Lawrence Shankland

Posted
2 minutes ago, Der Kaiser said:

Hands on the table. I'd rather let him go for nothing next June if he doesn't sign.

His worth to us is incredible. He deserves the best contract Hearts can afford.

But let's say someone did offer £5million (which no one will). We can't spend that on a replacement striker as we can't afford the wage that player would demand and I don't think we could entice a player of that worth to the SPL unless we were challenging for 1st and 2nd (which we aren't).

I’m lead to believe the club haven’t had a single enquiry about him. Not sure if that’ll change by the window end but I have a feeling most clubs who’d want him will know the price so come January it’ll be frenzy to get him, unless he signs a new deal, but I think that’s highly unlikely.

• Replies 2.4k

• Ricardo Quaresma

• soonbe110

• Bongo 1874

N Lincs Jambo
Posted
Just now, Rudy T said:

I’m lead to believe the club haven’t had a single enquiry about him. Not sure if that’ll change by the window end but I have a feeling most clubs who’d want him will know the price so come January it’ll be frenzy to get him, unless he signs a new deal, but I think that’s highly unlikely.

Hopefully with the new signings we’ll be a team he really wants to remain a major part of. He’s not going anywhere for peanuts this summer so if the new signings, especially Dhanda, click quickly with him, there might be a possibility for a new deal. Fingers crossed anyway. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

I don’t think it’s unlikely at all. If no one makes an offer and we are offering £14k per week on a 3/4 year deal. Rangers or anyone else may not want him in a year. Anything could happen

Posted
21 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

That’s my thoughts. Though any frenzy would undoubtedly push the price up.  

Posted
23 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

I don’t think it’s unlikely at all. If no one makes an offer and we are offering £14k per week on a 3/4 year deal. Rangers or anyone else may not want him in a year. Anything could happen

But we won’t offer him that.  Not even close. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Deevers said:

That’s my thoughts. Though any frenzy would undoubtedly push the price up.  

He’ll be signed on a pre contract. We might be able to get a couple of hundred grand if someone desperately wants him but won’t be anymore.

Posted

It’s a shame for Lawrence that he’s destined to be misrepresented by media clown types who do not even watch him play. Folk giving their opinions from afar who do not watch him and do not know him all giving opinions about him. The likes of John Collins, Pat nevin types. Not watched 1 Hearts league game between them.

Far as I’m concerned, he has found a permanent family here at Hearts. Just keep doing what he’s doing and they’ll all figure it out eventually. The best thing for him is to stay here, for good. Another 3-4 seasons at his peak at Tynecastle. That’s the truth. It’s the ground for him and the pitch for him. Stays injury free and he’ll go till he’s 36-37.

If a club really wants him, and wants to build their team around him, with him at the Center of a managers plans, they will buy him, now, this window, and they will pay the proper money which Hearts expect.

Running down his contract to try to get that money move on a free, go and be some 3rd choice afterthought at some club who view him as a punt on a free… seen this movie before I’m afraid. 

Sadly I am a realist, I know he’ll want as much money he can get, and that’s that. When he’s on a free, clubs will throw money at him from January onwards. That’s football. But I speak the truth, Lawrence should stay at Hearts. 

Posted
1 hour ago, rudi must stay said:

Hands on the table. £2 million thank you very much 

Absolutely mental. Imagine wanting to chase our best player out the door. I'd rather see him on the park playing for us tbh. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

But we won’t offer him that.  Not even close. 

I believe we will / have. And why wouldn’t we.  We can afford it easily. Without him we will have a far harder challenge securing the £6+ euro prize and we would have to spend a fair chunk replacing him.

its just sensible business.  

Posted
5 minutes ago, Stupid Sexy Flanders said:

Absolutely mental. Imagine wanting to chase our best player out the door. I'd rather see him on the park playing for us tbh. 

It's the same supporters as previous threads with Shankland. They are desperate to see him leave, all so they can say they were right and they 'told us it would happen'.

Some even claim to know what contract Hearts will/have offer(ed) to Shankland.

