The split - fixtures announced!

Jim_Duncan

Heartsmad1874

Seen this on twitter. According to this balance of games we go to St Mirren again not Dundee

IMG_0162.png

Edited by Heartsmad1874

• Replies 308

• Harry Potter

• soonbe110

• Sooks

Big crowds at fester road for their last three games lol

tian447
5 hours ago, Gmcjambo said:

Except Hibs are now effectively in a different league from the would be Champions

Champions League vs Chumpions League. 

Winners League vs Losers League. 

Big League vs Wee League. 

Hearts League vs Hibs League. 

:smuggy:

Percival King
1 hour ago, **** the SPFL said:

Correct should be out tomorrow 

Think stuff like TV dates, consulting with police, avoiding same city clubs being at home on same day and, above all of that, trying to work out when the uglies can play each other without one of them being able to win the league, usually stops the fixtures being published for a few days.

7 hours ago, Percival King said:

Think stuff like TV dates, consulting with police, avoiding same city clubs being at home on same day and, above all of that, trying to work out when the uglies can play each other without one of them being able to win the league, usually stops the fixtures being published for a few days.

You would have thought they would have had all three possibilities worked out prior to these last fixtures. Guaranteed that Celtic The Rangers will be either first or second fixture Police won’t allow it to be a possible title decider. 

jock _turd

How important is the old firm game to the TV companies? So important that what could be their biggest money maker is not allowed to happen, a league decider between them.  Sadly only in Scotish football could the biggest game on the calender not be allowed to happen and yet we have to have four old firm games per season it is a must... time that was kicked right into touch for being the irrelevence it is!

1 hour ago, **** the SPFL said:

You would have thought they would have had all three possibilities worked out prior to these last fixtures. Guaranteed that Celtic The Rangers will be either first or second fixture Police won’t allow it to be a possible title decider. 

The fact that sevco still have two games to play means that they can't be certain when either can clinch the title 

10 hours ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

Seen this on twitter. According to this balance of games we go to St Mirren again not Dundee

IMG_0162.png

If that is accurate, Rangers having to go go to Dens a 3rd would be funny.

Somehow, cannot see it.

alicante jambo
10 hours ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

IMG_0162.png

Things is theyve got well and the sheep. I will be very surprised if between them they bring 1500 fans adding to the fact most of the hibs fans that even bother to turn up for these games will be st holders. They then must pay for security. Police, leccie and other shte its very possible they wont make a penny. And i bet they are paying a few bob for the world cup players fi bournemouth. 3 away games mean feck all to the club, plus wages, plus bus transport and hopefully a tuesday night in dingwall in the pishing snow. Now were mot even at the split and i canne wait to see the losses next season. Lets see if the stick to giving sevco reduced tickets.

16 minutes ago, The Treasurer said:

The fact that sevco still have two games to play means that they can't be certain when either can clinch the title 

Their game will be first or second game after the split unless The Rangers lose their next two games then it would have to be the first I think although maths was never my strong point 

Edited by Fxxx the SPFL

2 hours ago, **** the SPFL said:

You would imagine that. Who knows though.

Wouldn't surprise me if Police Scotland don't entertain dialogue until the splits are decided.

11 hours ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

IMG_0162.png

At least we wouldn't have to go to Dens

20 minutes ago, Mirror said:

At least we wouldn't have to go to Dens

Another 3-2 on the cards

11 hours ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

IMG_0162.png

This is just such a tinpot way of doing things . Overcomplicating a system that works perfectly well everywhere else because of a ludicrous need to have a certain number of repeats of a single fixture

I cringe when we have all these machinations and fiddling about to everyone’s fixtures . It is just a complete farce and needs fired in to the sun 

SwindonJambo
13 minutes ago, Sooks said:

This is just such a tinpot way of doing things . Overcomplicating a system that works perfectly well everywhere else because of a ludicrous need to have a certain number of repeats of a single fixture

I cringe when we have all these machinations and fiddling about to everyone’s fixtures . It is just a complete farce and needs fired in to the sun 

Agreed. And not just that. Even with the split (and it's the 24th season we've had it 😳), 5 teams out of the top 6 were confirmed a week ago with 3 contenders for 6th spot remaining as of last week. It's a similar scenario most seasons.

