Old people drivers.

Jim_Duncan
20 minutes ago, Homme said:

About ten years ago now an old dear caused a three car pile up on a roundabout as she stopped on it to let me enter :vrface:

I notice more and more of this these days. Someone stopped as I was trying to turn right up Hillend yesterday. He was the last car coming from the Biggar Road, so no need to stop. By the time I’d figured out he was letting me go (thought he was slowing to turn without having put his indicator on), another car had come up and had stop behind him. 

• Replies 145

• Greedy Jambo

• Jim_Duncan

• highlandjambo3

• Doctor FinnBarr

Just now, Jim_Duncan said:

I notice more and more of this these days. Someone stopped as I was trying to turn right up Hillend yesterday. He was the last car coming from the Biggar Road, so no need to stop. By the time I’d figured out he was letting me go (thought he was slowing to turn without having put his indicator on), another car had come up and had stop behind him. 

A few years back, I was towing a trailer and slowed down to turn right into my driveway, I was on the far side of the road so I’d be crossing the path of oncoming vehicles, of which there were none, there were a few cars behind me and just as I pulled the steering wheel right to turn a car suddenly shot past me.  Some idiot a few cars behind me had decided to overtake, he’d obviously been puzzled as to why the line of traffic he was in was slowing down…….arse 🤬🤬

Jim_Duncan
Just now, highlandjambo3 said:

A few years back, I was towing a trailer and slowed down to turn right into my driveway, I was on the far side of the road so I’d be crossing the path of oncoming vehicles, of which there were none, there were a few cars behind me and just as I pulled the steering wheel right to turn a car suddenly shot past me.  Some idiot a few cars behind me had decided to overtake, he’d obviously been puzzled as to why the line of traffic he was in was slowing down…….arse 🤬🤬

Mental how little patience folk have. 

AFAICR, you should stop and wait for someone to execute a 3 point turn. I often have to do these in my street depending on which way I’m headed (out of Edinburgh or into town). I’m pretty swift at them, but have an estate car so want to make sure I’m not going to reverse onto the narrow pavement and wipe out a pedestrian. Yet cyclists and hatchback drivers seem to think it’s more important for them to drive round me, meaning that when I go to move off in the direction want, there’s often some wee plooky gimp in his mum’s old Fiesta or a Deliveroo ‘worker’ mounted the pavement to squeeze past. 

8 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

AFAICR, you should stop and wait for someone to execute a 3 point turn.

You should but it’s not always the case.  I’m an ex driving instructor and the party line is, two cars should not be moving at the same time (yours and the one trying to pass), you never know how urgent their need is to be somewhere else 😳😳.  I’ve had a mum with a car full of kids swearing at me at the top of her voice as she passed with both her near side wheels on the pavement 🤬

Was also involved in two accidents during my instructor time, on both occasions I had a pupil under instruction and my car was not moving:

1. *Van man reverses out of a parking bay into the side of my car as I’m waiting to bay park next to him, he said “I didn’t see you”……obviously.

2. Were the first car in a line facing an island contraflow where oncoming traffic has right of way, the first oncoming vehicle was a public bus…..as he squeezed past he just about ripped off my front bumper then proceeded to drive off.  I changed seats with the pupil then proceeded to hunt him down 😂.  I pulled up across the front of his bus at a bus stop (Starsky & Hutch style).  He denied it but, thankfully I had a wide lens camera fitted in the car to record lessons, I was happy to play this back to the gobsmacked old git.

* incidentally greedy jambo, where were you on the 3 March 2011?  Inverness by chance 😏

Edited by highlandjambo3

Bad drivers in every age group,  Not enough hours in the day, for some, its

must get there now, beyond me, never learn till they have a bump.

Edited by Harry Potter

redjambo
10 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Bad drivers in every age group,  Not enough hours in the day, for some, its

must get there now, beyond me, never learn till they have a bump.

Spot on, Harry.

7 minutes ago, inspector said:

Can l ask what you all class as old?

Someone who takes viagra to prevent them pissing their slippers when they go to the toilet 😁

inspector
Just now, highlandjambo3 said:

Someone who takes viagra to prevent them pissing their slippers when they go to the toilet 😁

Is that at 3 in the morning because l must try that. Slippers are expensive 

Debut 4

I’m by no means saying I’m a great driver but I’ve noticed over just the last couple of years how over cautious drivers can cause as much problems as speed merchants.  

