tartofmidlothian Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Clarke might not trust you to lead the line for him, but we do. Hold your head high after tonight, we all want to see you back home at Tynecastle soon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Herbert. Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 At least he will still be in decent shape for the start of the season. He was wasted by Clarke. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skacel103 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 4 minutes ago, Herbert. said: At least he will still be in decent shape for the start of the season. He was wasted by Clarke. Pray to God that's him gonna sign an extension 🙏 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTT Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 minute ago, skacel103 said: Pray to God that's him gonna sign an extension 🙏 I think that might make my year? Shanks signing an extension would probably be the best piece of business the club has done since bringing Robbo back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
allystrachan Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 He’s probably thinking if he played for any championship side or OF side he’d have been starting for Scotland. I’d love to be wrong but I think the euros will make him look to move to a better league. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
south morocco Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Just now, OTT said: I think that might make my year? Shanks signing an extension would probably be the best piece of business the club has done since bringing Robbo back. I remember hearing JR had re- signed, I was over the moon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
William H. Bonney Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Just now, allystrachan said: He’s probably thinking if he played for any championship side or OF side he’d have been starting for Scotland. I’d love to be wrong but I think the euros will make him look to move to a better league. Just about to post pretty much the same. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robbo-Jambo Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 2 minutes ago, OTT said: I think that might make my year? Shanks signing an extension would probably be the best piece of business the club has done since bringing Robbo back. Absolutely this. Would be a real show of intent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Hearts are ten times better than feckin Scotland anyway. ❤️ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gambo Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 No Shankland, No party. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saint Jambo Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 15 minutes ago, allystrachan said: He’s probably thinking if he played for any championship side or OF side he’d have been starting for Scotland. I’d love to be wrong but I think the euros will make him look to move to a better league. Absolutely, has to be a concern. Especially if Clarke keeps his job, which he probably will. He has just scored 30 goals, swept the board on Scotland's player of the year awards, and scored the only Scotland goal in their final friendly despite no service. The result was he didn't get a look in. Clear that to be given a chance by Clarke you have to play outside Scotland or for Celtic/Rangers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboinglasgow Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 How he has played so few minutes at the Euros is mad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philfigo Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Hold your head high Shanks! You contributed more in the limited time got got than most of that team over the last week. That manager has absolutely no vision and its jobs for the boys brigade. You deserve better that what has been delt you you this week. Hopefully you get another shot at the big time again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cade Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Best Scotland player when he was on the pitch. Nae danger of being poached on the basis of 20-odd minutes. Didn't get injured. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sprinbox98 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 2 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said: Absolutely, has to be a concern. Especially if Clarke keeps his job, which he probably will. He has just scored 30 goals, swept the board on Scotland's player of the year awards, and scored the only Scotland goal in their final friendly despite no service. The result was he didn't get a look in. Clear that to be given a chance by Clarke you have to play outside Scotland or for Celtic/Rangers. If I was shanks I would be really hacked off tonight. Over looked by a bit that has barely scored this year and been bang average - but in a perceived better league. The stats don’t lie - pound for pound shanks should have started the last 2 games but unfortunately the English Championship is a ‘better’ league. if shanks wants to get a better chance at international level he would need to look at moving - it’s a big if though. Would you want to play for that dinosaur Clarke?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pasquale for King Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 I think he would start for half the teams in the competition, but gets 30 odd minutes for the worst team in Germany this summer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diadora Van Basten Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 (edited) At least Hearts appreciate Shanks imagine having to watch a dud playing in your position every week if you join a club who have a manager who wants a headless chicken up front like Clarke. Edited June 23 by Diadora Van Basten Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilson Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Not sure Clarke will survive this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Polonia Gorgie Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 27 minutes ago, allystrachan said: He’s probably thinking if he played for any championship side or OF side he’d have been starting for Scotland. I’d love to be wrong but I think the euros will make him look to move to a better league. I was pretty much going to post something similar, after the amount of goals he's scored in Scotlands top league and still getting snubbed. Shanks got what 40minutes in total. He must be thinking he needs to leave Scotland to play for Scotland Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chrisyboy7 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 minute ago, Wilson said: Not sure Clarke will survive this. I hope not Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boghell51 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 And Clarke thought Adams was better tnan you, Donkey to say the least, Stuff the family nonsence, Done more tnan Adams in culminated 20 mins of limited performances, Keep doing what your doin Shanks, Clarke the dinosaur will be no more Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diadora Van Basten Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Wilson said: Not sure Clarke will survive this. If it’s true to form then Scotland fans will go out party, have a good time then come home full of goodwill decide Clarke was a wee bit unlucky and he will continue. Edited June 23 by Diadora Van Basten Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilson Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 minute ago, Diadora Van Basten said: If it’s true to form then Scotland fans will go out party, have a good time then come home full of goodwill decide Clarke was a wee bit unlucky and he will continue. Exactly. Both Switzerland and Hungary were there to get beaten. Shanks on the bench with 61 goals in 2 years is a joke. Winning best supporters prizes is fine but winning football matches surely more important.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTT Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 11 minutes ago, Polonia Gorgie said: I was pretty much going to post something similar, after the amount of goals he's scored in Scotlands top league and still getting snubbed. Shanks got what 40minutes in total. He must be thinking he needs to leave Scotland to play for Scotland TBH I think its more of an indictment on Clarke than Shanks. His lack of respect. Shocking and pathetic from him Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Texaco Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 I was over in Cologne with a couple of Jambo mates and we made a point of singing our version of the Shanks song... We're got Lawrence Shankland, We've got Lawrence Shankland, We've got Lawrence Shankland..... on the benchhhh....🎵 Aw the Irony...... Some saw the funny side and some didn't have a f'in clue... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HeartsandonlyHearts Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 My fear is he now believes doing great at Hearts is not enough anymore if he wants more international playing time. May just take the money now. Anywhere. Clarke should be fired before he arrives back in Scotland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