****ing strange behaviour for Hearts supporters.

Posted
Just now, Malinga the Swinga said:

It's the same supporters as previous threads with Shankland. They are desperate to see him leave, all so they can say they were right and they 'told us it would happen'.

Some even claim to know what contract Hearts will/have offer(ed) to Shankland.

****ing strange behaviour for Hearts supporters.

Hibs fans are desperate for him to leave so he doesn’t dish out another year of pain. I’d rather see that than £2m, comfortably.

Posted

mair total baws from bams that haven't a clue what will happen or why

gie it a ******* rest, eh!

🤣🤣

Posted
1 minute ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Hibs fans are desperate for him to leave so he doesn’t dish out another year of pain. I’d rather see that than £2m, comfortably.

As should every Hearts supporter. Guess to some it's more important that they appear smart than Hearts and Shankland dish out some derby day thrashings.

Penrices left boot
Posted

If he doesn't  sign n an extension and leaves for free,  he'll be scoring for rangers the season after this and their fans will be bouncing about singing -

"We've got Lawrence Shankland " as they batter us at Tynecastle. 

That's what will happen if no extension I'd signed or we don't sell him.

Cameronstheman
Posted
3 hours ago, tcjambo said:

He's got a chip on his shoulder for sure, which is funny - enjoy! Still a great player though.

FFS .. plenty non Hearts and  cracking players from the past  Correct, this is 2024 and you bum up an ex Hobo and manager telling us how good he is

He called us a Pub team, he's one of them, but hay ho you fill your boots on a Hearts site about a hobo who's better than celtic players from now and way back in time.  FTH Always 

Aussie Jambo
Posted

I honestly think he was waiting till after Euro24 to make his mind up. 

He has to sign a new contract with us. Give him what he wants. It’s a no brainier. No way I want to see him go to any team in the next 3 years. Then he can score in Europe for us and stick it right up Clarke sphincter 

NaturalOrder74
Posted

He’ll get forty this season with the summer recruitment we’ve got coming in 

jimmy the jambo
Posted

I was speaking to his parents at the euro’s as they where in the same row for the Germany game and I thought it would be good to say hullo and ask how he was feeling etc,I mentioned if he was staying as we love him to bits and would be a disaster if he moves on, The reply was ‘it depends who offers more money’ from that point,It became apparent we’ll be out the running if someone is able to offer him what he feels is the right numeration.

Posted
1 hour ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Ok I’ll bite. Hands on the table his goals for us next season will be worth more than twice that and you know it. How much is European group stage worth?? A lot more than £2 Million 

You shouldn't have bit as it what he wants but of course I agree with you

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

If he doesn't  sign n an extension and leaves for free,  he'll be scoring for rangers the season after this and their fans will be bouncing about singing -

Maybe we should just sell him to them then so they can sing that on 3/8/24. We can spend half of it on a Dutch 2nd division striker.  That will be much better.

sarcasm of course but first we must try everything to get him to sign, then play hardball especially in case of any low ball hun offers. if we sell him it must be more than he’s worth on the pitch to us next season, preferably abroad with a hun tax applied. 

Edited by kingantti1874
Posted
7 minutes ago, jimmy the jambo said:

I was speaking to his parents at the euro’s as they where in the same row for the Germany game and I thought it would be good to say hullo and ask how he was feeling etc,I mentioned if he was staying as we love him to bits and would be a disaster if he moves on, The reply was ‘it depends who offers more money’ from that point,It became apparent we’ll be out the running if someone is able to offer him what he feels is the right numeration.

If its down to money   won't be sevco

Posted
18 minutes ago, Cameronstheman said:

FFS .. plenty non Hearts and  cracking players from the past  Correct, this is 2024 and you bum up an ex Hobo and manager telling us how good he is

He called us a Pub team, he's one of them, but hay ho you fill your boots on a Hearts site about a hobo who's better than celtic players from now and way back in time.  FTH Always 

Oh dear! How tribal. I only pointed out that he was miles better than MacGregor as player, who was mentioned earlier. Why are you so angry FFS!

