Posted
31 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

The thread title vs the content. 😄😄👏

😂😂 

Posted
37 minutes ago, Boab said:

Neds are an absolute scourge. In a plane or an airport, even more so, especially as some people’s anxiety levels are heightened. 
Sorry, but a kick in the head was the very least he deserved. 
A fight on a plane, if you’ve ever witnessed one, is terrifying if you’re not a good flyer.

mon’ the old bill.

Was in a flight that got diverted once after a guy was touching up another guys wife (with her apparent encouragement )and the husband knocked him out in his seat. Landed in Belgrade (we were supposed to be going to Dalaman) All 3 of them taken off by these huge polis that looked like Darth Vader. Biggest pisser was we had to sit on the tarmac for 2 hours to get a spot and get refuelled.

Scary when it happens on a plane. You can’t just walk away.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

The thread title vs the content. 😄😄👏

🤷‍♂️

Jacques de Gatineau
Posted
55 minutes ago, Boab said:

Neds are an absolute scourge. In a plane or an airport, even more so, especially as some people’s anxiety levels are heightened. 
Sorry, but a kick in the head was the very least he deserved. 
A fight on a plane, if you’ve ever witnessed one, is terrifying if you’re not a good flyer.

mon’ the old bill.

Airports and planes seem designed to encourage people to get aggressive and anxious. Claustrophobic, noisy and dehumanising.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Ally said:

Airports and planes seem designed to encourage people to get aggressive and anxious. Claustrophobic, noisy and dehumanising.

Plus the amount of alcohol being encouraged both at the terminal and once in the air.

Posted
2 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

21 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Planetterra Adventures tries to combine tourism with local benefits. As we see major protests against tourism in places like Barcelona and Mallorca, how to give locals some benefits is a big challenge. On average every $100 spent by tourists, just $5-10 goes into the local economy.

Helping women get driving licenses in India so they can transport people to and from the airports, tours in the Galapagos must employ local people with only limited permits for tourism companies, getting people to visit in quieter seasons are some of the projects Planetterra Adentures does.

For a good insight into the impacts of tourism watch 'The Last Tourist' documentary.

Wasting your time guys, this is the ACAB but not ABAC thread.

spirt of 98
Posted
2 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

If it happened in the USA and the police officer shot the guy instead of Stamping on his head he would be getting done for murder. 

I assume you mean he would have been shot well before it got to the stage of being tazed flat out on the ground though. Which probably wouldn't have resulted in any further action.

Yes of course I mean he’d have been shot before the head stamp. I can only assume the officer felt he had to make sure the suspect was down and not getting back up. Officer may have been physically incapable of further fighting and scared for his life.

Police officers are not restricted to training. When faced with serious violence they can do whatever is necessary to defend themselves. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

Yes of course I mean he’d have been shot before the head stamp. I can only assume the officer felt he had to make sure the suspect was down and not getting back up. Officer may have been physically incapable of further fighting and scared for his life.

Police officers are not restricted to training. When faced with serious violence they can do whatever is necessary to defend themselves. 

That's the rub of it though. Can he successfully argue he acted in self defence? I don't believe so. 

spirt of 98
Posted
1 minute ago, hughesie27 said:

That's the rub of it though. Can he successfully argue he acted in self defence? I don't believe so. 

The suspects lawyer has now dropped them. I do ponder why……..? 

Clearly the lawyer realises they have no case against the police! 

Posted

I spent hours overnight in Manchester airport whilst travelling to a Florence for our match, it's a complete culture shock there were 2 or more families actually living in the airport and some very dodgy characters floating in and out ot the airport, I was apprehensive before even going to the loo.  The whole thing felt very strange.

spirt of 98
Posted
4 minutes ago, lou said:

I spent hours overnight in Manchester airport whilst travelling to a Florence for our match, it's a complete culture shock there were 2 or more families actually living in the airport and some very dodgy characters floating in and out ot the airport, I was apprehensive before even going to the loo.  The whole thing felt very strange.

Must admit I was at Manchester earlier in the year for a flight and even the stops on the trip down highlighted to me how different England is to Scotland. The vibe is just different. 

Posted
1 minute ago, spirt of 98 said:

Must admit I was at Manchester earlier in the year for a flight and even the stops on the trip down highlighted to me how different England is to Scotland. The vibe is just different. 

Completely 

Posted
8 minutes ago, spirt of 98 said:

As a Scot living down here (thankfully away from large cities) the vibe is very much is different. Very little mixing of race plays a large part I believe. 

