album to live up to Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon Ramsay Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 1 minute ago, Sooks said: Tattie heid was always going to be a really difficult first album to live up to Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 The only reason people are having a meltdown about this sign painted is because we've started the season so badly. If we were flying, in the Europa group stage, in the League cup and near the top of the table I can guarantee nobody would give a monkeys. This is purely another reason to feel aggrieved with the club because of what's happening on the park. It's a sign ffs. A wee nod to the past, nothing more. Getting all worked up about it especially before it's even finished too 🤦♂️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 7 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said: Slugball oot. 👍🤣 Nurse! stop it! I need someone to change my sheets. anyone got any spare Imodium please? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 6 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said: is this you before you head out to the Skyline restaurant and spend an hour being all sweary at the head chef and make him cry? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim Panzee Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 9 minutes ago, Sooks said: Tattie heid was always going to be a really difficult first album to live up to 😆 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon Ramsay Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 3 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: 👍🤣 Nurse! stop it! I need someone to change my sheets. anyone got any spare Imodium please? Slugball oot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon Ramsay Posted September 13 Share Posted September 13 2 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said: is this you before you head out to the Skyline restaurant and spend an hour being all sweary at the head chef and make him cry? Slugball oot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...