How hard could it have been to work out all the fixtures for all 3 permutations, have  them all ready in advance and announce the fixtures as soon as the top 6 is confirmed?

But we are talking the SPFL, run by a grotesquely overpaid incompetent self serving buffoon who ought to have been launched after the League Cup Semis farce of 2018.

6 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

Agreed. And not just that. Even with the split (and it's the 24th season we've had it 😳), 5 teams out of the top 6 were confirmed a week ago with 3 contenders for 6th spot remaining as of last week. It's a similar scenario most seasons.

How hard could it have been to work out all the fixtures for all 3 permutations, have  them all ready in advance and announce the fixtures as soon as the top 6 is confirmed?

But we are talking the SPFL, run by a grotesquely overpaid incompetent self serving buffoon who ought to have been launched after the League Cup Semis farce of 2018.

Yip . I find it astonishing that people are happy with the joke system and the clowns who operate it 

Percival King
6 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

The fans who go to games have long appeared to be down the list of 'stakeholders/partners" so it would be surprising if the league, the police, Sky and possibly also the clubs went to the effort of creating at least 3 fixture schedules knowing that at least two of them would be binned. Nobody outwith fans (and maybe ticket offices) probably care whether fans have 10 or 14 days notice of upcoming games. 

SwindonJambo
27 minutes ago, Percival King said:

The fans who go to games have long appeared to be down the list of 'stakeholders/partners" so it would be surprising if the league, the police, Sky and possibly also the clubs went to the effort of creating at least 3 fixture schedules knowing that at least two of them would be binned. Nobody outwith fans (and maybe ticket offices) probably care whether fans have 10 or 14 days notice of upcoming games. 

Good point but let's be honest, there's only 1 fixture Sky and the other assorted high heid yins give the slightest toss about and both teams are stick on certs for the Top 6 for the next 1,000 years unless one of them does another Sevco 2012. 

Have the SPFL said when the fixtures will be announced? or do we have to wait till after Dundee v Rangers game is played?

OnlyTheLonely
22 minutes ago, GYL said:

Have the SPFL said when the fixtures will be announced? or do we have to wait till after Dundee v Rangers game is played?

I was just going to ask that. To find out on a Wednesday (or even Thursday) who you'll be playing on the Saturday is just so tinpot.

SwindonJambo
13 minutes ago, OnlyTheLonely said:

I was just going to ask that. To find out on a Wednesday (or even Thursday) who you'll be playing on the Saturday is just so tinpot.

I don't think there's any top flight football next weekend due to the Cup Semis.

scottg71

I wouldn’t mind a third trip to St Mirren. Good pies 

HeartsandonlyHearts

If County win today then I would imagine Celtic/Newco week one of the split. No way will our cowardly association and police allow a league decider to be played. Schedule computer being unplugged as we sit here. Colored crayons and a note pad being used now.

No matter who ends up winning the league, you can guarantee that they will be able to clinch it when we play them. 

It seems to happen so often 

Mikey1874
On 10/04/2024 at 19:14, Sooks said:

The time to get rid of it was the second that it was introduced 

It is a farce that only exists to further the interests of two clubs

The split as done currently is to suit the lower league clubs having 3 home Old Firm games.

The obvious thing to avoid 44 games, is what the women have done is have split after 22 games. So play 32 games. 

If you're not going to do the really obvious thing which is a 16 team league playing 30 games. 

5 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The split as done currently is to suit the lower league clubs having 3 home Old Firm games.

The obvious thing to avoid 44 games, is what the women have done is have split after 22 games. So play 32 games. 

If you're not going to do the really obvious thing which is a 16 team league playing 30 games. 

Not enough games. 