Posted

Manchester is a city that I just don't get at all, I have visited on a few occasions and just don't like it, I love Liverpool as it  has a real vibe and there is so much to do and see but I normally look forward to getting out of Manchester 

Posted

I've spent rakes of time in English airports and haven't noted much out of the ordinary. 

Not Manchester though mind you. 

Posted
26 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

I've spent rakes of time in English airports and haven't noted much out of the ordinary. 

Not Manchester though mind you. 

Me too but this was a real eye opener, I was in 2 terminals and one wasn't as bad as the other 

Posted
15 minutes ago, escobri said:

More mental health issues, this time in Southport and kids injured. Sounds absolutely brutal. 😪https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cql8j2j0304o

Racists already trying to jump on this news to claim it was a Muslim immigrant. They don't miss a beat.

Jacques de Gatineau
Posted
17 minutes ago, escobri said:

More mental health issues, this time in Southport and kids injured. Sounds absolutely brutal. 😪https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cql8j2j0304o

Sad that in modern society, people can get to a point where this kind of behaviour seems like an appropriate course of action. Or perhaps because of modern society. Either way, innocent people always suffer.

Posted

I've flown out of Manchester Airport quite a few times and always found it to be perfectly pleasant. I've always enjoyed a weekend in Manchester too. The surrounding areas are definitely shitholes though. I spent a night in Accrington earlier this year and what a place that is.

Posted
34 minutes ago, escobri said:

Mate just said it was a Taylor Swift dance event for 6-10 year old girls and the person arrested for it is only 17.

Posted
On 27/07/2024 at 21:50, Generic Username said:

The whole point of the police is to arrest suspects and put them through the legal system where they'll get whatever punishment they are in line for. I'd really rather not have police dishing out retaliatory violence to perpetrators.

I think our police being so soft is part of the reason we appear to have more anti social behaviour than other countries. 

If you assault police officers like that I think you deserve kick in. 

20 hours ago, Taffin said:

I'm sticking to my guns on this.

Think it was always pretty obvious a fight had gone down given we knew there were injured police.

I still think kicking the guy in the head once incapacitated is bang out of order. Add to that the treatment of the old lady, the employer and I'd still still reckon there's a healthy dose of racism on show.

Still also absolutely laughable that a bunch of armed police lost control of that situation and took a licking off a couple of random guys.

If in doubt assume racism. If they were white and set about the police no chance you have the same opinion. 

I can't see the officer keeping his job, I'm comfortable with his actions given what just happened. 

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

I think our police being so soft is part of the reason we appear to have more anti social behaviour than other countries. 

The police being soft is what led to the whole thing. Proactive, assertive policing wouldn't have seen it come what it did. 

Kicking folk in the head when they're lying on the ground isn't 'hard', it's cowardly. Nor is pushing an old lady. 

If they hadn't got leathered up and down the hallway by a couple of unarmed and outnumbered guys then maybe they might have been able to keep control of the situation.

If in doubt assume racism. If they were white and set about the police no chance you have the same opinion. 

No shit, white man kicking another white man in the head doesn't really scream underlying racism in the same way 😂😂

Someone chooses to work for a self-recognised institutionally racist organisation and kicks a prone person, of another race, in the head. That is much easier to make those connections.

I can't see the officer keeping his job, I'm comfortable with his actions given what just happened. 

Edited by Taffin
Posted
50 minutes ago, Ally said:

Sad that in modern society, people can get to a point where this kind of behaviour seems like an appropriate course of action. Or perhaps because of modern society. Either way, innocent people always suffer.

Haven't mental health issues always caused behavioural problems? 

Posted
14 minutes ago, Taffin said:

The police being soft is what led to the whole thing. Proactive, assertive policing wouldn't have seen it come what it did. 

Kicking folk in the head when they're lying on the ground isn't 'hard', it's cowardly. Nor is pushing an old lady. 

If they hadn't got leathered up and down the hallway by a couple of unarmed and outnumbered guys then maybe they might have been able to keep control of the situation.

No shit, white man kicking another white man in the head doesn't really scream underlying racism in the same way 😂😂

Someone chooses to work for a self-recognised institutionally racist organisation and kicks a prone person, of another race, in the head. That is much easier to make those connections.

I meant i think you're overall opinion of the interaction would be different had it been a family of chavs from Glasgow. 

I'm not saying it's hard, it's what the guy deserves. I think he'll probably lose his job but it iirc he's the last policeman standing so they might try justify it as there's multiple attackers there.

The last paragraph is some take on someone wanting to join the police tbh. They have stupidly hard job. You've watched a video of people trying to uphold the law in an airport, getting ten bells knocked out of them and jumped to the conclusion they're probably racist without any evidence of it.