Some of the stuff you see would have your instructor going off his nut.  

From people being too slow to merge from slip roads onto motorways to people driving on the outside lane on a motorway far too slowly with acres and acres of room in front of them.  

Instructors say stay up to the speed of the road where applicable. So many people forget the rules of the road.  

Also roundabouts.  

Don’t get me started on that pish.  Well, too late.  People straddling both lanes as they go around it and ready to leave at the junction they are heading for while you are in the correct lane behind them but have to accommodate their incompetence as they are totally oblivious.  

People starting in the outside lane but want to take the second exit that’s straight over and look at you as if you are in the wrong lane as you exit.  

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

I’m by no means saying I’m a great driver but I’ve noticed over just the last couple of years how over cautious drivers can cause as much problems as speed merchants.  

From people being too slow to merge from slip roads onto motorways to people driving on the outside lane on a motorway far too slowly with acres and acres of room in front of them.  

Instructors say stay up to the speed of the road where applicable. So many people forget the rules of the road.  

Also roundabouts.  

Don’t get me started on that pish.  Well, too late.  People straddling both lanes as they go around it and ready to leave at the junction they are heading for while you are in the correct lane behind them but have to accommodate their incompetence as they are totally oblivious.  

People starting in the outside lane but want to take the second exit that’s straight over and look at you as if you are in the wrong lane as you exit.  

Exactly! people slowing down to merge onto the bypass when they should be getting up to speed with the traffic, 

people thinking they're being nice by breaking in front of you to let someone out. 

I could go on and on. 

Inconsiderate drivers as well, people that park on the left, when there's already a car parked on the right, and i can't get the van out of a business driveway, lazy *******s that park on the road outside a shop, making a 2 lane road a 1 lane road (there's ****in car park about 20 yards away)

Edited by Greedy Jambo

Debut 4
5 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Exactly! people slowing down to merge onto the bypass when they should be getting up to speed with the traffic, 

people thinking they're being nice by breaking in front of you to let someone out. 

I could go on and on. 

That happened to me today😂.    

1 hour ago, Debut 4 said:

That happened to me today😂.    

It should be 3 points and sent to bed with no dinner for that shit. 

7 hours ago, Homme said:

About ten years ago now an old dear caused a three car pile up on a roundabout as she stopped on it to let me enter :vrface:

did you enter her or not? At least some good would have come of it 

4 hours ago, inspector said:

Can l ask what you all class as old?

Sitting down to have a pee pee.  👍

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Quite normal if female I'm led to believe.

Benny Klack
5 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

Also roundabouts.  

Would agree with this but would also lump the “overly helpful drivers” into the mix. These white knights of the road that stop to let you out of a minor to a major etc … nice of them likes but feck me, other folks behind you might no know what’s going on - thanks and that but they are just creating accidents waiting to happen. Just follow the Highway Code and stop trying to introduce your own rules to be Mr Nice - I can handle the extra minute wait and I’m no gonna shag you mate 

Debut 4
59 minutes ago, Benny Klack said:

Would agree with this but would also lump the “overly helpful drivers” into the mix. These white knights of the road that stop to let you out of a minor to a major etc … nice of them likes but feck me, other folks behind you might no know what’s going on - thanks and that but they are just creating accidents waiting to happen. Just follow the Highway Code and stop trying to introduce your own rules to be Mr Nice - I can handle the extra minute wait and I’m no gonna shag you mate 

Spot on 😂

10 hours ago, Morgan said:

saves on peeing on the seat🤔imho.

henryheart

I've only been in one accident in the last 30 years; a van driver backed out of a parking space into the side of my slow moving car in a car park. He admitted that he hadn't looked. Van drivers; you see them all the time, all over the place in a rush to get where they are going, driving hard up behind cars in front, pulling out in front of others, just too busy trying to meet their targets;  horrible driving. Which takes us back to the opening post...... perhaps van drivers should be made to resit their test every year?   

I think it should be mandatory that everyone (no matter their age) has to sit a refresher test every 10 years.

That should weed out any idiot drivers.

15 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

Also roundabouts.  

Don’t get me started on that pish.

And, people that approach a roundabout to go straight (12 o’clock) ahead but pop on a right signal on 🤬🤬…….I could never fathom that out until I was a passenger in a car and the driver did this, so I asked him, his logic was that by signalling right he was letting the traffic waiting to enter the roundabout (his 9 o’clock) that he was not turning left but going straight ahead 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️.  So, to really confuse him I suggested that a 4 junction roundabout was actually just a crossroads with a circle of concrete in the middle and asked if he’d signal right to go straight ahead at a cross roads…..”fair point” was his reply.