2205ian
2 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Clubs will never vote for 6 less games, especially the income which would be lost through 3 less homes games, subject of course to an 19/19 home/away schedule**

**Subject to SPFL decision with 18/20 schedules which do not affect the gruesome twosome!,

soonbe110
8 hours ago, jock _turd said:

How important is the old firm game to the TV companies? So important that what could be their biggest money maker is not allowed to happen, a league decider between them.  Sadly only in Scotish football could the biggest game on the calender not be allowed to happen and yet we have to have four old firm games per season it is a must... time that was kicked right into touch for being the irrelevence it is!

OF game will almost certainly be at the centre of Sky’s May bank holiday weekend offering. 

27 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Or smaller clubs could just make do with a visit from them once each instead ? Maybe not risk extinction when they get relegated as well , so that would be a bonus 

jock _turd
32 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

OF game will almost certainly be at the centre of Sky’s May bank holiday weekend offering. 

Yes but the title will not be at stake the cannot offer a league decider too many people would end up in hospital and jail 😂

john thomas
2 hours ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

If County win today then I would imagine Celtic/Newco week one of the split. No way will our cowardly association and police allow a league decider to be played. Schedule computer being unplugged as we sit here. Colored crayons and a note pad being used now.

Should be preset . 1st v 3rd etc Surely possible to do if you ignore which teams are where in the league ?

**** pandering to them .

Brick Tamland

More tinpot than a tin pot that the fixtures haven’t been announced yet. 
It really isn’t that difficult organising 3 games for top 6 and 3 games for bottom  6, five times. 
SPFL are flucking useless, don’t they realise that the clubs and their supporters might need time to organise their stadiums for match day and the fans might need some time for organising travel?

No doubt they will be checking what the bigot twins want to do first, and then when they are happy, the rest will find out. 
I absolutely love Hearts but cannot stand the arseholes who run the game in our country. 
Monday morning rant over 😬

Brick Tamland
21 hours ago, OnlyTheLonely said:

Very much this 

And this 

17 hours ago, john thomas said:

Should be preset . 1st v 3rd etc Surely possible to do if you ignore which teams are where in the league ?

**** pandering to them .

No matter when they play the uglies game you can bet you last penny on every other team getting shafted so that they both win all their games. Feel the cup is the only chance this season we have of beating Sevco.

Edited by Ex member of the SaS

The Goalscoring Knee
7 minutes ago, Brick Tamland said:
22 hours ago, OnlyTheLonely said:

Very much this 

At the risk of sounding like an apologist for the organisers, which is absolutely not my intention, there aren't any top flight league fixtures this weekend, only the two cup semis, is that not right?

Edited by The Goalscoring Knee

soonbe110
17 hours ago, jock _turd said:

Yes but the title will not be at stake the cannot offer a league decider too many people would end up in hospital and jail 😂

It’s the second week of post-split games. Unlikely to be title weekend for either. 

FionaHmfc

Fixtures won’t be published until after the Dundee and Rangers game on Wednesday night. What a joke 

Mikey1874
5 minutes ago, FionaHmfc said:

Fixtures won’t be published until after the Dundee and Rangers game on Wednesday night. What a joke 

From Hearts Standard quoting Daily Record 

The SPFL won't announce the Scottish Premiership post-split fixtures until after the match between Dundee and Rangers.

League chiefs will delay the announcement of the final five matchdays until league standings are cemented following the final match of the regular season on Wednesday.

It means supporters will face a lengthy wait until the end of the week - Thursday at the earliest - for fixtures to be finalised. It's expected fixtures will be confirmed later this week.

The reason for the delay comes down to the fact Dundee could leapfrog St Mirren in the table in their final match before the split.

While both clubs will be in the top half of the table, the timetabling of the fixtures is related to the confirmed placings in the league.

Mikey1874

Post-split fixture dates 

Fixture round 34 - Weekend of April 27/28

Fixture round 35 - Weekend of May 4/5

Fixture round 36 - Weekend of May 11/12

Fixture round 37 - Midweek of May 14/15

Fixture round 38 - Weekend of May 18/19

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

From Hearts Standard quoting Daily Record 

The SPFL won't announce the Scottish Premiership post-split fixtures until after the match between Dundee and Rangers.