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

I meant i think you're overall opinion of the interaction would be different had it been a family of chavs from Glasgow. 

If they were of a different race from the police, I'd think the same whether from Glasgow, Plymouth or Bedford. 

If they were white, then no, quite obviously it would be far, far lower on my list of assumptions.

Not sure where chav comes into it. I'd sort of assumed those involved may well fall into that bracket anyway.

I'm not saying it's hard, it's what the guy deserves. I think he'll probably lose his job but it iirc he's the last policeman standing so they might try justify it as there's multiple attackers there.

The guy deserves to face the justice system, not a cheap shot on the floor. Gamekeepers lowering their standards to that of the poacher isn't what anyone deserves, certainly not the society paying for those supposedly upholding law and order.

The last paragraph is some take on someone wanting to join the police tbh. They have stupidly hard job. You've watched a video of people trying to uphold the law in an airport, getting ten bells knocked out of them and jumped to the conclusion they're probably racist without any evidence of it.

Lots of people have stupidly hard jobs, it's not an excuse to:

a) seemingly be poor at doing it

b) lose the rag and boot folk in the head due to a).

I never said there was evidence, just that for me, there's a number of things that put it high up my list of assumptions. If someone from another institutionally racist organisation faced losing their job due to their actions against someone of a different race I bet there'd be far less people defending it. Is my view shaped by recent scandals within the police force? Of course it is, but that's of their own doing, no?

After a fierce fire fight, I assume you'd think it was okay for soldiers to go around doing what they want to the injured enemy? They were attacked, and it's a stupidly hard job afterall.

Edited by Taffin
Posted

What happened to all the totty in Rose Street? 

Posted
4 hours ago, kila said:

Plus the amount of alcohol being encouraged both at the terminal and once in the air.

I'm daft for a good scoop when travelling, especially when alone and for work, and have yet to touch up anyone else's wife or kick off with other passengers. I'm such a well-mannered gent, in fact, that  air crew often take it upon themselves to furnish me with additional drinks whenever they spot that I'm running low.

Posted

Irish citizen and resident of Spain, Stephen Christopher Yaxley-Lennon (stage name Tommy Robinson), has fled the UK to avoid a high court appearance date which was set for today.

This comes after the wee scrotum was arrested (again) in the UK as part of a fascist rally at the weekend, at which he breached his injunction and yet again slandered the young man he had previously lost a court case against.

Not the sharpest tool in the shed.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Cade said:

Irish citizen and resident of Spain, Stephen Christopher Yaxley-Lennon (stage name Tommy Robinson), has fled the UK to avoid a high court appearance date which was set for today.

This comes after the wee scrotum was arrested (again) in the UK as part of a fascist rally at the weekend, at which he breached his injunction and yet again slandered the young man he had previously lost a court case against.

Not the sharpest tool in the shed.

Not what the wee scrote said to his supporters at the rally !

Something along the lines of “ come and get me…”

Pretty difficult when he’s slunk away.

Posted
1 hour ago, fabienleclerq said:

I'd honestly rather not have a police force that gets to dish out whatever punishment they deem fit on the spot. Appreciate the difficulty of the job and the impossible situations they find themselves in on a daily basis, but the harsh reality is, that's what they sign up for. If you're unable to keep your composure in those highly intense moments then it's not the career for you. 

Posted
39 minutes ago, Boab said:

Not what the wee scrote said to his supporters at the rally !

Something along the lines of “ come and get me…”

Pretty difficult when he’s slunk away.

They did go and get him.

Arrested him at Folkestone as he was attempting to board Eurostar.

Held overnight, reminded he was due in court on Monday then, for some feckin reason, released on unconditional bail.

Straight back on the train and away hame tae Spain to do a few fat lines and rant on twitter about his being cancelled or something and ask for more money from his dipshit fans.

Posted
31 minutes ago, Generic Username said:

I'd honestly rather not have a police force that gets to dish out whatever punishment they deem fit on the spot. Appreciate the difficulty of the job and the impossible situations they find themselves in on a daily basis, but the harsh reality is, that's what they sign up for. If you're unable to keep your composure in those highly intense moments then it's not the career for you. 

I think some things can be dealt with on the spot.

Some wee ned getting a clip round the ear for being a ***** is better for everyone including him than wasting time money and effort on court. Keeps them out the system and they might think twice.

Not really the case here though but I think if you set about the police you deserve what you get.

Posted

Everybody seems determined to pick a side on this police thing.

If you attack police officers you can expect to be arrested and prosecuted.

If you stomp on a helpless person's head you can also expect to be arrested and prosecuted, whether you're a copper or not.