On 12/04/2024 at 22:29, Cade said:

There is certainly a case for auld yins to have to re-sit the test every couple of years. The physical and mental decline can be rapid and this can lead to tragic accidents.

But having said that, everybody should have to re-sit it once every ten years or so anyways.

It should be on a bell curve; with less experienced drivers also needing to re-sit more often to keep their competence up and for bad habits to be stamped out, then getting longer and longer periods between re-sits as they become a proper driver, before they hit old age when the re-sits become more frequent again.

With cars getting physically larger and more technologically complicated, it surely just makes sense to make sure everybody keeps their driver training current throughout their life.

I'd actually agree that a single test with the driver's car of choice could be useful here as the touch-screen controlled cars can be a little confusing and we do have a lot of driving aids now

- auto headlights
- auto wipers
- adaptive cruise control
- speed limit recognition
- front collision avoidance
- lane control (so basically will drive for you if the road markings are clear)
- auto e-brake

Makes longish motorway journeys a breeze. I do wish HUDs and IR cameras were more commonplace as those are extremely effective safety features. 

Driving home last night I had a car very very close to the bumper on the old A1, I was going at the limit of 60 mph as it was a clear night with good conditions. They shot out, passed me and the car in front overtaking on a long stretch uphill that they could not see was clear. Inevitably it wasn't and the car in front had to hammer the brakes on to prevent this eejit crashing head-on into the car coming in the opposite direction.

You usually get a sixth sense for the oldies pottering about or doing something a bit daft or van drivers, pressed by Mr Bezos to break the light speed limit to have any chance of completing their deliveries, taking some liberties. This type of behaviour is so wreckless - I just don't understand the lack of self-preservation even if they have utter disregard for others. Do they even reflect upon the near miss or do they simply assume they made it OK because they are James Hunt and not because other road users saved them?

11 hours ago, Benny Klack said:

Would agree with this but would also lump the “overly helpful drivers” into the mix. These white knights of the road that stop to let you out of a minor to a major etc … nice of them likes but feck me, other folks behind you might no know what’s going on - thanks and that but they are just creating accidents waiting to happen. Just follow the Highway Code and stop trying to introduce your own rules to be Mr Nice - I can handle the extra minute wait and I’m no gonna shag you mate 

LOL…..so who does that then after passing their test?  No one really unless your training to be a professional driver/driving instructor/HGV etc……..here’s a (not so) interesting fact that almost everyone I know didn’t know or had even noticed tbh:

Triangular road signs, the give way sign is the only triangle with the point at the base, all the other triangles have the point at the top……did anyone here know that?  If so, why is that then?

ps, A quick google will give you the answer 😁

IMG_6095.webp

IMG_6096.jpeg

IMG_6097.jpeg

IMG_6098.jpeg

Edited by highlandjambo3

1 hour ago, heartsfc_fan said:

I think it should be mandatory that everyone (no matter their age) has to sit a refresher test every 10 years.

From recollection when I was in the business, the driving standards agency are very short of examiners and, from my previous experience taking pupils to test, the examiners have a very short window between tests….like 10 minutes (not including their lunch break)…..ramping up additional work for them would have a significant effect on the already lengthy waiting times for tests.

Spellczech

Reality is that people only lose their licence following some sort of intervention, usually by family. My sister and me intervened for both our parents, and it is a tough decision, as you are effectively taking someone's mobility away from them...

Spellczech
4 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

LOL…..so who does that then after passing their test?  No one really unless your training to be a professional driver/driving instructor/HGV etc……..here’s a (not so) interesting fact that almost everyone I know didn’t know or had even noticed tbh:

Triangular road signs, the give way sign is the only triangle with the point at the base, all the other triangles have the point at the top……did anyone here know that?  If so, why is that then?

ps, A quick google will give you the answer 😁

IMG_6095.webp

IMG_6096.jpeg

IMG_6097.jpeg

IMG_6098.jpeg

I haven't Googled but I would assume it is because Give Way is an instruction and all the others are mere warnings?...

Is it the weather-related answer?

And also the reason why STOP signs are octagonal, I believe.

49 minutes ago, Boof said:

Is it the weather-related answer?

And also the reason why STOP signs are octagonal, I believe.