liam11 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 He’s probably now thinking the only way he’ll be taken seriously by the national team is by playing away from Hearts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maple Leaf Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 51 minutes ago, Morgan said: Hearts are ten times better than feckin Scotland anyway. ❤️ As well as being more important ... imho Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maple Leaf Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 28 minutes ago, Wilson said: Not sure Clarke will survive this. We can only hope. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vegas-voss Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 **** off consequence of trying to win the game.You were negative as **** until 10 mins to go https://x.com/BBCSportScot/status/1804995804169420841?t=1yp5NAPnMKsL5UuL3yUWSQ&s=19 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vegas-voss Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 39 minutes ago, Wilson said: Not sure Clarke will survive this. He 100% will He shouldn't Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilson Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Just now, vegas-voss said: He 100% will He shouldn't Sadly I think you're right. Tonight reminded me of the last few weeks of Robbie's time with us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vegas-voss Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 2 minutes ago, vegas-voss said: **** off consequence of trying to win the game.You were negative as **** until 10 mins to go https://x.com/BBCSportScot/status/1804995804169420841?t=1yp5NAPnMKsL5UuL3yUWSQ&s=19 Honestly he gives away his negativity right at the end we opened up at the end of the game trying to get the win. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foxy16 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 7 minutes ago, vegas-voss said: Honestly he gives away his negativity right at the end we opened up at the end of the game trying to get the win. Completely agree. Why not open up in the first 20mins at least then you give yourself time to get back into it if you concede. If Scotland really did go for it you wouldn’t have the same level of frustration. I am pretty sure the Shankland debate would still be had, and rightly so, but watching that we didn’t really believe we could win and I think that comes from Clarke. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sherbet Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Watched the game on holiday on bein sports joe Cole said at half time shankland must be wondering? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 hour ago, OTT said: I think that might make my year? Shanks signing an extension would probably be the best piece of business the club has done since bringing Robbo back. I think I would combust Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colinmaroon Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 hour ago, Wilson said: Not sure Clarke will survive this. Only way he'll go is if he resigns. He's SFA bog standard and has done what they think is a good job. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vegas-voss Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Thing is for Scotland this should have been Shankland's tournament now I would probably expect him to be behind Conway now in Clarke's eyes as he will surely start to shape a different looking squad.So Shanks though still involved again will be 2nd or third choice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaside Dave Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Welcome back shanks. Enjoy your 2 week break celebrating the July holidays and we will see ya after for the new hearts season Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colinmaroon Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 He put Shankland on and gave him no time by burying him in a panic mass substitution and flooded the forward area. Shanks couldn't get that space a striker works for because of defenders AND forwards. Poor, poor management. Get a part in Soylent Green and Clarke would have him as a starter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pettigrewsstylist Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 hour ago, sprinbox98 said: If I was shanks I would be really hacked off tonight. Over looked by a bit that has barely scored this year and been bang average - but in a perceived better league. The stats don’t lie - pound for pound shanks should have started the last 2 games but unfortunately the English Championship is a ‘better’ league. if shanks wants to get a better chance at international level he would need to look at moving - it’s a big if though. Would you want to play for that dinosaur Clarke?! He wont score 30 goals so Clarke will just close the door as he has his mind Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gorgierulesapply88 Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 Voted player of the year in Scotland by the players 🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tiger Rudi Posted June 23 Share Posted June 23 1 hour ago, liam11 said: He’s probably now thinking the only way he’ll be taken seriously by the national team is by playing away from Hearts. Or...... he realises just how fantastic it is playing for a club where he's given God-like status. He should stick two fingers up at Clarke and keep banging them in for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pasquale for King Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 36 minutes ago, colinmaroon said: He put Shankland on and gave him no time by burying him in a panic mass substitution and flooded the forward area. Shanks couldn't get that space a striker works for because of defenders AND forwards. Poor, poor management. Get a part in Soylent Green and Clarke would have him as a starter. Spot on, the best ball he was given was cut out by a defender chasing Gilmour back, it was going along the ground to his feet ten yards out with his back to goal. After that most of the balls landed at the wrong guys. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whodanny Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 Clarke might not want you Shanks, But I sure do, You're still our legend, Come home to Tyncastle and be a Hearts legend. Your'e too good for Scotland. Be a Hearts Legend. We love you. Aye, ah know fellow kickbackers, I'm pished oot ma heid. But ahm sad, And I just want oor Shanks Back. Too much Whisky chums, sorry. 'Mon The Hearts !!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watt-Zeefuik Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 Clarke ensured he'll be back with us next season and probably signs an extension. Sore one for Larry but it'll help us next season no doubt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr fox Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berrassobad Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 6 hours ago, OTT said: I think that might make my year? Shanks signing an extension would probably be the best piece of business the club has done since bringing Robbo back. oof Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
boag1874 Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 I’m not strongly Clarke out but the decision not to start Shanks really has chipped away at his goodwill, especially with how he played after coming on last night Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colinmaroon Posted June 24 Share Posted June 24 I fear he will look to move to where he will force himself into first choice for Scotland as Clarke is obsessed by the "standard" of the leagues he picks from. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...