League chiefs will delay the announcement of the final five matchdays until league standings are cemented following the final match of the regular season on Wednesday.

It means supporters will face a lengthy wait until the end of the week - Thursday at the earliest - for fixtures to be finalised. It's expected fixtures will be confirmed later this week.

The reason for the delay comes down to the fact Dundee could leapfrog St Mirren in the table in their final match before the split.

While both clubs will be in the top half of the table, the timetabling of the fixtures is related to the confirmed placings in the league.

Roolz is Roolz. 🥸

3 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Roolz is Roolz. 🥸

Dundee would have to beat Sevco 5-0 for any change in placings

1 minute ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

Dundee would have to beat Sevco 5-0 for any change in placings

😄

Mikey1874

The reason explained. Need to know when to schedule Old Firm game

Post split fixtures would normally be released by tomorrow - but due to the postponed game they won't be out until after the Dundee v Rangers game on Wednesday 

🦌 I suspect this is because Rangers lost to Ross County yesterday. The Old Firm game would probably have been Sunday May 5th (2nd game of the split)

🏆 However were Rangers to lose to Dundee & lose their first post split game while Celtic win theirs - Celtic could then win the league if the Old Firm was on Sunday 5th May which they will look to avoid

If Rangers don't lose on Wednesday then the league can't be won on the 2nd split fixture (May 5th) and so that's when the Old Firm game is likely to be.

35 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The reason explained. Need to know when to schedule Old Firm game

Post split fixtures would normally be released by tomorrow - but due to the postponed game they won't be out until after the Dundee v Rangers game on Wednesday 

🦌 I suspect this is because Rangers lost to Ross County yesterday. The Old Firm game would probably have been Sunday May 5th (2nd game of the split)

🏆 However were Rangers to lose to Dundee & lose their first post split game while Celtic win theirs - Celtic could then win the league if the Old Firm was on Sunday 5th May which they will look to avoid

If Rangers don't lose on Wednesday then the league can't be won on the 2nd split fixture (May 5th) and so that's when the Old Firm game is likely to be.

Pathetic eh,in any other country they would be trying to schedule a league decider,we have to try and avoid it.

busbyfth
25 minutes ago, bigdav said:

Pathetic eh,in any other country they would be trying to schedule a league decider,we have to try and avoid it.

Yep - its not very 21st century - not even 20th - a footballing/social backwater thanks to those two wretched clubs....and the pandering "rulers" 

SwindonJambo

The usual entirely predictable  farce from the Politburo.

I wonder what the hell the point of Scottish Football is at times. Maybe there should be a top league of 2 with no promotion or relegation and a separate Cup Competition just for them. The rest of the league would then be competitive.

2 hours ago, FionaHmfc said:

I'm not sure if this was agreed before the weekend. 

However I could believe they want to avoid an Oldfirm title decider. 

Heartsmad1874

Maybe delaying it also as Dundee could go above St Mirren with an unlikely 5 goal swing against Rangers. Guessing that will be the decider as to who gets us or Rangers at home again. 

simplesimon

For those of us needing to book travel etc to get to games this is causing problems that may prevent me getting to the game.  What are the bets the home Rangers game is mid week too, most of our cat A games seem to have been mid week this year which is bad for those of us not in Scotland.  I am thinking twice about renewing my season due to this.

The farce was allowing the Dundee Rangers game to be scheduled last week, there should be a rule requiring all postponed games to be scheduled at least 10 days before the split to allow room for an additional delay.  Of course they scheduled it to give Rangers a week of rest before the old firm game, they wouldn;t have done that were it us vs Dundee.  I don;t mind the split but they need to take a look at what has happened this year and make some changes. 

Surely they could publish 2 sets of fixtures depending on what happens with caveats that games may move for tv.

• davemclaren changed the title to The split - fixtures announced!