It's not that hard to understand.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Cade said:

If you stomp on a helpless person's head you can also expect to be arrested and prosecuted, whether you're a copper or not.

I'd say it's only the folk defending the police guy that are trying to turn it into a black and white, one side right and one side wrong situation. Several of us have said that all sides were very clearly in the wrong.

Posted
3 hours ago, Cade said:

****ing Paddies.  :th_Rage2:

Posted
1 hour ago, Cade said:

You're approaching this from the position of not being utterly crackpot mental though Cade. 

A tricky ask for a lot on here judging from other threads going at the moment as well. 

MR INCREDIBLE
Posted
2 hours ago, Cade said:

They did go and get him.

Arrested him at Folkestone as he was attempting to board Eurostar.

Held overnight, reminded he was due in court on Monday then, for some feckin reason, released on unconditional bail.

Straight back on the train and away hame tae Spain to do a few fat lines and rant on twitter about his being cancelled or something and ask for more money from his dipshit fans.

Not as worrying as the 2 inbred scum at the airport are still not locked up for attacking our police force !🇬🇧

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, spirt of 98 said:

The suspects lawyer has now dropped them. I do ponder why……..? 

Clearly the lawyer realises they have no case against the police! 

Not one to miss an opportunity for the spotlight Aamer Anwar has taken them on.

Edited by hughesie27
Posted
4 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Not one to miss an opportunity for the spotlight Aamer Anwar has taken them on.

I'm scared to not like him in case it makes me racist.

Posted

Belladrum

Not a vintage year.  Enjoyed Callum Beattie, Jake Bugg and (against all my expections) Sophie Ellis-Bextor.

Ricky Ross doesn’t half like the sound of his own voice - and when did he pick up that American twang in his accent?

Weather not too bad, couple of showers.

As always great seeing people that you only see once a year - at Belladrum.

Saw a couple of Hearts fans there.

Posted
57 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Belladrum

Not a vintage year.  Enjoyed Callum Beattie, Jake Bugg and (against all my expections) Sophie Ellis-Bextor.

Ricky Ross doesn’t half like the sound of his own voice - and when did he pick up that American twang in his accent?

Weather not too bad, couple of showers.

As always great seeing people that you only see once a year - at Belladrum.

Saw a couple of Hearts fans there.

I've not been for 20 years, but loved I and saw some great bands there, Biffy Clyro, Echo & the Bunnymen, Wonderstuff, Editors, Jah Wobble, Lee Scratch Perry, Dreadzone, Alabama 3, it's a shame it doesn't look like they get that quality of bands these days.

Jacques de Gatineau
Posted
18 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Haven't mental health issues always caused behavioural problems? 

Absolutely. My general impression, however, was that in the past, families tended to contain their nutcases better. Due to societal changes, an unwillingness to take personal responsibility, and the decline in public services/standards, mental health issues are manifesting themselves in public at far greater rates than they used to. Perhaps that's just because of the amplification of such events driven by 24h news, though. 

Posted

An increase in triggering factors (poverty, lack of jobs, lack of housing security and job security) and a decrease in mitigating factors (NHS and council supplied psychological help) have resulted in more bammery on the streets.

There is perhaps a part being played by the media, both traditional mass media and social media which amplifies anything bad and barely reports on anything good and that's not helping people's mental state either.

Jacques de Gatineau
Posted
4 minutes ago, Cade said:

An increase in triggering factors (poverty, lack of jobs, lack of housing security and job security) and a decrease in mitigating factors (NHS and council supplied psychological help) have resulted in more bammery on the streets.

There is perhaps a part being played by the media, both traditional mass media and social media which amplifies anything bad and barely reports on anything good and that's not helping people's mental state either.

Very true, Cade. A week without news and the world comes across as a much nicer place.

Posted
26 minutes ago, Ally said:

Absolutely. My general impression, however, was that in the past, families tended to contain their nutcases better. Due to societal changes, an unwillingness to take personal responsibility, and the decline in public services/standards, mental health issues are manifesting themselves in public at far greater rates than they used to. Perhaps that's just because of the amplification of such events driven by 24h news, though. 

As I’ve states before I rarely watch the news . It’s always quite depressing . I know the world can be shit , I don’t need reminded of it 24/7. 

Posted
21 hours ago, lou said:

Manchester is a city that I just don't get at all, I have visited on a few occasions and just don't like it, I love Liverpool as it  has a real vibe and there is so much to do and see but I normally look forward to getting out of Manchester 

We were down a couple of months ago for a gig at Manchester Apollo and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, that said were there Sunday and Monday so a friday/saturday night might be a different vibe but we managed to find great places to eat and drink