Posted
6 minutes ago, Sherbet said:

If its down to money   won't be sevco

Rangers not interested anyway 🙄 

Cameronstheman
Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

Oh dear! How tribal. I only pointed out that he was miles better than MacGregor as player, who was mentioned earlier. Why are you so angry FFS!

Aint angry, and it is tribal for me and always will be,  just couldn't really  give a flying **** about an ex hobo player and manager  and celtic , now or then

And the silly comparison you made on a Hearts site, but you fill ter green boots, it seems you are happy with that 

Edited by Cameronstheman
Posted
1 minute ago, Cameronstheman said:

Aint angry, and it is tribal for me and always will be,  just couldn't really  give a flying **** about an ex hobo player and manager  and celtic , now or then

And the silly comparison you made on a Hearts site, but you fill ter green boots, it seems you are happy with that 

I am Hearts through and through mate. Collins was a great player but he has suffered a serious loss of objectivity. Sadly so have you.

Cameronstheman
Posted
3 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

I am Hearts through and through mate. Collins was a great player but he has suffered a serious loss of objectivity. Sadly so have you.

Why because i have no time for ex hobos, never will

But you have plenty , so enjoy 

Posted

If it all comes down to money with him then come the end of his contract there will be clubs offering him much more than sevco will be.

Posted
1 minute ago, Cameronstheman said:

Why because i have no time for ex hobos, never will

But you have plenty , so enjoy 

Wallow in you anger if it makes you feel better about yourself.

Cameronstheman
Posted
3 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

Wallow in you anger if it makes you feel better about yourself.

And you swallow Collins and  hibs, i dare say that green comfort blanket will help you big time  

Posted
15 minutes ago, tcjambo said:

Collins was a decent player but a knob end as a person I played with his brother Norrie who imo could have been a better player but suffered from Asthma. Their parents were weegies that moved to Gala and his auld man was Celtic fan. He just can’t stand Hearts.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Tiger said:

If it all comes down to money with him then come the end of his contract there will be clubs offering him much more than sevco will be.

If he keeps scoring at the same rate as he has these last two seasons.

Heartsofgold
Posted

It’s so clear that Clement does NOT want Shanks. Doesn’t rate him for the team he’s looking to build. 

Posted

What wages do people think sevco would pay Shankland, in a year and a bit's time?

🙃🙂🙃🙂

Aussie Jambo
Posted
6 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

What wages do people think sevco would pay Shankland, in a year and a bit's time?

🙃🙂🙃🙂

They’ll be defunct by then. Sevco The Ranger part 3.

Posted
1 minute ago, Aussie Jambo said:

They’ll be defunct by then. Sevco The Ranger part 3.

Aw aye, forgot aboot that new cluster**** lol

Posted
58 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

Rangers not interested anyway 🙄 

They will be if they can get him for nowt

Posted
37 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

Collins was a decent player but a knob end as a person I played with his brother Norrie who imo could have been a better player but suffered from Asthma. Their parents were weegies that moved to Gala and his auld man was Celtic fan. He just can’t stand Hearts.

I agree. He's not even a Hobo - just played for them.

Posted
1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

🙃🙂🙃🙂

They could pay a hell of a lot more than us. Even if the rumours that we've offered £14k a week are true, the Huns could (I'm not saying that they would) offer double that if they really wanted to. I reckon they'd offer him enough to be substantially more than us like maybe £18-20k a week. Then he'll be straight into the Scotland team, win bonuses, more European games (probably), left alone by referees, play in Old Firm games and a chance to win 3 domestic trophies a year.

It would be better if we could sell him to some non-Hun club now and trust Naismith to bring in two more young, hungry strikers. Seeing him sign a pre with the Huns in January would be a painful one to take. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, cosanostra said:

They could pay a hell of a lot more than us. Even if the rumours that we've offered £14k a week are true, the Huns could (I'm not saying that they would) offer double that if they really wanted to. I reckon they'd offer him enough to be substantially more than us like maybe £18-20k a week. Then he'll be straight into the Scotland team, win bonuses, more European games (probably), left alone by referees, play in Old Firm games and a chance to win 3 domestic trophies a year.