Yes…..if the give way sign is faded or covered in snow you’ll still be able to recognise it………….unfortunately 99% of Joe Public don’t know this 🤷‍♂️🤣🤣🤣

crunchy frog

I've got an aunt who is 90 that still drives. She says it would take away her independence if she had to get a (free) bus. 

She's had a couple of bumps, I'm just waiting for the stupid old goat to do someone else an injury. Pisses me right off 😡

I reckon they should turn in their license at 70/75 and not get it back until they can demonstrate they ain't a danger to other road users and pedestrians.

Edited by crunchy frog

TallPaul

The mums in the SUVs doing the school run are the worst. Zero awareness 

Spellczech

Yes…..if the give way sign is faded or covered in snow you’ll still be able to recognise it………….unfortunately 99% of Joe Public don’t know this 🤷‍♂️🤣🤣🤣

Hmmmn I think the reason I gave makes more sense and would be what most people would assume, plus has the same end result...That snow thing sounds phooey - If a sign is covered in snow, in a snowy background when it is snowing, then you are not necessarily going to see it regardless of the shape.

Edited by Spellczech

Spellczech
23 hours ago, Morgan said:

I've always done that at home - grew up with mother and 2 sisters. My wife told her pals one time on a night out and they were all jealous! haha

1 minute ago, Spellczech said:

I've always done that at home - grew up with mother and 2 sisters. My wife told her pals one time on a night out and they were all jealous! haha

Jeez, just dribble over the seat like the rest of us.

7 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Hmmmn I think the reason I gave makes more sense and would be what most people would assume, plus has the same end result...That snow thing sounds phooey - If a sign is covered in snow, in a snowy background when it is snowing, then you are not necessarily going to see it regardless of the shape.

Quote:

Give way to oncoming vehicles' signIt is used to warn road users that the traffic at the junction ahead have priority. The reason the triangle is upside down and other triangular road signs are not is so it can still be recognised by road users if it is defaced, such as when it snows or becomes dirty”

Spellczech
1 minute ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

Jeez, just dribble over the seat like the rest of us.

One of wife's mates was complaining about her husband, who is my mate pissing all over the floor of her nice new bathroom! That was what prompted my wife's response. Next morning she actually told me she never realised how lucky she is! Haha

10 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Hmmmn I think the reason I gave makes more sense and would be what most people would assume.

Agreed, like I said, not many people know why the point is at the bottom.

4 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Agreed, like I said, not many people know why the point is at the bottom.

I reckon I have a fair idea even in a strange town what is a "Give Way" junction even if there was/is a snow covered sign.

62 3/4, shoe size 7.

10 minutes ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

I reckon I have a fair idea even in a strange town what is a "Give Way" junction even if there was/is a snow covered sign.

62 3/4, shoe size 7.

Of course any decent driver would be defensive and if in doubt would give way anyway, I’m Just stating a fact……approach a crossroads and the lights are busted, who has way?……. No one.

23 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Of course any decent driver would be defensive and if in doubt would give way anyway, I’m Just stating a fact……approach a crossroads and the lights are busted, who has way?……. No one.

Are they snow covered?

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

Depending on level of alcohol intake, it’s also handy to tuck it down under the rim.  

Well, fold it down.

13 minutes ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

Are they snow covered?

No….but it’s raining and the driver is disabled 😏

Jim_Duncan
2 hours ago, TallPaul said:

Not true. Most seem quite aware of the phone in their right hand and the skinny latte in their left. Hoors. 

11 hours ago, TallPaul said:

I don’t think some of these mums are capable of driving the massive cars they have. 

TallPaul
Just now, Nookie Bear said:

I don’t think some of these mums are capable of driving the massive cars they have. 

It's the ones that stop randomly middle of the road no indication for the kids to just jump out 

1 hour ago, TallPaul said:

It's the ones that stop randomly middle of the road no indication for the kids to just jump out 

And that's because the thought of reversing into a space less than 50 metres absolutely terrifies them.

23 hours ago, heartsfc_fan said:

That should weed out any idiot drivers.

The roads would be empty!

Jim_Duncan
1 hour ago, TallPaul said:

Practising for their future career as delivery drivers. 

Spellczech
12 hours ago, Morgan said:

Depending on level of alcohol intake, it’s also handy to tuck it down under the rim.  

Well, fold it down.

Trying to work out if you sit with your knees together or take too many wee blue pills...