It would be better if we could sell him to some non-Hun club now and trust Naismith to bring in two more young, hungry strikers. Seeing him sign a pre with the Huns in January would be a painful one to take. 

Yip agree take the money now rather lose in January 

Posted

Aye, the bit after he goes 'I am not a number, I am a free man'

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Aussie Jambo
Posted
32 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Aye, the bit after he goes 'I am not a number, I am a free man'

🤣🤣🤣🤣

IMG_0574.jpeg

Posted
3 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

It’s a shame for Lawrence that he’s destined to be misrepresented by media clown types who do not even watch him play. Folk giving their opinions from afar who do not watch him and do not know him all giving opinions about him. The likes of John Collins, Pat nevin types. Not watched 1 Hearts league game between them.

Far as I’m concerned, he has found a permanent family here at Hearts. Just keep doing what he’s doing and they’ll all figure it out eventually. The best thing for him is to stay here, for good. Another 3-4 seasons at his peak at Tynecastle. That’s the truth. It’s the ground for him and the pitch for him. Stays injury free and he’ll go till he’s 36-37.

If a club really wants him, and wants to build their team around him, with him at the Center of a managers plans, they will buy him, now, this window, and they will pay the proper money which Hearts expect.

Running down his contract to try to get that money move on a free, go and be some 3rd choice afterthought at some club who view him as a punt on a free… seen this movie before I’m afraid. 

Sadly I am a realist, I know he’ll want as much money he can get, and that’s that. When he’s on a free, clubs will throw money at him from January onwards. That’s football. But I speak the truth, Lawrence should stay at Hearts. 

Quality post. Spot on. His call but if he leaves it’s a huge mistake.

cosanostra
Posted
11 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

Quality post. Spot on. His call but if he leaves it’s a huge mistake.

Why? He could probably set himself up for life with a huge salary and signing on fee if he goes to the Huns. We all kind of suspect he was a Hun growing up. 

As I said, he'll be first choice for Scotland, win a few trophies and set his family up for life. 

We'd probably all do the same.

Finbar Saunders
Posted
36 minutes ago, cosanostra said:

Why? He could probably set himself up for life with a huge salary and signing on fee if he goes to the Huns. We all kind of suspect he was a Hun growing up. 

As I said, he'll be first choice for Scotland, win a few trophies and set his family up for life. 

We'd probably all do the same.

Let's be honest, he could and should be able to set himself up for life with the wage he's receiving just now. I get by on a fraction of what he's getting paid. 

cosanostra
Posted
27 minutes ago, Finbar Saunders said:

Let's be honest, he could and should be able to set himself up for life with the wage he's receiving just now. I get by on a fraction of what he's getting paid. 

Probably true but people live to their earnings so he probably spends a lot more than us.

He could earn 3 or 4 times what we pay him by moving. It's an easy decision.

Posted

The thing about Shankland is he hasn’t spent a career earning big money, that’s relatively recent for him. And given his next will be the best contract he’s ever going to get money will be his priority.

He’s not some multimillionaire already set for life. Keep in mind what he does earn will be subject to huge tax levels probably eating up approaching half of it.

He’s going to be chasing money for the future of his family and nobody can slate him for that.

Posted
8 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Hands on the table. £2 million thank you very much 

"Gets sent off every week"

Posted

Another £4-5m next season will make that gap between us and 4th place almost unsurmountable.

the league becomes a 2-1-9 league if we do that. Shanks is a massive part of us achieving this.  

Posted
8 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

And then he’ll be the first name on Steve Clark’es team sheet as he leads the line for his country. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, SMJ_1874 said:

And then he’ll be the first name on Steve Clark’es team sheet as he leads the line for his country. 

He ll be out the Scotland team.  Clarke doesn't rate him